DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/09/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 02/27/2026 has been entered. Claim 1 is amended, Claim 26 is newly added and Claims 1-7 and 26 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5 and 26 are under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Uezono et al. (JP5708526B2 - Machine Translation), hereinafter "Uezono" in view of Todoriki et al. (US 20120308891 A1), hereinafter “Todoriki”. Uezono and Todoriki et al. are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely doping of solid electrolytes.
In regard to Claim 1 and 26, Uezono et al. discloses a method for forming a secondary battery, comprising: a first step of mixing graphene, carbon black, and a binder to obtain a first mixture, a second step of mixing the first mixture with a positive electrode active material to obtain a second mixture and a third step of mixing the second mixture with a dispersion medium to obtain an electrode slurry (Uezono, [8-9]). Uezono et al. also discloses a fourth step of applying the electrode slurry to a positive electrode current collector, a fifth step of drying the electrode slurry to form a positive electrode and a sixth step of overlapping the positive electrode and a negative electrode to form a secondary battery (Uezono, [19, 21]). Further, Uezono et al. discloses wherein a weight of the carbon black is 2 times a weight of the graphene in the mixing in the first step (Uezono, [9]), which anticipates the claimed range.
While Uezono et al. discloses the preference for graphite (multilayered graphene), it is silent as to the specific type of graphene selected. Todoriki et al. discloses a beneficial electrode layer comprising a positive electrode active material, carbon black, a binder and a reduced graphene oxide with 1-100 graphene layers (Todoriki, Abstract, [0033, 0060], Example 2) wherein the benefit of providing graphene oxide is that it is more likely to touch active material particles or another conduction auxiliary agent, thereby increasing the conductivity and the bonding strength between active material particles and results in an increased conductivity and electric capacity of the electrode (Todoriki, Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a reduced graphene oxide with 1-100 layers as taught in Todoriki as the graphene selected in Uezono et al. as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Todoriki and as doing so would amount to nothing more than providing a known variation of graphene and a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
In regard to Claims 3-5, Uezono in view of Todoriki et al. discloses the method for forming a secondary battery according to claim 1. Uezono et al. also discloses a lithium-cobalt-nickel-manganese composite oxide (specifically, LiCo.sub.1/3 Ni .sub.1/3 Mn .sub.1/3 O .sub.2 ) is used as the positive electrode active material (Uezono, [8]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uezono et al. (JP5708526B2 - Machine Translation), hereinafter "Uezono" in view of Todoriki et al. (US 20120308891 A1), hereinafter “Todoriki” as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fujino et al. (WO 2019225437 A1 - US 20210202984 A1 referenced for citations), hereinafter “Fujino”. Uezono, Todoriki and Fujino et al. are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely positive electrode materials and manufacture.
In regard to Claim 2, Uezono in view of Todoriki et al. discloses the method for forming a secondary battery according to claim 1. Uezono et al. also discloses wherein pressing is performed by a pressing roll after the fifth step (Uezono, [19]), however, Uezono is silent as to the pressure in kN/m chosen by the skilled artisan to perform the pressing.
Fujino et al. discloses a positive electrode mixture applied to a current collector, then dried (step 5) and then pressed with a roll press at 1 t/cm which is equivalent to 981 kN/m (Fujino, [0126]), which anticipates the claimed range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to select the pressure for roll pressing as taught in Fujino et al. as doing so would amount to nothing more than a variation of pressure for use in the same field based on design incentives or other market forces, as the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uezono et al. (JP5708526B2 - Machine Translation), hereinafter "Uezono" in view of Todoriki et al. (US 20120308891 A1), hereinafter “Todoriki” as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sun et al. (AlF3-Coating to Improve High Voltage Cycling Performance of Li[Ni1/3Co1/3Mn1/3]O2 Cathode Materials for Lithium Secondary Batteries, Journal of The Electrochemical Society, 154 (3) A168-A172 2007), hereinafter "Sun". Uezono, Todoriki and Sun et al. are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely positive electrode materials and manufacture.
In regard to Claims 6-7, Uezono in view of Todoriki et al. discloses the method for forming a secondary battery according to Claims 3-4. Uezono et al. also discloses an Li[Ni1/3 Co1/3 Mn1/3]O2 cathode active material (Uezono, [8]), but is silent as to the active material containing Al or fluorine in a surface portion.
Sun et al. discloses an Li[Ni1/3 Co1/3 Mn1/3]O2 cathode active material provided with an AlF3 coating, which is a beneficial coating that improved cycle performance and rate capability under a high cutoff voltage (Sun, Abstract). The AlF3 coating thus provides a positive electrode active material comprising Li, Co, Ni, Mn, Al and Fluorine in a surface portion. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide an ALF3 surface coating to the Li[Ni1/3 Co1/3 Mn1/3]O2 cathode active material as taught in Sun to the Li[Ni1/3 Co1/3 Mn1/3]O2 cathode active material as disclosed in Uezono et al. as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Sun and as doing so would amount to nothing more than the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection has been changed from a 35 U.S.C 102 (a)(1) rejection to a 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection and relies on a secondary reference Todoriki et al. (US 20120308891 A1), not previously applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument and wherein the combination teaches all of the limitations of amended claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.M.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725