DETAILED ACTION
This Notice is responsive to communication filed on
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 08/22/2025 under 37 CFR 1.131(a) has been entered. Claims 1-6, and 11-14 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6, and 11-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamada (US 2019/0198484).
Regarding claim 1, Yamada teaches a light emitting device, comprising:
a substrate Fig. 1C: 11;
a plurality of light emitting diodes Fig. 1C: 12, disposed on the substrate Fig. 1C: 11 and comprising a first electrode Fig. 1C: 23 and a second electrode Fig. 1C: 24, wherein the first electrode Fig. 1C: 23 and the second electrode Fig. 1C: 24 are disposed on a first surface (i.e. bottom surface of 12T, see annotated Fig. 1C) of the plurality of light emitting diodes Fig. 1C: 12 and the first surface is faced towards the substrate Fig. 1C: 11 (shown in Fig. 1C); and
a light-reflecting resist Fig. 1C: 15 (para. 0069 underfill…light-reflecting material), disposed between the plurality of light emitting diodes Fig. 1C: 12 and directly contacting a side surface Fig. 1C: 21a of the plurality of light emitting diodes Fig. 1C: 12 (shown in Fig. 1C), wherein at least a portion of the light-reflecting resist Fig. 1C: 15 are disposed between the first electrode Fig. 1C: 23 and the second electrode Fig. 1C: 24 (annotated below), wherein a topmost surface of the light-reflecting resist Fig. 1C: 15 is below a top surface of the plurality of light emitting diodes Fig. 1C: 12 (Fig. 1C shows topmost surface of 15 is lower than topmost surface of 12T), and a distance between the topmost surface of the light-reflecting resist Fig. 1C: 15 and the substrate Fig. 1C: 11 is greater than a distance between a light-emitting layer Fig. 1C: 22 (para. 0044) of each of the plurality of light-emitting diodes Fig. 1C: 12 and the substrate Fig. 1C: 11 (Fig. 1C shows that the light-emitting layer 22 has a shorter distance to the substrate than the topmost surface of the light-reflecting resist 15).
Regarding claim 2, Yamada teaches the light emitting device of claim 1, wherein the light-reflecting resist Fig. 1C: 15 directly contacts the first surface (i.e. bottom surface of 12T) of the plurality of light emitting diodes Fig. 1C: 12T (shown in Fig. 1C).
Regarding claim 3, Yamada teaches the light emitting device of claim 1, wherein the light-reflecting resist Fig. 1C: 15 has a first height (i.e. height closest to side surface of LED), and the light-reflecting resist Fig. 1C: 15 is entirely attached to a portion of the side surface Fig. 1C: 21a below the first height (shown in Fig. 1C).
Regarding claim 4, Yamada teaches the light emitting device of claim 3, wherein the light-reflecting resist Fig. 1C: 15 is entirely attached to the first surface (bottom surface of 12T, annotated).
Regarding claim 5, Yamada teaches the light emitting device of claim 3, wherein the light-emitting layer Fig. 1C: 22 has a second height lower than the first height (shown in Fig. 1C).
Regarding claim 6, Yamada teaches the light emitting device of claim 5, further comprising an optical function layer Fig. 1C: 16 disposed on the light-reflecting resist Fig. 1C: 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (US 2019/0198484) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ito et al. (US 8,461,610).
Regarding claim 11, although Yamada teaches the substantial features of claim 1, Yamada fails to explicitly teach the light emitting device of claim 1, wherein a reflectance of the light-reflecting resist is greater than 60%. However, Ito teaches wherein a reflectance of the light-reflecting resist Fig. 1: 15 is greater than 60% (col. 12: lines 22-24, 29-31). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings and include a light-reflective resist with high reflectivity for the purpose improving light use efficiency of the LED device (col. 6, lines 5-21).
Regarding claim 12, although Yamada teaches the substantial features of claim 1, Yamada fails to explicitly teach the light emitting device of claim 1, wherein the light-reflecting resist comprises a plurality of scattering particles. However, Ito teaches wherein the light-reflecting resist Fig. 1: 15 comprises a plurality of scattering particles (col. 8: lines 58-65 “made by dispersing a reflective filler…”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings and include a light-reflective resist comprising scattering particles for the purpose of allowing light emitted in a crosswise direction of an LED to be reflected by the reflective material towards a wavelength converting layer, and allowing the LED device to emit a different wavelength light from that of the LED (col. 9, lines 36-45).
Regarding claim 13, although Yamada teaches the substantial features of claim 1, Yamada fails to explicitly teach the light emitting device of claim 1, wherein the light-reflecting resist cause a diffusion reflection. However, Ito teaches wherein the light-reflecting resist Fig. 8A: 15 cause a diffusion reflection (col. 14, lines 29-35 “…light emitted in a crosswise direction of the LED can be reflected toward the wavelength converting layer…”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings and include a light-reflective resist that causes a diffusion reflection for the purpose of having an LED device with high light-emitting efficiency (col. 14, lines 35-38).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (US 20190198484) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakabayashi et al. (US 2021/0036198).
Regarding claim 14, Yamada teaches the light emitting device of claim 1, further comprising a working piece Fig. 1C: 16 disposed on the light-reflecting resist Fig. 1C: 15, but fails to explicitly teach air is present between the light-reflecting resist and the working piece. However, Nakabayashi teaches that air is present between the light-reflecting resist Fig. 24: 30 and the working piece Fig. 24: 70 (“air layer” within recess Fig. 24: 61; para. 0119). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine these teachings for the purpose of creating an LED device with an air layer for improving the extraction efficiency of light extracted at a position distant from the LED (para. 0119).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Nkechinyere Esiaba/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/Kretelia Graham/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817 December 5, 2025