DETAILED ACTION
Status
In response to the amendment filed on 07/10/2026, claims 1, 2, 7, and 10 have been amended. Claims 5 and 6 were previously cancelled. Claims 1-4 and 7-10 are pending and under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malmqvist et al. (WO 2016138961A1, cited on 05/22/2024 IDS, hereinafter Malmqvist), in view of Shao et al. (US 2019/0226494, cited on 05/22/2024 IDS, hereinafter Shao), Sweet (US 4136295), Kumagaya et al. (CN 207819682U, hereinafter Kumagaya), and He et al. (CN 209709229U, hereinafter He).
Regarding claim 1, Malmqvist discloses, in fig. 3, a blower (blower 200) comprising:
a housing (housing 210), and a handle on the housing (handle 244 is disposed on the housing 210);
a fan (fan assembly 260) for blowing air (¶ 0029, the fan assembly 260 expels air out of a blower tube 250);
a motor (motor 220) for powering the fan (¶ 0029, the motor 220 operates to rotate the fan assembly 260);
a baffle surrounding the fan and motor (figs. 2-3, a casing surrounding the fan assembly 260 and the motor 220 is a baffle);
a control unit (fig. 4, control unit 230);
an electrical connection having a first portion fitting onto a side of the control unit to provide a constant contact with the control unit, and a second portion attached to an exterior surface of the baffle (fig. 4 and ¶ 0036, the static discharge dissipation conductor 280 is a constant electrical connection connected to the control unit 230. The other end of the conductor 280 is connected to the exterior surface of the baffle);
a contact wire (fig. 4, exposed portion 282) in the handle, the contact wire being made of an electrically conductive material and being exposed to cause a user to touch the contact wire when grasping the handle (¶ 0034, the exposed portion 282 is integrated to a handle 244 and is used for static charge dissipation. Therefore, it is made of an electrically conductive material and is exposed to a user because it is integrated to the handle); and
a conductive wire having a first end connected to the contact wire in the handle (annotated Malmqvist fig. 4 below and ¶ 0034, a static charge dissipation conductor 280 [corresponds to the recited conductive wire] connects the handle 244 integrated with the exposed portion 282 [corresponds to the recited contact wire]), but does not disclose the baffle is positioned within the housing and includes an exterior surface facing the housing and the conductive wire extending along the exterior surface of the baffle.
Shao teaches, in an analogous handheld blower field of endeavor, the baffle is positioned within the housing and includes an exterior surface facing the housing and includes an exterior surface facing the housing and the conductive wire extending along the exterior surface of the baffle (figs. 12-14 and ¶ 0106, an inner air duct 421 [corresponds to the recited baffle] surrounds a fan 10a and a motor 20. The inner air duct 421 is positioned within a housing 41 such that an exterior surface of the air duct 421 faces the housing 41; ¶ 0114, a conducting element 61, which may be a wire, is connected to an exterior surface of the inner air duct 421 as shown in fig. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the blower of Malmqvist to provide the baffle within the housing and the conductive wire on the exterior surface of the baffle as taught by Shao so that the motor and the fan have a layer of protection from physical damage in case the blower experiences impact during an outdoor use. The conductive wire transfers static electricity in order to assure a user does not get an electric shock (Shao ¶ 0114).
Malmqvist as modified by Shao does not disclose a screw attached to the exterior surface of the baffle and the conductive wire having a second end connected to the screw attached to the exterior surface of the baffle.
Sweet teaches, in an electrical connection device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, a screw attached to the exterior surface of the baffle and the conductive wire having a second end connected to the screw attached to the exterior surface of the baffle (col. 3:4-15 and fig. 6, an electrical device 66 has a screw 70’ on an exterior surface. A conductor wire 92 is connected to the screw 70’ attached to the exterior surface of the electrical device. Shao discloses, in fig. 14, the conductive wire is attached to the exterior surface of the baffle, but does not show whether a terminal end of the conductive wire on the baffle is a screw. While Malmqvist as modified by Shao teaches the electrical connection at the exterior surface of the baffle, by combining Sweet with Malmqvist and Shao, Sweet teaches an electrical device can have a screw on the exterior surface to be connected with a conducting wire).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the blower of Malmqvist as modified by Shao to provide the screw as taught by Sweet so that a terminal end of a conductive wire is connected to an electrical device securely.
Malmqvist as modified by Shao and Sweet does not disclose the electrical connection between the control unit and the exterior of the baffle is a bracket.
Kumagaya teaches, in an electrical device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, a bracket connects the control unit and the exterior of the baffle (fig. 1 and Kumagaya English translation, p. 5:19-24, a motor device comprises a metal bracket 140 having a first portion and a second portion for connecting conductive terminals. Kumagaya teaches the use of a bracket for electrical contact with ground line and electronic components. While Malmqvist teaches the electrical connection of the conductive wire with the control unit, Kumagaya can be combined with Malmqvist as modified by Shao to place metal bracket to be connected with the conductive wire for the electric contact between the control unit and the exterior of the baffle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the blower of Malmqvist as modified by Shao and Sweet to provide the bracket as taught by Kumagaya for electrical connection means.
Malmqvist as modified by Shao, Sweet, and Kumagaya teaches a second portion of the bracket is attached to the screw on the exterior of the baffle.
Malmqvist, fig. 4 and ¶ 0036, the static discharge dissipation conductor 280 [corresponds to the recited conductive wire] is connected to a control unit contact point 284 [corresponds to the recited bracket] of the control unit 230. The control unit contact point 284 is also connected to the exterior surface of the baffle (fig. 4 and ¶ 0036). Malmqvist does not disclose the screw, however, Shao as modified by Sweet teaches the conductive wire connected to the screw on the exterior surface of the baffle. Therefore, by combining with Kumagaya, there can be a screw on the exterior surface of the Malmqvist’s baffle wherein the screw is connected with the control unit 230 via the metal bracket.
Finally, Malmqvist as modified by Shao, Sweet, and Kumagaya does not disclose both the bracket and the conductive wire are connected to the screw.
He teaches, in an electrical device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, both the bracket and the conductive wire are connected to the screw (figs. 2-3 and He English translation, p. 4:24-5:4, a plug comprises a screw 42 for connecting a copper bolt 3 and wire. He teaches a single screw can be used as a terminal screw for connecting the copper bolt [equivalent to the recited bracket] and the wire [equivalent to the recited conductive wire]. Malmqvist already teaches the components of the blower are electrically connected. He modifies Malmqvist and other references to teach that the electrical connection can be modified to utilize the screw).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the blower of Malmqvist as modified by Shao, Sweet, and Kumagaya to provide the screw for connecting the bracket and the conductive wire as taught by He. A screw used for the electrical connection secures connecting wires and components reliably (He English translation, p. 5:3-4).
Annotated Malmqvist Fig. 4
Regarding claim 2, Malmqvist as modified by Shao, Sweet, Kumagaya, and He teaches the blower as in the rejection of claim 1, further comprising: a battery (Malmqvist fig. 3, battery 240) for powering the motor (Malmqvist ¶ 0026, actuation of a trigger 246 causes power from a battery 240 to be applied to the motor 220), and
an additional conductive wire having a first end connected to the contact wire in the handle and a second end connected to the battery being connected by an additional conductive wire (Malmqvist ¶ 0037, the static discharge dissipation conductor 280 [corresponds to the recited conductive wire] from the exposed portion 282 extends to the battery 240. As shown in annotated Malmqvist fig. 4 above, there is a plurality of conductive wires and some of them are connected to the battery. Figures 10-13 of the instant application show wires connected to terminal ends of the battery, but it is not clear whether those wires are additional conductive wires connected from the contact wire; Shao fig. 14 and ¶ 0118, a conductive wire is connected to a circuit board 50 and another wire is connected to an air duct 421. Shao teaches using several conductive wires).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the blower of Malmqvist as modified by Shao, Sweet, Kumagaya, and He to provide multiple conductive wires as taught by Shao in order to ground multiple electrical components effectively.
Regarding claim 3, Malmqvist as modified by Shao, Sweet, Kumagaya, and He teaches the blower as in the rejection of claim 1, further comprising: an additional conductive wire having a first end connected to the screw on the exterior surface of the baffle, extending to inside the baffle via an opening on the exterior surface of the baffle, and having a second end connected to a stator of the motor inside the baffle (As discussed in the rejection of claim 1, Shao as modified by Sweet and He teaches the conductive wire connected to the screw on the exterior surface of the baffle; annotated Malmqvist fig. 4 above, one of the static discharge dissipation conductors [corresponds to the recited conductive wire] extends into the baffle from an exterior surface of the baffle and connected to a motor contact point 286 [corresponds to the recited stator]. Additional conductive wires are shown between the exterior surface of the baffle and the stator of the motor as shown in annotated Malmqvist fig. 4 above).
Regarding claim 4, Malmqvist as modified by Shao, Sweet, Kumagaya, and He teaches the blower as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the blower is an axial blower where the fan has a central axis, and the motor has a central axis, and the central axis of the fan and the central axis of the motor are parallel (Malmqvist fig. 3, the blower 200 is an axial blower having the longitudinal blower tube 250. The fan assembly 260 and the motor 220 have the same central axis, thus the two central axes are parallel to each other).
Regarding claim 10, Malmqvist as modified by Shao, Sweet, Kumagaya, and He teaches the blower as in the rejection of claim 1, further comprising: a series of ribs attached to the exterior surface of the baffle along a path of the conductive wire, wherein the conductive wire extending along the exterior surface of the baffle is held in contact with the exterior surfaces of the baffle by series of ribs (annotated Malmqvist fig. 4 above, the conductor 280 [corresponds to the recited conductive wire] is held by multiple wire holding structures [correspond to the recited ribs] on the exterior surface of the baffle contacting the baffle casing. The wires are disposed through the wire holding structures, therefore, the holding structures are positioned along a path of the conductive wires).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malmqvist in view of Shao, Sweet, Kumagaya, and He, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Hatori et al. (DE 112017007139T5, hereinafter Hatori).
Regarding claim 7, Malmqvist as modified by Shao, Sweet, Kumagaya, and He teaches the blower as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the first portion of the bracket works as a spring to fit onto the side of the control unit to provide the constant contact with the control unit.
Hatori teaches, in an analogous electronic device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the first portion of the bracket works as a spring to fit onto the side of the control unit to provide the constant contact with the control unit (Hatori English translation, p. 11:31-12:8 and fig. 21B, a metal plate 20 [corresponds to the recited bracket] has a preload contact part 90 at a first portion of the plate 20. The contact part 90 is biased to extend and makes constant electrical contact with a side of a circuit board. Examiner notes an end of the Kumagaya’s bracket is bent to make a constant contact with the conduction terminal (see fig. 1) so it may be considered as a spring contact. Nevertheless, by combining Hatori with Kumagaya and Malmqvist, the control unit 230 of Malmqvist can be electrically connected by the bracket having the biased contact part).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bracket of Malmqvist as modified by Shao, Sweet, Kumagaya, and He to make it to work as the spring as taught by Hatori in order to make secure electrical contact with the electronic components (Hatori English translation, p. 12:1-3).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malmqvist in view of Shao, Sweet, Kumagaya, and He, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Kioschis et al. (US 2018/0358721, hereinafter Kioschis).
Regarding claim 8, Malmqvist as modified by Shao, Sweet, Kumagaya, and He teaches the blower as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the conductive wire is a stranded wire.
Kioschis teaches, in an electrical connector field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the conductive wire is a stranded wire (¶ 0003, Kioschis discloses electrical connectors for transmitting electric currents and voltage; ¶ 0016, the connector includes an electrical stranded wire).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wire of Malmqvist as modified by Shao, Sweet, Kumagaya, and He to provide the stranded wire as taught by Kioschis because the stranded wire is effective for transmitting high-current electricity (Kioschis ¶ 0016).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malmqvist in view of Shao, Sweet, Kumagaya, and He, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Lee (KR 200381096Y1).
Regarding claim 9, Malmqvist as modified by Shao, Sweet, Kumagaya, and He teaches the blower as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose further an electrically conductive tape that secures the conductive wire to the exterior surface of the baffle.
Lee teaches, in an electrical device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, an electrically conductive tape that secures the conductive wire to the exterior surface of the baffle (Lee English translation, abstract, p. 4:1-22 and fig. 3, Lee discloses a handle cover for discharging a static electricity. Conductive metal wires 21, 30 are disposed on the handle cover and a conductive tape 22 secure them on a surface of the handle cover. The tape can be applied to any surface, thus the tape can secure the wires on an exterior surface of an object).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the blower of Malmqvist as modified by Shao, Sweet, Kumagaya, and He to provide the electrically conductive tape as taught by Lee in order to prevent an electric shock phenomenon which happens due to build-up of static electricity on an operator of an electrical device (Lee English translation, abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Malmqvist, Shao, Sweet, Kumagaya, and He do not teach or suggest the screw and the bracket as recited in claim 1, wherein the screw is attached to the exterior surface of the baffle and the first portion of the bracket is fitted onto a side of the control unit. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Malmqvist teaches the conductive wire is connected to the control unit via the control unit contact point 284 [corresponds to the recited bracket]. Malmqvist does not disclose an exact configuration of the contact point 281. On the other hand, the contact point 284 is also connected to the exterior surface of the baffle (fig. 4 and ¶ 0036).
Sweet teaches an electrical device can have a screw on the exterior surface to be connected with a conducting wire (see fig. 6).
Kumagaya teaches a bracket can be used for electrical connection of the electronic components although its function includes using as a cover (see fig. 1).
He teaches electrical connection can be made between a metal bracket and a wire by coupling them together by a screw (He English translation, p. 4:24-5:4).
Examiner acknowledges Sweet, Kumagaya, and He do not teach a blower and electrically connecting the control unit and the exterior surface of the baffle. The recited connection is taught by Malmqvist. But Malmqvist is modified by Sweet, Kumagaya, and He to teach that the electrical connection of Malmqvist can utilize the screw and the bracket.
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of those references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2145 III.
Therefore, Sweet, Kumagaya, and He teach the claim limitations to be combined with the blower of Malmqvist.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 7 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hatori.
Applicant argues Malmqvist as modified by Kumagaya and Noorbakhsh does not teach or suggest the amended claim limitations that the bracket works as a spring to fit onto the side of the control unit to provide the constant contact with the control unit.
Examiner notes Kumagaya’s bracket has a bent portion to fit with the conductive terminal (fig. 1), but it does not state whether the bent portion works like a spring. Noorbakhsh teaches a spring contact for making an electrical contact between electronic components.
However, Hatori shows a metal plate having a biased contact part for touching and making the electrical connection with a side of an electronic component. While Malmqvist teaches the control unit is electrically connected, Hatori teaches the connection can be modified to include the bracket that works as a spring.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUKWOO JAMES CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3723