DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed November 12, 2025 have been entered and considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 21-35, Species 2, Figs. 2, 3, 5, and 6 in the reply filed on June 10, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 36-40 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 10, 2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jisoo et al. (KR 20190092330 A), in view of Do et al. (US 10062804 B2), and Takagi et al. (US 8759812 B2).
Regarding claim 21, Jisoo et al. teaches:
A display device comprising:
a first electrode comprising a first electrode line [635, paragraph [0229-0231], Fig. 32] extending in a first direction, and a second electrode line [636, paragraph [0229-0231], Fig. 32] extending in the first direction and spaced from the first electrode line [635, Fig. 32] in a second direction;
light-emitting devices [690, paragraph [0231], [0233-0235], Fig. 31-35] between the first [635, Fig. 32] and second [636, Fig. 32] electrode lines;
a second electrode [665/666, paragraph [0223-0224], Fig. 25-33] under the light-emitting devices [690, Fig. 31-35] overlapping at least partially with the first electrode [635/636, Fig. 31-34] and the light-emitting devices [690, Fig. 31-35]; and
a second contact electrode [685/668, 686/667, paragraph [0235], [0242], Fig. 33-34] extending in the first direction and located between the light-emitting devices [690, Fig. 33] and the second electrode [665/666, Fig. 25-33],
wherein a light-emitting device [691, 692, 693, paragraph [0233], Fig. 31-35] of the light-emitting devices [690, Fig. 31-35] comprises a plurality of semiconductor layers [694, 697, paragraph [0247], Fig. 35] and an insulating film [671, paragraph [0234], [0241], Fig. 32-34] surrounding parts of outer surfaces of the semiconductor layers [604, 607, Fig. 35], and wherein the light-emitting device [690, Fig. 35] further comprises a body part [corresponding to 694, Fig. 35] extending in the second direction, and a light-emitting part [area above n-type semiconductor layer 694, paragraph [0247], Fig. 35] on the body part [corresponding to 694, Fig. 35] and having a smaller length [paragraph [0248]] than the body part [corresponding to 694, Fig. 35] in the second direction [Can be seen in Fig. 35].
Jisoo et al. does not teach:
a first contact electrode extending in the first direction and comprising a first pattern overlapping with the first electrode line and one end portion of each of the light-emitting devices, and a second pattern overlapping with the second electrode line and another end portion of each of the light-emitting devices.
Do et al. teaches:
a first contact electrode [50, Col. 23, Lines 65-67 to Col. 24, Lines 1-51, Fig. 13-14] extending in the first direction and comprising a first pattern [50 (left), Fig. 13-14] overlapping with the first electrode line [110a, Col. 24, Lines 2-16, Fig. 13-14] and one end portion of each of the light-emitting devices [20, Col. 24, Lines 32-42, Fig. 13-14], and a second pattern [50 (right), Fig. 13-14] overlapping with the second electrode line [110b, Col. 24, Lines 2-16, Fig. 13-14] and another end portion of each of the light-emitting devices [20, Col. 24, Lines 32-42, Fig. 13-14].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Do et al. into the teachings of Jisoo et al. to include a first contact electrode extending in the first direction and comprising a first pattern overlapping with the first electrode line and one end portion of each of the light-emitting devices, and a second pattern overlapping with the second electrode line and another end portion of each of the light-emitting devices, for the purpose of improving conductivity and performance, and reducing contact resistance.
Jisoo et al. and Do et al. do not teach:
a second electrode on the light-emitting devices.
Takagi et al. teaches:
a second electrode [3, Col. 7, Lines 23-34, Fig. 11] on the light-emitting devices [10, Col. 2, Lines 61-67 to Col. 3, Lines 1-4; Col. 6, Lines 22-46, Fig. 11].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Takagi et al. into the teachings of Jisoo et al. and Do et al. to include a second electrode on the light-emitting devices, for the purpose of electrically connecting features within the device for proper functionality, improving connections and performance. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Claims 22-25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jisoo et al. (KR 20190092330 A), in view of Do et al. (US 10062804 B2), and Takagi et al. (US 8759812 B2) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Okazaki (US 5670797 A).
Regarding claim 22, Jisoo et al., Do et al. and Takagi et al. teach the display device of claim 21.
Jisoo et al. further teaches:
The display device of claim 21, wherein the light-emitting devices [690, Fig. 31-35] comprise a first light-emitting device [691, paragraph [0233], [0235], Fig. 31-35] comprising the light-emitting part [area above n-type semiconductor layer 694, paragraph [0247], Fig. 35] opposing the second electrode [665/666, Fig. 25-33] and a second light-emitting device [692, paragraph [0233], [0235], Fig. 31-35] comprising the light-emitting part [area above n-type semiconductor layer 694, paragraph [0247], Fig. 35].
Jisoo et al., Do et al. and Takagi et al. do not teach
A light-emitting device comprising the light-emitting part facing the first direction.
Okazaki teaches:
A light-emitting device [10, Col. 5, Lines 62-67 to Col. 6, Lines 1-27, Fig. 1(a)-1(b)] comprising the light-emitting part facing the first direction [Col. 6, Lines 19-37; Col. 8, Lines 15-22, Fig. 1(a)-1(b)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Okazaki into the teachings of Jisoo et al., Do et al. and Takagi et al. to include a light-emitting device comprising the light-emitting part facing the first direction, for the purpose of improving efficiency of light emission and increasing density. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 23, Jisoo et al., Do et al., Takagi et al., and Okazaki teach the display device of claim 22.
Jisoo et al. further teaches:
The body part [corresponding to 694, Fig. 35] of the light-emitting device [690, Fig. 31-35] comprises first and second end portions [left and right] in the second direction.
Jisoo et al., Do et al., Takagi et al., and Okazaki disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Jisoo et al., Takagi et al., and Okazaki do not teach:
the first pattern of the first contact electrode overlaps with the first electrode line and the first end portion; and
the second pattern of the first contact electrode overlaps with the second electrode line and the second end portion.
Do et al. teaches:
the first pattern [50 (left), Fig. 14] of the first contact electrode [50, Fig. 13-14] overlaps with the first electrode line [110a, Col. 24, Lines 2-16, Fig. 13-14] and the first end portion [20 (left), Col. 24, Lines 32-42, Fig. 14]; and
the second pattern [50 (right), Fig. 14] of the first contact electrode [50, Fig. 13-14] overlaps with the second electrode line [110b, Col. 24, Lines 2-16, Fig. 13-14] and the second end portion [20 (right), Col. 24, Lines 32-42, Fig. 13-14].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Do et al. into the teachings of Jisoo et al., Takagi et al., and Okazaki to include the first pattern of the first contact electrode overlaps with the first electrode line and the first end portion; and the second pattern of the first contact electrode overlaps with the second electrode line and the second end portion, for the purpose of reducing contact resistance, and improving conductivity and performance.
Regarding claim 24, Jisoo et al., Do et al., Takagi et al., and Okazaki teach the display device of claim 23.
Jisoo et al. further teaches:
a distance between the first [635, Fig. 31] and second [636, Fig. 31] electrode lines is less than a length, in the second direction, of the body parts [corresponding to 694, Fig. 35].
Jisoo et al., Do et al., Takagi et al., and Okazaki disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Jisoo et al., Takagi et al., and Okazaki do not teach:
the length in the second direction of the body parts is greater than a distance between the first and second patterns in the second direction.
Do et al. teaches:
the length in the second direction of the body parts [20, Fig. 13-14] is greater than a distance between the first [50 (left), Fig. 13-14] and second [50 (right), Fig. 13-14] patterns in the second direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Do et al. into the teachings of Jisoo et al., Takagi et al., and Okazaki to include the length in the second direction of the body parts is greater than a distance between the first and second patterns in the second direction, for the purpose of connecting the light-emitting devices to the display device.
Regarding claim 25, Jisoo et al., Do et al., Takagi et al., and Okazaki teach the display device of claim 23.
Jisoo et al., Do et al., Takagi et al., and Okazaki disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Jisoo et al., Takagi et al., and Okazaki do not teach:
the first pattern is around at least part of the first end portion; and
the second pattern is around at least part of the second end portion, the second pattern being not in contact with the light-emitting parts of the light-emitting devices.
Do et al. teaches:
the first pattern [50 (left), Col. 23, Lines 65-67 to Col. 24, Lines 1-16, Fig. 14] is around at least part of the first end portion [20 (left), Fig. 14]; and
the second pattern [50 (right), Col. 23, Lines 65-67 to Col. 24, Lines 1-16, Fig. 14] is around at least part of the second end portion [20 (right), Fig. 14], the second pattern [50 (right), Fig. 14] being not in contact with the light-emitting parts [24, 23, 22, Fig. 5, 14] of the light-emitting devices [20, Fig. 5, 14].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Do et al. into the teachings of Jisoo et al., Takagi et al., and Okazaki to include the first pattern is around at least part of the first end portion; and the second pattern is around at least part of the second end portion, the second pattern being not in contact with the light-emitting parts of the light-emitting devices, for the purpose of improving connections, conductivity and performance, and reducing contact resistance.
Regarding claim 27, Jisoo et al., Do et al., Takagi et al., and Okazaki teach the display device of claim 22.
Jisoo et al. further teaches:
wherein a width of the first [635, paragraph [0229-0231], Fig. 28-33] and second [636, paragraph [0029-0031], Fig. 28-33] electrode lines is less than a width of the second electrode [665/666, Fig. 25-33].
Although this limitation is not specifically mentioned in the disclosure, the limitation can be seen in any of Figs. 28-33. See MPEP 2125 Drawings as Prior Art: Drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). However, the picture must show all the claimed structural features and how they are put together. Jockmus v. Leviton, 28 F.2d 812 (2d Cir. 1928). The origin of the drawing is immaterial. For instance, drawings in a design patent can anticipate or make obvious the claimed invention as can drawings in utility patents. When the reference is a utility patent, it does not matter that the feature shown is unintended or unexplained in the specification. The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911, 200 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979). See MPEP § 2121.04 for more information on prior art drawings as "enabled disclosures."
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jisoo et al. (KR 20190092330 A), in view of Do et al. (US 10062804 B2), Takagi et al. (US 8759812 B2) and Okazaki (US 5670797 A) as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Jin et al. (WO 2018117680 A2).
Regarding claim 26, Jisoo et al., Do et al., Takagi et al., and Okazaki teach the display device of claim 22.
Jisoo et al., Do et al., Takagi et al., and Okazaki do not teach:
wherein the second contact electrode is in contact with the light-emitting parts of the light-emitting devices and the second electrode.
Jin et al. teaches:
wherein the second contact electrode [82, paragraph [0104], Fig. 7] is in contact with the light-emitting parts [30, 40, 50 stack, paragraph [0021], Fig. 7] of the light-emitting devices and the second electrode [102, paragraph [0097-0100], Fig. 7].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Jin et al. into the teachings of Jisoo et al., Do et al., Takagi et al., and Okazaki to include wherein the second contact electrode is in contact with the light-emitting parts of the light-emitting devices and the second electrode, for the purpose of providing electric flow to the light emitting parts, reducing contact resistance and ensuring stable electrical connections.
Claims 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jisoo et al. (KR 20190092330 A), in view of Do et al. (US 10062804 B2), and Jin et al. (WO 2018117680 A2).
Regarding claim 28, Jisoo et al. teaches:
A display device comprising:
a substrate [610, paragraph [0221], Fig. 25-34];
a first electrode on the substrate [610, Fig. 25-34] and comprising first [635, Fig. 28-35] and second [636, Fig. 28-35] electrode lines spaced from each other;
light-emitting devices [690, paragraph [0231], [0233-0235], Fig. 31-35] between the first [635, Fig. 28-34] and second [636, Fig. 28-34] electrode lines.
wherein the light-emitting devices [690, Fig. 31-35] comprise body parts [corresponding to 694, Fig. 35] extending in one direction, and light-emitting parts [area above n-type semiconductor layer 694, paragraph [0247], Fig. 35] having a smaller length than the body parts [corresponding to 694, Fig. 35] in the one direction,
wherein the second contact electrode [685/668, 686/667, paragraph [0235], Fig. 33-34] is on the light-emitting parts [area above n-type semiconductor layer 694, paragraph [0247], Fig. 35].
Jisoo et al. does not teach:
a first contact electrode comprising a first pattern on the first electrode line and at least parts of the light-emitting devices, and a second pattern on the second electrode line and at least parts of the light-emitting devices;
wherein the first pattern of the first contact electrode is on first end portions of the body parts,
wherein the second pattern of the first contact electrode is on second end portions of the body parts.
Do et al. teaches:
a first contact electrode [50, Col. 23, Lines 65-67 to Col. 24, Lines 1-51, Fig. 13-14] comprising a first pattern [50 (left), Fig. 13-14] on the first electrode line [110a, Fig. 13-14] and at least parts of the light-emitting devices [20, Fig. 14], and a second pattern [50 (right), Fig. 13-14] on the second electrode line [110b, Fig. 13-14] and at least parts of the light-emitting devices [20, Fig. 14];
wherein the first pattern [50 (left), Fig. 13-14] of the first contact electrode [50, Fig. 13-14] is on first end portions [20 (left), Fig. 14] of the body parts,
wherein the second pattern [50 (right), Fig. 13-14] of the first contact electrode [50, Fig. 13-14] is on second end portions [20 (right), Fig. 14] of the body parts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Do et al. into the teachings of Jisoo et al. to include a first contact electrode comprising a first pattern on the first electrode line and at least parts of the light-emitting devices, and a second pattern on the second electrode line and at least parts of the light-emitting devices; wherein the first pattern of the first contact electrode is on first end portions of the body parts, wherein the second pattern of the first contact electrode is on second end portions of the body parts, for the purpose of improving conductivity and reducing contact resistance.
Jisoo et al. and Do et al. do not teach:
a second contact electrode on the light-emitting devices, between the first and second patterns; and
a second electrode on the second contact electrode.
Jin et al. teaches:
a second contact electrode [82, paragraph [0104], Fig. 7] on the light-emitting devices [30, 40, 50 stack, paragraph [0021], Fig. 7], between the first [72 (left), paragraph [0075], Fig. 7] and second [72 (right), paragraph [0075], Fig. 7] patterns; and
a second electrode [102, paragraph [0097], [0104], Fig. 7] on the second contact electrode [82, Fig. 7].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Jin et al. into the teachings of Jisoo et al. and Do et al. to include a second contact electrode on the light-emitting devices, between the first and second patterns; and a second electrode on the second contact electrode, for the purpose of increasing density, and improving connections between features within the device, improving performance.
Regarding claim 29, Jisoo et al., Do et al., and Jin et al. teach the display device of claim 28.
However, Jisoo et al., and Jin et al. do not teach:
the first pattern of the first contact electrode is in contact with top surfaces and sides of the first end portions of the light-emitting devices; and
the second pattern of the first contact electrode is in contact with top surfaces and sides of the second end portions of the light-emitting devices.
Do et al. teaches:
the first pattern [50 (left), Fig. 13-14] of the first contact electrode [50, Col. 23, Lines 65-67 to Col. 24, Lines 1-51, Fig. 13-14] is in contact with top surfaces and sides of the first end portions of the light-emitting devices [20, Col. 24, Lines 32-42, Fig. 13-14]; and
the second pattern [50 (right), Fig. 13-14] of the first contact electrode [50, Col. 23, Lines 65-67 to Col. 24, Lines 1-51, Fig. 13-14] is in contact with top surfaces and sides of the second end portions of the light-emitting devices [20, Col. 24, Lines 32-42, Fig. 13-14].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Do et al. into the teachings of Jisoo et al., and Jin et al. to include the first pattern of the first contact electrode is in contact with top surfaces and sides of the first end portions of the light-emitting devices; and the second pattern of the first contact electrode is in contact with top surfaces and sides of the second end portions of the light-emitting devices, for the purpose of increasing connections and conductivity, improving performance, and reducing contact resistance.
Claims 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jisoo et al. (KR 20190092330 A), in view of Do et al. (US 10062804 B2), and Jin et al. (WO 2018117680 A2) as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of Takagi et al. (US 8759812 B2).
Regarding claim 30, Jisoo et al., Do et al., and Jin et al. teach the display device of claim 29.
Jisoo et al., Do et al., and Jin et al. do not teach:
wherein the second contact electrode is in contact with top surfaces and sides of the light-emitting parts.
Takagi et al. teaches:
wherein the second contact electrode [3, Col. 7, Lines 23-34, Fig. 11] is in contact with top surfaces and sides of the light-emitting parts [10, Col. 2, Lines 38-41; Col. 6, Lines 39-46, Fig. 11].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Takagi et al. into the teachings of Jisoo et al., Do et al., and Jin et al. to include wherein the second contact electrode is in contact with top surfaces and sides of the light-emitting parts, for the purpose of improving connections and conductivity, and electrically connecting features within the device so the device can function properly.
Regarding claim 31, Jisoo et al., Do et al., Jin et al., and Takagi et al. teach the display device of claim 30.
Jisoo et al. further teaches:
wherein the second contact electrode [685/668, 686/667, paragraph [0235], Fig. 33-34] is in contact with some parts that are directly connected to the light-emitting parts [area above n-type semiconductor layer 694, paragraph [0247], Fig. 35].
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jisoo et al. (KR 20190092330 A), in view of Do et al. (US 10062804 B2), and Jin et al. (WO 2018117680 A2) as applied to claim 28 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20190131494 A1).
Regarding claim 32, Jisoo et al., Do et al., and Jin et al. teach the display device of claim 28.
Jisoo et al. further teaches:
each of the light-emitting devices [690, paragraph [0247], Fig. 35] comprises a plurality of semiconductor layers [697, 694, paragraph [0247], Fig. 35].
Jisoo et al., Do et al., and Jin et al. do not teach:
an insulating film around parts of outer surfaces of the semiconductor layers; and
the insulating film is around the body parts and sides of the light-emitting parts, wherein the insulating film is not on parts of the body parts where the light-emitting parts are not located, from between sides and top surfaces of the body parts.
Lee et al. teaches:
an insulating film [43, paragraph [0118], Fig. 6a-6b] around parts of outer surfaces of the semiconductor layers [13, 12, 11, paragraph [0067], Fig. 6a-6b]; and
the insulating film [43, Fig. 6a-6b] is around the body parts and sides of the light-emitting parts [10, Fig. 6a-6b], wherein the insulating film [43, Fig. 6a-6b] is not on parts of the body parts [54, paragraph [0120], Fig. 6a-6b] where the light-emitting parts are not located, from between sides and top surfaces of the body parts.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee et al. into the teachings of Jisoo et al., Do et al., and Jin et al. to include an insulating film around parts of outer surfaces of the semiconductor layers; and the insulating film is around the body parts and sides of the light-emitting parts, wherein the insulating film is not on parts of the body parts where the light-emitting parts are not located, from between sides and top surfaces of the body parts, for the purpose of preventing short circuits.
Claims 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jisoo et al. (KR 20190092330 A), in view of Do et al. (US 10062804 B2), Jin et al. (WO 2018117680 A2), and Lee et al. (US 20190131494 A1) as applied to claim 32 above, and further in view of Okazaki (US 5670797 A).
Regarding claim 33, Jisoo et al., Do et al., Jin et al., and Lee et al. teach the display device of claim 32.
Jisoo et al. further teaches:
wherein the light-emitting devices [690, Fig. 31-35] comprise a first light-emitting device [691, paragraph [0233], [0235], Fig. 31-35] comprising the light-emitting part [area above n-type semiconductor layer 694, paragraph [0247], Fig. 35] facing an upward direction of the substrate [610, paragraph [0221], Fig. 25-34] and a second light-emitting device [692, paragraph [0233], [0235], Fig. 31-35] comprising the light-emitting part [area above n-type semiconductor layer 694, paragraph [0247], Fig. 35].
Jisoo et al., Do et al., Jin et al., and Lee et al. do not teach:
A light-emitting device comprising the light-emitting part facing a direction parallel to a top surface of the substrate.
Okazaki teaches:
A light-emitting device [10, Col. 5, Lines 62-67 to Col. 6, Lines 1-27, Fig. 1(a)-1(b)] comprising the light-emitting part facing a direction parallel to a top surface of the substrate [17, Col. 6, Lines 19-37; Col. 8, Lines 15-22, Fig. 1(a)-1(b)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Okazaki into the teachings of Jisoo et al., Do et al., Jin et al., and Lee et al. to include a light-emitting device comprising the light-emitting part facing a direction parallel to a top surface of the substrate, for the purpose of improving efficiency of light emission and increasing density. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 34, Jisoo et al., Do et al., Jin et al., Lee et al., and Okazaki teach the display device of claim 33.
However, Jisoo et al., Do et al., Jin et al., and Okazaki do not teach:
parts of top surfaces and sides of the semiconductor layers of each of the light- emitting devices where the insulating film is not located are exposed in the first end portions of the light-emitting devices.
Lee et al. teaches:
parts of top surfaces and sides of the semiconductor layers [13, 12, 11, paragraph [0067], Fig. 6a-6b] of each of the light- emitting devices where the insulating film [43, Fig. 6a-6b] is not located are exposed [54, paragraph [0120], Fig. 6a-6b] in the first end portions of the light-emitting devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee et al. into the teachings of Jisoo et al., Do et al., Jin et al., Lee et al., and Okazaki to include parts of top surfaces and sides of the semiconductor layers of each of the light- emitting devices where the insulating film is not located are exposed in the first end portions of the light-emitting devices, for the purpose of improving connections, conductivity and performance.
Jisoo et al., Do et al., Jin et al., Lee et al., and Okazaki disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Jisoo et al., Jin et al., Lee et al., and Okazaki do not teach:
a surface of the first light-emitting device that is in contact with the first pattern and top surfaces of the first end portions is parallel to the top surface of the substrate.
Do et al. teaches:
a surface of the first light-emitting device [20, Fig. 13-14] that is in contact with the first pattern [50 (left), Fig. 13-14] and top surfaces of the first end portions [20 (left), Fig. 13-14] is parallel to the top surface of the substrate [100, Col. 7, Lines 55-63, Fig. 7; Col. 14, Lines 9-23, Fig. 6-7].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Do et al. into the teachings of Jisoo et al., Do et al., Jin et al., Lee et al., and Okazaki to include a surface of the first light-emitting device that is in contact with the first pattern and top surfaces of the first end portions is parallel to the top surface of the substrate, for the purpose of improving connections, conductivity and performance.
Regarding claim 35, Jisoo et al., Do et al., Jin et al., Lee et al., and Okazaki teach the display device of claim 34.
Jisoo et al further teaches:
wherein a surface of the second light-emitting device [20, Fig. 13-14] that is in contact with the first pattern [50(left), Fig. 13-14].
Jisoo et al., Do et al., Jin et al., Lee et al., and Okazaki disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Jisoo et al., Do et al., Jin et al., and Lee et al. do not teach:
the top surfaces of the first end portions is perpendicular to the top surface of the substrate.
Okazaki teaches:
the top surfaces of the first end portions is perpendicular to the top surface of the substrate [17, Col. 6, Lines 19-37; Col. 8, Lines 15-22, Fig. 1(a)-1(b)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Okazaki into the teachings of Jisoo et al., Do et al., Jin et al., Lee et al., and Okazaki to include the top surfaces of the first end portions is perpendicular to the top surface of the substrate, for the purpose of improving efficiency of light emission, and increasing density. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 1, Section: Drawings, in remarks filed November 12, 2025, with respect to Fig. 2 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the drawings has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-2, Section: Objections to the Claims, in remarks filed November 12, 2025, with respect to the objection to claims 21-24 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claims 21-24 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 2-8, Section: Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. §103, in remarks filed November 12, 2025, with respect to the rejection of independent claim 21 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of new considerations of primary reference Jisoo et al. (KR 20190092330 A). Applicant argues that the assembly electrode [630] of Jisoo et al. does not appear to overlap the assembly electrodes [635/636] of Jisoo et al., as the assembly electrodes [635/636] of Jisoo et al. are a part of the assembly electrode [630]. Examiner found this argument to be persuasive, but after a new line of search and consideration of the prior art, the argued limitation can be overcome by new considerations of primary reference Jisoo et al. (KR 20190092330 A). Applicant further argues that the lighting electrodes of Jisoo et al. [681-686] do not appear to be between the light emitting element [690] and the assembly electrode [630] of Jisoo et al.. Examiner found this argument to be persuasive, but after a new line of search and consideration of the prior art, the argued limitation can be overcome by new considerations of primary reference Jisoo et al. (KR 20190092330 A).
Applicant argues on pages 8-10, Section: Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. §103, in remarks filed November 12, 2025 that for similar reasons to independent claim 21, independent claim 28 should be in condition for allowance. Examiner disagrees with Applicant because the limitations that Applicant argued in independent claim 21 are not the same in independent claim 28. The limitations of independent claim 28 can be overcome by primary reference Jisoo et al. (KR 20190092330 A), in view of Do et al. (US 10062804 B2), and Jin et al. (WO 2018117680 A2). MPEP 2145 (IV) states that “One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references.”
Applicant argues on pages 10-11, Section: Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. §103, in remarks filed November 12, 2025 that dependent claims 22-27 and 29-35 depend on independent claims 21 and 28 and should be in condition for allowance. Examiner disagrees with Applicant for at least the reasons mentioned above.
In summary, Applicants arguments regarding the objections to the drawings and the objections to claims 21-24 are persuasive and the objections have been withdrawn. Applicant’s arguments regarding independent claim 21 are persuasive and the rejection has been withdrawn. However, after a new line of search and consideration the agued limitations of independent claim 21 can be overcome by new considerations of primary reference Jisoo et al. (KR 20190092330 A). Applicant’s arguments regarding independent claim 28 are not persuasive. All claims directly or indirectly dependent on independent claims 21 and 28 are also rejected for at least the reasons mentioned above.
Conclusion
/D.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2815 02/23/2026
/MONICA D HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815