DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s remarks/arguments 1/21/2026 for
response of the office action mailed on 10/21/2025. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 1/21/2026 has been entered.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s remarks/arguments (page 2-13), filed on 1/21/2026, with respect to claim 1 have been fully
considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding remarks in page 6 for independent claim 1, applicant argues that Applicant assert without amendment regarding obviousness (motivation) of independent claim 1: The Examiner's arguments that individual claim features are present in various references coupled with descriptions of potential improvements provided by the claim features is NOT a clear articulation of the reasons WHY the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Examiner has merely argued that claim features are present in Cui and/or Chen references without providing clear articulation WHY the claimed invention would have been obvious, which amounts to impermissible hindsight.
DEJARDIN (US 2019/0253097 Al) discloses (isolation requires significant physical separation around one wavelength. Thus, for radio modules, the order of magnitude of the physical separation is necessary between two radio modules. It is however not always possible to guarantee such isolation, in particular for radio modules integrated in electronic devices with a low shape factor, such as ones sharing the same radio antenna.
The electronic device being arranged for determining, for each radio module, a value of an attenuation associated with said radio module, the value of the attenuation being determined according to a maximum power acceptable to said radio module, a transmission power of the other radio module and isolation between the first and second radio interfaces. the value of the attenuation necessary depends on the power of the radio signal transmitted by the first radio module, the maximum power acceptable to the second radio module and the isolation between the two radio modules.
The value of the attenuation being determined according to a maximum power acceptable to said radio module, a maximum transmission power of the other radio module and an isolation between the first and second radio interfaces. The attenuation associated with a first radio module thus corresponds to an attenuation value making it possible to sufficiently attenuate a radio signal transmitted by the second radio module so as not to saturate the radio interface of the first radio module, the received power then being lower than the maximum power acceptable to the first radio module. This is because the isolation and attenuation make it possible to reduce the received power of the radio signal transmitted by the second radio module and received by the first radio module. This step may be renewed periodically, in particular if the transmission power of a radio module is variable over time. Thus a new attenuation value associated with a first radio module can be determined whenever the transmission power of the second radio module changes, and conversely for a new attenuation value associated with the second radio module, [0002], [0004]-0005], [0041]).
Regarding remarks in page 7 for independent claim 1, applicant argues that The Examiner argues that Figure 5 and paragraphs [0036] and [0063] of Brighenti teach or suggest features (A) and (B). Respectfully, none of Figure 5 or paragraphs [0036] or [0063] of Brighenti teach or suggests feature (A) and (B).
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. Brighenti et al. (US 2020/0305096 Al) discloses (a component of the DAS is configured to adjust the transmission power of the remote antenna unit 104 based on the number of users detected by the radar sensor and the distance of each user from the remote antenna unit. The remote antenna unit is configured to process the data from the radar sensor and adjust its own transmission power based on the data from the radar sensor. the radio point 206 communicates the user positions and user IDs to the controller 204 and the controller 204 triggers a request to the radio point 206 to adjust the radiating power levels based on the user positions in the coverage area. the transmission power is adjusted to a level such that the radio point 206 can provide coverage to the user that is farthest from the radio point 206 in the coverage area of the radio point. a component of the C-RAN system is configured to adjust the transmission power of the radio point based on the number of users detected by the radar sensor and the distance of each user from the radio point. the radio point is configured to process the data from the radar sensor and adjust its own transmission power based on the data from the radar sensor, Fig. 5, [0036], [0063]).
Regarding remarks in page 8 for independent claim 1, applicant argues that Mere mention of isolation between radio interfaces does not teach or suggest feature (C): wherein within the coverage area, the first downlink signals of the first radio unit are isolated from the second downlink signals of the second radio unit in the context of what the first downlink signals of the first radio unit and the second downlink signals of the second radio unit.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. DEJARDIN teaches (the electronic device being arranged for determining, for each radio module, a value of an attenuation associated with said radio module, the value of the attenuation being determined according to a maximum power acceptable to said radio module, a transmission power of the other radio module and isolation between the first and second radio interfaces. the value of the attenuation being determined according to a maximum power acceptable to said radio module, a maximum transmission power of the other radio module and an isolation between the first and second radio interfaces. The attenuation associated with a first radio module thus corresponds to an attenuation value making it possible to sufficiently attenuate a radio signal transmitted by the second radio module so as not to saturate the radio interface of the first radio module, the received power then being lower than the maximum power acceptable to the first radio module. This is because the isolation and attenuation make it possible to reduce the received power of the radio signal transmitted by the second radio module and received by the first radio module. This step may be renewed periodically, in particular if the transmission power of a radio module is variable over time. A new attenuation value associated with a first radio module can be determined whenever the transmission power of the second radio module changes, and conversely for a new attenuation value associated with the second radio module, [0004] [0041]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1-2, 7, 9-12, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brighenti et al. (US 2020/0305096 Al, hereinafter “Brighenti”) in view of DEJARDIN (US 2019/0253097 Al, hereinafter “Dejardin”).
Regarding claim 1, Brighenti discloses:
A controller for a radio access network, wherein the radio access network includes a baseband unit entity coupled to a plurality of radio units providing wireless communications service to user equipment (UE) in a coverage area, the controller comprising (the system 200 is implemented at least in part using a C-RAN architecture that employs at least one baseband unit 204 and multiple radio points 206. the controller 204 and radio points 206 together are used to implement an Evolved Node B (also referred to herein as an "eNodeB" or "eNB") that is used to provide user equipment with mobile access to the wireless network operator's core network 214 to enable the user equipment to wirelessly communicate data and voice, Brighenti: Fig. 2, [0038]-[0045]):
a processor configured to execute (a processor will receive instructions and data from a read-only memory and/or a random-access memory, Brighenti: [0085]):
a radio unit power assessment function, wherein the radio unit power assessment function determines a transmit power level for each of the plurality of radio units based on radio unit configuration data (a component of the DAS 100 is configured to adjust the transmission power of the remote antenna unit 104 based on the number of users 108 detected by the radar sensor 122 and the distance of each user from the remote antenna unit 104, Brighenti: [0035]-[0036]);
an information block dissemination function configured to communicate an information block to each of the plurality of radio units based on the transmit power level for each of the plurality of radio units determined by the radio unit power assessment function (the master unit 102 and the remote antenna units 104 are configured to communicate data related to power management or capacity allocation for the remote antenna units, Brighenti: [0034], [0061]);
wherein the information block dissemination function is configured to communicate a first information block to a first radio unit of the plurality of radio units that indicates to transmit first downlink signals into a coverage area at a first power level (the radio point 206 communicates the user positions and user IDs to the controller 204 and the controller 204 triggers a request to the radio point 206 to adjust the radiating power levels based on the user positions in the coverage area. the transmission power is adjusted to a level such that the radio point 206 can provide coverage to the user that is farthest from the radio point 206 in the coverage area of the radio point, Brighenti: Fig. 5, [0036], [0063]);
wherein the information block dissemination function is configured to communicate a second information block to a second radio unit of the plurality of radio units that indicates to transmit second downlink signals into the coverage area at a second power level either greater or less than the first power level (the radio point 206 communicates the user positions and user IDs to the controller 204 and the controller 204 triggers a request to the radio point 206 to adjust the radiating power levels based on the user positions in the coverage area. the transmission power is adjusted to a level such that the remote antenna unit 104 can provide coverage to the user that is farthest from the remote antenna unit 104 in the coverage area, Brighenti: Fig. 5, [0036], [0063]); and
Brighenti does not explicitly disclose:
wherein within the coverage area, the first downlink signals of the first radio unit are isolated from the second downlink signals of the second radio unit.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dejardin teaches:
wherein within the coverage area, the first downlink signals of the first radio unit are isolated from the second downlink signals of the second radio unit (the electronic device being arranged for determining, for each radio module, a value of an attenuation associated with said radio module, the value of the attenuation being determined according to a maximum power acceptable to said radio module, a transmission power of the other radio module and isolation between the first and second radio interfaces, Dejardin: [0004]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brighenti in view of Dejardin in order to further modify the first downlink signals of the first radio unit that are isolated from the second downlink signals of the second radio unit from the teachings of Dejardin.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the isolation between the two antennas can be optimised (Dejardin: [0015]).
Regarding claim 2, Brighenti in view of Dejardin teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Brighenti does not explicitly disclose:
The controller of claim 1, wherein the first downlink signals of the first radio unit are isolated from the second downlink signals of the second radio unit by passive isolation.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dejardin teaches:
wherein the first downlink signals of the first radio unit are isolated from the second downlink signals of the second radio unit by passive isolation (providing isolation between the two radio modules, isolation requiring significant physical separation, of around one wavelength, Dejardin: [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brighenti in view of Dejardin in order to further modify isolating the first radio unit from the second radio unit by passive isolation from the teachings of Dejardin.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the isolation between the two antennas can be optimised (Dejardin: [0015]).
Regarding claim 7, Brighenti in view of Dejardin teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Brighenti further discloses:
The controller of claim 1, wherein the controller comprises a baseband controller or a baseband unit (The baseband units 204 are also referred to herein as "baseband controllers" 204 or just "controllers" 204, Brighenti: [0038], [0048]).
Regarding claim 9, Brighenti in view of Dejardin teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Brighenti further discloses:
The controller of claim 1, wherein the controller simultaneously communicates with different UEs using different sets of different radio units (the controller 204 and radio points 206 together are used to implement an Evolved Node B (also referred to herein as an "eNodeB" or "eNB") that is used to provide user equipment with mobile access to the wireless network operator's core network 214 to enable the user equipment to wirelessly communicate data and voice. the central unit determines whether to use a single-input-single-output (SISO) or multiple-input-multiple-output (MIMO) communications mode based on the number of users in the coverage area, Brighenti: [0042], [0068]).
Regarding claim 10, Brighenti discloses:
A method for select radio unit transmission power in a radio access network that includes a baseband unit entity coupled to a plurality of radio units providing wireless communications service to user equipment (UE) in a coverage area, the method comprising (FIG. 3 is a flow diagram of an example method 300 of power management for a radiating point. the system 200 is implemented at least in part using a C-RAN architecture that employs at least one baseband unit 204 and multiple radio points 206. the controller 204 and radio points 206 together are used to implement an Evolved Node B (also referred to herein as an "eNodeB" or "eNB") that is used to provide user equipment with mobile access to the wireless network operator's core network 214 to enable the user equipment to wirelessly communicate data and voice, Brighenti: Fig. 2, [0038]-[0045]):
determining a radio power assessment for each of the plurality of radio units coupled to the baseband unit entity, wherein the radio power assessment is based on radio unit configuration data (a component of the DAS 100 is configured to adjust the transmission power of the remote antenna unit 104 based on the number of users 108 detected by the radar sensor 122 and the distance of each user from the remote antenna unit 104, Brighenti: [0035]-[0036]);
generating a plurality of information blocks based on the radio power assessment (the master unit 102 and the remote antenna units 104 are configured to communicate data related to power management or capacity allocation for the remote antenna units, Brighenti: [0034], [0061]);
communicating the plurality of information blocks from the baseband unit entity to the plurality of radio units, wherein a first information block communicated to a first radio unit indicates to transmit first downlink signals into the coverage area at a first power level, wherein a second information block communicated to a second radio unit indicates to transmit second downlink signals into the coverage area at a second power level either greater or less than the first power level (the radio point 206 communicates the user positions and user IDs to the controller 204 and the controller 204 triggers a request to the radio point 206 to adjust the radiating power levels based on the user positions in the coverage area. the transmission power is adjusted to a level such that the radio point 206 can provide coverage to the user that is farthest from the radio point 206 in the coverage area of the radio point, Brighenti: Fig. 5, [0036], [0063]); and
wherein a second information block communicated to a second radio unit indicates to transmit second downlink signals into the coverage area at a second power level either greater or less than the first power level (the radio point 206 communicates the user positions and user IDs to the controller 204 and the controller 204 triggers a request to the radio point 206 to adjust the radiating power levels based on the user positions in the coverage area. the transmission power is adjusted to a level such that the remote antenna unit 104 can provide coverage to the user that is farthest from the remote antenna unit 104 in the coverage area, Brighenti: Fig. 5, [0036], [0063]); and
Brighenti does not explicitly disclose:
within the coverage area, isolating the first downlink signals of the first radio unit from the second downlink signals of the second radio unit.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dejardin teaches:
within the coverage area, isolating the first downlink signals of the first radio unit from the second downlink signals of the second radio unit (the electronic device being arranged for determining, for each radio module, a value of an attenuation associated with said radio module, the value of the attenuation being determined according to a maximum power acceptable to said radio module, a transmission power of the other radio module and isolation between the first and second radio interfaces, Dejardin: [0004]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brighenti in view of Dejardin in order to further modify isolating the first downlink signals of the first radio unit from the second downlink signals of the second radio unit from the teachings of Dejardin.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the isolation between the two antennas can be optimised (Dejardin: [0015]).
Regarding claim 11, Brighenti in view of Dejardin teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 10 above.
Brighenti does not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 10, wherein the first downlink signals of the first radio unit are isolated from the second downlink signals of the second radio unit by a deployment configuration of the plurality of radio units.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dejardin teaches:
wherein the first downlink signals of the first radio unit are isolated from the second downlink signals of the second radio unit by a deployment configuration of the plurality of radio units (electronic device comprising a first and second progrannnable-gain radio attenuator placed respectively on the first and second radio interfaces. a transmission power of the other radio module and isolation between the first and second radio interfaces. The calculation takes account of isolation existing between the radio interfaces of the modules, Dejardin: [0004]-[0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brighenti in view of Dejardin in order to further modify the first downlink signals of the first radio unit that are isolated from the second downlink signals of the second radio unit by a deployment configuration of the plurality of radio units from the teachings of Dejardin.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the isolation between the two antennas can be optimised (Dejardin: [0015]).
Regarding claim 12, Brighenti in view of Dejardin teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 10 above.
Brighenti does not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 10, wherein isolating the first downlink signals of the first radio unit from the second downlink signals of the second radio unit comprises isolating the first downlink signals of the first radio unit from the second downlink signals of the second radio unit by passive isolation.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dejardin teaches:
wherein isolating the first downlink signals of the first radio unit from the second downlink signals of the second radio unit comprises isolating the first downlink signals of the first radio unit from the second downlink signals of the second radio unit by passive isolation (The isolation between the first radio interface and the second radio interface then depends on the splitter. isolation between the radio interface of the radio module and the radio interface of the radio module is determined by the characteristics of the splitter, Dejardin: [0013], [0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brighenti in view of Dejardin in order to further modify the first downlink signals of the first radio unit from the second downlink signals of the second radio unit comprising isolation of the first downlink signals of the first radio unit from the second downlink signals of the second radio unit by passive isolation from the teachings of Dejardin.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the isolation between the two antennas can be optimised (Dejardin: [0015]).
Regarding claim 17, Brighenti in view of Dejardin teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 10 above.
Brighenti further discloses:
The method of claim 10, wherein the radio unit configuration data is obtained from a device management system (These data may correspond to configuration parameters for the electronic device 100 or to information received for example in a message received by one of the radio modules 110 or 111, or via another communication module, Brighenti: [0026], [0030]).
Regarding claim 19, Brighenti in view of Dejardin teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 10 above.
Brighenti further discloses:
The method of claim 10, wherein at least one information block of the plurality of information blocks does not indicate a transmit power change for a specific radio unit, the method further comprising (a portion of the bandwidth of communications over communication links 121 is utilized for communicating data related to power management or capacity allocation for the remote antenna units, Brighenti: [0034], [0061], [0064]):
computing, by the baseband unit entity, an actual path loss by compensating a delta power that is not advertised to a UE via the at least one information block of the plurality of information blocks (the master unit 102 and the remote antenna units 104 are configured to communicate data related to power management or capacity allocation for the remote antenna units 104 using communication links separate from those used to communicate the wireless signals. a component of the DAS 100 is configured to adjust the transmission power of the remote antenna unit 104 based on the number of users 108 detected by the radar sensor 122 and the distance of each user from the remote antenna unit, Brighenti: [0034]-[0036]).
Regarding claim 20, Brighenti in view of Dejardin teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 10 above.
Brighenti further discloses:
The method of claim 10, wherein the plurality of radio units includes a plurality of remote antenna units of a distributed antenna system (FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an example distributed antenna system (DAS) 100. the master unit 102 uses the downlink RF signals to generate a downlink transport signal that is distributed to one or more of the remote antenna units 104, Brighenti: Fig. 1, [0012], [0016]).
Claims 3-5, 8, 13-15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brighenti
and Dejardin in view of Cirik et al. (US 2022/0353892 Al, hereinafter “Cirik”).
Regarding claim 3, Brighenti in view of Dejardin teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Brighenti and Dejardin do not explicitly disclose:
The controller of claim 2, wherein the information block dissemination function is configured to transmit the first information block to the first radio unit and the second information block to the second radio unit via a same downlink resource block.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cirik teaches:
wherein the information block dissemination function is configured to transmit the first information block to the first radio unit and the second information block to the second radio unit via a same downlink resource block (one or more cells may be referred to as inter-cell multi-TRP operation. the serving cell may be/comprise a first TRP. a second cell of the one or more cells may be/comprise a second TRP, Cirik: [0197]- [0198]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brighenti and Dejardin in view of Cirik in order to further modify transmitting the first information block to the first radio unit and the second information block to the second radio unit via a same downlink resource block from the teachings of Cirik.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have improved Quality of Service (QoS) flow handling (Cirik: [0002]).
Regarding claim 4, Brighenti in view of Dejardin teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Brighenti and Dejardin do not explicitly disclose:
The controller of claim 1, wherein the first downlink signals of the first radio unit are isolated from the second downlink signals of the second radio unit by active isolation, wherein the active isolation is controlled by an isolation management function executed by the processor.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cirik teaches:
wherein the first downlink signals of the first radio unit are isolated from the second downlink signals of the second radio unit by active isolation, wherein the active isolation is controlled by an isolation management function executed by the processor (base station may activate some one or more CORESETs of the serving cell with a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state ( or receiving beam) associated with a physical cell index (PCI) of the serving cell and one or more CORESETs of the serving cell with a TCI state associated with a PCI of the non-serving cell. The wireless device may determine a transmission power for the uplink transmission based on the power control parameter associated with the serving cell based on determining that the DCI is associated with the serving cell. wireless device may determine a transmission power based on the power control parameter associated with the second cell based on determining that the DCI is associated with the second cell, Cirik: [0203], [0206]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brighenti and Dejardin in view of Cirik in order to further modify the active isolation which is controlled by an isolation management function executed by the processor from the teachings of Cirik.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have improved transmission power control (Cirik: [0004]).
Regarding claim 5, Brighenti in view of Dejardin teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Brighenti and Dejardin do not explicitly disclose:
The controller of claim 4, wherein the active isolation comprises transmitting the first information block to the first radio unit via a first downlink resource block and transmitting the second information block to the second radio unit via a second downlink resource block.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cirik teaches:
wherein the active isolation comprises transmitting the first information block to the first radio unit via a first downlink resource block and transmitting the second information block to the second radio unit via a second downlink resource block (A plurality of TRPs may serve (e.g., transmit to and/or receive from) the wireless device 1704. The plurality of TRPs may comprise a first TRP and a second TRP. plurality of information set may comprise the first information set and the second information set. plurality of transmission/reception point(TRP)s may comprise a first TRP and a second TRP. The first TRP may send/transmit a downlink signal/channel via a first information set. The second TRP may send/transmit a downlink signal/channel via a second nformation set, Cirik: [0233]-[0234]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brighenti and Dejardin in view of Cirik in order to further modify transmitting the first information block to the first radio unit via a first downlink resource block and transmitting the second information block to the second radio unit via a second downlink resource block from the teachings of Cirik.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have improved Quality of Service (QoS) flow handling (Cirik: [0002]).
Regarding claim 8, Brighenti in view of Dejardin teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Brighenti and Dejardin do not explicitly disclose:
The controller of claim 1, wherein the controller comprises a central unit (CU) and at least one distribution unit (DU), wherein the plurality of radio units is coupled to the controller via the DU.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cirik teaches:
wherein the controller comprises a central unit (CU) and at least one distribution unit (DU), wherein the plurality of radio units is coupled to the controller via the DU (base station central unit (CU) may be coupled to one or more base station distributed units (DUs) using an Fl interface, Cirik: [0090]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brighenti and Dejardin in view of Cirik in order to further modify comprising a central unit (CU) and at least one distribution unit (DU) from the teachings of Cirik.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have improved Quality of Service (QoS) flow handling (Cirik: [0063]).
Regarding claim 13, Brighenti in view of Dejardin teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 12 above.
Brighenti and Dejardin do not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 12, further comprising transmitting the first information block to the first radio unit and the second information block to the second radio unit via a same downlink resource block.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cirik teaches:
further comprising transmitting the first information block to the first radio unit and the second information block to the second radio unit via a same downlink resource block (one or more cells may be referred to as inter-cell multi-TRP operation. the serving cell may be/comprise a first TRP. a second cell of the one or more cells may be/comprise a second TRP, Cirik: [0197]-[0198]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brighenti and Dejardin in view of Cirik in order to further modify transmitting the first information block to the first radio unit and the second information block to the second radio unit via a same downlink resource block from the teachings of Cirik.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have improved Quality of Service (QoS) flow handling (Cirik: [0002]).
Regarding claim 14, Brighenti in view of Dejardin teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 10 above.
Brighenti and Dejardin does not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 10, wherein isolating the first downlink signals of the first radio unit from the second downlink signals of the second radio unit comprises active isolation, wherein the active isolation is controlled by an isolation management function.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cirik teaches:
wherein isolating the first downlink signals of the first radio unit from the second downlink signals of the second radio unit comprises active isolation, wherein the active isolation is controlled by an isolation management function (base station may activate some one or more CORESETs of the serving cell with a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state ( or receiving beam) associated with a physical cell index (PCI) of the serving cell and one or more CORESETs of the serving cell with a TCI state associated with a PCI of the non-serving cell. The wireless device may determine a transmission power for the uplink transmission based on the power control parameter associated with the serving cell based on determining that the DCI is associated with the serving cell. wireless device may determine a transmission power based on the power control parameter associated with the second cell based on determining that the DCI is associated with the second cell, Cirik: [0203], [0206]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brighenti and Dejardin in view of Cirik in order to further modify isolating the first downlink signals of the first radio unit from the second downlink signals of the second radio unit which comprises active isolation from the teachings of Cirik.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have improved transmission power control (Cirik: [0004]).
Regarding claim 15, Brighenti-Dejardin-Cirik teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 14 above.
Brighenti and Dejardin do not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 14, wherein the active isolation comprises transmitting the first information block to the first radio unit via a first downlink resource block and transmitting the second information block to the second radio unit via a second downlink resource block.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cirik teaches:
wherein the active isolation comprises transmitting the first information block to the first radio unit via a first downlink resource block and transmitting the second information block to the second radio unit via a second downlink resource block (A plurality of TRPs may serve (e.g., transmit to and/or receive from) the wireless device 1704. The plurality of TRPs may comprise a first TRP and a second TRP. plurality of information set may comprise the first information set and the second information set. plurality of transmission/reception point(TRP)s may comprise a first TRP and a second TRP. The first TRP may send/transmit a downlink signal/channel via a first information set. The second TRP may send/transmit a downlink signal/channel via a second nformation set, Cirik: [0233]-[0234]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brighenti and Dejardin in view of Cirik in order to further modify the active isolation which comprises transmitting the first information block to the first radio unit via a first downlink resource block and transmitting the second information block to the second radio unit via a second downlink resource block from the teachings of Cirik.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have improved Quality of Service (QoS) flow handling (Cirik: [0002]).
Regarding claim 18, Brighenti in view of Dejardin teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 10 above.
Brighenti and Dejardin do not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 10, wherein the baseband unit entity comprises a central unit (CU) and at least one distribution unit (DU), wherein the plurality of radio units is coupled to the baseband unit entity via the DU.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cirik teaches:
wherein the baseband unit entity comprises a central unit (CU) and at least one distribution unit (DU), wherein the plurality of radio units is coupled to the baseband unit entity via the DU (base station central unit (CU) may be coupled to one or more base station distributed units (DUs) using an Fl interface, Cirik: [0090]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brighenti and Dejardin in view of Cirik in order to further modify comprising a central unit (CU) and at least one distribution unit (DU) from the teachings of Cirik.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have improved Quality of Service (QoS) flow handling (Cirik: [0063]).
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brighenti-Dejardin-Cirik
in view of Shao et al. (US 2020/0344031 Al, hereinafter “Shao”).
Regarding claim 6, Brighenti-Dejardin-Cirik teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Brighenti-Dejardin-Cirik do not explicitly disclose:
The controller of claim 4, wherein the active isolation includes protocol implemented isolation, wherein the isolation management function manages the active isolation by:
utilizing different scrambling codes;
utilizing different Cell IDs;
utilizing different Multiple-Input, Multiple-Output (MIMO) antenna port configurations; and/or
controlling a ratio of pilot carrier versus data carrier power used by radio units.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shao teaches:
wherein the active isolation includes protocol implemented isolation, wherein the isolation management function manages the active isolation by (The radio frequency apparatus may be remotely arranged relative to the baseband apparatus (for example, a remote radio unit (RRU) is remotely arranged relative to a baseband processing unit (BBU)).baseband apparatus may include a modulation and demodulation subsystem, configured to implement processing on each communications protocol layer for data, Shao: [0133]-[0134], [0435]):
utilizing different scrambling codes (cell index may be an index associated with a scrambling code corresponding to the cell index, Shao: [0237]);
utilizing different Cell IDs (carrier index of a secondary component carrier and a cell identifier (Cell ID) of a secondary serving cell, Shao: [0132]);
utilizing different Multiple-Input, Multiple-Output (MIMO) antenna port configurations (massive-antenna technology MIMO is supported in an NR system, and resources for data transmission include a time domain resource and a frequency domain resource, Shao: [0124]); and/or
controlling a ratio of pilot carrier versus data carrier power used by radio units (a frequency domain resource on which the first transport block is located is carried on a first carrier, a frequency domain resource on which the second transport block is located is carried on a second carrier, and index numbers of the first carrier and the second carrier are different, Shao: [0258]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brighenti-Dejardin-Cirik in view of Shao in order to further modify scrambling codes, Cell IDs, MIMO antenna port, and controlling radio module power from the teachings of Shao.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have improved transmission reliability (Shao: [0005]).
Regarding claim 16, Brighenti-Dejardin-Cirik teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 14 above.
Brighenti-Dejardin-Cirik do not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 14, wherein the active isolation includes protocol implemented isolation, wherein the isolation management function manages the active isolation by:
utilizing different scrambling codes;
utilizing different Cell IDs;
utilizing different Multiple-Input, Multiple-Output (MIMO) antenna port configurations; and/or
controlling a ratio of pilot carrier versus data carrier power used by radio units.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shao teaches:
wherein the active isolation includes protocol implemented isolation, wherein the isolation management function manages the active isolation by (baseband apparatus may include a modulation and demodulation subsystem, configured to implement processing on each communications protocol layer for data, Shao: [0435]):
utilizing different scrambling codes (cell index may be an index associated with a scrambling code corresponding to the cell index, Shao: [0237]);
utilizing different Cell IDs (carrier index of a secondary component carrier and a cell identifier (Cell ID) of a secondary serving cell, Shao: [0132]);
utilizing different Multiple-Input, Multiple-Output (MIMO) antenna port configurations (massive-antenna technology MIMO is supported in an NR system, and resources for data transmission include a time domain resource and a frequency domain resource, Shao: [0124]); and/or
controlling a ratio of pilot carrier versus data carrier power used by radio units (a frequency domain resource on which the first transport block is located is carried on a first carrier, a frequency domain resource on which the second transport block is located is carried on a second carrier, and index numbers of the first carrier and the second carrier are different, Shao: [0258]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brighenti-Dejardin-Cirik in view of Shao in order to further modify scrambling codes, Cell IDs, MIMO antenna port, and controlling radio module power from the teachings of Shao.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have improved transmission reliability (Shao: [0005]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension
of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
directed to SANG C LEE whose telephone number is (703)756-1461. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:00AM-5:00PM EST.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/Robert C Scheibel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 February 5, 2026