DETAILED ACTION
This Office action responds to Applicant’s RCE amendments filed on 11/21/2025.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for a rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination (RCE) under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection mailed on 08/21/2025. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 11/21/2025 has been entered.
Amendment Status
The amendment filed as an RCE submission on 11/16/2025, responding to the Office action mailed on 08/21/2024 has been entered. The present Office action is made with all previously suggested amendments being fully considered. Accordingly, pending in this Office action are claims 1-3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2022/0051972) in view of Sridharan (US 2022/0406673).
Regarding claim 1, Kim shows (see, e.g., Kim: figs. 2-5) most aspects of the instant invention including a semiconductor package, comprising:
A semiconductor chip 40 (see, e.g., Kim: par. [0173])
A package structure 20 configured to accommodate the semiconductor chip 40 therein
wherein the package structure 20 comprises:
A substrate 22 having one surface 213 and the other surface opposite 214 to the one surface 213
At least one conductive via 223/241
extending through the one surface 213 and the other surface 214 of the substrate 22
A wiring layer 26 formed at the one surface 213, to transmit an electrical signal (see, e.g., Kim: par. [0208])
A chip accommodation portion 281 as a space formed through removal of a portion of a substrate 22 from the other surface 214 in a direction toward the one surface 213
A contact pad 232/282 connected to the wiring layer 26 and formed to be exposed through the chip accommodation portion 281
The semiconductor chip 40 inserted into the chip accommodation portion 281 and connected to the contact pad 232/282
wherein:
The semiconductor chip 40 is inserted after forming the wiring layer 26 (see, e.g., Kim: figs. 3b, and 4a)
The writing layer 26 extends along the one surface 213 (see, e.g., Kim: fig. 5) and includes a connection portion 24/232/282
The connection portion 24/232/282 formed on the one surface 213 of the substrate 22
Kim, however, fails to show that the connection portion 24/232/282 directly connects the contact pad 24/232 with one of the least one conductive via 223/241 on the one surface of the substrate 22. Sridharan, in a similar device to Kim, shows (see, e.g., Sridharan: fig. 4) that the connection portion 312/320/316 (formed on the one surface of the substrate 340) directly connects the contact pad 352 (formed on the one surface of the substrate 340) with one of the least one conductive via 345 on one surface of the substrate. Sridharan further shows that such connection is through the redistribution layer trace 354 that provides electrical interconnections between the die pads 312 and package terminals 345 (see, e.g., Sridharan: par. [0040]). Sridharan also shows that such direct connections are short paths that significantly improves electrical properties such a signal transmission rate, and substantially prevents generating of parasitic element (see, e.g., Sridharan: abstract).
It would have been obvious at the time of filing the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the direct connection between the contact pad and the conductive via of Sridharan in the semiconductor package of Kim to provide short paths that significantly improves electrical properties such a signal transmission rate, and substantially prevents generating of parasitic element.
Regarding claim 2, Kim in view of Sridharan shows (see, e.g., Kim: figs. 2-5) that:
The substrate 22 comprises a residual portion remaining after a portion of the substrate is removed to a predetermined depth (211-212) from a side of the substrate corresponding to the other surface 214 thereof in a direction toward the one surface 213 thereof (see, e.g., Kim: par. [0079])
The contact pad 232/282 is caused to be exposed within the chip accommodation portion 281 by removing the portion of the substrate to the predetermined depth
The contact pad 232/282 has a length extending from one surface toward the chip accommodation portion that is greater than a thickness of the residual portion after the substrate is removed to form the chip accommodation portion such that the contact pad 232/282 extends through the residual portion
Regarding claim 3, Kim in view of Sridharan shows (see, e.g., Kim: figs. 2-5) that:
A first bump 283 formed at the contact pad 232/282
A portion of the first bump 283 protruding into the interior of the chip accommodation portion 281 at the residual portion
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the previous grounds of rejection.
Examiner has read and considered Applicants’ arguments.
The applicants argue:
Kim fails to disclose or otherwise render obvious that “… semiconductor chip is inserted after forming the wiring layer …”, as recited in claim 1.
The examiner responds:
In view of the previous grounds of rejection, Kim reference, which also includes a method of manufacturing, clearly shows the amended limitation. See, e.g., Kim: figs.3b, and 4a, where Kim shows the that the semiconductor chip 40 is inserted after forming the wiring layer 26.
The applicants argue:
Kim fails to disclose or otherwise render obvious that “… the connection portion formed on the one surface of the substrate directly connects the contact pad with one of the at least one conductive via on the one surface of the substrate”, as recited in claim 1.
The examiner responds:
In view of the previous grounds of rejection, Kim in view of Sridharan teaches the amended limitation. Kim in view of Sridharan shows (see, e.g., Sridharan: fig. 4) that Sridharan, in a similar device to Kim, shows (see, e.g., Sridharan: fig. 4) that the connection portion 312/320/316 (formed on the one surface of the substrate 340) directly connects the contact pad 352 (formed on the one surface of the substrate 340) with one of the least one conductive via 345 on one surface of the substrate. Sridharan further shows that such connection is through the redistribution layer trace 354 that provides electrical interconnections between the die pads 312 and package terminals 345 (see, e.g., Sridharan: par. [0040]). Sridharan also shows that such direct connections are short paths that significantly improves electrical properties such a signal transmission rate, and substantially prevents generating of parasitic element (see, e.g., Sridharan: abstract).
It would have been obvious at the time of filing the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the direct connection between the contact pad and the conductive via of Sridharan in the semiconductor package of Kim to provide short paths that significantly improves electrical properties such a signal transmission rate, and substantially prevents generating of parasitic element.
The applicants argue:
Kim in view of Sridharan fails to disclose or otherwise render obvious that “… a through-substrate via (TSV) (see Sridharan, FIGs. 2A-2J), whereas amended claim 1 recites the claimed "conductive via" extends through the one surface and the other surface of the substrate (as recited in Remarks).
The examiner responds:
In view of the previous grounds of rejection, Kim in view of Sridharan teaches that element 345 is a conductive via (see, e.g., Sridharan: par. [0040]) having the element 370 as a metal core and the element 372 as a solder paste (see, e.g., Sridharan: par. [0045]).
Conclusion
/TIBERIU DAN ONUTA/Examiner, Art Unit 2814
/WAEL M FAHMY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2814