DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 12-13 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 12, Applicant recites “an organic molecule according to claim 1”. It should be “the organic molecule according to claim 1”.
In claim 13, Applicant recites “an organic molecule according to claim 1”. It should be “the organic molecule according to claim 1”.
In claim 15, Applicant recites “an organic molecule according to claim 1”. It should be “the organic molecule according to claim 1”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-8, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US 2021/0408386 A1, hereafter Song) in view of Hatakeyama et al. (US 2019/0393419 A1, hereafter Hatakeyama).
Regarding claims 1-3, 7, and 12-15, Song discloses an organic light emitting device comprising a light emitting layer containing a first anthracene host, a second deuterated anthracene host, and a first blue dopant ([0010]), wherein the blue dopant can be represented by Formula 5-1 ([0080]-[0081]). Song exemplifies Dopant 7 as the Formula 5-1 ([0083]).
The compound Dopant 7 has similar structure as Applicant’s Formula I except that the p-tolyl groups (i.e. the parts enclosed by dashed circles in the figure above) are required to be 2,4,6-mesityl (hereafter mesityl) group; however, Song does teach that R11, R12 and R14 of the Formula 5-1 can be a C6-C30 aryl group ([0081]).
A p-tolyl group and a mesityl group are used as bulky substituents in B,N-containing polycyclic compounds as taught by Hatakeyama ([0136]). Hatakeyama discloses a B,N-containing polycyclic compound used for an organic light emitting device ([0001]).
Hatakeyama teaches that a group having large steric hindrance provides adjustability of an emission wavelength and selectivity in synthesis ([0136]). Hatakeyama exemplifies a mesityl group,
as the group having large steric hindrance ([0136]-[0137]). Mesityl is bulkier than p-tolyl such that an ordinary skill in the art would acknowledge that the substitution of p-tolyl with mesityl provides a shift in emission wavelength.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Dopant 7 of Song by substituting the p-tolyl groups with mesityl groups, as taught by Song and Hatakeyama.
The motivation of doing so would have been to provides high steric hindrance, adjustability of the emission wavelength, and the selectivity in synthesis, based on the teaching of Hatakeyama.
Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Both p-tolyl and mesityl are an aryl group. The substitution of p-tolyl with mesityl at positions R11, R12, and R14 of Formula 5-1 would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Compound of Song as modified by Hatakeyama, meeting all the limitations of claims 1-3 and 7.
Song in view of Hatakeyama does not disclose a specific organic light emitting device comprising the Compound of Song as modified by Hatakeyama; however, Song does teach that the compound of Song can be used as the dopant with the anthracene hosts (a first host of Formula 1 in [0072] and a second host of Formula 3 in [0079]) in the light emitting layer of an organic light emitting device ([0010]).
Song teaches the structure of an organic light emitting device (“organic light emitting display device” in Fig. 2) comprising a substrate (110), a first electrode (anode, 160), a light emitting layer (162), and a second electrode (cathode, 164) (Fig. 2, [0034]-[0063]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound of Song as modified by Hatakeyama by incorporating it as a dopant into the light emitting layer of an organic light emitting device, as taught by Song and Hatakeyama.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of dopants in an organic light emitting device would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Organic light emitting device of Song as modified by Hatakeyama comprising a substrate, an anode, a light emitting layer (Compound of Song as modified by Hatakeyama as an emitter, a first host compound of Song, and a second host compound of Song), and a cathode, wherein the organic light emitting device is an optoelectronic device; the organic light emitting device is an organic light emitting diode; the light emitting layer materials are a composition, meeting all the limitations of claims 12-14.
Song in view of Hatakeyama does not specifically disclose the Organic light emitting device of Song as modified by Hatakeyama is produced by a vacuum evaporation method; however, Song does teach that the organic layers of the organic light emitting device of Song can be formed by a deposition method ([0113]).
Hatakeyama teaches that the organic layers of an organic light emitting device can be produced by a vacuum evaporation method ([0404]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method to produce the Organic light emitting device of Song as modified by Hatakeyama to a vacuum evaporation method, as taught by Song and Hatakeyama.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of the product methods of an organic light emitting device would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides a method to produce the Organic light emitting device of Song as modified by Hatakeyama wherein the organic layers of the device are produced by a vacuum evaporation method, meeting all the limitations of claim 15.
Regarding claim 6, Song discloses an organic light emitting device comprising a light emitting layer containing a first anthracene host, a second deuterated anthracene host, and a first blue dopant ([0010]), wherein the blue dopant can be represented by Formula 5-1 ([0080]-[0081]). Song exemplifies Dopant 8 as the Formula 5-1 ([0083]).
The compound Dopant 8 has p-tolyl groups (i.e. the parts enclosed by dashed circles in the figure above) at the positions corresponding to R11 and R12 of Formula 5-1, which does not read on the limitation of instant claims; however, Song does teach that R11 and R12 of the Formula 5-1 can be a C6-C30 aryl group ([0081]).
A p-tolyl group and a mesityl group are used as bulky substituents in B,N-containing polycyclic compounds as taught by Hatakeyama ([0136]). Hatakeyama discloses a B,N-containing polycyclic compound used for an organic light emitting device ([0001]).
Hatakeyama teaches that a group having large steric hindrance provides adjustability of an emission wavelength and selectivity in synthesis ([0136]). Hatakeyama exemplifies a mesityl group,
as the group having large steric hindrance ([0136]-[0137]). Mesityl is bulkier than p-tolyl such that an ordinary skill in the art would acknowledge that the substitution of p-tolyl with mesityl provides a shift in emission wavelength.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Dopant 8 of Song by substituting the p-tolyl groups with mesityl groups, as taught by Song and Hatakeyama.
The motivation of doing so would have been to provides high steric hindrance, adjustability of the emission wavelength, and the selectivity in synthesis, based on the teaching of Hatakeyama.
Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of p-tolyl with mesityl at positions R11 and R12 of Formula 5-1 would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Compound of Song as modified by Hatakeyama (2), which has similar structure as Applicant’s Formula Ib of claim 6. The only difference is that the unsubstituted phenyl at the position corresponding to R14 of Formula 5-1 of Song is required to be terphenyl. However, song does teach that the substituent at the position corresponding to R14 of Formula 5-1 of Song can be an C6-C30 aryl group ([0081]). Song exemplifies a terphenyl group as the substituent at the position corresponding to R14 of Formula 5-1 (see examples including at least Dopant 149 in [0083]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound of Song as modified by Hatakeyama (2) by substituting one of unsubstituted phenyl at the position R14 with terphenyl, as taught by Song.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of unsubstituted phenyl with terphenyl at the position corresponding to R14 of Formula 5-1 would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Compound of Song as modified by Hatakeyama (3).
Regarding claim 8, Song discloses an organic light emitting device comprising a light emitting layer containing a first anthracene host, a second deuterated anthracene host, and a first blue dopant ([0010]), wherein the blue dopant can be represented by Formula 5-1 ([0080]-[0081]). Song exemplifies Dopant 8 as the Formula 5-1 ([0083]).
The compound Dopant 8 has p-tolyl groups (i.e. the parts enclosed by dashed circles in the figure above) at the positions corresponding to R11 and R12 of Formula 5-1, which does not read on the limitation of instant claims; however, Song does teach that R11 and R12 of the Formula 5-1 can be a C6-C30 aryl group ([0081]).
A p-tolyl group and a mesityl group are used as bulky substituents in B,N-containing polycyclic compounds as taught by Hatakeyama ([0136]). Hatakeyama discloses a B,N-containing polycyclic compound used for an organic light emitting device ([0001]).
Hatakeyama teaches that a group having large steric hindrance provides adjustability of an emission wavelength and selectivity in synthesis ([0136]). Hatakeyama exemplifies a mesityl group,
as the group having large steric hindrance ([0136]-[0137]). Mesityl is bulkier than p-tolyl such that an ordinary skill in the art would acknowledge that the substitution of p-tolyl with mesityl provides a shift in emission wavelength.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Dopant 8 of Song by substituting the p-tolyl groups with mesityl groups, as taught by Song and Hatakeyama.
The motivation of doing so would have been to provides high steric hindrance, adjustability of the emission wavelength, and the selectivity in synthesis, based on the teaching of Hatakeyama.
Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of p-tolyl with mesityl at positions R11 and R12 of Formula 5-1 would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Compound of Song as modified by Hatakeyama (2), which has similar structure as Applicant’s Formula Ib of claim 6. The only difference is that the unsubstituted phenyl at the position corresponding to R14 of Formula 5-1 of Song is required to be biphenyl. However, song does teach that the substituent at the position corresponding to R14 of Formula 5-1 of Song can be an C6-C30 aryl group ([0081]). Song exemplifies a biphenyl group as the substituent at the position corresponding to R14 of Formula 5-1 (see examples including at least Dopant 26 in [0083]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound of Song as modified by Hatakeyama (2) by substituting one of unsubstituted phenyl at the position R14 with biphenyl, as taught by Song.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of unsubstituted phenyl with biphenyl at the position corresponding to R14 of Formula 5-1 would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Compound of Song as modified by Hatakeyama (4).
Claims 1-9 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2021/0053998 A1, hereafter Kim) in view of Hatakeyama et al. (US 2019/0393419 A1).
Regarding claims 1-5 and 12-15, Kim discloses an organic light emitting diode comprising a light emitting layer containing a polycyclic compound of Formula 1 and an anthracene compound of Formula 2 ([0014]).
Kim exemplifies an organic light emitting diode comprising a substrate, an anode (ITO), a light emitting layer (Compound 1-216 as an emitter and Compound 1-216 as a host), a cathode, wherein the light emitting layer is produced by vacuum evaporation (“vacuum-deposited”, Example 27 in [0286]-[0289] and Table 1).
The Compound 1-126 has similar structure as Applicant’s Formula I. The only difference is that the isopropyl groups at the positions corresponding to R2 and R3 are required to be each a mesityl group; however, Kim does teach that R1 to R3 can be a substituted or unsubstituted C5-C30 aryl group ([0020]) and exemplify a mesityl group as the substituted C5-C30 aryl group (see examples including at least Compound 1-11 in [0093]).
Hatakeyama discloses a B,N-containing polycyclic compound used for an organic light emitting device ([0001]).
Hatakeyama teaches that a group having large steric hindrance provides adjustability of an emission wavelength and selectivity in synthesis ([0136]). Hatakeyama exemplifies a mesityl group,
as the group having large steric hindrance ([0136]-[0137]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound 1-216 of the organic light emitting diode of Kim by substituting the isopropyl groups with mesityl groups, as taught by Kim and Hatakeyama.
The motivation of doing so would have been to provides high steric hindrance, adjustability of the emission wavelength, and the selectivity in synthesis, based on the teaching of Hatakeyama.
Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of the substituents at the position corresponding to R2 or R3 with a mesityl group would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Organic light emitting diode of Kim as modified by Hatakeyama comprising a substrate, an anode (ITO), a light emitting layer (Compound of Kim as modified by Hatakeyama as an emitter and Compound 1-216 as a host), a cathode, wherein the light emitting layer is produced by a vacuum evaporation method; the light emitting layer materials are a composition; the organic light emitting diode is an optoelectronic device.
In the device of Kim, the Compound of Kim as modified by Hatakeyama reads on all the features of the organic molecule claimed in the instant claims because the Compound of Kim as modified by Hatakeyama comprises the structure of Applicant’s Formula I. It should be noted that the Compound of Kim as modified by Hatakeyama does not read on the formula I; however, the compound reads on the claimed organic molecule, because the claim does not require the molecule to be represented by formula I but require to comprise the structure of formula I (emphasis added).
The Compound of Kim as modified by Hatakeyama reads on all the limitations of claims 1-5.
The Organic light emitting diode of Kim as modified by Hatakeyama reads on all the limitations of claims 12-15.
Regarding claims 1-5, Kim discloses an organic light emitting diode comprising a light emitting layer containing a polycyclic compound of Formula 1 and an anthracene compound of Formula 2 ([0014]). Kim exemplifies Compound 1-1 as the Formula 1 ([0093]).
The Compound 1-1 does not have mesityl groups at the positions corresponding to R2 and R3 of the Formula 1 of Kim; however, Kim does teach that R1 to R3 can be a substituted or unsubstituted C5-C30 aryl group ([0020]) and exemplify a mesityl group as the substituted C5-C30 aryl group (see examples including at least Compound 1-11 in [0093]). Kim also exemplifies the substitution positions 3 and 3’ to substitute the substituents R2 and R3 (see examples including at least Compound 1-159 in [0093]).
Hatakeyama discloses a B,N-containing polycyclic compound used for an organic light emitting device ([0001]).
Hatakeyama teaches that a group having large steric hindrance provides adjustability of an emission wavelength and selectivity in synthesis ([0136]). Hatakeyama exemplifies a mesityl group,
as the group having large steric hindrance ([0136]-[0137]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound 1-1 of Kim by substituting mesityl groups at the positions 3 and 3’ in the figure above corresponding to the R2 and R3 of Formula 1 of Kim, as taught by Kim and Hatakeyama.
The motivation of doing so would have been to provides high steric hindrance, adjustability of the emission wavelength, and the selectivity in synthesis, based on the teaching of Hatakeyama.
Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of the substituents at the positions corresponding to R2 or R3 with a mesityl group would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Compound of Kim as modified by Hatakeyama (2).
The Compound of Kim as modified by Hatakeyama (2) has similar structure as Applicant’s Formula Ib of the instant claim 6; the only difference is that the unsubstituted phenyl at the positions corresponding to R4 of Formula 1 of Kim are required to be di-t-butyl phenyl; however, Kim does teach that the R4 of Formula 1 can be a substituted or unsubstituted C5-C30 aryl group ([0075]) and exemplify a di-t-butyl phenyl group (see examples including at least Compound 1-223 in [0093]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound of Kim as modified by Hatakeyama (2) by substituting the unsubstituted phenyl at the positions corresponding to R4 of Formula 1 of Kim with di-t-butyl phenyl groups, as taught by Kim and Hatakeyama.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of phenyl at the positions corresponding to R4 with di-t-butyl phenyl would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Compound of Kim as modified by Hatakeyama (3).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 6, Kim discloses an organic light emitting diode comprising a light emitting layer containing a polycyclic compound of Formula 1 and an anthracene compound of Formula 2 ([0014]). Kim exemplifies Compound 1-1 as the Formula 1 ([0093]).
The Compound 1-1 does not have mesityl groups at the positions corresponding to R2 and R3 of the Formula 1 of Kim; however, Kim does teach that R1 to R3 can be a substituted or unsubstituted C5-C30 aryl group ([0020]) and exemplify a mesityl group as the substituted C5-C30 aryl group (see examples including at least Compound 1-11 in [0093]). Kim also exemplifies the substitution positions 3 and 3’ to substitute the substituents R2 and R3 (see examples including at least Compound 1-159 in [0093]).
Hatakeyama discloses a B,N-containing polycyclic compound used for an organic light emitting device ([0001]).
Hatakeyama teaches that a group having large steric hindrance provides adjustability of an emission wavelength and selectivity in synthesis ([0136]). Hatakeyama exemplifies a mesityl group,
as the group having large steric hindrance ([0136]-[0137]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound 1-1 of Kim by substituting mesityl groups at the positions 3 and 3’ in the figure above corresponding to the R2 and R3 of Formula 1 of Kim, as taught by Kim and Hatakeyama.
The motivation of doing so would have been to provides high steric hindrance, adjustability of the emission wavelength, and the selectivity in synthesis, based on the teaching of Hatakeyama.
Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of the substituents at the positions corresponding to R2 or R3 with a mesityl group would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Compound of Kim as modified by Hatakeyama (2).
The Compound of Kim as modified by Hatakeyama (2) has similar structure as Applicant’s Formula Ib of the instant claim 6; the only difference is that the unsubstituted phenyl at the position corresponding to R4 of Formula 1 of Kim is required to be a terphenyl; however, Kim does teach that the R4 of Formula 1 can be a substituted or unsubstituted C5-C30 aryl group ([0075]) and exemplify a terphenyl group (see examples including at least Compound 1-19 in [0093]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound of Kim as modified by Hatakeyama (2) by substituting the unsubstituted phenyl at the position corresponding to R4 of Formula 1 of Kim with a terphenyl group, as taught by Kim and Hatakeyama.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of phenyl at the positions corresponding to R4 with terphenyl would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Compound of Kim as modified by Hatakeyama (4).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 7, Kim discloses an organic light emitting diode comprising a light emitting layer containing a polycyclic compound of Formula 1 and an anthracene compound of Formula 2 ([0014]). Kim exemplifies Compound 1-1 as the Formula 1 ([0093]).
The Compound 1-1 does not have mesityl groups at the positions corresponding to R2, R3 and R4 of the Formula 1 of Kim; however, Kim does teach that R1 to R4 can be a substituted or unsubstituted C5-C30 aryl group ([0020]) and exemplify a mesityl group as the substituted C5-C30 aryl group (see examples including at least Compound 1-11 in [0093]). Kim also exemplifies the substitution positions 3 and 3’ to substitute the substituents R2 and R3 (see examples including at least Compound 1-159 in [0093]).
Hatakeyama discloses a B,N-containing polycyclic compound used for an organic light emitting device ([0001]).
Hatakeyama teaches that a group having large steric hindrance provides adjustability of an emission wavelength and selectivity in synthesis ([0136]). Hatakeyama exemplifies a mesityl group,
as the group having large steric hindrance ([0136]-[0137]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound 1-1 of Kim by substituting mesityl groups at the positions 3 and 3’ in the figure above corresponding to the R2 and R3 of Formula 1 of Kim and substitute the phenyl at the positions corresponding to R4 of Formula 1 of Kim with mesityl, as taught by Kim and Hatakeyama.
The motivation of doing so would have been to provides high steric hindrance, adjustability of the emission wavelength, and the selectivity in synthesis, based on the teaching of Hatakeyama.
Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of the substituents at the positions corresponding to R2 to R4 with a mesityl group would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Compound of Kim as modified by Hatakeyama (5).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 8, Kim discloses an organic light emitting diode comprising a light emitting layer containing a polycyclic compound of Formula 1 and an anthracene compound of Formula 2 ([0014]). Kim exemplifies Compound 1-1 as the Formula 1 ([0093]).
The Compound 1-1 does not have mesityl groups at the positions corresponding to R2 and R3 of the Formula 1 of Kim; however, Kim does teach that R1 to R3 can be a substituted or unsubstituted C5-C30 aryl group ([0020]) and exemplify a mesityl group as the substituted C5-C30 aryl group (see examples including at least Compound 1-11 in [0093]). Kim also exemplifies the substitution positions 3 and 3’ to substitute the substituents R2 and R3 (see examples including at least Compound 1-159 in [0093]).
Hatakeyama discloses a B,N-containing polycyclic compound used for an organic light emitting device ([0001]).
Hatakeyama teaches that a group having large steric hindrance provides adjustability of an emission wavelength and selectivity in synthesis ([0136]). Hatakeyama exemplifies a mesityl group,
as the group having large steric hindrance ([0136]-[0137]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound 1-1 of Kim by substituting mesityl groups at the positions 3 and 3’ in the figure above corresponding to the R2 and R3 of Formula 1 of Kim, as taught by Kim and Hatakeyama.
The motivation of doing so would have been to provides high steric hindrance, adjustability of the emission wavelength, and the selectivity in synthesis, based on the teaching of Hatakeyama.
Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of the substituents at the positions corresponding to R2 or R3 with a mesityl group would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Compound of Kim as modified by Hatakeyama (2).
The Compound of Kim as modified by Hatakeyama (2) has similar structure as Applicant’s Formula Ib of the instant claim 8; the only difference is that the unsubstituted phenyl at the position corresponding to R4 of Formula 1 of Kim is required to be biphenyl; however, Kim does teach that the R4 of Formula 1 can be a substituted or unsubstituted C5-C30 aryl group ([0075]) and exemplify a biphenyl group (see examples including at least Compound 1-18 in [0093]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound of Kim as modified by Hatakeyama (2) by substituting the unsubstituted phenyl at the positions corresponding to R4 of Formula 1 of Kim with a biphenyl group, as taught by Kim and Hatakeyama.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of phenyl at the positions corresponding to R4 with biphenyl would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Compound of Kim as modified by Hatakeyama (6).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 9, Kim discloses an organic light emitting diode comprising a light emitting layer containing a polycyclic compound of Formula 1 and an anthracene compound of Formula 2 ([0014]). Kim exemplifies Compound 1-1 as the Formula 1 ([0093]).
The Compound 1-1 does not have mesityl groups at the positions corresponding to R2 and R3 of the Formula 1 of Kim; however, Kim does teach that R1 to R3 can be a substituted or unsubstituted C5-C30 aryl group ([0020]) and exemplify a mesityl group as the substituted C5-C30 aryl group (see examples including at least Compound 1-11 in [0093]). Kim also exemplifies the substitution positions 3 and 3’ to substitute the substituents R2 and R3 (see examples including at least Compound 1-159 in [0093]).
Hatakeyama discloses a B,N-containing polycyclic compound used for an organic light emitting device ([0001]).
Hatakeyama teaches that a group having large steric hindrance provides adjustability of an emission wavelength and selectivity in synthesis ([0136]). Hatakeyama exemplifies a mesityl group,
as the group having large steric hindrance ([0136]-[0137]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound 1-1 of Kim by substituting mesityl groups at the positions 3 and 3’ in the figure above corresponding to the R2 and R3 of Formula 1 of Kim, as taught by Kim and Hatakeyama.
The motivation of doing so would have been to provides high steric hindrance, adjustability of the emission wavelength, and the selectivity in synthesis, based on the teaching of Hatakeyama.
Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of the substituents at the positions corresponding to R2 or R3 with a mesityl group would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Compound of Kim as modified by Hatakeyama (2).
The Compound of Kim as modified by Hatakeyama (2) has similar structure as Applicant’s Formula Ib of the instant claim 8; the only difference is that the unsubstituted phenyl at the position corresponding to R4 of Formula 1 of Kim is required to be cyclohexyl phenyl; however, Kim does teach that the R4 of Formula 1 can be a substituted or unsubstituted C5-C30 aryl group ([0075]) and exemplify a cyclohexyl phenyl group (see examples including at least Compound 1-171 in [0093]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound of Kim as modified by Hatakeyama (2) by substituting the unsubstituted phenyl at the positions corresponding to R4 of Formula 1 of Kim with a cyclohexyl phenyl group, as taught by Kim and Hatakeyama.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution of phenyl at the positions corresponding to R4 with cyclohexyl phenyl would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Compound of Kim as modified by Hatakeyama (7).
Conclusion
/SEOKMIN JEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786