DETAILED ACTION
This Notice is responsive to communication filed on 06/18/2026.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 06/18/2026 37 C.F. R. 1.111 has been entered. Claims 1-6, and 11-14, 21 and 22 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 14, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tischler et al. (US 10,037,947).
Regarding claim 1, Tischler teaches a light emitting device, comprising:
a substrate Fig. 5A: 401;
a plurality of light emitting diodes Fig. 5A: 300, disposed on the substrate Fig. 5A: 401 and comprising a first electrode Fig. 5A: 370, a second electrode Fig. 5A: 380, and a semiconductor stack Fig. 3B: 300,
wherein the first electrode Fig. 5A: 370 and the second electrode Fig. 5A: 380 are disposed on a first surface (i.e. lower surface of 300) of the plurality of light emitting diodes Fig. 5A: 300 and the first surface is faced towards the substrate Fig. 5A: 401, and
the semiconductor stack Fig. 3B: 300 comprises an undoped semiconductor layer Fig. 3B: 310 on a light-emitting layer Fig. 3B: 350 (col. 13, lines 8-10); and
a light-reflecting resist Fig. 5A: 510, continuously disposed between the plurality of light emitting diodes Fig. 5A: 300 and contacting side surfaces of at least adjacent two of the plurality of light emitting diodes Fig. 5A: 300 (Fig. 5A shown side contact, Fig. 6A shows continuity as ACA 510 is disposed on the top surface of the substrate 401 including continuous traces 410 (col. 20)),
wherein at least a portion of the light-reflecting resist Fig. 5A: 510 are disposed between the first electrode Fig. 5A: 370 and the second electrode Fig. 5A: 380 (shown in Fig. 5A),
wherein a topmost surface of the light-reflecting resist Fig. 5A: 510 is below a top surface of the undoped semiconductor layer Fig. 3A: 310 (see Fig. 5A), and
a distance between the topmost surface of the light-reflecting resist Fig. 5A: 510 and the substrate Fig. 5A: 401 is greater than a distance between a light-emitting layer Fig. 3B: 350 (Referencing Fig. 5A) of each of the plurality of light emitting diodes Fig. 5A: 300 and the substrate Fig. 5A: 401 (see annotated Fig. 5A below).
Regarding claim 2, Tischler teaches the light emitting device of claim 1, wherein the light-reflecting resist Fig. 5A: 510 contacts the first surface (bottom surface of 300) of the plurality of light emitting diodes Fig. 5A: 300.
Regarding claim 3, Tischler teaches the light emitting device of claim 1, wherein the light-reflecting resist Fig. 5A: 510 has a first height (annotated T1 above), and the light-reflecting resist Fig. 5A: 510 is entirely attached to a portion of the side surface below the first height (shown in Fig. 5A).
Regarding claim 4, Tischler teaches the light emitting device of claim 3, wherein the light-reflecting resist Fig. 5A: 510 is entirely attached to the first surface (bottom surface of 300).
Regarding claim 5, Tischler teaches the light emitting device of claim 3, wherein the light-emitting layer Fig. 5A: 350 has a second height (annotated T2 above) lower than the first height (shown in annotated Fig. 5A above).
Regarding claim 6, Tischler teaches the light emitting device of claim 5, further comprising an optical function layer Fig. 8C: 820 (col. 23, lines 42-55) disposed on the light-reflecting resist Fig. 5A: 510 (part of the die shown in Fig. 8C).
Regarding claim 14, Tischler teaches the light emitting device of claim 1, further comprising a working piece Fig. 9C: 920 (i.e. phosphor) on the light-reflecting resist Fig. 5A: 510, and air (col. 25, lines 61-67 teaches air may be used in place of omitted material 910) is present between the light-reflecting resist Fig. 5A: 510 and the working piece Fig. 9C: 920.
Regarding claim 21, Tischler teaches the light emitting device of claim 1, wherein the semiconductor stack Fig. 3B: 300 comprises a P-type doped semiconductor layer Fig. 3B: 340 disposed below the light-emitting layer Fig. 3B: 350, and an N-type doped semiconductor layer Fig. 3B: 330 disposed above the light-emitting layer Fig. 3B: 350 and below the undoped semiconductor layer Fig. 3B: 310 (Fig. 3B and flipped as shown in Fig. 5A; col. 13, lines 8-46).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection Note: Italicized claim limitations indicate limitations that are not explicitly disclosed in the primary reference(s).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tischler et al. (US 10,037,947) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ito et al. (US 8,461,610).
Regarding claim 11, Ito teaches the following claim limitations not disclosed by Tischler:
the light emitting device of claim 1,
wherein a reflectance of the light-reflecting resist Fig. 1: 15 is greater than 60% (col. 12: lines 22-24, 29-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Tischler with Ito and include a light-reflective resist with high reflectivity for the purpose of improving light use efficiency of the LED device (col. 6, lines 5-21).
Regarding claim 12, Ito teaches the following claim limitations not disclosed by Tischler:
the light emitting device of claim 1,
wherein the light-reflecting resist Fig. 1: 15 comprises a plurality of scattering particles (col. 8, lines 58-65 teaches dispersing reflective filler material in a resin to make the reflective layer 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Tischler with Ito and include a light-reflective resist with scattering particles for the purpose of reflecting light emitted in a downward direction from the semiconductor light emitting chip (col. 9, lines 6-19)
Regarding claim 13, Ito teaches the following claim limitations not disclosed by Tischler:
the light emitting device of claim 1,
wherein the light-reflecting resist Fig. 8A: 15 cause a diffusion reflection (col. 14, lines 29-35 “…light emitted in a crosswise direction of the LED can be reflected toward the wavelength converting layer…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Tischler with Ito and include a light-reflective resist that causes a diffusion reflection for the purpose of having an LED device with high light-emitting efficiency (col. 14, lines 35-38).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tischler et al. (US 10,037,947) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yeh et al. (US 20210313493).
Regarding claim 22, Yeh teaches the following claim limitations not disclosed by Tischler:
the light emitting device of claim 21,
wherein the topmost surface of the light-reflecting resist Fig. 2: 50 (para. 0120 teaches cover member 50 contains light reflective materials) is above a top surface of the N-type doped semiconductor layer Fig. 2: 220 (para. 0113).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Tischler with Yeh in order to isolate any surface of a light transparent member (i.e. optical function layer) from air outside, effectively avoiding or reducing possibility of deterioration (para. 0120).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6, 11-14, 21 and 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Nkechinyere Esiaba/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/Kretelia Graham/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817