DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to 04/15/2026 Amendment and RCE.
Claims 1-23 are pending. Claims 18-20 have been withdrawn. Claims 1-17, 21-23 are examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17, 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites limitation “detect that a second memory cell in a second distribution was read while sensing the first distribution, and mask the second memory cell and mark the second memory cell as belonging to the second distribution while preserving the original threshold voltage distribution of the second memory cell such that the second memory cell is not reprogrammed” on lines 12-14.
There appears this limitations is inconsistent with other recited limitations of claim 1 and what describes in the disclosure.
Claim 1 recites:
sense a first distribution of the set of memory cells,
detect a missing cell in the first distribution,
increase a voltage on the missing cell causing the missing cell to be read as part of the first distribution, [Wingdings font/0xE0] This implies the missing memory cell is supposed to store a logic “1” and need to be snapped to cancel threshold voltage drift. This change in voltage threshold is within the same distribution, and the cell’s assigned logic does not change state.
detect that a second memory cell in a second distribution was read while sensing the first distribution, and [Wingdings font/0xE0] This implies the second memory cell was supposed to store a logic “0”, but positioned in the lower end tail of second threshold voltage distribution. Since there is an overlap between the upper end tail of the first threshold voltage distribution and the lower end tail of second threshold voltage distribution, the second memory cell was erroneously read, i.e. snapped, and its threshold voltage shifts. This change in voltage threshold is out of threshold voltage distribution because the read voltage(s) corresponds to first threshold voltage distribution. Accordingly, the cell’s assigned logic changes from one state to another.
mask the second memory cell and mark the second memory cell as belonging to the second distribution while preserving the original threshold voltage distribution of the second memory cell such that the second memory cell is not reprogrammed [Wingdings font/0xE0] it is impossible for the second memory cell to preserve its original threshold voltage distribution because it was read and snapped with read voltage(s) of first threshold voltage distribution in the previously step.
Furthermore, FIG. 4 clearly show mask and mark the second memory cell in step 412, after it has been snapped in step 410 using reading voltage(s) of first threshold voltage distribution. When a chalcogenide-based memory cell is snapped, its threshold voltage may erroneously shift to different threshold voltage distribution (see paragraphs [0011], [0076]-[0078] of pending application).
For purpose of examination, Examiner temporary does not consider the amended limitation.
Claim 11 recites limitation “masking the second memory cell and mark the second memory cell as belonging to the second distribution while preserving the original threshold voltage distribution of the second memory cell such that the second memory cell is not reprogrammed” on lines 9-10. Same rejection as in claim 1 is applied herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 10-13, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11,164,626 to Di Vincenzo et al. (hereafter Di Vincenzo) in view of US 5,815,439 to Korsh et al. (hereafter Korsh).
Regarding independent claim 1, Di Vincenzo teaches a memory device comprising:
a memory array, the memory array comprising a set of memory cells (FIG. 11: memory array 1120); and
a memory controller configured to read data from the memory array (FIG. 11: memory controller 1140), the memory controller configured to:
sense a first distribution of the set of memory cells (FIG. 8B: applying VDM1 and sensing if memory cells corresponding to data point 802 snapped),
detect a missing cell in the first distribution (VDM1 is adjusted according to pre-determined number of cells in the given logic state, i.e. with missing cell in the first distribution, see 21:45-53),
increase a voltage on the missing cell causing the missing cell to be read as part of the first distribution (FIGS. 8D-8E: applying VDM2 to the missing memory cells corresponding to data point 804),
implicitly detect that a second memory cell in a second distribution was read while sensing the first distribution (FIGS. 8D: sensing memory cells corresponding to data points 804 and 808, wherein memory cell corresponding to data point 808 changing logic from 0 to 1 is detected by access circuit for reprogramming purpose at a later time with VDM3, see 17:18-32), and
reprogram the second memory cell as belonging to the second distribution (FIG. 8F and 9: by applying VDM3 to memory cell corresponding to data point 808).
Di Vincenzo teaches the second memory cell is reprogrammed instead of masked and marked.
Korsh teaches a method for detecting whether a memory cell VT has drifted undesirably out of range, a restore cycle condition is established and conditional status flag is set (see 8:19-45). The restore cycle operation may be immediately performed on the memory cell, or at a later time by storing address and the type of restore required in registers and address buffer, i.e. mask and mark (see 14:15-26). It is seen that if the restore cycle operation is performed at a later time, the original state of the memory cell VT is preserved for the time being.
Since Di Vincenzo and Korsh are both from the same field of endeavor, the purpose disclosed by Korsh would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Di Vincenzo.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to realize that it is choice to immediately perform a restore cycle operation on an out-of-range memory cell, or mask and mark then reprogram it at a later preferred time as suggested by Korsch.
Regarding dependent claim 2, Di Vincenzo teaches wherein sensing a first distribution comprises applying a positive read voltage to the set of memory cells and sensing a subset of the set of memory cells that conduct (FIGS. 7-9: applying positive voltage of VDM1 to memory cell(s) corresponding to range 810).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Di Vincenzo teaches wherein the set of memory cells comprises single-level cell memory cells (see FIG. 4 and 7:55-63).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Di Vincenzo teaches wherein the first distribution comprises either a binary one state or binary zero state (FIG. 8B: logic 1).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Di Vincenzo teaches wherein the set of memory cells comprise chalcogenide-based memory cells (see 3:11-18).
Regarding independent claim 11, Di Vincenzo teaches a method comprising:
sensing a first distribution of a set of memory cells (FIG. 8B: applying VDM1 and sensing if memory cells corresponding to data point 802 snapped),
detecting a missing cell in the first distribution (VDM1 is adjusted according to pre-determined number of cells in the given logic state, i.e. with missing cell in the first distribution, see 21:45-53),
increasing a voltage on the missing cell causing the missing cell to be read as part of the first distribution (FIGS. 8D-8E: applying VDM2 to the missing memory cells corresponding to data point 804),
implicitly detecting that a second memory cell in a second distribution was read while sensing the first distribution (FIGS. 8D: sensing memory cells corresponding to data points 804 and 808, wherein memory cell corresponding to data point 808 changing logic from 0 to 1 is detected by access circuit for reprogramming purpose at a later time with VDM3, see 17:18-32), and
reprogram the second memory cell as belonging to the second distribution (FIG. 8F and 9: by applying VDM3 to memory cell corresponding to data point 808).
Di Vincenzo teaches the second memory cell is reprogrammed instead of masked and marked.
Korsh teaches a method for detecting whether a memory cell VT has drifted undesirably out of range, a restore cycle condition is established and conditional status flag is set (see 8:19-45). The restore cycle operation may be immediately performed on the memory cell, or at a later time by storing address and the type of restore required in registers and address buffer, i.e. mask and mark (see 14:15-26). It is seen that if the restore cycle operation is performed at a later time, the original state of the memory cell VT is preserved for the time being.
Since Di Vincenzo and Korsh are both from the same field of endeavor, the purpose disclosed by Korsh would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Di Vincenzo.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to realize that it is choice to immediately perform a restore cycle operation on an out-of-range memory cell, or mask and mark then reprogram it at a later preferred time as suggested by Korsch.
Regarding dependent claims 12-13, 21 and 23, see rejections applied to claims 2-4 and 10 above.
Claims 5-6, 8, 14-15, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Vincenzo in view of Korsch in view of US 9,558,823 to Khwa et al. (hereafter Khwa).
Di Vincenzo and Korsh teach, as applied in prior rejection of claim 1, all claimed subject matter except further limitations set forth in the following claim(s).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Khwa teaches a memory device comprising multi-level cell (MLC) memory cells (see 8-27). FIG. 9 shows drifts and overlapping regions between resistance ranges of the MLC memory cells cause errors 920 and 930. A drift recovery of a drifted resistance range described in FIGS. 11A-11F is done by applying recovery pulse of FIG. 12B. The recovery pulse comprises first pulse shape 1210 and second pulse shape 1240, similar to VDM1 and VDM2 of Di Vincenzo.
Since Di Vincenzo, Korsh and Khwa are all from the same field of endeavor, the purpose disclosed by Di Vincenzo and Korsh would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Khwa.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the method taught in Di Vincenzo and Korsh to the MLC memory cells of Khwa in order to correct errors of each of overlapping regions of the MLC memory cells of Khwa causing by resistance drifting.
Regarding dependent claim 6, Di Vincenzo and Khwa suggest the memory controller further configured to: sense a second distribution of the set of memory cells; detect a second missing cell in the second distribution; and increase a voltage on the second missing cell causing the second missing cell to be read as part of the second distribution (each of the overlapping regions causing errors 920 and 930 in FIG. 9 of Khwa would require same steps recited in claim 1 taught by Di Vinzenzo).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Khwa teaches wherein the first distribution comprises a set state, and second distribution comprises a reset state (FIG. 9: the first two resistance ranges may be considered as set states and the last two resistance ranges as reset states).
Regarding dependent claims 14-15, 22, see rejections applied to claims 5-6, 8 above.
Claims 7, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Vincenzo in view of Korsh in view of Khwa in view of US 10,825,514 to Kim et al. (hereafter Kim).
Di Vincenzo, Korsch and Khwa teach, as applied in prior rejection of claim 6, all claimed subject matter except further limitations set forth on the following claim(s).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Kim teaches, in FIG. 2, memory device comprising multi-level cell (MLC) memory cells comprising positive set state p-SET, negative set state n-SET, positive reset state p-RESET and negative reset state n-RESET. The negative set state n-SET is programmed with negative set pulse of FIG. 7 and considered intermediate resistance between positive set state p-SET and positive reset state p-RESET programmed by positive set and reset pulses of FIG. 6 (also see 6:12-19). FIG. 5 shows drifts of resistance ranges of the states. It is understood that the p-SET is read with positive read voltage, n-SET is read with negative read voltage.
Since Di Vincenzo, Korsh, Khwa and Kim are all from the same field of endeavor, the purpose disclosed by Di Vincenzo, Korsh, Khwa would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Kim.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the method taught in Di Vincenzo and Korsh to the MLC memory cells of Kim for the purpose of recovery between drifted resistance ranges of the MLC memory cells.
Regarding dependent claim 16, see rejection applied to claim 7 above.
Claims 9, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Vincenzo in view of Korsh in view of PGPub. 2015/0317203 to Zhou (hereafter Zhou).
Di Vincenzo and Korsh teach, as applied in prior rejection of claim 1, all claimed subject matter except further limitations set forth in the following claim(s).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Zhou teaches a memory device comprising an encoder/decoder (FIG. 1: encoder/decoder 110) for encoding/decoding a codeword, wherein the codeword comprises binary balanced error-correcting codes (see FIG. 5 and corresponding description).
Since Di Vincenzo, Korsh and Zhou are all from the same field of endeavor, the purpose disclosed by Zhou would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Di Vincenzo and Korsh.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to employ the encoder/decoder of Zhou as the ECC 1142 in FIG. 11 of Di Vincenzo in order to easily set the reference levels of VDM1, VDM2 without significant increase in latency and energy cost of reading data (see FIG. 3 and paragraph [0009]).
Regarding dependent claim 17, see rejections applied to claim 9 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/19/2025 have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant argues:
Examiner thanks Applicant for explaining the two distinct concepts described in the specification. However, as Examiner has explained in above 112 rejection, there appears it is not possible for the second memory cell to preserve its original threshold voltage distribution when it was read and snapped with read voltage(s) of first threshold voltage distribution.
Amended independent claims 1 and 11 maintain rejected for the reason set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Since Examiner temporary does not consider the amended limitation as stated in the above rejection, claims 1-17, 21-23 maintain rejected under obviousness with the same references.
Conclusion
June 5, 2026
/VANTHU T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824