DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Note: The amendment of December 29th 2025 has been considered.
Claim 1 has been amended.
Claims 2, 3, 5, 10-16 and 24 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 4, 6-9, 17-23 and 25 are pending in the current application.
Claims 6-9, 17-22 and 25 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1, 4 and 23 are examined in the current application.
Any rejections not recited below have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL Silva et al., “Ultrasound-assisted encapsulation of annatto seed oil: Retention and release of a bioactive compound with functional activities” (from Food Research International 78(2015) 159-168) in view of Funemi et al. (JP 2006109786 A) and NPL Siew, “Freeze-Drying Process Optimization” (from Pharmaceutical Technology, Vol. 42, No. 5, pp 18-23, May 2018).
Regarding claims 1 and 4: Silva discloses a lyophilized freeze-dried powder of Annatto Bixa Orellana L. (see Silva abstract; sections 2.3 and 2.5.1), but fails to disclose freeze-drying with dextrin; However, Funemi discloses freeze drying foods and active ingredients (e.g., powdered active ingredients) with dextrin in order to preserve the active ingredient/food (e.g., powder), while enhancing its stability and availability (i.e., bioavailability) (see Funemi abstract; pages 2-3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan at the time the application was filed to have modified Silva and to have added dextrin to the annatto powder before freeze drying in order to preserve the active ingredient/food (e.g., powder), while enhancing its stability and availability (i.e., bioavailability), and thus arrive at the claimed limitations.
As to the two steps freeze drying method recited in the claims: Silva and Funemi disclose freeze drying, but fail to disclose the claimed two steps freeze drying method; However, Siew discloses a two-stage freeze-drying process is known, as the temperature (i.e., -40°C to -60°C), pressure and duration of the first stage, where most of the moisture is removed, are optimized in order to allow the ice to sublime and maintain product quality (i.e., prevent product collapse) (see Siew bottom of page 1 to top of page 5). Siew further disclose the second stage, where the remaining water is removed, the temperature is increase to about room temperature, and the pressure and duration are adjusted to allow the water to sublime, while preventing product collapse (see Siew bottom half of page 5 to bottom of page 6). Therefore it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan at the time the application was filed to have further modified Silva and to have freeze dried the lyophilized Anneto powder through two stages and adjust the temperatures, durations and pressures of the stages in order to attain desired product while preventing product collapse, and thus arrive at the claimed limitations. As set forth in MPEP §2144.05 discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable, involves only routine skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 23 recite allowable subject matter: While silicone dioxide (i.e., silica) is a known excipient in the pharmaceutical art, neither Silva, nor any other prior art reference disclose freeze drying a pharmaceutical with silicone dioxide.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on December 29th 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in the “Remarks” that the prior art references fail to render the claimed invention obvious, because Silva discloses a starting material that comprises annatto and other constituents. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Given the fact the claims are not limited to only annatto powder, as the transitional phrase “comprising” is used, the Annatto emulsion in Silva meets the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
NPL Vanbillemont et al., “Model-Based Optimisation and Contorl Strategy for the Primary Drying Phase of a Lyophilisation Process” (from Pharmaceutics 2020, 12, 181), discloses factors such as, temperature, pressure and length of time of freeze-drying primary phase (i.e., first step) and their optimization to attain desired freeze-dried product.