DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application, Amendments, And/Or Claims
The Applicants amendments/remarks received 10/21/2025 are acknowledged. Claim 28 is amended; claims 6-7, 9-10, 12, 15-19, 26, 29-31 and 33 are canceled; claims 1-5, 8, 11, 13-14, 20-25, 27-28, 32 and 34-35 are pending; claims 2-5 are withdrawn; claims 1, 8, 11, 13-14, 20-25, 27-28, 32 and 34-35 have been examined on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 10/21/2025 has been considered by the examiner; however, the document was submitted as a “Letter specifying the conditions for filing under 37 CFR 1.97” rather than as an IDS, presumably because of the two-page letter preceding the IDS form. Because the document was not submitted as an IDS form, the document can not be properly annotated and cataloged in the electronic system; hence, Applicant is implored to re-submit the IDS form separately from the letter under the normal document type (“Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) Form (SB08)” which is document code “IDS”).
NPL cite 2, i.e., the Clift reference, is lined through because it is already of record - NPL cite on 11/22/2024 IDS.
Drawings
The replacement drawings received 10/21/2025 are objected to for the following reasons:
37 CFR 1.84(i) states "Words must appear in a horizontal, left-to-right fashion when the page is either upright or turned so that the top becomes the right side, except for graphs utilizing standard scientific convention to denote the axis of abscissas (of X) and the axis of ordinates (of Y)." In the instant application, words in Figures 1D; 2A, D, F; 3A-C, K-M; 4A, E-F, L; 5N; 6D, L, P; 7A, I; 8A-B, J; 9A-C; 10A; 11A and 13B, F and I do not appear in a left-to-right hand fashion. Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Arguments of the Applicant’s Response on p. 7 regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) are moot as the rejection has been withdrawn.
Regarding the objection to the drawings, the replacement drawings received 10/21/2025 do not address the violation of 37 CFR 1.84(i) in the drawings, i.e., that Figures 1D; 2A, D, F; 3A-C, K-M; 4A, E-F, L; 5N; 6D, L, P; 7A, I; 8A-B, J; 9A-C; 10A; 11A and 13B, F and I all comprise text which does not appear in a left-to-right hand fashion; hence, the replacement drawings received 10/21/2025 remain objected to because the drawings do not comply with 37 CFR 1.84(i). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claim 28 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), as set forth at p. 4 of the previous Office Action, is withdrawn in view of the amendment of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 11, 13-14, 20-25, 27-28, 32 and 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frost et al., US 10328130 (cite A, PTO-892, 1/15/2025; herein “Frost”) in view of Nakanishi et al., 2018 (NPL cite, IDS, 12/2/2022; herein “Nakanishi”) and Clift et al., 2018 (NPL cite, IDS, 11/22/2024; herein “Clift”).
Frost teaches compositions and methods for treating hyaluronan-associated tumors and cancers (Abst.) wherein the tumor can be colorectal (col. 37, l. 19 – col. 38, l. 33). Frost teaches that colorectal tumors with a poor prognosis are associated with elevated levels of hyaluronic acid (HA) and that HA levels correlate with tumor aggressiveness (col. 37, l. 19 – col. 38, l. 33). Frost teaches that hyaluronidase can induce responsiveness to treatment-resistant colon tumors (col. 99, l. 60 – col. 100, l. 9). Frost teaches that these aggressive, treatment-resistant colorectal tumors with a poor prognosis can be treated with a monotherapy of the hyaluronan-degrading enzyme, hyaluronidase (col. 38, ll. 41-45). Frost teaches that the hyaluronidase can be administered at a dosage of 0.02 – 0.5 mg/kg (col. 41, ll. 39-49) and the hyaluronidase can be PEGylated recombinant human hyaluronidase, i.e. PEGrHuPH20 (col. 57, ll. 44-49; also known as PEGPH20 (Fig. 8); also known as Pegvorhyaluronidase alfa (PVHA), see Clift Abst.).
Frost is silent on the morphology of the tumor, e.g. serrated, and does not recite assaying the levels of expression of atypical protein kinase C zeta (PKCζ) and atypical protein kinase C lambda/iota (PKCλ/ɩ); however, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to apply the method of Frost to treat serrated colorectal tumors with a lower expression level of PKCζ and PKCλ/ɩ in view of the disclosure of Nakanishi.
Nakanishi teaches that serrated adenocarcinomas are an aggressive and treatment-resistant form of colorectal cancer which have reduced expression of PKCζ and PKCλ/ɩ (Abst.). Nakanishi teaches that the expression of PKCζ and PKCλ/ɩ can be assayed by immunohistochemistry of PKCζ and PKCλ/ɩ protein levels in patient tissue biopsies (p. 1143, “Human Serrated Tumors Display Reduced Expression of aPKCs”).
Hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to practice the method of treating a serrated tumor in a subject made obvious by Frost in view of Nakanishi comprising determining that the expression of PKCζ and PKCλ/ɩ in a tissue biopsy of the subject is lower than the levels of expression of PKCζ and PKCλ/ɩ in an individual without a serrated tumor and administering a monotherapy of 0.02 – 0.5 mg/kg Pegvorhyaluronidase alfa to the subject because Nakanishi shows that serrated colorectal tumors express lower levels of PKCζ and PKCλ/ɩ and are aggressive and treatment-resistant and have a poor prognosis and Frost teaches that aggressive, treatment-resistant colorectal tumors with a poor prognosis are associated with elevated HA levels and can be treated by administering a monotherapy of 0.02 – 0.5 mg/kg Pegvorhyaluronidase alfa to the subject; therefore, claims 1, 8, 11, 13, 20, 22-25, 28 and 35 are prima facie obvious.
Frost teaches that their method reduces tumor size (col. 16, ll. 12-13; col. 38, ll. 57-60), but does not specifically disclose the amount of reduction in size.
Clift discloses that treating colorectal cancer with Pegvorhyaluronidase alfa monotherapy induced 43% tumor growth inhibition (Abst.).
Hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious that the method made obvious by Frost in view of Nakanishi would reduce tumor burden by at least 20% wherein tumor burden is average size of tumors and would reduce hyaluronan deposition; therefore, claims 14, 27 and 32 are prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 21, Nakanishi teaches that the protein levels of PKCζ and PKCλ/ɩ are lower in serrated colorectal tumors; hence, the low levels of expression of PKCζ and PKCλ/ɩ comprises low transcription level or low translation level; therefore, claim 21 is prima facie obvious.
Frost teaches that their method reduces the pericellular matrix of the tumor (col. 16, ll. 54-61); hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious that the method made obvious by Frost in view of Nakanishi would reduce collagen deposition in the tumor; therefore, claim 34 is prima facie obvious.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the rejection of claims 1, 8, 11, 13-14, 20-25, 27-28, 32 and 34-35 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Frost in view of Nakanishi and Clift, Applicant argues (pp. 7-8) that “None of Frost et al., Nakanishi et al. or Clift et al., individually or in combination, provides a link between a specific population of patients, e.g., those having a serrated tumor and reduced expression levels of PKCζ and PKCλ/ɩ, and treatment with an inhibitor of hyaluronan activity or expression (claim 1). Moreover, none of Frost et al., Nakanishi et al. or Clift et al., individually or in combination, provides a link between a specific population of patients, e.g., those having a serrated tumor, and treatment with an inhibitor of hyaluronan activity or expression (claim 22).” This is unpersuasive as the claims are not drawn to providing a link between patients having a serrated tumor and reduced expression levels of PKCζ and PKCλ/ɩ and treatment with hyaluronan inhibitor. The claims are drawn to methods of treating a serrated tumor in a subject wherein the subject has lower levels of expression of PKCζ and PKCλ/ɩ compared to levels of expression of PKCζ and PKCλ/ɩ in an individual without a serrated tumor comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of an inhibitor of hyaluronan activity or expression wherein the elected species of an inhibitor of hyaluronan activity or expression is Pegvorhyaluronidase alfa (PVHA).
Frost teaches that colorectal tumors with a poor prognosis are associated with elevated levels of hyaluronic acid (HA); that HA levels correlate with tumor aggressiveness; that hyaluronidase can induce responsiveness to treatment-resistant colon tumors; that these aggressive, treatment-resistant colorectal tumors with a poor prognosis can be treated with a monotherapy of the hyaluronan-degrading enzyme, hyaluronidase, which can be Pegvorhyaluronidase alfa (PVHA) administered at a dosage of 0.02 – 0.5 mg/kg.
Nakanishi teaches that serrated adenocarcinomas are an aggressive and treatment-resistant form of colorectal cancer which have reduced expression of PKCζ and PKCλ/ɩ which can be assayed by immunohistochemistry of PKCζ and PKCλ/ɩ protein levels in patient tissue biopsies.
Hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to practice the method of treating a serrated tumor in a subject made obvious by Frost in view of Nakanishi comprising determining that the expression of PKCζ and PKCλ/ɩ in a tissue biopsy of the subject is lower than the levels of expression of PKCζ and PKCλ/ɩ in an individual without a serrated tumor and administering a monotherapy of 0.02 – 0.5 mg/kg Pegvorhyaluronidase alfa to the subject because Nakanishi shows that serrated colorectal tumors express lower levels of PKCζ and PKCλ/ɩ and are aggressive and treatment-resistant and have a poor prognosis and Frost teaches that aggressive, treatment-resistant colorectal tumors with a poor prognosis are associated with elevated HA levels and can be treated by administering a monotherapy of 0.02 – 0.5 mg/kg Pegvorhyaluronidase alfa to the subject.
Hence, Nakanishi clearly establishes that serrated colorectal tumors express lower levels of PKCζ and PKCλ/ɩ, are aggressive, treatment-resistant and have a poor prognosis and Frost establishes that aggressive, treatment-resistant colorectal tumors with a poor prognosis are associated with elevated HA levels and can be treated by administering a monotherapy of 0.02 – 0.5 mg/kg Pegvorhyaluronidase alfa to the subject; hence, Frost and Nakanishi clearly provide a link between patients having a serrated tumor and reduced expression levels of PKCζ and PKCλ/ɩ and treatment with the hyaluronan inhibitor PVHA, i.e., that serrated tumors in patients with reduced expression levels of PKCζ and PKCλ/ɩ are aggressive, treatment-resistant and have a poor prognosis, which Frost teaches can be treated with PVHA monotherapy. Hence, Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8, 14, 20, 22-23, 27-28, 32 and 34-35 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 353-354, 364 and 365 of copending Application No. 17312855 (reference application; herein “’855”).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 353 of ‘855 recites a method for treating a subject having a disease or condition, comprising: determining a decreased expression level of PKCζ and PKCλ/ɩ in a biological sample obtained from the subject compared to an expression level of PKCζ and PKCλ/ɩ in an individual who does not have the disease or condition; and administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a programmed-death ligand 1 (PD-L1) inhibitor, wherein the disease or condition comprises a disease or condition characterized by serrated polyps in an intestine or by serrated adenocarcinoma; claim 354 of ‘855 recites the method of claim 353, further comprising: determining an increased expression level of hyaluronan in the biological sample compared to an expression level of hyaluronan in an individual who does not have the disease or condition; and administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a hyaluronan inhibitor; claim 364 of ‘855 recites the method of claim 354, wherein the hyaluronan inhibitor is selected from the group consisting of an antagonist of CD44, an antibody inhibitor of CD44, a small molecule inhibitor of CD44, an agonist of hyaluronidase, pegvorhyaluronidase alfa (PVHA), an exogenous hyaluronidase, a recombinant hyaluronidase, and any combination thereof; and claim 365 of ‘855 recites the method of claim 353, wherein the biological sample comprises blood, blood plasma, sera, or tissue biopsy; therefore, claims 1, 8, 20, 22-23, 28 and 35 are prima facie obvious over claims 353-354, 364 and 365 of ‘855.
Regarding claims 14, 27, 32 and 34, the claims do not add additional steps or limitations to the method, rather, they recite hoped-for outcomes which would be achieved by practicing the method made obvious by claims 353-354, 364 and 365 of ‘855; therefore, claims 14, 27, 32 and 34 are prima facie obvious over claims 353-354, 364 and 365 of ‘855.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the provisional rejection of claims 1, 8, 14, 20, 22-23, 27-28, 32, and 34-35 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 353-354, 364 and 365 of copending application No. 17/312,855, Applicant asserts “Application No. 17/312,855 is not yet allowed and so it is premature to consider whether or not to file a terminal disclaimer in the present application.” on p. 7 of the Remarks. The rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRENT R CLARKE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1651
/DAVID W BERKE-SCHLESSEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1651