DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
A reply was filed on 04/13/2026. Claims 1 and 4-15 are pending in the application and examined herein.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s response (p. 7) states that replacement drawings were intended to be filed with the response dated 06/25/2025. However, in reviewing all documents dated 06/25/2025, Examiner cannot find any drawings in the file dated 06/25/2025. The drawings document dated 06/25/2025 merely states “Please replace sheets 1-4 of the drawings as originally filed with the replacement sheets submitted herewith. Applicant submits that no new subject matter has been introduced through this amendment”. No replacement sheets were filed with this submission.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following features of claims 1, 7, and 11-12 must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim 1: “the heat exchangers are connected in their upper part to the pressure chambers of the main circulation pump”
Claim 7: “the lower reflector has side cutouts for installing the heat exchangers”
Claim 11: “an upper portion of each heat exchanger is fluidly connected to the pressure chamber of the main circulation pump”
Claim 12: “the lower reflector includes side cutouts”
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6, and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 11: “the collection chamber” should be amended to recite “the at least one collection chamber”
Claims 1 and 11: “the pressure chamber” should be amended to recite “the at least one pressure chamber”
Claims 6 and 11: “each heat exchanger” should be amended to recite “each of the heat exchangers”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1 and 4-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a circulating fuel composition of a primary circuit and a molten salt coolant of a secondary circuit”. The claim later recites “heat exchangers of a primary/secondary circuit”. It is unclear the relationship between the “primary circuit”, “secondary circuit”, and “primary/secondary circuit”.
Claim 1 recites “wherein the heat exchangers of the primary/secondary circuit are arranged in intervals between the sections of the side reflector and lie flush against the shell of the core, wherein the heat exchangers are connected in their upper part to the pressure chambers of the main circulation pump and in their lower part to a manifold of the core, and wherein the sections of the side reflector rest on a shell of cylindrical shape”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the phrases “the shell” and “the core” in the claim. It is also unclear the relationship between these features and the “shell of cylindrical shape” and “core formed in a region between the upper reflector, the lower reflector, and an inner surface of the shell” recited later in the claim. Further, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the phrase “the pressure chambers of the main circulation pump” as the claim previously recites “a main circulation pump (MCP) with at least one collection chamber and at least one pressure chamber”. The claim refers to plural “pressure chambers” without first positively reciting plural “pressure chambers”.
Claim 1 recites “wherein a fuel composition circulates by way of the MCP along the primary circuit formed by the heat exchangers connected in series along a flow, the core, the collection chamber of the MCP, and the pressure chamber of the MCP, after which the fuel composition re-enters the heat exchangers”. It is unclear the relationship between the “fuel composition” and the previously recited “circulating fuel composition”. Additionally, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the phrase “the primary circuit formed by the heat exchangers ...”. While the claim previously recites “a primary circuit” and “heat exchangers of a primary/secondary circuit”, there is no prior recitation of the structures forming the “primary circuit”. It is further unclear where one feature ends and another begins. For example, it is unclear what features are “connected in series” and “along a flow”. It is further unclear “after” what the “fuel composition re-enters the heat exchangers”. It is further unclear what the “flow” is intending to refer to. For example, it is unclear if the “flow” is referring to a flow of the “fuel composition”. The claim further does not clearly recite that the “fuel composition” enters the “heat exchangers”. It is therefore unclear the antecedent basis of the phrase “the fuel composition re-enters the heat exchangers”.
Claim 1 recites “wherein a surface of the heat exchangers, not adjacent to the shell and the sections of the side reflector, is in contact with the molten salt coolant of the secondary circuit”. It is unclear if the “surface” refers to a surface of each of the “heat exchangers”. It is further unclear which feature is “not adjacent to the shell and the sections of the side reflector”. The claim previously recites “wherein the heat exchangers ... are arranged in intervals between the sections of the side reflector and lie flush against the shell of the core”. Thus, it would appear that the heat exchangers as a whole are adjacent to (e.g., next to1) the shell (by being “arranged ... between the sections of the side reflector”) and the section of the side reflector (by “[lying] flush against the shell of the core”). These limitations would appear to therefore be inconsistent.
Claim 4 recites “wherein a tube sheet with openings is installed on the lower reflector, the tube sheet being configured to align a distribution profile of consumption of the fuel composition in the core”. The term “align” typically refers to relative positions between two or more things2. It is unclear what feature is “align[ed]” with “a distribution profile of consumption of the fuel composition”. It is further unclear how the “tube sheet” can be “configured to align a distribution profile of consumption”. For example, are the openings of the tube sheet positioned on the tube sheet in a particular manner? Alternatively, are the sizes of the openings of the tube sheets varied according to some other feature or parameter? Claim 13, which recites “wherein the perforated tube sheet mounted on the lower reflector is configured to align a distribution profile of consumption of the fuel composition in the core”, is similarly indefinite. Additionally, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the phrase “the fuel composition of the core” in claim 4. While parent claim 1 previously recites “a circulating fuel composition of a primary circuit”, there is no prior recitation that the “fuel composition” is “of the core” or that the “primary circuit” includes the “core”.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for the phrase “the upper part of the side reflector” in claim 5.
Claim 6 is indefinite because it is unclear if the “upper part of each heat exchanger” is referring to the same feature as the “upper part” previously recited in parent claim 1.
Claim 6 is further indefinite because it is unclear if the “molten salt coolant of the secondary circuit” is intending to refer to the same feature as the “a molten salt coolant of a secondary circuit” previously recited in parent claim 1.
Claim 8 recites “wherein the upper reflector has a shape for dividing a fuel composition flow into heat-exchanging loops”. It is unclear the relationship between the “fuel composition flow” and the “circulating fuel composition”, “fuel composition”, and “flow” previously recited in parent claim 1. It is further unclear the relationship between the “heat-exchanging loops” and the “primary circuit”, “secondary circuit”, “heat exchangers”, “primary/secondary circuit”, and “by way of the MCP along the primary circuit formed by the heat exchangers connected in series along a flow, the core, the collection chamber of the MCP, and the pressure chamber of the MCP, after which the fuel composition re-enters the heat exchangers” previously recited in parent claim 1. Claim 14, which recites “wherein the upper reflector has a shape configured to divide a flow of the fuel composition exiting the core into a plurality of heat-exchanging loops”, is similarly indefinite.
Claim 10 recites “a combined protection system”. It is unclear the relationship between this feature and the “control and protection system” previously recited in parent claim 1. It is further unclear if the features of the “lid of the reactor”, “drives of the control and protection system”, “drives of the MCP”, and/or “drive of the neutron source” are intended to be positively recited features of the claimed reactor, or if the claim merely requires a “combined protection system” capable of being used with these features. Claim 15, which recites similar features, is similarly indefinite.
The term “low-pressure” in claim 11 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 11 is further indefinite because it is unclear the relationship between the “primary/secondary circuit” and the “secondary circuit”.
Claim 15 recites “the neutron source”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this phrase in the claim.
Any claim not explicitly addressed above is rejected because it is dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-9, and 11-14, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication No. 2017/0301421 (“Abbott2017”) in view of US Publication No. 2018/0137944 (“Abbott2018”), US Patent No. 5,265,136 (“Yamazaki”), and US Publication No. 2021/0110940 (“Botha”).
Regarding claim 1, Abbott2017 (previously cited) (see FIGS. 1, 3-4, 7, 22) discloses an integral fast reactor (100, 400, 2200), comprising:
a circulating fuel composition (108) of a primary circuit and a coolant of a secondary circuit ([0031], [0067], [0116]);
a vessel (107, 2218) with a neutron source (e.g., fuel material) and operating elements (408, 410, 412, 414, 416) of a control and protection system ([0032], [0034], [0053]);
an upper reflector (2208A), a side reflector (110, 302, 304, 306, 704, 712, 2208C), a lower reflector (2208B) ([0047], [0066], [0116]), heat exchangers (706, 2210) of a primary/secondary circuit ([0066]-[0067], [0116]), a main circulation pump (MCP) (2212) ([0116]),
wherein the side reflector comprises a plurality of vertically extending sections (302, 304, 306, 704, 712) of the side reflector ([0035], [0047]), and
wherein the heat exchangers of the primary/secondary circuit are arranged in intervals, wherein the heat exchangers are connected in their upper part to the main circulation pump and in their lower part to a manifold of the core ([0031], [0046], [0116]), and wherein the sections of the side reflector rest on a shell (see feature between elements 702 and 712 in FIG. 7) of cylindrical shape;
a core (106, 301, 702, 2204) formed in a region between the upper reflector, the lower reflector, and an inner surface of the shell ([0032], [0046], [0066], [0116]);
wherein the circulating fuel composition circulates by way of the MCP through the heat exchangers, the core, and the MCP ([0031], [0046], [0116]), and
wherein a surface of the heat exchangers, not adjacent to the shell and the sections of the side reflector, is in contact with the coolant of the secondary circuit ([0116]).
Abbott2017 discloses a coolant of a secondary circuit ([0067]), but appears to be silent as to the specific coolant. However, it was known in the art to use molten salt coolant in a secondary circuit of an integral fast reactor. For example, Abbott2018 (previously cited) (see FIG. 1) is similarly directed towards an integral fast reactor comprising a circulating fuel composition (106) of a primary circuit and a coolant (116) of a secondary circuit ([0017]-[0018]). Abbott2018 discloses the coolant of the secondary circuit may be a molten salt coolant ([0018]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date (“POSA”) to have a molten salt coolant as the coolant of Abbott2017’s secondary circuit because Abbott2018 teaches this as a suitable coolant for use in a circulating fuel fast reactor. Additionally, it would have been obvious to a POSA to use molten salt for the material of coolant since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Abbott2017 does not appear to disclose the main circulation pump having at least one collection chamber and at least one pressure chamber. Yamazaki (previously cited) (see FIGS. 1-2) is similarly directed towards an integral molten salt fast reactor comprising a core (8) connected to a main circulation pump (18) (4:39-45). Yamazaki teaches the main circulation pump has at least one pressure chamber (22, 29) and at least one collection chamber (19, 21, 23), wherein the molten salt circulates through the heat exchangers, the core, the collection chamber of the MCP, and the pressure chamber of the MCP (4:39-5:36). Yamazaki further teaches this is a suitable arrangement for pumping molten salt and teaches the pump comprising the pressure chamber and collection chamber provides the advantages of allowing for circulation of molten salt even if there is a trip of the pump (5:55-6:13). It would have therefore been obvious to a POSA to use Yamazaki’s circulation pump, comprising at least one collection chamber and at least one pressure chamber, in the modified Abbott2017’s reactor for the benefits thereof. Thus, further modification of Abbott2017 in order to enhance safety and reliability, as suggested by Yamazaki, would have been obvious to a POSA.
Abbott2017 does not appear to disclose the heat exchangers are arranged in intervals between the sections of the side reflector and lie flush against the shell. However, Abbott2017 discloses there may be gaps between the plurality of side reflector modules in order to provide space for structures or instrumentation which may require direct or indirect access to the core ([0035], [0047]-[0050], [0052], [0066], [0084]). Botha (previously cited) (see FIGS. 1A-1C) is similarly directed towards an integral molten salt reactor ([0003]-[0004]) comprising a vessel (102) ([0018]), heat exchangers (142) ([0022]), a side reflector (124) ([0021]), a core (106), and a shell (120) ([0019]-[0020]). Botha teaches the heat exchangers are arranged in intervals between the sections of the side reflector and lie flush against the shell ([0012], [0022], [0025]). Botha further teaches this arrangement of the heat exchangers and the side reflector provides the advantages of having the side reflector serve as a heat transfer medium, thereby distributing heat around the heat exchangers and reducing the likelihood for the heat exchangers to fail ([0025]). It would have therefore been obvious to a POSA to arrange the modified Abbott2017’s heat exchangers between the sections of the side reflector and on the shell, in the manner as taught by Botha, for the benefits thereof. Thus, further modification of Abbott2017 in order to enhance thermal distribution and safety, as suggested by Botha, would have been obvious to a POSA.
Regarding claims 4, Abbott2017 in view of Abbott2018, Yamazaki, and Botha teaches the integral fast reactor according to claim 1. Abbott2017 discloses a tube sheet (2231) with openings is installed on the lower reflector, the tube sheet allowing for passage of the fuel salt therethrough (FIG. 22, [0116]).
Regarding claim 5, Abbott2017 in view of Abbott2018, Yamazaki, and Botha teaches the integral fast reactor according to claim 1. Abbott2017 discloses openings are made in the upper part of the side reflector, in which pipes are installed that connect the core with the main circulation pump (FIGS. 1, 4, 22, [0031], [0053], [0116]). Yamazaki also teaches pipes (19, 20) connect the core with the at least one collection chamber of the main circulation pump (FIGS. 1-2, 5:7-24). Thus, Abbott2017, modified to include the molten salt coolant as taught by Abbott2018, the circulation pump as taught by Yamazaki, and the heat exchanger arrangement as taught by Botha, would have resulted in the features of claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Abbott2017 in view of Abbott2018, Yamazaki, and Botha teaches the integral fast reactor according to claim 1. Abbott2017 discloses in an upper part of each heat exchanger, inlet and outlet pipelines (2230, 2236) are arranged for supplying and removing molten salt coolant of the secondary circuit (FIG. 22, [0116]).
Regarding claim 7, Abbott2017 in view of Abbott2018, Yamazaki, and Botha teaches the integral fast reactor according to claim 1. Abbott2017 discloses the lower reflector has side cutouts for installing the heat exchangers (FIG. 22).
Regarding claim 8, Abbott2017 in view of Abbott2018, Yamazaki, and Botha teaches the integral fast reactor according to claim 1. Abbott2017 discloses the upper reflector has a shape for dividing a fuel composition flow into heat-exchanging loops (FIGS. 1, 4, 22, [0003]-[0004], [0034]).
Regarding claim 9, Abbott2017 in view of Abbott2018, Yamazaki, and Botha teaches the integral fast reactor according to claim 1. Abbott2017 discloses the core is a cavity-type homogeneous core with fast neutron spectrum (FIG. 4, [0052]-[0053]).
Regarding claim 11, Abbott2017 (see FIGS. 1, 3-4, 7, 22) discloses an integral molten salt fast reactor (100, 400, 2200), comprising:
a vertically oriented pressure reactor vessel (107, 2218) ([0032]);
a cavity-type homogeneous core (106, 301, 702, 2204) having a fast spectrum and containing a circulating fuel composition (108), the core being bounded by a cylindrical core shell (e.g., see feature between elements 702 and 712 in FIG. 7), an upper reflector (2208A), a lower reflector (2208B), and a sectional side reflector (110, 302, 304, 306, 704, 712, 2208C) ([0003]-[0004], [0031]-[0034], [0046]-[0047], [0066]-[0067], [0116]);
a lower manifold arranged beneath the core and fluidly connected to the core through a perforated tube sheet (2231) mounted on the lower reflector ([0116]);
a main circulation pump (2212) located within the reactor vessel ([0116]);
a plurality of heat exchangers (706, 2210) of a primary/secondary circuit arranged circumferentially around the cylindrical core shell in intervals ([0066]-[0067], [0116]);
wherein a lower portion of each heat exchanger is fluidly connected to the manifold and an upper portion of each heat exchanger is fluidly connected to the main circulation pump ([0031], [0046], [0116]);
wherein openings are formed in an upper portion of the sectional side reflector, pipes being disposed in the openings to fluidly connect the core the main circulation pump ([0031], [0053], [0116]);
wherein, during operation, the fuel composition flows upwardly through the core, passes through the openings in the side reflector into the main circulation pump, flows through the heat exchangers, and returns to the manifold beneath the core ([0031], [0046], [0116]); and
wherein each heat exchanger includes inlet and outlet pipelines (2230, 2236) for a coolant of a secondary circuit, the coolant being in thermal contact with surface of the heat exchangers within the reactor vessel ([0067], [0116]).
Abbott2017 discloses a coolant of a secondary circuit ([0067]), but appears to be silent as to the specific coolant. However, it was known in the art to use molten salt coolant in a secondary circuit of an integral molten salt fast reactor. For example, Abbott2018 (see FIG. 1) is similarly directed towards an integral fast reactor comprising a circulating fuel composition (106) of a primary circuit and a coolant (116) of a secondary circuit ([0017]-[0018]). Abbott2018 discloses the coolant of the secondary circuit may be a molten salt coolant ([0018]). It would have been obvious to a POSA to have a molten salt coolant as the coolant of Abbott2017’s secondary circuit because Abbott2018 teaches this as a suitable coolant for use in a circulating fuel fast reactor. Additionally, it would have been obvious to a POSA to use molten salt for the material of coolant since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. As the modified Abbott2017’s heat exchangers exchange heat between a molten salt circulating fuel (Abbott2017, [0031]) and a molten salt coolant (Abbott2018, [0018]), the modified Abbott2017’s heat exchangers are salt-salt heat exchangers.
Abbott2017 does not appear to disclose the main circulation pump having at least one collection chamber and at least one pressure chamber. Yamazaki (see FIGS. 1-2) is similarly directed towards an integral molten salt fast reactor comprising a core (8) connected to a main circulation pump (18) (4:39-45). Yamazaki teaches the main circulation pump has at least one pressure chamber (22, 29) and at least one collection chamber (19, 21, 23), wherein the molten salt circulates into the collection chamber, is pressurized by the pressure chamber, flows through the heat exchangers, and returns to the core (4:39-5:36). Yamazaki further teaches this is a suitable arrangement for pumping molten salt and teaches the pump comprising the pressure chamber and collection chamber provides the advantages of allowing for circulation of molten salt even if there is a trip of the pump (5:55-6:13). It would have therefore been obvious to a POSA to use Yamazaki’s circulation pump, comprising at least one collection chamber and at least one pressure chamber, in the modified Abbott2017’s reactor for the benefits thereof. Thus, further modification of Abbott2017 in order to enhance safety and reliability, as suggested by Yamazaki, would have been obvious to a POSA.
Abbott2017 does not appear to disclose the heat exchangers are arranged in intervals between vertically extending sections of the side reflector and lie flush against the shell. However, Abbott2017 discloses there may be gaps between the plurality of side reflector modules in order to provide space for structures or instrumentation which may require direct or indirect access to the core ([0035], [0047]-[0050], [0052], [0066], [0084]). Botha (see FIGS. 1A-1C) is similarly directed towards an integral molten salt reactor ([0003]-[0004]) comprising a vessel (102) ([0018]), heat exchangers (142) ([0022]), a side reflector (124) ([0021]), a core (106), and a shell (120) ([0019]-[0020]). Botha teaches the heat exchangers are arranged in intervals between the sections of the side reflector and lie flush against the shell ([0012], [0022], [0025]). Botha further teaches this arrangement of the heat exchangers and the side reflector provides the advantages of having the side reflector serve as a heat transfer medium, thereby distributing heat around the heat exchangers and reducing the likelihood for the heat exchangers to fail ([0025]). It would have therefore been obvious to a POSA to arrange the modified Abbott2017’s heat exchangers between the sections of the side reflector and on the shell, in the manner as taught by Botha, for the benefits thereof. Thus, further modification of Abbott2017 in order to enhance thermal distribution and safety, as suggested by Botha, would have been obvious to a POSA.
Regarding claim 12, Abbott2017 in view of Abbott2018, Yamazaki, and Botha teaches the integral fast reactor according to claim 11. Abbott2017 discloses the lower reflector includes side cutouts, and the lower portions of the heat exchangers are disposed in the side cutouts of the lower reflector (FIG. 22).
Regarding claims 13, Abbott2017 in view of Abbott2018, Yamazaki, and Botha teaches the integral fast reactor according to claim 11. Abbott2017 discloses the perforated tube sheet allows for passage of the fuel salt therethrough (FIG. 22, [0116]).
Regarding claim 14, Abbott2017 in view of Abbott2018, Yamazaki, and Botha teaches the integral fast reactor according to claim 11. Abbott2017 discloses the upper reflector has a shape configured to divide a flow of the fuel composition exiting the core into a plurality of heat-exchanging loops (FIGS. 1, 4, 22, [0003]-[0004], [0034]).
Claims 1, 4-9, and 11-14, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abbott2018 in view of Yamazaki and Botha.
Regarding claim 1, Abbott2018 (see FIGS. 1, 3A-3B) discloses an integral fast reactor (100) ([0016]), comprising:
a circulating fuel composition (106) of a primary circuit and a molten salt coolant (114) of a secondary circuit ([0017]-[0018]);
a vessel (118) with a neutron source (e.g., fuel material) and operating elements (“fuel displacement devices”) of a control and protection system ([0017], [0021], [0045]);
an upper reflector (108, 306), a side reflector (108, 308), a lower reflector (108, 302), heat exchangers (110, 310, 322) of a primary/secondary circuit, a main circulation pump (MCP) (112, 312) ([0017]-[0018], [0056]),
wherein the side reflector comprises a plurality of vertically extending sections of the side reflector (see separated segments 308 in FIG. 3A), and
wherein the heat exchangers of the primary/secondary circuit are arranged in intervals between the sections of the side reflector, wherein the heat exchangers are connected in their upper part to the main circulation pump and in their lower part to a manifold of the core, and wherein the sections of the side reflector rest on a shell of cylindrical shape ([0017]-[0019], [0056]);
a core (104, 304) formed in a region between the upper reflector, the lower reflector, and an inner surface of the shell ([0017], [0056]);
wherein the circulating fuel composition circulates by way of the MCP through the heat exchangers, the core, and the MCP ([0017], [0019], [0056]), and
wherein a surface of the heat exchangers, not adjacent to the shell and the sections of the side reflector, is in contact with the molten salt coolant of the secondary circuit ([0058]-[0059]).
Abbott2018 does not appear to disclose the main circulation pump having at least one collection chamber and at least one pressure chamber. Yamazaki (see FIGS. 1-2) is similarly directed towards an integral molten salt fast reactor comprising a core (8) connected to a main circulation pump (18) (4:39-45). Yamazaki teaches the main circulation pump has a pressure chamber (22, 29) and a collection chamber (19, 21, 23), wherein the molten salt circulates through the heat exchangers, the core, the collection chamber of the MCP, and the pressure chamber of the MCP (4:39-5:36). Yamazaki further teaches this is a suitable arrangement for pumping molten salt and teaches the pump comprising the pressure chamber and collection chamber provides the advantages of allowing for circulation of molten salt even if there is a trip of the pump (5:55-6:13). It would have therefore been obvious to a POSA to use Yamazaki’s circulation pump, comprising at least one collection chamber and at least one pressure chamber, in Abbott2018’s reactor for the benefits thereof. Thus, modification of Abbott2018 in order to enhance safety and reliability, as suggested by Yamazaki, would have been obvious to a POSA.
Abbott2018 does not appear to disclose the heat exchangers lie flush against the shell. Botha (see FIGS. 1A-1C) is similarly directed towards an integral molten salt reactor ([0003]-[0004]) comprising a vessel (102) ([0018]), heat exchangers (142) ([0022]), a side reflector (124) ([0021]), a core (106), and a shell (120) ([0019]-[0020]). Botha teaches the heat exchangers are positioned within the side reflector such that the heat exchangers lie flush against the shell ([0012], [0022], [0025]). Botha further teaches this arrangement of the heat exchangers provides the advantages of having the side reflector serve as a heat transfer medium, thereby distributing heat around the heat exchangers and reducing the likelihood for the heat exchangers to fail ([0025]). It would have therefore been obvious to a POSA to arrange the modified Abbott2018’s heat exchangers between the sections of the side reflector and flush against the shell, in the manner as taught by Botha, for the benefits thereof. Thus, further modification of Abbott2018 in order to enhance thermal distribution and safety, as suggested by Botha, would have been obvious to a POSA.
Regarding claim 4, Abbott2018 in view of Yamazaki and Botha teaches the integral fast reactor according to claim 1. Abbott2018 further discloses a tube sheet (254) with openings is installed on the lower reflector, the tube sheet allowing for passage of the fuel salt therethrough (FIG. 2F, [0033]-[0034]). It would have been obvious to a POSA to include the tube sheet as taught by Abbott2018 for the predictable purpose of enhancing mixing and homogenizing the temperature of the fuel salt, as taught by Abbott2018 ([0034]).
Regarding claim 5, Abbott2018 in view of Yamazaki and Botha teaches the integral fast reactor according to claim 1. Abbott2018 discloses openings are made in the upper part of the side reflector, in which pipes are installed that connect the core with the main circulation pump (FIGS. 1, 2F, [0019]). Yamazaki also teaches pipes (19, 20) connect the core with the at least one collection chamber of the main circulation pump (FIGS. 1-2, 5:7-24). Thus, Abbott2018, modified to include the circulation pump as taught by Yamazaki and the heat exchanger arrangement as taught by Botha, would have resulted in the features of claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Abbott2018 in view of Yamazaki and Botha teaches the integral fast reactor according to claim 1. Abbott2018 discloses in an upper part of each heat exchanger, inlet and outlet pipelines (328, 330) are arranged for supplying and removing molten salt coolant of the secondary circuit (FIGS. 2F, 3B, [0059]).
Regarding claim 7, Abbott2018 in view of Yamazaki and Botha teaches the integral fast reactor according to claim 1. Abbott2018 discloses the lower reflector has side cutouts for installing the heat exchangers (FIGS. 2F, 3B).
Regarding claim 8, Abbott2018 in view of Yamazaki and Botha teaches the integral fast reactor according to claim 1. Abbott2018 discloses the upper reflector has a shape for dividing a fuel composition flow into heat-exchanging loops (FIGS. 1, 3A, [0056]).
Regarding claim 9, Abbott2018 in view of Yamazaki and Botha teaches the integral fast reactor according to claim 1. Abbott2018 discloses the core is a cavity-type homogeneous core with fast neutron spectrum (FIG. 1, [0016]-[0017]).
Regarding claim 11, Abbott2018 (see FIGS. 1, 3A-3B) discloses an integral molten salt fast reactor (100) ([0016]), comprising:
a vertically oriented pressure reactor vessel (118) ([0017]);
a cavity-type homogeneous core (104, 304) having a fast spectrum and containing a circulating fuel composition (106), the core being bounded by a cylindrical core shell, an upper reflector (108, 306), a lower reflector (108, 302), and a sectional side reflector (108, 308) ([0016]-[0018], [0056]);
a lower manifold arranged beneath the core and fluidly connected to the core through a perforated tube sheet (254) mounted on the lower reflector (FIG. 2F, [0019], [0033]-[0034], [0056]);
a main circulation pump (112, 312) located within the reactor vessel ([0017]-[0018], [0056]);
a plurality of heat exchangers (110, 310, 322) of a primary/secondary circuit arranged circumferentially around the cylindrical core shell in intervals ([0017]-[0018], [0056]);
wherein a lower portion of each heat exchanger is fluidly connected to the manifold and an upper portion of each heat exchanger is fluidly connected to the main circulation pump ([0019], [0056]);
wherein openings are formed in an upper portion of the sectional side reflector, pipes being disposed in the openings to fluidly connect the core the main circulation pump ([0019], [0056]);
wherein, during operation, the fuel composition flows upwardly through the core, passes through the openings in the side reflector into the main circulation pump, flows through the heat exchangers, and returns to the manifold beneath the core ([0019], [0056]); and
wherein each heat exchanger includes inlet and outlet pipelines (328, 330) for a coolant of a secondary circuit, the coolant being in thermal contact with surface of the heat exchangers within the reactor vessel ([0059]).
Abbott2018 does not appear to disclose the main circulation pump having at least one collection chamber and at least one pressure chamber. Yamazaki (see FIGS. 1-2) is similarly directed towards an integral molten salt fast reactor comprising a core (8) connected to a main circulation pump (18) (4:39-45). Yamazaki teaches the main circulation pump has a pressure chamber (22, 29) and a collection chamber (19, 21, 23), wherein the molten salt circulates into the collection chamber, is pressurized by the pressure chamber, flows through the heat exchangers, and returns to the core (4:39-5:36). Yamazaki further teaches this is a suitable arrangement for pumping molten salt and teaches the pump comprising the pressure chamber and collection chamber provides the advantages of allowing for circulation of molten salt even if there is a trip of the pump (5:55-6:13). It would have therefore been obvious to a POSA to use Yamazaki’s circulation pump, comprising at least one collection chamber and at least one pressure chamber, in Abbott2018’s reactor for the benefits thereof. Thus, modification of Abbott2018 in order to enhance safety and reliability, as suggested by Yamazaki, would have been obvious to a POSA.
Abbott2018 does not appear to disclose the heat exchangers lie flush against the shell. Botha (see FIGS. 1A-1C) is similarly directed towards an integral molten salt reactor ([0003]-[0004]) comprising a vessel (102) ([0018]), heat exchangers (142) ([0022]), a side reflector (124) ([0021]), a core (106), and a shell (120) ([0019]-[0020]). Botha teaches the heat exchangers are positioned within the side reflector such that the heat exchangers lie flush against the shell ([0012], [0022], [0025]). Botha further teaches this arrangement of the heat exchangers provides the advantages of having the side reflector serve as a heat transfer medium, thereby distributing heat around the heat exchangers and reducing the likelihood for the heat exchangers to fail ([0025]). It would have therefore been obvious to a POSA to arrange the modified Abbott2018’s heat exchangers between the sections of the side reflector and flush against the shell, in the manner as taught by Botha, for the benefits thereof. Thus, further modification of Abbott2018 in order to enhance thermal distribution and safety, as suggested by Botha, would have been obvious to a POSA.
Regarding claim 12, Abbott2018 in view of Yamazaki and Botha teaches the integral fast reactor according to claim 11. Abbott2018 discloses the lower reflector includes side cutouts, and the lower portions of the heat exchangers are disposed in the side cutouts of the lower reflector (FIGS. 2F, 3B).
Regarding claims 13, Abbott2018 in view of Yamazaki and Botha teaches the integral fast reactor according to claim 11. Abbott2018 discloses the perforated tube sheet allows for passage of the fuel salt therethrough (FIG. 2F, [0033]-[0034]).
Regarding claim 14, Abbott2018 in view of Yamazaki and Botha teaches the integral fast reactor according to claim 11. Abbott2018 discloses the upper reflector has a shape configured to divide a flow of the fuel composition exiting the core into a plurality of heat-exchanging loops (FIGS. 1, 3A, [0056]).
Claims 10 and 15, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abbott2017 in view of Abbott2018, Yamazaki, and Botha, further in view of US Patent No. 3,945,887 (“Lemercier”).
Regarding claims 10 and 15, Abbott2017 in view of Abbott2018, Yamazaki, and Botha teaches the integral fast reactor according to claim 1 and the integral molten fast reactor according to claim 11. Abbott2017 discloses a reactor lid (2238) (FIG. 22, [0116]), but does not appear to disclose a combined protection system composed of metal and thermally insulating materials. Lemercier (newly cited) (see FIGS. 1-2) is similarly directed towards a molten salt fast reactor comprising a reactor lid (9) (1:5-14, 3:16-30). Lemercier teaches a combined protection system (17, 18, 19) arranged beneath the reactor lid and composed of metal and thermally insulating materials, capable of protecting drives of various reactor components (3:29-4:17, 4:51-57). Lemercier further teaches the combined protection system provides the advantages of ensuring thermal protection of the reactor lid, corrosion resistance, and sealed passageways for equipment (1:5-47). It would have therefore been obvious to a POSA to include the combined protection system as taught by Lemercier in the modified Abbott2017’s reactor for the predictable purpose of enhancing thermal and corrosion protection, as taught by Lemercier.
Claims 10 and 15, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abbott2018 in view of Yamazaki and Botha, further in view of Lemercier.
Regarding claims 10 and 15, Abbott2018 in view of Yamazaki and Botha teaches the integral fast reactor according to claim 1 and the integral molten fast reactor according to claim 11. Abbott2018 discloses a reactor lid (118h, 316) (FIGS. 1, 3B, [0021], [0056]), but does not appear to disclose a combined protection system composed of metal and thermally insulating materials. Lemercier (see FIGS. 1-2) is similarly directed towards a molten salt fast reactor comprising a reactor lid (9) (1:5-14, 3:16-30). Lemercier teaches a combined protection system (17, 18, 19) arranged beneath the reactor lid and composed of metal and thermally insulating materials, capable of protecting drives of various reactor components (3:29-4:17, 4:51-57). Lemercier further teaches the combined protection system provides the advantages of ensuring thermal protection of the reactor lid, corrosion resistance, and sealed passageways for equipment (1:5-47). It would have therefore been obvious to a POSA to include the combined protection system as taught by Lemercier in the modified Abbott2018’s reactor for the predictable purpose of enhancing thermal and corrosion protection, as taught by Lemercier.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims overcome some, but not all, of the prior 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections and have created new issues as discussed above.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the combination of Abbott2017’s reactor with the molten salt coolant of Abbott2018, the circulation pump of Yamazaki, and the heat exchanger arrangement of Botha and the combination of Abbott2018’s reactor with the circulation pump of Yamazaki and the heat exchanger arrangement of Botha are unpersuasive. In response to Applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Abbott2017 discloses a generic integral fast reactor wherein a circulating fuel composition circulates by way of an MCP through heat exchangers, a core, and the MCP (FIGS. 1, 3-4, 7, 22, [0031], [0046], [0116]); Abbott2018 establishes that a molten salt coolant can be used in a secondary circuit ([0018]); Yamazaki establishes that its circulation pump comprising at least one collection chamber and at least one pressure chamber provides the advantages of allowing for circulation of molten salt even if there is a trip of the pump, with the molten salt circulating through heat exchangers, a core, the collection chamber of the MCP, and the pressure chamber of the MCP (4:39-5:36, 5:55-6:13); Botha establishes that providing heat exchangers between sections of a side reflector and flush with a core shell provides the advantages of enhancing thermal distribution of heat around the heat exchangers ([0025]). Accordingly, the combination of Abbott2017 with Abbott2018, Yamazaki, and Botha results in the features as recited in claim 1. Similarly, Abbott2018 discloses a generic integral fast reactor wherein a circulating fuel composition circulates by way of an MCP through heat exchangers, a core, and the MCP (FIGS. 1, 3A-3B, [0017], [0019], [0056]); Yamazaki establishes that its circulation pump comprising at least one collection chamber and at least one pressure chamber provides the advantages of allowing for circulation of molten salt even if there is a trip of the pump, with the molten salt circulating through heat exchangers, a core, the collection chamber of the MCP, and the pressure chamber of the MCP (4:39-5:36, 5:55-6:13); Botha establishes that providing heat exchangers between sections of a side reflector and flush with a core shell provides the advantages of enhancing thermal distribution of heat around the heat exchangers ([0025]). Accordingly, the combination of Abbott2018 with Yamazaki and Botha results in the features as recited in claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Prosecution on the merits is closed. See MPEP 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RCE Eligibility
Since prosecution is closed, this application is now eligible for a request for continued examination (RCE) under 37 CFR 1.114. Filing an RCE helps to ensure entry of an amendment to the claims, specification, and/or drawings.
Interview Information
Contact Information
Examiner Jinney Kil can be reached at (571) 270-5217, on Monday-Thursday from 8:30AM-6:30PM ET. Supervisor Jack Keith (SPE) can be reached at (571) 272-6878.
/JINNEY KIL/Examiner, Art Unit 3646
1 https://dictionary.cambridge.org/us/dictionary/english/adjacent
2 https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/align