Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 04/09/2026 with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerman (US 20180367199 of record), hereinafter Zimmerman, in view of Ma et al (US 20170195018 of record), hereinafter Ma.
Regarding claim 1,
Zimmerman discloses a base station (a base station 10, Fig 1), comprising:
a beamforming radio (a conventional beam-forming radio 42, Fig 8) having first through fourth first polarization radio ports (+45º Splitter/Phase shifter radio ports 44-4, 44-6, 44-7 and 44-8, Fig 8);
a base station antenna (a base station antenna 200, Fig 6A) that includes first through fourth arrays (arrays 220-1, 220-2, 220-3 and 220-4, Fig 8) of radiating elements (dual-polarized radiating elements 222, Fig 8); and
a passive beamforming network (a feed network 250, Fig 8) that couples each of the first through fourth first polarization radio ports to all four of the first through fourth arrays of radiating elements.
Zimmerman does not explicitly teach the feed network 250 is a passive beamforming network.
However, Zimmerman teaches the feed network 250 includes phase shifters 280 and +/- 45º polarization transmission lines which are passive components (paragraphs [0064-0068]). Zimmerman also teaches the base station antenna 200 may be used as a beam-forming antenna (paragraph [0073]), and arrays 220 of the base station antenna 200 are used for purposes of beam-forming (paragraph [0076]). This teaching is result effect in order to provide a beam-forming base station antenna (paragraph [0057]).
Zimmerman as modified does not teach the passive beamforming network includes at least one four-port coupler.
However, Ma teaches a base station (a base station BTS 106, Fig 1) comprising a passive beamforming network (a circuit 680, Fig 6A), wherein the passive beamforming network includes at least one four-port coupler (a 90º Hybrids 684a, Fig 6A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a passive beamforming network including at least one four-port coupler in Zimmerman as modified, as taught by Ma, in order to provide a base station with signal quality.
[AltContent: textbox (Zimmerman (US 20180367199))]
[AltContent: textbox (Zimmerman (US 20180367199))]
[AltContent: textbox (Ma (US 20170195018))]
Regarding claim 2,
Zimmerman as modified in view of Ma discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Zimmerman teaches the base station antenna further comprises a tubular reflector assembly that includes first through fourth faces that are each angled by about 90° with respect to adjacent ones of the first through fourth faces, and the first through fourth arrays of radiating elements are mounted on the respective first through fourth faces (Fig 6A).
Regarding claim 3,
Zimmerman as modified in view of Ma discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 2.
Ma teaches the passive beamforming network includes a plurality of four-port couplers (90º Hybrids 684a, 684b, 614a and 614b, Fig 6A).
Regarding claim 5,
Zimmerman as modified in view of Ma discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Zimmerman teaches by setting amplitude and phase weights of the beamforming radio the first through fourth arrays of radiating elements can be configured to generate antenna beams having any of a sector antenna pattern, a heart-shaped antenna pattern, a bi-directional antenna pattern and an omni directional antenna pattern in the azimuth plane (“the antenna 200 is capable of providing omnidirectional coverage in the azimuth plane”, paragraph [0072]).
Regarding claim 6,
Zimmerman as modified in view of Ma discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Zimmerman teaches the beamforming radio comprises an 8T/8R eight port beamforming radio (Fig 8).
Regarding claim 7,
Zimmerman as modified in view of Ma discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Ma teaches the passive beamforming network (a circuit 680, Fig 6A) includes a Butler Matrix (a Butler Matrix Network 682a, Fig 6A).
Regarding claim 8,
Zimmerman as modified in view of Ma discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Ma teaches the passive beamforming network includes four four-port couplers (90º Hybrids 684a, 684b, 614a and 614b, Fig 6A).
Regarding claim 9,
Zimmerman as modified in view of Ma discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Zimmerman teaches the base station antenna further comprises a tubular reflector assembly having first through eight faces and a generally octagonal horizontal cross-section, and the first through fourth arrays of radiating elements are mounted on non-adjacent ones of the first through eighth faces (prior art Fig 3).
[AltContent: textbox (Zimmerman (US 20180367199))]
Regarding claim 10,
Zimmerman as modified in view of Ma discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Zimmerman teaches the passive beamforming network is part of the base station antenna.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-18 and 21 are allowed.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance.
Regarding claim 11, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “the base station antenna is configured so that when the beamforming radio outputs radio frequency (“RF”) signals that have equal magnitudes and a phase progression of 45° through the respective first through fourth radio ports, substantially all of the RF energy output through the first through fourth radio ports is directed to the first polarization radiators of the dual-polarized radiating elements in the first array of dual-polarized radiating elements”. These features reflect the application’s invention and are not taught by the pertinent prior arts. There is no reason or suggestion in the prior art for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zimmerman (US 20180367199) and Ma (US 20170195018), Bisiules and Zimmerman to include features of amended claim 11.
Dependent claims 12-18 are considered to be allowable by virtue of its/their dependency/dependencies on claim 11.
Regarding claim 21, prior art of record or most closely prior art fails to disclose, “the base station antenna is configured so that when the beamforming radio outputs first through fourth radio frequency (“RF”) signals that have equal magnitudes and a phase progression of 45° through the respective ones of the first through fourth radio ports, substantially all of the RF energy output through the first through fourth radio ports, substantially all of the RF energy output through the first through fourth radio ports is directed to the first polarization radiators of a selected one of the first through fourth arrays of dual-polarized radiating elements”. These features reflect the application’s invention and are not taught by the pertinent prior arts. There is no reason or suggestion in the prior art for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zimmerman (US 20180367199) and Ma (US 20170195018), Bisiules and Zimmerman to include features of claim 21.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAI V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845