DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 09/26/2025 have been fully considered and they are persuasive. Therefore, the Final Action mailed on 08/07/2025 is vacated
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11,
The recitation “the respective first through fourth radio ports” in line 10 is considered indefinite because it does not have an antecedent basis. Clarification is required.
The recitation “the first array of radiating elements” in line 12 is considered indefinite because it does not have an antecedent basis. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 12,
The recitation “the second array of radiating elements” in line 5 is considered indefinite because it does not have an antecedent basis. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 13,
The recitation “the third array of radiating elements” in line 5 is considered indefinite because it does not have an antecedent basis. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 9-15 and 18, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerman (US 20180367199), hereinafter Zimmerman.
Regarding claim 1,
Zimmerman discloses a base station (a base station 10, Fig 1), comprising:
a beamforming radio (a conventional beam-forming radio 42, Fig 8) having first through fourth first polarization radio ports (+45º Splitter/Phase shifter radio ports 44-4, 44-6, 44-7 and 44-8, Fig 8);
a base station antenna (a base station antenna 200, Fig 6A) that includes first through fourth arrays (arrays 220-1, 220-2, 220-3 and 220-4, Fig 8) of radiating elements (dual-polarized radiating elements 222, Fig 8); and
a passive beamforming network (a feed network 250, Fig 8) that couples each of the first through fourth first polarization radio ports to all four of the first through fourth arrays of radiating elements.
Zimmerman does not explicitly teach the feed network 250 is a passive beamforming network.
However, Zimmerman teaches the feed network 250 includes phase shifters 280 and +/- 45º polarization transmission lines which are passive components (paragraphs [0064-0068]). Zimmerman also teaches the base station antenna 200 may be used as a beam-forming antenna (paragraph [0073]), and arrays 220 of the base station antenna 200 are used for purposes of beam-forming (paragraph [0076]). This teaching is result effect in order to provide a beam-forming base station antenna (paragraph [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a feed network being a passive beamforming network in Zimmerman, in order to provide small cell base station antennas.
[AltContent: textbox (Zimmerman (US 20180367199))]
[AltContent: textbox (Zimmerman (US 20180367199))]
Regarding claim 2,
Zimmerman as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Zimmerman teaches the base station antenna further comprises a tubular reflector assembly that includes first through fourth faces that are each angled by about 90° with respect to adjacent ones of the first through fourth faces, and the first through fourth arrays of radiating elements are mounted on the respective first through fourth faces (Fig 6A).
Regarding claim 5,
Zimmerman as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Zimmerman teaches by setting amplitude and phase weights of the beamforming radio the first through fourth arrays of radiating elements can be configured to generate antenna beams having any of a sector antenna pattern, a heart-shaped antenna pattern, a bi-directional antenna pattern and an omni directional antenna pattern in the azimuth plane (“the antenna 200 is capable of providing omnidirectional coverage in the azimuth plane”, paragraph [0072]).
Regarding claim 6,
Zimmerman as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Zimmerman teaches the beamforming radio comprises an 8T/8R eight port beamforming radio (Fig 8).
Regarding claim 9,
Zimmerman as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Zimmerman teaches the base station antenna further comprises a tubular reflector assembly having first through eight faces and a generally octagonal horizontal cross-section, and the first through fourth arrays of radiating elements are mounted on non-adjacent ones of the first through eighth faces (prior art Fig 3).
[AltContent: textbox (Zimmerman (US 20180367199))]
Regarding claim 10,
Zimmerman as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Zimmerman teaches the passive beamforming network is part of the base station antenna (Fig 8).
Regarding claim 11,
Zimmerman discloses a base station (a base station 10, Fig 1), comprising:
a base station antenna that includes first through fourth arrays (arrays 220-1, 220-2, 220-3 and 220-4, Fig 8) of dual-polarized radiating elements (dual-polarized radiating elements 222, Fig 8); and
a beamforming radio (a conventional beam-forming radio 42, Fig 8) having first through fourth radio ports (+45º Splitter/Phase shifter radio ports 44-4, 44-6, 44-7 and 44-8, Fig 8) that are coupled to first polarization radiators (+45º polarization radiators 226, Fig 8) of the respective first through fourth arrays of dual-polarized radiating elements and fifth through eighth radio ports (-45º Splitter/Phase shifter radio ports 44-1, 44-2, 44-3 and 44-4, Fig 8) that are coupled to second polarization radiators (-45º polarization radiators 226, Fig 8) of the respective first through fourth arrays of dual-polarized radiating elements,
Zimmerman does not explicitly teach the base station antenna is configured so that when the beamforming radio outputs radio frequency (“RF”) signals that have equal magnitudes and a phase progression of 45° through the respective first through fourth radio ports, substantially all of the RF energy output through the first through fourth radio ports is directed to the first polarization radiators of the first array of radiating elements.
However, Zimmerman teaches the fifth port 244-5 is coupled to an input of phase shifter 280-5. The phase shifter 280-5 may split the RF signals input thereto three ways (and the power split may be equal or unequal) and may apply a phase taper across the three sub-components of the split RF signal to, for example, apply an electronic downtilt to the antenna beam that is formed when the sub-components of the RF signal are transmitted (or received) through the linear array 220-1 (paragraph [0065]). This teaching is result effect in order to have radiation at +45º polarization (paragraph [0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a base station antenna being configured so that when a beamforming radio outputting radio frequency (“RF”) signals having equal magnitudes and a phase progression of 45° through respective first through fourth radio ports, substantially all of the RF energy outputting through first through fourth radio ports being directed to first polarization radiators of a first array of radiating elements in Zimmerman, in order to provide small cell base station antennas.
Regarding claim 12,
Zimmerman as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 11.
Zimmerman does not explicitly teach the base station antenna is further configured so that when the beamforming radio outputs RF signals that have equal magnitudes and a phase progression of 135° through the respective first through fourth radio ports, substantially all of the RF energy output through the first through fourth radio ports is directed to the first polarization radiators of the second array of radiating elements.
However, Zimmerman teaches the fifth port 244-5 is coupled to an input of phase shifter 280-5. The phase shifter 280-5 may split the RF signals input thereto three ways (and the power split may be equal or unequal) and may apply a phase taper across the three sub-components of the split RF signal to, for example, apply an electronic downtilt to the antenna beam that is formed when the sub-components of the RF signal are transmitted (or received) through the linear array 220-1 (paragraph [0065]). This teaching is result effect in order to have radiation at +45º polarization (paragraph [0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a base station antenna being configured so that when a beamforming radio outputting RF signals having equal magnitudes and a phase progression of 135° through respective first through fourth radio ports, substantially all of the RF energy outputting through first through fourth radio ports being directed to first polarization radiators of a second array of radiating elements in Zimmerman as modified, in order to provide small cell base station antennas.
Regarding claim 13,
Zimmerman as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 12.
Zimmerman does not explicitly teach the base station antenna is further configured so that when the beamforming radio outputs RF signals that have equal magnitudes and a phase progression of 225° through the respective first through fourth radio ports, substantially all of the RF energy output through the first through fourth radio ports is directed to the first polarization radiators of the third array of radiating elements.
However, Zimmerman teaches the fifth port 244-5 is coupled to an input of phase shifter 280-5. The phase shifter 280-5 may split the RF signals input thereto three ways (and the power split may be equal or unequal) and may apply a phase taper across the three sub-components of the split RF signal to, for example, apply an electronic downtilt to the antenna beam that is formed when the sub-components of the RF signal are transmitted (or received) through the linear array 220-1 (paragraph [0065]). This teaching is result effect in order to have radiation at +45º polarization (paragraph [0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a base station antenna being configured so that when a beamforming radio outputting RF signals having equal magnitudes and a phase progression of 225° through respective first through fourth radio ports, substantially all of the RF energy outputting through first through fourth radio ports being directed to first polarization radiators of a third array of radiating elements in Zimmerman as modified, in order to provide small cell base station antennas.
Regarding claim 14,
Zimmerman as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 13.
Zimmerman does not explicitly teach the base station antenna is further configured so that when the beamforming radio outputs RF signals that have equal magnitudes and a phase progression of 315° through the respective first through fourth radio ports, substantially all of the RF energy output through the first through fourth radio ports is directed to the first polarization radiators of the fourth array of radiating elements.
However, Zimmerman teaches the fifth port 244-5 is coupled to an input of phase shifter 280-5. The phase shifter 280-5 may split the RF signals input thereto three ways (and the power split may be equal or unequal) and may apply a phase taper across the three sub-components of the split RF signal to, for example, apply an electronic downtilt to the antenna beam that is formed when the sub-components of the RF signal are transmitted (or received) through the linear array 220-1 (paragraph [0065]). This teaching is result effect in order to have radiation at +45º polarization (paragraph [0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a base station antenna being configured so that when a beamforming radio outputting RF signals having equal magnitudes and a phase progression of 315° through respective first through fourth radio ports, substantially all of the RF energy outputting through first through fourth radio ports being directed to first polarization radiators of the fourth array of radiating elements in Zimmerman as modified, in order to provide small cell base station antennas.
Regarding claim 15,
Zimmerman as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 11.
Zimmerman teaches the base station antenna includes a tubular reflector that has at least first through fourth faces that face in different directions, and the first through fourth arrays of dual-polarized radiating elements are mounted on the respective first through fourth faces of the tubular reflector, where the first face is angled about 90° with respect to the second face (Fig 6A).
Regarding claim 18,
Zimmerman as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 11.
Zimmerman teaches an azimuth boresight pointing direction of the first array of radiating elements is offset from the azimuth boresight pointing direction of the second through fourth arrays of radiating elements by about 90°, about 180° and about 270°, respectively (Fig 6D).
[AltContent: textbox (Zimmerman (US 20180367199))]
Claims 3-4, 7-8 and 16-17, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerman (US 20180367199), hereinafter Zimmerman, in view of Ma et al (US 20170195018 of record), hereinafter Ma.
Regarding claim 3,
Zimmerman as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 2.
Zimmerman does not teach the passive beamforming network includes a plurality of four-port couplers.
However, Ma teaches a base station (a base station BTS 106, Fig 1) comprising a passive beamforming network (a circuit 680, Fig 6A), wherein the passive beamforming network includes a plurality of four-port couplers (90º Hybrids 684a, 684b, 614a and 614b, Fig 6A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a passive beamforming network including a plurality of four-port couplers in Zimmerman as modified, as taught by Ma, in order to provide a base station with signal quality.
[AltContent: textbox (Ma (US 20170195018))]
[AltContent: textbox (Ma (US 20170195018))]
Regarding claim 4,
Zimmerman as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Zimmerman does not teach the passive beamforming network including at least one four-port coupler.
However, Ma teaches a base station (a base station BTS 106, Fig 1) comprising a passive beamforming network (a circuit 680, Fig 6A) including a plurality of four-port couplers (90º Hybrids 684a, 684b, 614a and 614b, Fig 6A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a passive beamforming network including at least one four-port coupler in Zimmerman as modified, as taught by Ma, in order to provide a base station with signal quality.
Regarding claim 7,
Zimmerman as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Zimmerman does not teach the passive beamforming network includes a Butler Matrix.
However, Ma teaches a base station (a base station BTS 106, Fig 1) comprising a passive beamforming network (a circuit 680, Fig 6A) includes a Butler Matrix (a Butler Matrix Network 682a, Fig 6A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a passive beamforming network including a Butler Matrix in Zimmerman as modified, as taught by Ma, in order to provide a base station with signal quality.
Regarding claim 8,
Zimmerman as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 1.
Zimmerman does not teach the passive beamforming network includes four four-port couplers.
However, Ma teaches a base station (a base station BTS 106, Fig 1) comprising a passive beamforming network (a circuit 680, Fig 6A) including four four-port couplers (90º Hybrids 684a, 684b, 614a and 614b, Fig 6A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a passive beamforming network including four four-port couplers in Zimmerman as modified, as taught by Ma, in order to provide a base station with signal quality.
Regarding claim 16,
Zimmerman as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 11.
Zimmerman teaches the beamforming radio is coupled to the first through fourth arrays of radiating elements through a network (a feed network 250, Fig 8).
Zimmerman does not explicitly teach the feed network 250 is a passive beamforming network.
However, Zimmerman teaches the feed network 250 includes phase shifters 280 and +/- 45º polarization transmission lines which are passive components (paragraphs [0064-0068]). Zimmerman also teaches the base station antenna 200 may be used as a beam-forming antenna (paragraph [0073]), and arrays 220 of the base station antenna 200 are used for purposes of beam-forming (paragraph [0076]). This teaching is result effect in order to provide a beam-forming base station antenna (paragraph [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a feed network being a passive beamforming network in Zimmerman, in order to provide small cell base station antennas.
Zimmerman as modified does not teach the passive beamforming network includes a Butler Matrix.
However, Ma teaches a base station (a base station BTS 106, Fig 1) comprising a passive beamforming network (a circuit 680, Fig 6A) includes a Butler Matrix (a Butler Matrix Network 682a, Fig 6A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a passive beamforming network including a Butler Matrix in Zimmerman as modified, as taught by Ma, in order to provide a base station with signal quality.
Regarding claim 17,
Zimmerman as modified discloses the claimed invention, as discussed in claim 16.
Zimmerman teaches the passive beamforming network couples each of the first through fourth first polarization radio ports to all four of the first through fourth arrays of radiating elements (Fig 8).
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference aspotentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of thepassage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/HAI V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845