DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim(s) 1, 11, and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
It should be noted that “first and second mode(s)” as disclosed in the presently amended application are being interpreted as a drive mode and a one pedal mode as described in [0054-0055] of the present specification.
For more information regarding switched and a “first and second mode(s)”, please see the rejection in-reclaim 1 to include Goto US-20180186352-A1.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Booth US-20240253635-A1, Goto US-20180186352-A1, and Camhi US-20200055402-A1 in view of Vitullo US-20180215272-A1.
1. (Currently Amended) Booth US-20240253635-A1 discloses A pedal control system for an electric vehicle [FIG.2]comprising:
(Booth [0029] a vehicle system 100 includes a vehicle 101 which may be any suitable type of electric drive vehicle including but not limited to series hybrid and/or battery electric vehicles)
a pedal configured to be operated **** [[in a]] mode not including regenerative braking [mode 306] and **** [[a mode]] including regenerative braking [mode 304], **** including a plurality of sub-modes, the plurality of sub-modes including an automatic mode [mode 310] and a plurality of predefined sub-modes [0046, FIG.3; mode 308] (i.e. modes applied automatically based on brake pedal actuation and/or tractional control events and environmental factors);
(Booth [0028] the regenerative braking and the friction brakes are both implemented via the brake pedal)
(Booth [0042] the control module receives input from the user interface, where the input is one of four (4) available modes: (a) “Full Regenerative Braking” mode 304, (b) “No Regenerative Braking” mode 306, (c) “Manually Controlled Limited Regenerative Braking” mode 308, and (d) “Automatically Controlled Limited Regenerative Braking” mode 310. The characteristics of each of the modes 304, 306, 308, and 310 are explained herein.)
(Booth [0046] third mode 308, the maximum regenerative braking limit may be set between the first mode 304 and the second mode 306 as manually activated by the driver)
Booth: FIG.3
[[a user interface]] **** [FIG.2; user interface 206];
(Booth [0039] The user interface 206 may include any one or more of the following components: switch(es) 208, dial(s) 210, slider(s) 212, and/or touchscreen 214. The components of the user interface 206 facilitates changing or switching among a plurality of different modes for managing generative braking torque based on the driving conditions, as determined by the driver.)
Goto US-20180186352-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for an EV vehicle configured to drive in a normal and one pedal mode comprising “…a first switch configured to switch between the first mode and the second mode”;
(Goto [0070] A mode switching switch 25 as a mode switching unit is provided close to the driver's seat. The mode switching switch 25 serves as a mode switching portion 34 (refer to FIG. 2), which will be described below. The mode switching switch 25 is a switch for switching the running mode of the vehicle to any one of the one-pedal mode and the normal mode, and outputs a mode switching signal M by being subjected to a switching operation by the driver. The normal mode is the mode of performing the acceleration control in response to the operation on the accelerator pedal 21 and also performing the deceleration control in response to the operation on the brake pedal 6. On the other hand, the one-pedal mode is the mode of performing both the acceleration control and the deceleration control in response to the operation on the accelerator pedal 21, i.e., a mode of realizing operations from acceleration to deceleration and even a stop of the vehicle according to the operation amount of the accelerator pedal 21 (an opening degree of the accelerator).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Booth to include a first switch configured to switch between the first mode and the second mode with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Goto, for the benefit of providing a user interface to configure operation of a vehicle according to user preference.
a second switch configured to select one of the plurality of sub-modes when the second mode is selected (i.e. modes set manually by a user, applied automatically based on brake pedal actuation and/or tractional control events and environmental factors);
(Booth [0039] The user interface 206 may include any one or more of the following components: switch(es) 208, dial(s) 210, slider(s) 212, and/or touchscreen 214. The components of the user interface 206 facilitates changing or switching among a plurality of different modes for managing generative braking torque based on the driving conditions, as determined by the driver.)
(Booth [0046] third mode 308, the maximum regenerative braking limit may be set between the first mode 304 and the second mode 306 as manually activated by the driver)
(Booth [0048] different user interfaces may be used to switch between selecting the first mode 304 or the second mode 306 and selecting the third mode 308 or the fourth mode 310.)
Booth: FIG.3
the second switch being configured to toggle through each of the plurality of sub-modes, the plurality of sub-modes not including the first mode (i.e. selecting modes that include “regen”);
(Booth [0042] In step 302, the control module receives input from the user interface, where the input is one of four (4) available modes: (a) “Full Regenerative Braking” mode 304, (b) “No Regenerative Braking” mode 306, (c) “Manually Controlled Limited Regenerative Braking” mode 308, and (d) “Automatically Controlled Limited Regenerative Braking” mode 310. The characteristics of each of the modes 304, 306, 308, and 310 are explained herein.)
Booth: FIG.3
a sensor configured to obtain sensor data to determine a scene associated with an operational environment of the vehicle, the sensor data obtained by the sensor ****; and
(Booth [0038] the controller 102 may further include a receiver/transmitter (not shown) capable of receiving and transmitting data in the form of signals via wired and/or wireless communications. In some examples, the receiver/transmitter allows the controller 102 to access a plurality of external components outside of the vehicle in order to obtain information indicative of environmental factors, such as the weather, terrain, etc. which may affect the road conditions
Camhi US-20200055402-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for sensor data including “…detection of a lead vehicle ahead of the vehicle, and an amount of time that the lead vehicle is ahead of the vehicle;
(Camhi [0017] radar sensors, speed sensors, maintenance sensors, battery sensors, pedal sensors, navigation devices, communication devices, camera devices, or a combination thereof, that are used to acquire information related to driving parameters of the electric vehicle, such as the type of road (e.g., closed access highway, rural roads, or urban streets) being traveled by the electric vehicle, road topography, vehicle geolocation, vehicle orientation, vehicle speed, distance to and speed of nearby vehicles, traffic conditions, actuation status of one or more pedals, vehicle maintenance alerts, battery recharge alerts, or a combination thereof.)
(Camhi [0023] front radar sensor 102a, as the name suggests, can be arranged to point forward relative to the electric vehicle 100, and can detect the presence of other vehicle (or other obstacles) ahead of the electric vehicle 100. The front radar sensor 102b can also detect the distance to any other vehicle (or other obstacle) that is ahead of the electric vehicle 100 based on the travel time of the emitted electromagnetic wave or signal)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Booth to include sensor data comprising detection of a lead vehicle ahead of the vehicle, and an amount of time that the lead vehicle is ahead of the vehicle with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Camhi, for the benefit of providing information relative to a trailing/following behavior or a vehicle with respect to leading vehicle ahead, providing data relative to maintaining a safe following distance between vehicles and ensuring safe operation.
an electronic controller [FIG.2; controller 102] configured to control an operating mode of the pedal when the second mode is selected,
each of the plurality of sub-modes having a different rate of deceleration and regeneration,
(Booth [FIG.3 0046-48] third mode 308, the maximum regenerative braking limit may be set between the first mode 304 and the second mode 306 as manually activated by the driver… The regenerative torque capability may be manually adjusted based on additional user input, which may be a user-specified/predetermined regenerative braking limit, for example)
the automatic mode selecting one of the plurality of predefined sub-modes other than the automatic mode in which the pedal is operated (i.e. modes applied automatically based tractional control events and environmental factors 320,322);, and
(Booth [0042] the control module receives input from the user interface, where the input is one of four (4) available modes: (a) “Full Regenerative Braking” mode 304, (b) “No Regenerative Braking” mode 306, (c) “Manually Controlled Limited Regenerative Braking” mode 308, and (d) “Automatically Controlled Limited Regenerative Braking” mode 310. The characteristics of each of the modes 304, 306, 308, and 310 are explained herein.)
(Booth [0016] (d) automatically controlled regenerative braking mode is selected, automatically adjust the regenerative torque capability curve of the vehicle based on one or more traction control events or environmental factors.)
Booth: FIG.3
the electronic controller being configured to select one of the plurality of predefined sub-modes based ***on inputs*** [0047], and
(Booth [0039] The user interface 206 may include any one or more of the following components: switch(es) 208, dial(s) 210, slider(s) 212, and/or touchscreen 214. The components of the user interface 206 facilitates changing or switching among a plurality of different modes for managing generative braking torque based on the driving conditions, as determined by the driver.)
(Booth [0042] the control module receives input from the user interface, where the input is one of four (4) available modes: (a) “Full Regenerative Braking” mode 304, (b) “No Regenerative Braking” mode 306, (c) “Manually Controlled Limited Regenerative Braking” mode 308, and (d) “Automatically Controlled Limited Regenerative Braking” mode 310. The characteristics of each of the modes 304, 306, 308, and 310 are explained herein.)
(Booth [0047] In some examples, the regenerative torque capability curve may be automatically adjusted, for example by applying a scaling factor, based on one or more traction control events or environmental factors)
US-20180215272-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for regenerative braking conditions inputs based upon “…whether a lead vehicle is detected ahead of the vehicle”;
(Vitullo [0010] using both the electric machine and the friction, regenerative, and/or combination regenerative-friction brakes. The electric machine and brakes, in response to the proximate vehicle signal and brake pedal signal, are adjusted according to and/or utilizing the deceleration-rate signal and the corresponding nearby-vehicle distance, among other signals and parameters)
(Vitullo [0062] regenerative braking may continue in adaptive cruise mode as HEV 100 is decelerated at a rate to enables following a lead nearby vehicle while maintaining the lead-lag distance.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Booth to include inputs based upon whether a lead vehicle is detected ahead of the vehicle with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Vitullo, for the benefit of providing a system capable of maintaining a predetermined lead-lag distance between two vehicles, ensuring a safe trailing distance is maintained by controlling the deceleration of a following vehicle in order to prevent collision.
the first switch being different from the second switch, the first switch not being configured to select one of the plurality of sub-modes and the second switch not being configured to switch between the first mode and the second mode.
12. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 12 is similar in scope to the disclosure of the system of claim(s) 1 and are therefore rejected under the same premise. For more information, please see the rejection in re claim(s) 1.
Claim(s) 7-10 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Booth US-20240253635-A1, Goto US-20180186352-A1 , Camhi US-20200055402-A1 and Vitullo US-20180215272-A1, as applied to claim 1 and 12 above and further in view of Han US-20190202296-A1.
7. (Previously Presented) Booth US-20240253635-A1 discloses The pedal control system according to claim 1, wherein upon determining ***a setting***, the electronic controller is further configured to select one of the plurality of predefined sub-modes based ***on input***.
(Booth [0042] the control module receives input from the user interface, where the input is one of four (4) available modes: (a) “Full Regenerative Braking” mode 304, (b) “No Regenerative Braking” mode 306, (c) “Manually Controlled Limited Regenerative Braking” mode 308, and (d) “Automatically Controlled Limited Regenerative Braking” mode 310. The characteristics of each of the modes 304, 306, 308, and 310 are explained herein.)
Vitullo US-20180215272-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for regenerative braking conditions inputs based upon “…whether a lead vehicle is detected ahead of the vehicle”;
(Vitullo [0010] using both the electric machine and the friction, regenerative, and/or combination regenerative-friction brakes. The electric machine and brakes, in response to the proximate vehicle signal and brake pedal signal, are adjusted according to and/or utilizing the deceleration-rate signal and the corresponding nearby-vehicle distance, among other signals and parameters)
(Vitullo [0062] regenerative braking may continue in adaptive cruise mode as HEV 100 is decelerated at a rate to enables following a lead nearby vehicle while maintaining the lead-lag distance.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Booth to include inputs based upon whether a lead vehicle is detected ahead of the vehicle with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Vitullo, for the benefit of providing a system capable of maintaining a predetermined lead-lag distance between two vehicles, ensuring a safe trailing distance is maintained by controlling the deceleration of a following vehicle in order to prevent collision.
Han US-20190202296-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for regenerative braking “…based on the amount of time that the lead vehicle is ahead of the vehicle”
(Han [0056] The regenerative braking level may be divided into a level 0 (Level 0), a level 1 (Level 1), a level 2 (Level 2, and a level 3 (Level 3) used in collision avoidance and selected according to an estimated time-to-collision with a lead vehicle
(Han [0058] The determination device 170 compares the estimated time-to-collision calculated by the calculator 160 with the reference time-to-collision to determine whether the estimated time-to-collision is within the reference time-to-collision… determined that the estimated time-to-collision is within the reference time-to-collision, the determination device 170 determines a first regenerative braking level corresponding to the estimated time-to-collision.)
(Han [0094-98; FIG.9] when the forward vehicle 20 is detected by the sensor installed at the front part of the ego vehicle 10 while the brake pedal is not operated to “ON” and the regenerative braking level is not manually input by the paddle shift (S130), the regenerative braking control apparatus 100 detects the information about forward driving environment with reference to the forward vehicle 20, e.g., the relative distance between the forward vehicle 20 and the ego vehicle 10, the relative speed between the forward vehicle 20 and the ego vehicle 10, the speed of the ego vehicle 10, etc. (S140), and determines the regenerative braking level based on the information about the forward driving environment detected in operation ‘S140’ (S150)… calculates the estimated time-to-collision T1 between the forward vehicle 20 and the ego vehicle 10 based on the relative distance and the relative speed verified in operation ‘S211’ (S212)… when the estimated time-to-collision T1 calculated in operation ‘S212’ is within the predetermined reference time-to-collision T0 (S213), the regenerative braking control apparatus 100 determines the first regenerative braking level (A) based on the estimated time-to-collision T1, and when the estimated time-to-collision T1 calculated in operation ‘S212’ is not within the predetermined reference time-to-collision T0 (S213), the regenerative braking control apparatus 100 determines the first regenerative braking level (A) to the level zero (Level 0) (S214).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Booth to include selecting one of the plurality of predefined sub-modes based on the amount of time that the lead vehicle is ahead of the vehicle with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Han, for the benefit of providing control instructions for slowing a vehicle dependent upon sensed environmental obstacles, such as a lead vehicle, ensuring a safe following distance and helping to prevent collision.
8. (Original) Booth US-20240253635-A1 discloses The pedal control system according to claim 7, wherein additional deceleration is added to the selected predefined sub-mode ****.
(Booth [0042] the control module receives input from the user interface, where the input is one of four (4) available modes: (a) “Full Regenerative Braking” mode 304, (b) “No Regenerative Braking” mode 306, (c) “Manually Controlled Limited Regenerative Braking” mode 308, and (d) “Automatically Controlled Limited Regenerative Braking” mode 310. The characteristics of each of the modes 304, 306, 308, and 310 are explained herein.)
(Booth [0047] In some examples, the regenerative torque capability curve may be automatically adjusted, for example by applying a scaling factor, based on one or more traction control events or environmental factors)
Han US-20190202296-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for regenerative braking “…wherein additional deceleration is added to the selected predefined sub-mode when the amount of time is less than a predetermined amount”
(Han [0056] The regenerative braking level may be divided into a level 0 (Level 0), a level 1 (Level 1), a level 2 (Level 2, and a level 3 (Level 3) used in collision avoidance and selected according to an estimated time-to-collision with a lead vehicle
(Han [0058] The determination device 170 compares the estimated time-to-collision calculated by the calculator 160 with the reference time-to-collision to determine whether the estimated time-to-collision is within the reference time-to-collision… determined that the estimated time-to-collision is within the reference time-to-collision, the determination device 170 determines a first regenerative braking level corresponding to the estimated time-to-collision.)
(Han [0097] In this case, when the estimated time-to-collision T1 calculated in operation ‘S212’ is within the predetermined reference time-to-collision T0 (S213), the regenerative braking control apparatus 100 determines the first regenerative braking level (A) based on the estimated time-to-collision T1, and when the estimated time-to-collision T1 calculated in operation ‘S212’ is not within the predetermined reference time-to-collision T0 (S213), the regenerative braking control apparatus 100 determines the first regenerative braking level (A) to the level zero (Level 0) (S214).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Booth to include wherein additional deceleration is added to the selected predefined sub-mode when the amount of time is less than a predetermined amount with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Han, for the benefit of providing control instructions for slowing a vehicle dependent upon sensed environmental obstacles, such as a lead vehicle, ensuring a safe following distance and helping to prevent collision.
9. (Original) Booth US-20240253635-A1 discloses The pedal control system according to claim 7, wherein the one of the predefined sub-modes ***includes a different rate of deceleration than another of the predefined sub-modes*** .
(Booth [0042] the control module receives input from the user interface, where the input is one of four (4) available modes: (a) “Full Regenerative Braking” mode 304, (b) “No Regenerative Braking” mode 306, (c) “Manually Controlled Limited Regenerative Braking” mode 308, and (d) “Automatically Controlled Limited Regenerative Braking” mode 310. The characteristics of each of the modes 304, 306, 308, and 310 are explained herein.)
Han US-20190202296-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for regenerative braking “…associated with a smaller amount of time includes a larger rate of deceleration than another of the predefined sub-modes associated with a larger amount of time”
(Han [0056] The regenerative braking level may be divided into a level 0 (Level 0), a level 1 (Level 1), a level 2 (Level 2, and a level 3 (Level 3) used in collision avoidance and selected according to an estimated time-to-collision with a lead vehicle
(Han [0058] The determination device 170 compares the estimated time-to-collision calculated by the calculator 160 with the reference time-to-collision to determine whether the estimated time-to-collision is within the reference time-to-collision… determined that the estimated time-to-collision is within the reference time-to-collision, the determination device 170 determines a first regenerative braking level corresponding to the estimated time-to-collision.)
(Han [0097] In this case, when the estimated time-to-collision T1 calculated in operation ‘S212’ is within the predetermined reference time-to-collision T0 (S213), the regenerative braking control apparatus 100 determines the first regenerative braking level (A) based on the estimated time-to-collision T1, and when the estimated time-to-collision T1 calculated in operation ‘S212’ is not within the predetermined reference time-to-collision T0 (S213), the regenerative braking control apparatus 100 determines the first regenerative braking level (A) to the level zero (Level 0) (S214).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Booth to include wherein additional deceleration is added to the selected predefined sub-mode when the amount of time is less than a predetermined amount with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Han, for the benefit of providing control instructions for slowing a vehicle dependent upon sensed environmental obstacles, such as a lead vehicle, ensuring a safe following distance and helping to prevent collision.
10. (Original) Booth US-20240253635-A1 discloses The pedal control system according to claim 7, wherein the electronic controller is configured to switch between the plurality of predefined sub-modes ***when an input is detected***.
(Booth [0042] the control module receives input from the user interface, where the input is one of four (4) available modes: (a) “Full Regenerative Braking” mode 304, (b) “No Regenerative Braking” mode 306, (c) “Manually Controlled Limited Regenerative Braking” mode 308, and (d) “Automatically Controlled Limited Regenerative Braking” mode 310. The characteristics of each of the modes 304, 306, 308, and 310 are explained herein.)
(Booth [0039] The user interface 206 may include any one or more of the following components: switch(es) 208, dial(s) 210, slider(s) 212, and/or touchscreen 214. The components of the user interface 206 facilitates changing or switching among a plurality of different modes for managing generative braking torque based on the driving conditions, as determined by the driver.)
Han US-20190202296-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for regenerative braking “…configured to switch between the plurality of predefined sub-modes when the amount of time changes”
(Han [0056] The regenerative braking level may be divided into a level 0 (Level 0), a level 1 (Level 1), a level 2 (Level 2, and a level 3 (Level 3) used in collision avoidance and selected according to an estimated time-to-collision with a lead vehicle
(Han [0058] The determination device 170 compares the estimated time-to-collision calculated by the calculator 160 with the reference time-to-collision to determine whether the estimated time-to-collision is within the reference time-to-collision… determined that the estimated time-to-collision is within the reference time-to-collision, the determination device 170 determines a first regenerative braking level corresponding to the estimated time-to-collision.)
(Han [0097] In this case, when the estimated time-to-collision T1 calculated in operation ‘S212’ is within the predetermined reference time-to-collision T0 (S213), the regenerative braking control apparatus 100 determines the first regenerative braking level (A) based on the estimated time-to-collision T1, and when the estimated time-to-collision T1 calculated in operation ‘S212’ is not within the predetermined reference time-to-collision T0 (S213), the regenerative braking control apparatus 100 determines the first regenerative braking level (A) to the level zero (Level 0) (S214).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Booth to switch between the plurality of predefined sub-modes when the amount of time changes with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Han, for the benefit of providing control instructions for slowing a vehicle dependent upon sensed environmental obstacles, such as a lead vehicle, ensuring a safe following distance and helping to prevent collision.
18. (Previously Presented) The method of claim 18 is similar in scope to the disclosure of the system of claim(s) 7 and are therefore rejected under the same premise. For more information, please see the rejection in re claim(s) 7.
19. (Original) The method of claim 19 is similar in scope to the disclosure of the system of claim(s) 8 and are therefore rejected under the same premise. For more information, please see the rejection in re claim(s) 8.
20. (Original) The method of claim 20 is similar in scope to the disclosure of the system of claim(s) 10 and are therefore rejected under the same premise. For more information, please see the rejection in re claim(s) 10.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Booth US-20240253635-A1, Goto US-20180186352-A1, Camhi US-20200055402-A1, and Vitullo US-20180215272-A1 in view of Han US-20190202296-A1.
11. (Currently Amended) The system of claim 11 is similar in scope to the disclosure of the system of claim(s) 1 and are therefore rejected under the same premise. For more information, please see the rejection in re claim(s) 1.
Regarding the remaining limitation(s);
…
an additional deceleration being added to the selected predefined sub-mode ****.
(Booth [0042] the control module receives input from the user interface, where the input is one of four (4) available modes: (a) “Full Regenerative Braking” mode 304, (b) “No Regenerative Braking” mode 306, (c) “Manually Controlled Limited Regenerative Braking” mode 308, and (d) “Automatically Controlled Limited Regenerative Braking” mode 310. The characteristics of each of the modes 304, 306, 308, and 310 are explained herein.)
(Booth [0047] In some examples, the regenerative torque capability curve may be automatically adjusted, for example by applying a scaling factor, based on one or more traction control events or environmental factors)
Han US-20190202296-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for regenerative braking with additional deceleration “…when the detected amount of time is less than a predetermined amount of time”
(Han [0056] The regenerative braking level may be divided into a level 0 (Level 0), a level 1 (Level 1), a level 2 (Level 2, and a level 3 (Level 3) used in collision avoidance and selected according to an estimated time-to-collision with a lead vehicle
(Han [0058] The determination device 170 compares the estimated time-to-collision calculated by the calculator 160 with the reference time-to-collision to determine whether the estimated time-to-collision is within the reference time-to-collision… determined that the estimated time-to-collision is within the reference time-to-collision, the determination device 170 determines a first regenerative braking level corresponding to the estimated time-to-collision.)
(Han [0097] In this case, when the estimated time-to-collision T1 calculated in operation ‘S212’ is within the predetermined reference time-to-collision T0 (S213), the regenerative braking control apparatus 100 determines the first regenerative braking level (A) based on the estimated time-to-collision T1, and when the estimated time-to-collision T1 calculated in operation ‘S212’ is not within the predetermined reference time-to-collision T0 (S213), the regenerative braking control apparatus 100 determines the first regenerative braking level (A) to the level zero (Level 0) (S214).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Booth to include wherein additional deceleration is added to the selected predefined sub-mode when the amount of time is less than a predetermined amount with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Han, for the benefit of providing control instructions for slowing a vehicle dependent upon sensed environmental obstacles, such as a lead vehicle, ensuring a safe following distance and helping to prevent collision.
Conclusion
It should be noted that there exists prior art which is pertinent to significant though unclaimed features of the defined invention or directed to the state of art. The following is a brief description of relevant prior art cited but not applied:
Toda (US-20210008971-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “… [0083] First, in step S1 in FIG. 10, it is determined whether or not the vehicle 1 is set to the internal combustion engine traveling mode (ENG mode). That is, the vehicle 1 includes the mode selection switch 40 (FIG. 5) selecting either one of the internal combustion engine traveling mode and the electric motor traveling mode (EV mode). In step S1, it is determined which the mode selection switch 40 is set to. At time t.sub.1 in FIG. 11, because the mode selection switch 40 is set to the electric motor traveling mode, the process of the flowchart of FIG. 10 moves to step S2.
[0087] Next, at time t.sub.3 in FIG. 11, in a case where the driver operates the brake pedal (not illustrated) of the vehicle 1, the process of the flowchart of FIG. 10 moves from step S3 to S5. In step S5, driving by the main driving motor 16 is stopped (no torque is generated), and regeneration of electric power from the kinetic energy of the vehicle 1 is performed by the sub-driving motors 20. The vehicle 1 is decelerated due to the regeneration from the kinetic energy, and the discharge current from the battery 18 becomes zero. Meanwhile, a charge current flows to the capacitor 22 by the regeneration of electric power by the sub-driving motors 20, and the voltage of the capacitor 22 rises.
[0099] Next, at time t.sub.14 in FIG. 11, in a case where the driver operates the brake pedal (not illustrated), the process of the flowchart of FIG. 10 moves from step S12 to S14. In step S14, the fuel supply to the engine 12 is stopped, and fuel consumption is inhibited. Then, in step S15, regeneration of electric energy from the kinetic energy of the vehicle 1 is performed by the main driving motor 16 and the sub-driving motors 20, and charge currents flow to the battery 18 and the capacitor 22. As described above, during deceleration of the vehicle 1, processes of steps S1, S11, S12, S14, and S15 are repeatedly executed (the period from time t.sub.14 to t.sub.15 in FIG. 11).”;
See PTO-892: Notice of references cited.
Contact
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30-5:30.
/M.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/JAMES M MCPHERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3663