Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-15, and 21-25 are pending.
Claims 2, 10, and 16-20 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 3, 9, and 11 are currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 (and similarly claim 9) recites the claim limitation “wherein the support shaft further comprises a rotation part configured to rotate the moving stage part during a supply of chemical, and wherein the controller is configured to control the rotation part such that the mask does not rotate at all throughout an entire period during which the laser light is being irradiated by the laser irradiator to the second pattern and stops rotating after the mask is supplied with the chemical to form a puddle of the chemical on the mask” (emphasis added). As currently written, it is unclear whether or not supplying the chemical to the mask is performed prior to the irradiation operation, and furthermore, if the rotation of the stage is occurring at the same time as the supplying of the chemical. For the purposes of examination, the Examiner interprets the limitation to refer to the controller being configured to: first control the liquid supply unit to supply chemical to the mask/substrate while rotating the moving stage, followed by stopping supply of the chemical and rotation of the moving stage, followed by then irradiating the laser light to the mask/substrate.
Claims 3-8, 11-15, and 21-25 are rejected at least because they are dependent from claims 1 or 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-15, 21, and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (KR 20220049651 A, as read via US publication US 20220113619 A1), further in view of Terada (US 20040197433 A1), and Nishimura (US 20190353555 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Oh teaches a mask treating apparatus (Oh, Fig. 10, apparatus 300), comprising:
a controller configured to operate to control the mask treating apparatus to treat a mask having a first pattern within a plurality of cells thereof and a second pattern outside regions of the plurality of cells (Oh, Fig. 10, controller 390 is configured to identify a correction target area from among the plurality of pattern elements in which correction target pattern elements have a critical dimension different from a target critical dimension, and drive the laser to irradiate the laser beam to the correction target area while the chemical liquid is provided on the photomask 100, [0010]);
a support unit configured to support and rotate the mask (Oh, Fig. 10, [0085], support driving unit 330 supports and rotates the photomask 100); and
a heating unit having a laser irradiator configured to irradiate a laser light to a specific region of the mask supported on the support unit (Oh, Fig. 10, [0079], laser irradiation unit 360 irradiates laser beam LB to target correction area PA’), wherein
the controller is configured to control the support unit (Oh, Fig. 10, [0085], controller 390 controls driving unit 330) and the heating unit (Oh, Fig. 10, [0076], controller 390 controls laser irradiation unit 360), wherein the support unit comprises
a support part including a support shaft and a chuck, the support part configured to support the mask (Oh, Fig. 10, [0085], support portion 320 and support portion 310, where the photomask 100 is supported on portion 310), and
wherein the support shaft further comprises a rotation part configured to rotate the moving stage part during a supply of chemical (Oh, Fig. 10, [0069], photomask 100 may be configured to rotate during supply of the chemical liquid), and wherein the controller is configured to control the rotation part such that the mask does not rotate at all throughout an entire period during which the laser light is being irradiated by the laser irradiator to the second pattern, and stops rotating after the mask is supplied with the chemical to form a puddle of the chemical on the mask (Oh, Fig. 10, [0088], controller 390 may stop rotation of the photomask 100 and then irradiate the laser beam LB to the correction target area PA’).
Oh fails to teach a moving stage part having at least one component between the support shaft and the chuck and configured to move a position of the chuck independent of the support shaft, and
wherein the controller is configured to control the moving stage part such that a position of the mask supported on the support part is changed such that the second pattern is positioned at the specific region.
However, Terada teaches wherein the controller is configured to control the moving stage part such that a position of the mask supported on the support part is changed such that the second pattern is positioned at the specific region (Terada, Fig. 5, [0114], control portion 81 commands drive portions 77 and 80 of X-Y stage 62 to move to predetermined coordinates, where the coordinates correspond to different discrete positions noted by plural alignment marks 15, [0128] and Fig. 11, and the process encompasses movement to each alignment mark 15, [0133]).
Terada is analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor substrate processing. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the laser irradiation unit of Oh with the laser device of Terada, X-Y stage of Terada, and associated controller programming as doing so would provide a manner to correct the position of the substrate in relation to the laser irradiation position based on a real time imaging of the current position in relation to a predetermined optimum position (Terada, [0114]).
Modified Oh fails to teach a moving stage part having at least one component between the support shaft and the chuck and configured to move a position of the chuck independent of the support shaft.
However, Nishimura teaches a moving stage part having at least one component between the support shaft and the chuck and configured to move a position of the chuck independent of the support shaft (Nishimura, Fig. 3, [0022]-[0024], horizontal positioning mechanism 22 is located between chuck 22 and rotary mechanism 24 and moves the position of the chuck 22).
Nishimura is analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor of semiconductor substrate processing. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the horizontal positioning mechanism in the manner of Nishimura into the apparatus of modified Oh as doing so would provide a mechanism for achieving high-accuracy position of the chuck mechanism on the horizontal plane (Nishimura, [0023]).
The Examiner construes ‘the mask having a first pattern within a plurality of cells thereof and a second pattern outside regions of the plurality of cells‘ as a material or article worked upon by the apparatus. The courts have held that such an inclusion does not impart patentability to the claims. See MPEP 2115.
To clarify the record, the limitation “…configured to rotate the moving stage part during a supply of chemical“ is merely an intended use and is given patentable weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. The rotatable support unit and chemical supply unit of Oh are in communication with the controller wherein the controller can cause the chuck to rotate and cause the chemical to be supplied to the photomask, thereby being capable of performing the above limitation. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 3, Oh teaches a liquid supply unit configured to supply a treating liquid to the mask supported on the support unit (Oh, Fig. 10, [0076], chemical supply unit 340 is configured to supply the chemical liquid CL to an upper surface of the photomask 100),
wherein the controller is configured to control the rotation part such that the mask is rotated while the liquid supply unit is supplying the treating liquid to the mask (Oh, Fig. 10, [0069], photomask 100 may be configured to rotate during supply of the chemical liquid).
To clarify the record, the limitation “…configured to supply a treating liquid to the mask supported on the support unit “ is merely an intended use and is given patentable weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. The chemical supply unit of Oh is in communication with the controller wherein the controller can cause the chemical to be supplied to the photomask, thereby being capable of performing the above limitation. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 4, modified Oh fails to teach a base positioned below the support chuck; a first driving part installed at the base and moving the support part in a first direction which is horizontal to the ground; and a second driving part installed at the base and moving the support part in a second direction which is orthogonal to the first direction and horizontal to the ground.
However, Nishimura teaches a base positioned below the support chuck (Nishimura, Fig. 3, [0022]-[0026], horizontal positioning mechanism 22 is located below chuck 22 on holding plate 251); a first driving part installed at the base and moving the support part in a first direction which is horizontal to the ground (Nishimura, Fig. 3, [0022]-[0024], horizontal positioning mechanism 22 includes an XY table for movements in direction orthogonal to each other in the horizontal direction, which can include two linear motors in combination orthogonal to each other); and a second driving part installed at the base and moving the support part in a second direction which is orthogonal to the first direction and horizontal to the ground (Nishimura, Fig. 3, [0022]-[0024], horizontal positioning mechanism 22 includes an XY table for movements in direction orthogonal to each other in the horizontal direction, which can include two linear motors in combination orthogonal to each other).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the horizontal positioning mechanism in the manner of Nishimura into the apparatus of modified Oh as doing so would provide a mechanism for achieving high-accuracy position of the chuck mechanism on the horizontal plane (Nishimura, [0023]).
Regarding claim 5, Oh fails to teach a container defining a treating space and a recollecting path,
wherein the support unit is configured to support the mask at the treating space.
However, Terada teaches a container defining a treating space and a recollecting path (Terada, Fig. 5, [0107], cup 61 defines a space within which chuck 60, recovery nozzle 66, and discharge opening 72 are disposed), the treating space for treating the mask and the recollecting path for recollecting the treating liquid (Terada, Fig. 6, [0121], recovery nozzle 66 recovers fluid dispensed form main nozzle 64 and is connected to recovery tank 96),
wherein the support unit is configured to support the mask at the treating space (Terada, Fig. 5, [0107], cup 61 encompasses chuck 60, upon which the substrate is located).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the liquid recovery portions of Terada into the apparatus of Oh as doing so would provide a mechanism to discharge the liquid from the processing area (Terada, [0107]).
Regarding claim 6, Oh fails to teach wherein a position of the laser irradiator is fixed while the laser irradiator irradiates the laser light.
However, Terada teaches wherein a position of the laser irradiator is fixed while the laser irradiator irradiates the laser light (Terada, Fig. 5, [0113], laser device 63 is fixed to upper surface of casing 4a).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the laser irradiation unit of Oh with the laser device of Terada, X-Y stage of Terada, and associated controller programming as doing so would provide a manner to correct the position of the substrate in relation to the laser irradiation position based on a real time imaging of the current position in relation to a predetermined optimum position (Terada, [0114]).
Regarding claim 7, Oh teaches wherein the mask treating apparatus is configured to perform a process for reducing a deviation between a critical dimension of the first pattern and a critical dimension of the second pattern by irradiating the laser light with respect to the second pattern (Oh, Figs. 3, 4A and 4B, [0042], main pattern elements P1, auxiliary pattern elements P2, where target pattern elements P1’ are identified to deviate from the target critical dimension, [0049], and in process S28, the CD correction may be performed through local etching by irradiating a laser beam to the correction target area, [0071]).
To clarify the record, the limitation “the mask treating apparatus is configured to perform a process for reducing a deviation between a critical dimension of the first pattern and a critical dimension of the second pattern by irradiating the laser light with respect to the second pattern“ is merely an intended use and is given patentable weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. The controller of Oh controls the subsystems of the apparatus to apply laser irradiation to a specified region of a photomask that has been identified as needing correction, thereby being structurally capable of meeting the claim limitation. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 8, Oh teaches wherein regarding the first pattern and the second pattern provided at each cell, the first pattern is a monitoring pattern of an exposing pattern formed at a cell and the second pattern is a condition setting pattern of the mask treating apparatus (Oh, Figs. 3, 4A and 4B, [0042], main pattern elements P1, auxiliary pattern elements P2, where target pattern elements P1’ are identified to deviate from the target critical dimension, [0049], and in process S28, the CD correction may be performed through local etching by irradiating a laser beam to the correction target area, [0071]).
The Examiner construes ‘a first pattern and a second pattern provided at each cell, the first pattern is a monitoring pattern of an exposing pattern formed at a cell and the second pattern is a condition setting pattern of the mask treating apparatus‘ as a material or article worked upon by the apparatus. The courts have held that such an inclusion does not impart patentability to the claims. See MPEP 2115.
Regarding claim 9, Oh teaches a substrate treating apparatus (Oh, Fig. 10, apparatus 300), comprising:
a support unit configured to support and rotate a substrate at which a pattern is formed (Oh, Fig. 10, [0085], support driving unit 330 supports and rotates the photomask 100);
a heating unit configured to heat a specific region of the substrate (Oh, Fig. 10, [0079], laser irradiation unit 360 irradiates laser beam LB to target correction area PA’);
a controller configured to control the support unit and the heating unit (Oh, Fig. 10, [0085], controller 390 controls driving unit 330 and laser irradiation unit 360, [0076]),
wherein the support unit comprises:
a support part including a support shaft and a chuck, the support part configured to support the substrate (Oh, Fig. 10, [0085], support portion 320 and support portion 310, where the photomask 100 is supported on portion 310); and
wherein the support shaft further comprises a rotation part configured to rotate the moving stage part during a supply of chemical (Oh, Fig. 10, [0069], photomask 100 may be configured to rotate during supply of the chemical liquid), and wherein the controller is configured to control the rotation part such that the substrate does not rotate at all throughout an entire period during which laser light is being irradiated by the heating unit to the specific pattern and stops rotating after the substrate is supplied with the chemical to form a puddle of the chemical on the substrate (Oh, Fig. 10, [0088], controller 390 may stop rotation of the photomask 100 and then irradiate the laser beam LB to the correction target area PA’).
Oh fails to teach a moving stage part having at least one component between the support shaft and the chuck and configured to change a position of the chuck independent of the support shaft, and
the controller is configured to control the moving stage part such that a position of the substrate supported on the support unit is changed to have a specific pattern among the pattern positioned at the specific region.
However, Terada teaches wherein the controller is configured to control the moving stage part such that a position of the substrate supported on the support unit is changed to have a specific pattern among the pattern positioned at the specific region (Terada, Fig. 5, [0114], control portion 81 commands drive portions 77 and 80 of X-Y stage 62 to move to predetermined coordinates, where the coordinates correspond to different discrete positions noted by plural alignment marks 15, [0128] and Fig. 11, and the process encompasses movement to each alignment mark 15, [0133]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the laser irradiation unit of Oh with the laser device of Terada, X-Y stage of Terada, and associated controller programming as doing so would provide a manner to correct the position of the substrate in relation to the laser irradiation position based on a real time imaging of the current position in relation to a predetermined optimum position (Terada, [0114]).
Modified Oh fails to teach a moving stage part having at least one component between the support shaft and the chuck and configured to change a position of the chuck independent of the support shaft (Nishimura, Fig. 3, [0022]-[0024], horizontal positioning mechanism 22 is located between chuck 22 and rotary mechanism 24 and moves the position of the chuck 22).
However, Nishimura teaches a moving stage part having at least one component between the support shaft and the chuck and configured to change a position of the chuck independent of the support shaft (Nishimura, Fig. 3, [0022]-[0024], horizontal positioning mechanism 22 is located between chuck 22 and rotary mechanism 24 and moves the position of the chuck 22).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the horizontal positioning mechanism in the manner of Nishimura into the apparatus of modified Oh as doing so would provide a mechanism for achieving high-accuracy position of the chuck mechanism on the horizontal plane (Nishimura, [0023]).
The Examiner construes ‘a substrate at which a pattern is formed‘ as a material or article worked upon by the apparatus. The courts have held that such an inclusion does not impart patentability to the claims. See MPEP 2115.
To clarify the record, the limitation “…configured to rotate the moving stage part during a supply of chemical“ is merely an intended use and is given patentable weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. The rotatable support unit and chemical supply unit of Oh are in communication with the controller wherein the controller can cause the chuck to rotate and cause the chemical to be supplied to the photomask, thereby being capable of performing the above limitation. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 11, Oh teaches a liquid supply unit configured to supply a treating liquid to the substrate supported on the support unit (Oh, Fig. 10, [0076], chemical supply unit 340 is configured to supply the chemical liquid CL to an upper surface of the photomask 100), and
wherein the controller is configured to control the rotation part so the substrate is rotated while the liquid supply unit is supplying the treating liquid to the substrate (Oh, Fig. 10, [0069], photomask 100 may be configured to rotate during supply of the chemical liquid).
To clarify the record, the limitation “…configured to supply a treating liquid to the substrate supported on the support unit “ is merely an intended use and is given patentable weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. The chemical supply unit of Oh is in communication with the controller wherein the controller can cause the chemical to be supplied to the photomask, thereby being capable of performing the above limitation. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 12, modified Oh fails to teach wherein the moving stage part comprises:
a base positioned below the support part;
a first driving part installed at the base and moving the support part in a first direction which is horizontal to the ground; and
a second driving part installed at the base and moving the support part in a second direction which is orthogonal to the first direction and horizontal to the ground.
However, Nishimura teaches wherein the moving stage part comprises:
a base positioned below the support part (Nishimura, Fig. 3, [0022]-[0026], horizontal positioning mechanism 22 is located below chuck 22 on holding plate 251);
a first driving part installed at the base and moving the support part in a first direction which is horizontal to the ground (Nishimura, Fig. 3, [0022]-[0024], horizontal positioning mechanism 22 includes an XY table for movements in direction orthogonal to each other in the horizontal direction, which can include two linear motors in combination orthogonal to each other); and
a second driving part installed at the base and moving the support part in a second direction which is orthogonal to the first direction and horizontal to the ground (Nishimura, Fig. 3, [0022]-[0024], horizontal positioning mechanism 22 includes an XY table for movements in direction orthogonal to each other in the horizontal direction, which can include two linear motors in combination orthogonal to each other).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the horizontal positioning mechanism in the manner of Nishimura into the apparatus of modified Oh as doing so would provide a mechanism for achieving high-accuracy position of the chuck mechanism on the horizontal plane (Nishimura, [0023]).
Regarding claim 13, Oh teaches wherein the heating unit includes a laser irradiator irradiating a laser light to the specific pattern (Oh, Fig. 10, [0079], laser irradiation unit 360 irradiates laser beam LB to target correction area PA’).
Oh fails to teach a position of the laser irradiator is fixed while the laser irradiator irradiates the laser.
However, Terada teaches a position of the laser irradiator is fixed while the laser irradiator irradiates the laser light (Terada, Fig. 5, [0113], laser device 63 is fixed to upper surface of casing 4a).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the laser irradiation unit of Oh with the laser device of Terada, X-Y stage of Terada, and associated controller programming as doing so would provide a manner to correct the position of the substrate in relation to the laser irradiation position based on a real time imaging of the current position in relation to a predetermined optimum position (Terada, [0114]).
To clarify the record, the limitation “to the specific pattern“ is merely an intended use and is given patentable weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. The control device and X-Y stage of Terada work in concert to move the chuck/substrate to any X-Y coordinates, where laser device 63 emits beams to the substrate, thereby being capable of performing the above limitation ([0114]). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 14, Oh teaches wherein the substrate treating apparatus is configured to perform a process for minimizing a deviation between a critical dimension of the specific pattern and a critical dimension of a pattern aside from the specific pattern by irradiating the laser light with respect to the specific pattern (Oh, Figs. 3, 4A and 4B, [0042], main pattern elements P1, auxiliary pattern elements P2, where target pattern elements P1’ are identified to deviate from the target critical dimension, [0049], and in process S28, the CD correction may be performed through local etching by irradiating a laser beam to the correction target area, [0071]).
To clarify the record, the limitation “the substrate treating apparatus is configured to perform a process for minimizing a deviation between a critical dimension of the specific pattern and a critical dimension of a pattern aside from the specific pattern by irradiating the laser light with respect to the specific pattern“ is merely an intended use and is given patentable weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. The controller of Oh controls the subsystems of the apparatus to apply laser irradiation to a specified region of a photomask that has been identified as needing correction, thereby being structurally capable of meeting the claim limitation. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 15, Oh teaches wherein the specific pattern is a condition setting pattern of the substrate treating apparatus (Oh, Figs. 3, 4A and 4B, [0042], main pattern elements P1, auxiliary pattern elements P2, where target pattern elements P1’ are identified to deviate from the target critical dimension, [0049], and in process S28, the CD correction may be performed through local etching by irradiating a laser beam to the correction target area, [0071]).
The Examiner construes ‘the specific pattern is a condition setting pattern’ as a material or article worked upon by the apparatus. The courts have held that such an inclusion does not impart patentability to the claims. See MPEP 2115.
Regarding claim 21, modified Oh teaches wherein the chuck is located within the treating space (Terada, Figs. 5-6, [0105]-[0106], chuck 60 horizontally supports substrate W within casing 4a of apparatus 4).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the laser irradiation unit of Oh with the laser device of Terada, X-Y stage of Terada, and associated controller programming as doing so would provide a manner to correct the position of the substrate in relation to the laser irradiation position based on a real time imaging of the current position in relation to a predetermined optimum position (Terada, [0114]).
Modified Oh fails to teach wherein the moving stage part is configured to move the chuck within the treating space.
However, Nishimura teaches wherein the moving stage part is configured to move the chuck within the treating space (Nishimura, Fig. 3, [0022]-[0024], horizontal positioning mechanism 22 is located below chuck 22 and moves the position of the chuck 22).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the horizontal positioning mechanism in the manner of Nishimura into the apparatus of modified Oh as doing so would provide a mechanism for achieving high-accuracy position of the chuck mechanism on the horizontal plane (Nishimura, [0023]).
Regarding claim 23, modified Oh teaches wherein the chuck is located within the treating space (Terada, Figs. 5-6, [0105]-[0106], chuck 60 horizontally supports substrate W within casing 4a of apparatus 4).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced the laser irradiation unit of Oh with the laser device of Terada, X-Y stage of Terada, and associated controller programming as doing so would provide a manner to correct the position of the substrate in relation to the laser irradiation position based on a real time imaging of the current position in relation to a predetermined optimum position (Terada, [0114]).
Modified Oh fails to teach the moving stage part is configured to move the chuck in a first direction and in a second direction, perpendicular to the first direction.
However, Nishimura teaches wherein the moving stage part is configured to move the chuck in a first direction and in a second direction, perpendicular to the first direction (Nishimura, Fig. 3, [0022]-[0024], horizontal positioning mechanism 22 includes an XY table for movements in direction orthogonal to each other in the horizontal direction, which can include two linear motors in combination orthogonal to each other).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the horizontal positioning mechanism in the manner of Nishimura into the apparatus of modified Oh as doing so would provide a mechanism for achieving high-accuracy position of the chuck mechanism on the horizontal plane (Nishimura, [0023]).
Regarding claim 24, Oh teaches wherein the mask is a photomask (Oh, Fig. 10, [0076], apparatus 300 for correcting the photomask).
The Examiner construes ‘the mask is a photomask‘ as a material or article worked upon by the apparatus. The courts have held that such an inclusion does not impart patentability to the claims. See MPEP 2115.
Regarding claim 25, Oh teaches wherein the support unit includes a plurality of support pins configured to lift the mask above the chuck (Oh, Fig. 10, [0084], guide structure 315 supports photomask 100 above chuck surface).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (KR 20220049651 A) in view of Terada (US 20040197433 A1) and Nishimura (US 20190353555 A1), as applied in claims 1, 3-9, 11-15, 21, and 23-25 above, and further in view of Paeng (US 20210143032 A1).
The limitations of claims 1, 3-9, 11-15, 21, and 23-25 are set forth above.
Regarding claim 22, modified Oh fails to teach wherein the laser irradiator is configured to move such that the laser light is not perpendicular to the mask.
However, Paeng teaches wherein the laser irradiator is configured to move such that the laser light is not perpendicular to the mask (Paeng, Fig. 2, [0072]-[0073], second motor 232 can move mirror 216 to move laser beam from laser 204 at a tilted angle away from perpendicular centerline 248).
Paeng is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of semiconductor processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the second motor of Paeng into the apparatus of modified Terada as doing so would allow for the possibility to move the laser beam spot location across various spots on the substrate (Paeng, [0072]) without having to motorize the laser itself. As well, it would allow for removal of the moving stage parts of modified Terada (plural motors or linear actuators vs one motor moving mirror), potentially saving costs while still allowing for directional control of the laser to the substrate.
To clarify the record, the limitation “wherein the laser irradiator is configured to move such that the laser light is not perpendicular to the mask“ is merely an intended use and is given patentable weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. The motor of Paeng is in contact with a mirror that is in line with a laser beam, and the motor is capable of tilting the mirror such that the reflected angle of the laser beam is varied, thereby being structurally capable of meeting the claim limitation. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II).
Response to Arguments
In the Applicant’s response filed 12/02/2025, the Applicant asserts that none of the cited prior art, particularly Ten Berge, teach the claim limitations “wherein the support shaft further comprises a rotation part configured to rotate the moving stage part during a supply of chemical, and wherein the controller is configured to control the rotation part such that the mask does not rotate at all throughout an entire period during which the laser light is being irradiated by the laser irradiator to the second pattern and stops rotating after the mask is supplied with the chemical to form a puddle of the chemical on the mask” of independent claim 1 (and similarly claim 9) as newly amended. In response to the amendments, the Examiner has newly rejected the claims in the “Claims Rejections” sections above, thereby rendering the arguments moot.
With regards to the amended claim 1 limitation “a controller configured to operate to control the mask treating apparatus to treat a mask having a first pattern within a plurality of cells thereof and a second pattern outside regions of the plurality of cells”, the Examiner still considers limitations related to the mask, substrate, and any patterns/regions thereon as article or material worked upon/intended use and not as being structural to the apparatus.
If the Applicant seeks to make the mask/substrate critical to the invention, it is the recommendation of the Examiner to consider implementing language that would positively recite the controller performing actions to place said mask/substrate into the apparatus. For example, Fig. 12 of the instant disclosure outlines steps (such as S10 substrate Taking-In step), that, if positively recited as being performed by the controller, would require the mask/substrate to be considered as a structural component of the apparatus. In addition, if other steps disclosed in Fig. 12 (such as the Liquid Treating Step S41 and Heating Step S42) are desired to be performed in a specific order with specific conditions, the Examiner recommends amending the claims to positively recite the controller performing such actions in the desired order (see also 112(b) rejections section above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ito (US 20020136971 A1) teaches an apparatus with fixed laser and movable mirrors to direct laser through liquid towards specific region on substrate.
Park (US 20220283512 A1) teaches apparatus similar to Oh with specifics on changing laser angle/position beyond XY movement.
/TODD M SEOANE/Examiner, Art Unit 1718 /GORDON BALDWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1718