DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 10/27/2022 is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-21 and claims 22-25 are cancelled, new claims 26-29 has added in the reply filed on 12/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tuli et al. (US 2009/0001576 A1) in view of Davis (US 20210199146 A1).
Pertaining to claim 1, Tuli et al. discloses An integrated circuit component (100, 200, 300, see figs. (1-3), the integrated circuit component comprising: a plurality of contact pads (132, 232, 332, see figs. 1-3); an interposer (120, 220, 320, see figs. 1-3) comprising a plurality of liquid metal interconnects (122, 222, 322, see Abstract and see paragraph ([0012-0013] and [0023]), wherein individual liquid metal interconnects of the plurality of liquid metal interconnects are adjacent a contact pad of the plurality of contact pads; and a seal layer (126, 226, 326, see figs. 1-3) that seals the plurality of liquid metal interconnects, and a fabric layer comprising a plurality of fibers (see paragraph [0013]).
But, Tuli et al. does not specifically teach the seal layer comprising: a foam cap layer.
However, Davis teaches the seal layer (102, see figs. 3-4) comprising: a foam cap layer (122, see fig. 3-4).
Therefore, At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the seal layer comprising: a foam cap layer in the device of Tuli et al. based on the teachings of Davis in order to advantages over solid materials in sealing, gasketing, and insulation due to its compressibility, adaptability, and lightweight nature. The primary benefits include the ability to conform to irregular surfaces, superior thermal/acoustic insulation, high durability, and enhanced moisture resistance.
Pertaining to claim 2, Tuli et al. as modified by Davis further discloses, wherein the plurality of fibers (see paragraph [0013] of Tuli et al.) is integrated into the foam cap layer (122 of Davis).
Pertaining to claim 3, Tuli et al. as modified by Davis further discloses, wherein the foam cap layer is adjacent to the interposer (120, 220, 320 of Tuli et al.), wherein the fabric layer (see paragraph [0013] of Tuli et al.) is adjacent to the foam cap layer (122 of Davis).
Pertaining to claim 4, Tuli et al. as modified by Davis further discloses, wherein an adhesive (see paragraph [0025], lines 15-16 of Tuli et al.) secures the fabric layer to the foam cap layer (122 of Davis).
Pertaining to claim 5, Tuli et al. as modified by Davis further discloses, wherein the seal layer (126, 226, 326 of Tuli et al.) comprises a plurality of foam cap layers (122 of Davis) and a plurality of fabric layers (see paragraph [0013] of Tuli et al.).
Pertaining to claim 6, Tuli et al. discloses all claimed limitations except, wherein the fabric layer is woven.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the fabric layer is out of woven, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for intended use for the purpose of providing high superior durability and strength of the fabric. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Pertaining to claim 7, Tuli et al. discloses, wherein the fabric layer is polymer but it is not woven, (see paragraph [0013]).
Pertaining to claim 8, Tuli et al. discloses, wherein the plurality of fibers comprises a plurality of polyurethane fibers (polyurethane (PUR or PU) is a versatile class of polymers (see paragraph [0013]).
Pertaining to claim 9, Tuli et al. discloses, wherein the plurality of fibers comprises a plurality of polyethylene terephthalate fibers (polyethylene terephthalate fibers are distinct polymer types (see paragraph [0013]).
Pertaining to claim 10, Tuli et al. discloses all claimed limitations except, wherein the plurality of fibers comprises a plurality of glass fibers.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the fabric layer comprises a plurality of glass fibers, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for intended use for the purpose of primarily functioning as a versatile, cost-effective reinforcement in composite materials. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Pertaining to claim 11, Tuli et al. discloses all claimed limitations except, wherein individual fibers of the plurality of fibers have a diameter between 10 and 50 micrometers.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for intended use for the purpose of primarily functioning as a versatile, cost-effective reinforcement in composite materials. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Pertaining to claim 12 Tuli et al. as modified by David above teach substantially the claimed invention including the fabric layer.
But, Tuli et al. fail to explicitly teach the fabric layer has a thickness between 50 and 1,000 micrometers.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the fabric layer has a thickness between 50 and 1,000 micrometers, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Pertaining to claim 13, Tuli et al. discloses, wherein the foam cap layer has a thickness between 100 and 1,000 micrometers.
But, Tuli et al. fail to explicitly teach the fabric layer has a thickness between 100 and 1,000 micrometers.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the foam cap layer has a thickness between 100 and 1,000 micrometers, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Pertaining to claim 14, Tuli et al. discloses, further comprising a processor die (130) electrically coupled to the plurality of liquid metal interconnects (122, 222, 322).
Pertaining to claim 15, Tuli et al. discloses, the system further comprising a bed of nails socket mounted (the set of holes 122 may be arranged to match an arrangement of the first bumps 114) on a circuit board (110), wherein the plurality of liquid metal interconnects (122, 222, 322) are mated with the bed of nails socket (the set of holes 122 may be arranged to match an arrangement of the first bumps 114).
Pertaining to claim 16, Tuli et al. discloses, the integrated circuit component (100, 200, 300) comprising: a plurality of contact pads (132, 232, 332); an interposer (120, 220, 320) comprising a plurality of liquid metal interconnects, wherein individual liquid metal interconnects of the plurality of liquid metal interconnects (122, 222, 322) are adjacent a contact pad of the plurality of contact pads (132, 232, 332); a foam cap layer that seals the plurality of liquid metal interconnects; and after being punctured by pins in a bed of nails socket (the set of holes 122 may be arranged to match an arrangement of the first bumps 114).
But, Tuli et al. does not specifically teach the seal layer comprising: a foam cap layer.
However, Davis teaches the seal layer (102, see figs. 3-4) comprising: a foam cap layer (122, see fig. 3-4).
Therefore, At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the seal layer comprising: a foam cap layer in the device of Tuli et al. based on the teachings of Davis in order to advantages over solid materials in sealing, gasketing, and insulation due to its compressibility, adaptability, and lightweight nature. The primary benefits include the ability to conform to irregular surfaces, superior thermal/acoustic insulation, high durability, and enhanced moisture resistance
Pertaining to claim 17, Tuli et al. as modified by Davis further discloses, wherein the means for retaining the o the foam cap layer (122 of Davis) comprises a plurality of fibers (see paragraph [0013] of Tuli et al.).
Pertaining to claim 18, Tuli et al. as modified by Davis further discloses, wherein the plurality of fibers (see paragraph [0013] of Tuli et al.) are integrated into the foam cap layer (122 of Davis) .
Pertaining to claim 19, Tuli et al. discloses, wherein the plurality of fibers comprises a plurality of polyurethane fibers, (a plurality of polyethylene terephthalate fibers (polyethylene terephthalate fibers are distinct polymer types (see paragraph [0013]).
Pertaining to claim 20, Tuli et al. as modified by Davis further discloses, wherein the foam cap layer (122 of Davis) is adjacent to the interposer (120, 220, 320 of Tuli et al.), wherein the means for retaining the foam cap layer (122 of Davis) are adjacent to the foam cap layer (122 of Davis).
Pertaining to claim 21, Tuli et al. discloses, wherein the foam cap layer (122 of Davis) and the means for retaining the foam cap layer form part of a seal layer (126, 226, 326), wherein the seal layer comprises a plurality of foam cap layer (122 of Davis).
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 26-29 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: an interposer body defining a plurality of cavities that open at a mating surface of the interposer body; a plurality of liquid metal interconnects disposed in respective ones of the plurality of cavities; and a puncturable seal layer covering the mating surface and sealing the plurality of liquid metal interconnects within the plurality of cavities, the puncturable seal layer comprising: a foam cap layer; and a fibrous reinforcement layer comprising a plurality of fibers and disposed on or within a surface region of the foam cap layer; wherein the puncturable seal layer is configured to permit insertion of at least one conductive pin through the puncturable seal layer to electrically contact a corresponding one of the plurality of liquid metal interconnects while inhibiting migration of liquid metal out of the corresponding cavity during withdrawal of the conductive pin.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Li (US 20220361328 A1) and Paynter et al. (US 2021/0307218 A1).
/ANDARGIE M AYCHILLHUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848