DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species 1a (bent catheter), species 2a (bent housing), subspecies 2 (housing and catheter are bent at a different angle), species 3b (inflow and outflow regions of the catheter are positioned farther apart), species 4b (the reinforcement region of figures 5a-b), and species 5a (the sleeve of figures 8-11) in the reply filed on 10/10/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 34 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/10/25.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 6-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2 and 9 are objected to for referring to “a point within the distal bearing” with improper antecedent basis.
Claim 6 is objected to for referring to “the restriction element” with improper antecedent basis.
Claim 7 is objected to for referring to “a point within the proximal bearing with improper antecedent basis.
The claim is further objected to for referring to “the restriction element” with improper antecedent basis.
Claim 8 is objected to for referring to “a point within the restriction element” and “a point within the distal bearing” with improper antecedent basis.
Claim 9 is objected to for referring to “the restriction element” and “a point within the distal bearing” with improper antecedent basis.
Claims 10-11 is objected to for referring to “a point within the proximal bearing” and “a point within the distal bearing” with improper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because item “3” and “H” are both used to represent the patient’s heart, and item “2” and “V” are both used to represent ventricle.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the bend angle of the tubing and catheter being different, the bend angle of the tubing being 30°+-10° and the bend angle of the catheter being 45° +- 10° must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 8, 12, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 6 is indefinite for claiming the portion of reduced diameter extends from a point at or “substantially near” where the catheter is attached, when it is unclear how close the point needs to be to be “substantially near” the location of attachment. The specification does not explain or describe exactly how close this must be in order to anticipate the claim, meaning the boundaries of the claim are unclear.
Claims 12 and 28 are indefinite for referring to “Ultra-Stiff Nitinol” when it is unclear what this material is and how it differs from Nitinol.
Remaining claims are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 13, 28, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Skrzypczak et al. (US 20230052997 A1) hereinafter known as Skrzypczak.
Regarding claims 1 and 35 Skrzypczak discloses an intravascular blood pump (Abstract) comprising:
a catheter (5),
a housing (11) in which a rotor is housed (10), the housing being attached to a distal end of the catheter (Figure 1); and
a drive shaft (12) extending through the catheter and connected to the rotor (Figure 2), at least a portion of the drive shaft being flexible (Abstract), the shaft comprising an outer layer of wound/braided wires (Figure 9a item 28), an inner layer of wound/braided wires (Figure 9a item 29), and a reinforcement element arranged within the outer layer of wires (Figure 12b item 35),
wherein the drive shaft is rotatably supported (Abstract) in a proximal bearing (13) located proximal of the rotor (Figure 12b) and a distal bearing located distal of the rotor ([0038]), and
wherein the reinforcement element extends from at least a point within the proximal bearing to a point within the distal bearing ([0014]).
Regarding claim 2 Skrzypczak discloses the pump of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Skrzypczak further discloses the reinforcement element extends from a point proximal to the proximal bearing to a point within the distal bearing ([0014]; with reference to [0038] for the location of the distal bearing).
Regarding claim 3 Skrzypczak discloses the pump of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Skrzypczak further discloses the proximal bearing comprises a bearing sleeve (30) attached to the drive shaft ([0114]), and an outer bearing ring (32) attached to the housing ([0116]), the bearing sleeve being configured to rotate within the outer bearing ring (The applicant is advised that, while the features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In addition, it has been held by the courts that apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. See MPEP 2144 (I). In this case, the patented apparatus of Skrzypczak discloses (as detailed above) all the structural limitations required to perform the recited functional language, therefore was considered to anticipate the claimed apparatus. See, for example [0016] the sleeve 30 and ring 32 form a radial bearing.).
Regarding claim 4 Skrzypczak discloses the pump of claim 3 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Skrzypczak further discloses a restriction element (33) attached to the housing and located proximal of the proximal bearing (Figure 12b) configured to prevent the bearing sleeve from becoming dislodged from the outer bearing ring (This is likewise stated as a functional limitation (see the explanation above). See also [0212]).
Regarding claim 13 Skrzypczak discloses the pump of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Skrzypczak further discloses the housing comprises a cage ([0087]) including a plurality of struts (Figure 12b shows the housing 11 made of struts) surrounding the rotor.
Regarding claim 28 Skrzypczak discloses the pump of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Skrzypczak further discloses the housing comprises nitinol ([0040], [0087]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skrzypczak as is applied above in view of Seiss et al. (US 20220134085 A1) hereinafter known as Seiss.
Regarding claim 12 Skrzypczak discloses the pump of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
but is silent with regards to the reinforcement comprising nitinol.
However, regarding claim 12 Skrzypczak teaches the reinforcement element can comprise stainless steel or a metal wire ([0014]), and Seiss teaches nitinol and stainless steel are obvious alternatives in the art ([0057]). Skrzypczak and Seiss are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely catheter blood pumps. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was field to modify the pump of Skrzypczak by having the reinforcement element comprise nitinol as is taught by Seiss since the two materials are considered obvious substitutes for one another in the art.
Claim 30-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skrzypczak as is applied above in view of Higgins (US 20200030511 A1).
Regarding claim 30 Skrzypczak discloses the pump of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Skrzypczak further discloses a downstream tubing (Figure 2 item 20) attached to the housing ([0084]; Figure 2) and through which the catheter is disposed (Figure 2)
but is silent with regards to the downstream tubing being bent.
However, regarding claim 30 Higgins teaches tubing of a pump can be bent (Figure 3 item 14). Skrzypczak and Higgins are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely blood pumps. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the pump of Skrzypczak so the tubing is bent as is taught by Higgins in order to help position the pump at a desired location within the heart while accommodating the natural curvatures within the vasculature.
Regarding claim 31 the Skrzypczak Higgins Combination teaches the pump of claim 30 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Skrzypczak further discloses the downstream tubing is made of a flexible material ([0084]) such that it may be compressed/expanded (This is stated as an “intended use” of the claimed device. The applicant is advised that a recitation of the intended use of an invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2111.02 (II). In this case, the patented structure of Skrzypczak was considered capable of performing the cited intended use. See, for example [0084].).
Regarding claim 32 the Skrzypczak Higgins Combination teaches the pump of claim 31 substantially as is claimed,
wherein the Combination further teaches a bend angle of the tubing is different than a bend angle of the catheter (see at least Skrzypczak Figure 1, along with Higgins Figure 3. In Combination, it is seen that the tubing has a bend angle (seen in Higgins Figure 3, and the catheter has a bend angle, for example, around the aortic arch (Skrzypczak Figure 1) which is different).
Regarding claim 33 the Skrzypczak Higgins Combination teaches the pump of claim 32 substantially as is claimed,
but is silent with regards to the bend angle of the tubing being 30°+-10° and the bend angle of the catheter being 45° +- 10°.
However, regarding claim 33 Higgins teaches the bend angle of the tubing is 45 degrees ([0013] 135 degrees (180-135=45 degrees). A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See MPEP 2144.05 (I). In this case, 40° (30°+10°) is considered to be close to 45 degrees.
Further, regarding claim 33 Skrzypczak shows their catheter (Figure 1 item 5) which includes a variety of bend angles. As is annotated in the figure below, at least the shown angle of the catheter 5 is seen to be about 45 degrees (and within 45° +- 10°). While the figures of Skrzypczak are not understood to be drawn to-scale, they are also not considered to be wholly inaccurate. The person of ordinary skill in the art would accordingly view Figure 1 of Skrzypczak and view the bend angle shown to be 45° +- 10°, since this is what is depicted.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-11 and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 5 is not rejected with prior art, since while prior art teaches shafts, lines, and/or reinforcing layers within catheters can be stepped (Lobbins et al. (US 20070250039 A1), [0045]; O’Connell et al. (CN 102970945 A) [0056]; Gianotti et al. (WO 2012037510 A1) page 23 lines 19-27; Chow et al. (US 20090157162 A1) [0123]), none of the prior art teaches a proximal end of a reinforcement element that is arranged in an outer layer of braided or wound wires within a drive shaft, to be stepped so that a proximal end has a reduced diameter, as well as a portion of increased diameter.
Conclusion
/Jacqueline Woznicki/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774 11/06/25