Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 15. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings were received on 2/2/2026. These drawings are not acceptable.
In addition to Replacement Sheets containing the corrected drawing figure(s), applicant is required to submit a marked-up copy of each Replacement Sheet including annotations indicating the changes made to the previous version. The marked-up copy must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheets” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings. See 37 CFR 1.121(d)(1). Failure to timely submit the proposed drawing and marked-up copy will result in the abandonment of the application.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 3-13 are objected to because of the following informalities: they do not contain the correct status indicators based on previous claims filed on 2/2/2026. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This applies to the following limitations: “doctoring means” (claim 8). The limitations are interpreted in light of the instant specification as: “doctoring means” (doctor blade, [0024], [0033]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FR1171842 in view of U.S. Patent No. 5000850 by Berry.
A preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See In re Hirao, 535 F.2d 67, 190 USPQ 15 (CCPA 1976) and Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d 150, 152, 88 USPQ 478, 481 (CCPA 1951). This applies to the limitation “for filtration of a suspension” (claim 1).
Regarding limitations recited in the claims which are directed to a manner of operating disclosed equipment, it is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP § 2114 and 2115. "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Claim analysis is highly fact-dependent. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). This applies to the following limitations: “for filtration of a suspension” (claim 1); “for automatically moving the rotary filter between the vessel of the filtration unit and the vessel of the coating unit” (claim 1); “for detection of the thickness of a precoat covering the rotary filter” (claim 3); “for a suspension for forming the precoat” (claim 4); “adapted to allow the circulation of the suspension used for the preparation of the precoat between the vessel of the preparation unit and the vessel of the coating unit and vice versa” (claim 6); “adapted to allow a translatory displacement of the rotary filter respectively along a vertical axis perpendicular to its rotation shaft and a long a horizontal axis perpendicular to its rotation shaft” (claim 7); “for a suspension which will form a precoat covering the rotary filter” (claim 11); and “adapted to allow the circulation of the suspension used for the preparation of the precoat between the vessel of the preparation unit and the vessel of the coating unit and vice versa” (claim 13).
In regard to claims 1 and 7, ‘842 teaches equipment (Figure 1-2, machine translation page 1, line 13-21; page 2, line 45 to page 3, line 85); capable of filtering a suspension. ‘842 teaches a filtration unit (Figure 1-2, machine translation page 1, line 13-21; page 2, line 45 to page 3, line 85). ‘842 teaches a rotary filter (Figure 1, drum filter 1, machine translation page 1, line 13-21; page 2, line 45 to page 3, line 85). ‘842 teaches a coating unit (Figure 1, box 21, machine translation page 1, line 13-21; page 2, line 45 to page 3, line 85); capable of coating the rotary filter with the precoat. ‘842 teaches said coating unit is independent of the filtration unit (Figure 1, drum filter 1, box 21, machine translation page 1, line 13-21; page 2, line 45 to page 3, line 85). ‘842 teaches the filtration unit and the coating unit each comprises a vessel (Figure 1, Figure 3, machine translation page 1, line 13-21; page 2, line 45 to page 3, line 85; page 3, lines 86-95); capable of housing the rotary filter longitudinally; capable of automatically moving the rotary filter between the vessel of the filtration unit and the vessel of the coating unit.
‘842 does not teach means of automatic displacement of the rotary filter between said filtration unit and coating unit.
Berry teaches a rotary filter coating device (abstract). Further, Berry teaches the means for automatic displacement of the rotary filter between said filtration unit and coating unit comprise a pneumatic jack connected to the rotation shaft of the rotary filter (abstract; claim 15, claim 16; reading on claim 7); capable of allowing a translatory displacement of the rotary filter respectively along a vertical axis perpendicular to its rotation shaft and along a horizontal axis perpendicular to its rotation shaft. Berry teaches the pneumatic jack allows the filter to tune the size of the contact zone (abstract). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill int eh art at the time the invention was effectively filed to utilize pneumatic jacks, as taught by Berry, in the device of ‘842 as pneumatic jacks are known devices in rotary filters and are utilized to tune the size of the contract zone. Mere duplication of parts or process steps has no patentable significance, unless a new and unexpected result is produced, since it involves only routine skill in the art.
In regard to claim 3, ‘842 teaches a sensor for detection of the thickness of the precoat covering the rotary filter (Figure 1, Figure 3, machine translation page 1, line 13-21; page 2, line 45 to page 3, line 85; page 3, lines 86-95).
In regard to claim 4, ‘842 teaches a preparation unit for suspension which will form the precoat (Figure 1, mixing bin 16’, machine translation page 1, line 13-21; page 2, line 45 to page 3, line 85). ‘842 teaches said preparation unit being independent of said filtration unit (Figure 1, drum filter 1, mixing box 21, mixing bin 16’, machine translation page 1, line 13-21; page 2, line 45 to page 3, line 85).
In regard to claim 5, ‘842 teaches the preparation unit comprises a vessel provided with an agitator and connected to said coating unit by a fluidic circuit (Figure 1, buckets 9, machine translation page 1, line 13-21; page 2, line 45 to page 3, line 85).
In regard to claim 6, ‘842 teaches the fluidic circuit comprises a feed line and a drainage line connecting the vessel of the preparation unit for a suspension to the vessel of the coating unit each of the lines being connected to a pump (Figure 1, drum filter 1, mixing box 21, mixing bin 16’, pump 22, conduit 26, conduit 23, machine translation page 1, line 13-21; page 2, line 45 to page 3, line 85); capable of allowing the circulation of the suspension used for the preparation of the precoat between the vessel of the preparation and the vessel of the coating unit and vice versa.
In regard to claim 8, ‘842 teaches the filtration unit is provided with a doctoring means for the filtering precoat coating the rotary filter forming a single piece with the vessel to which is belongs (Figure 3, pg 3, lines 86-95).
In regard to claim 9, ‘842 teaches the vessel of the filtration unit is comprised of an entry orifice for the suspension being filtered (Figure 1, inlet tube 2, drum filter 1, machine translation page 1, line 13-21; page 2, line 45 to page 3, line 85).
In regard to claim 10, ‘842 teaches the entry orifice is connected to an inlet line for the suspension being filtered (Figure 1, inlet tube 2, drum filter 1, machine translation page 1, line 13-21; page 2, line 45 to page 3, line 85). ‘842 does not teach the entry orifice or inlet line for the suspension being filtered is provided with a pump.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to utilize a pump as pumps are well known means of transferring fluids.
In regard to claim 11, ‘842 teaches a preparation unit (Figure 1, mixing bin 16’, machine translation page 1, line 13-21; page 2, line 45 to page 3, line 85); capable of forming a precoat covering the rotary filter. ‘842 teaches said preparation unit being independent of said filtration unit (Figure 1, drum filter 1, mixing box 21, mixing bin 16’, machine translation page 1, line 13-21; page 2, line 45 to page 3, line 85).
In regard to claim 12, ‘842 teahces said preparation unit comprises a vessel comprising an agitator and connected to said coating unit by a fluidic circuit (Figure 1, buckets 9, machine translation page 1, line 13-21; page 2, line 45 to page 3, line 85).
In regard to claim 13, ‘842 teaches the fluidic circuit comprises a feed line and a drainage line connecting the vessel of the preparation unit for the suspension to the vessel of the coating unit (Figure 1, drum filter 1, mixing box 21, mixing bin 16’, pump 22, conduit 26, conduit 23, machine translation page 1, line 13-21; page 2, line 45 to page 3, line 85). ‘842 teaches each of the lines being connected to a pump (Figure 1, drum filter 1, mixing box 21, mixing bin 16’, pump 22, conduit 26, conduit 23, machine translation page 1, line 13-21; page 2, line 45 to page 3, line 85); capable of allowing circulation of the suspension used for the preparation of the precoat between the vessel of the preparation unit and the vessel of the coating unit and vice versa.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KARA M PEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777