DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment of claim 1 is supported by the specification. The new claims 23 is supported by the specification.
Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 6 recites component C is selected from the group consisting of … b2) polyolefins selected from…, which is not supported by the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Liu (CN101845185).
Liu teaches a composition comprising 20-60 wt% of a polyamide and 2-10 wt% of a processing regulator [0010]. The polyamide can be nylon 6, nylon 66 etc. [0007]. The processing regulator can be tetraethylene glycol [0009].
Liu does not expressly name a single embodiment having the claimed composition. However, each of the components of the composition is described in the reference. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the present invention to have made any of the compositions suggested by the reference, including the claimed composition, thereby arriving at the presently claimed invention.
Claims 1, 3, 6-7, 16-18, 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Aulenta et al (US 2011/0098372) in view of Liu (CN101845185).
Claim 1, 3, 16-18, 23: Aulenta teaches a composition comprising 62.3 wt% of a polyamide and a plasticizer 7 wt% of triethylene glycol (table 1). The polyamide can be PA6 [0189]. The plasticizer also reads on component E.
Aulenta does not teach the plasticizer being a compound having a boiling point of at least 290C like claimed.
However, Liu discloses a composition comprising polyamide and teaches a plasticizer can be tetraethylene glycol, triethylene glycol [0009]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to substitute tetraethylene glycol for triethylene glycol to obtain predictable results because Liu teaches both are plasticizers for a composition of polyamide.
Claim 6, 20: Aulenta teaches the composition further comprising impact modifiers such as ethylene propylene rubber [0153].
Aulenta does not teach the content of the impact modifier.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the amount of the impact modifier through routine experimentation, because the amount of the impact modifier is a result effective variable where a too low amount would not provide the composition enough impact resistance and a too high amount would give the composition too much elasticity and thus lower the hardness. Case law holds that "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claims 7, 21-22: Aulenta teaches the composition further comprising glass fiber in an amount of up to 40wt% [0122-0123].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/4/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that further components are excluded, the argument is not persuasive because 1) the claim recites the total wt% of components A to E is 100 wt% which indicates the wt% of each component is based on the total weight of components A to E, 2) additional components are allowed because the claim use transitional phrase “comprising”, 3) the claim does not recite the total wt% of components A to E is 100 wt% of the composition.
/WENWEN CAI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763