DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication mailed on 9/16/2025 and applicant has submitted an amendment, filed on 12/15/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 185-199 filed on 12/15/2025 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues claim 185, “performing the at least one measurement based on the measurement request; determining whether the at least one measurement satisfies the one or more criteria;” see Remark page 6 and page 7.
Examiner very kindly directs the applicant to “the location server 160 can be configured to receive signal measurements of signals received at the mobile device 120 from wireless access points 115 and/or wireless base stations 140 and to determine a position of the mobile device 120 based on those signals” [0029], and further “means for measuring signals received from the set of selected wireless access points, and means for determining the position of the mobile device based at least in part on the signals measured.” [0044]. Therefore, Venkatraman teaches as performing the at least one measurement based on the measurement request cited in claim 185. And “measuring signals received from the wireless access points detected during the scan; and determining the position of the mobile device based at least in part on the signals measured from the wireless access points detected during the scan. The position determination module 362 can provide means for selecting wireless access points operating on a same channel for use in determining a position of the mobile device” as determining whether the at least one measurement satisfies the one or more criteria. Since the “criteria” was not clearly defined, what is the criteria cited in the claims. Therefore, the criteria will be interpreted, as any parameter to meet any condition as used from Venkatraman. Therefore, Venkatraman teaches all the limitations from claim 185.
Examiner suggests Applicant should clarify how “criteria” is to be interpreted as what.
Applicant argues that “Venkatraman does not teach or suggest a UE determining a measurement reporting mode” see Remark page 8.
Examiner very kindly directs the applicant to “the location server 160 can be configured to receive signal measurements of signals received at the mobile device 120 from wireless access points 115 and/or wireless base stations 140 and to determine a position of the mobile device 120 based on those signals” [0029]. Since the filed claims cited “apparatus” does not specify apparatus what apparatus was. Therefore, it does not matter where the determining take place. Applicant clarify where the invent intended to perform the measurements.
Applicant argues that “Venkatraman does not teach or suggest using the almanac data to determine whether or how to report the measurement result based on whether or not the measurement result satisfies any criteria” see Remark page 9.
Examiner very kindly directs the applicant to “the location server 160 can be configured to receive signal measurements of signals received at the mobile device 120 from wireless access points 115 and/or wireless base stations 140 and to determine a position of the mobile device 120 based on those signals” [0029]. Since the filed claims cited “apparatus” does not specify apparatus what apparatus was. Since the “criteria” was not clearly specify in the claims. Venkatraman teaches determine a position of the mobile device based on those signals as the measurement result satisfies any criteria. Therefore, Venkatraman teaches all the limitations in claims 185.
Applicant argues that “Claims 195, 197, and 199 recite similar or corresponding features to the features of claim 185 discussed above”. See page 10.
Examiner noted that claims 187 and 197 are broader claim limitation than claim 185. Since claims 195, 197, and 199 recite similar or corresponding features to the features of claim 185. Therefore, these claims rejection for the same reasons as addressed above. The rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 185-199 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) based upon a public use or sale or other public availability of the invention as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 20160249315 (hereinafter referred to as Venkatraman).
Consider claim 185, Venkatraman teaches a method comprising:
receiving one or more criteria, from a location server, related to a presence of at least one line of sight for at least one measurement used for position estimation (see at least ¶ [0079], “…The coarse location information can be used to determine location information for the wireless access point 115 or a base station 140 from which signals have been received, and using that location information, determine an approximate location of the mobile device 120 based at least in part on the estimated coverage area of the wireless access point 115 or a base station 140 from which the signals have been received by the mobile device 120…” and see at least ¶ [0108], “…the location server 160 and/or the mobile device 120 can be configured to determine whether any obstructions may be present between the mobile device 120 and a particular wireless access point 115 based on map and/or structural information for the environment in which the mobile device 120 is located. Obstructions in the line-of-sight (LOS) path between the wireless access point 115 and the mobile device 120 can interfere with the accuracy of the RSSI measurements…” and see at least ¶ [0110], “…The mobile device 120 can also be configured to take into account the positioning effectiveness criteria, which may be included with the almanac data received from the location server 160…, …the position determination module 362 can be configured to receive almanac data from the location server 160 that is associated with positioning effectiveness criteria…”);
receiving a measurement request to perform the at least one measurement (see at least ¶ [0050], “…The position determination module 362 can also be configured to send the signal measurements to a location server or other network entity that is configured to determine the position of the mobile device and/or provide assistance data to the mobile device 120 that the mobile device 120 can use to determine the position of the mobile device 120…”);
performing the at least one measurement based on the measurement request (see at least ¶ [0068], “…The position determination module 762 can also be configured to use measurements of signals received from wireless base stations 140 and/or wireless access points 115 at the mobile device 120 to determine a position of the mobile device 120 or to use measurements of signals received from the mobile device 120 at the wireless base stations 140 and/or wireless access points 115 to determine a position of the mobile device 120…”);
determining whether the at least one measurement satisfies the one or more criteria (see at least ¶ [0068], “…The position determination module 762 can also be configured to use a combination of … information and signal measurements to determine a position of the mobile device 120. The position determination module 762 can be configured to determine the position of the mobile device in response to a request from the mobile device 120 or in response to an external entity, such as another mobile device, requesting a position of the mobile device 120…” and see at least ¶ [0105], “…The almanac data module 766 can be configured to select more than one bin if the coarse location of the mobile device is within a threshold distance of a geographical location associated with more than one bin…” and see at least ¶ [0112], “…The almanac data module 766 can be configured to select wireless access points having signal reliability metrics that meet or exceed a predetermined threshold…”); and
determining a measurement reporting mode based on whether the at least one measurement satisfies the one or more criteria in the absence of the location server specifying a measurement reporting mode (see at least ¶ [0105], “…The almanac data module 766 can be configured to select more than one bin if the coarse location of the mobile device is within a threshold distance of a geographical location associated with more than one bin…”and see at least ¶ [0107], “…The almanac data module 766 can also be configured to assign a value to each of the positioning effectiveness criteria associated with the wireless access points 115 and to only select a respective wireless access point 115 for inclusion in the almanac data to be sent to the mobile device 120 if the sum of the values associated with the positioning effectiveness criteria associated with the respective wireless access point 115. The positioning effectiveness criteria can include channel identification information and/or signal reliability metrics…”).
Consider claim 187, Venkatraman teaches a method comprising:
providing one or more criteria related to a presence of at least one line of sight for at least one measurement used for position estimation (see at least ¶ [0079], “…The coarse location information can be used to determine location information for the wireless access point 115 or a base station 140 from which signals have been received, and using that location information, determine an approximate location of the mobile device 120 based at least in part on the estimated coverage area of the wireless access point 115 or a base station 140 from which the signals have been received by the mobile device 120…” and see at least ¶ [0108], “…the location server 160 and/or the mobile device 120 can be configured to determine whether any obstructions may be present between the mobile device 120 and a particular wireless access point 115 based on map and/or structural information for the environment in which the mobile device 120 is located. Obstructions in the line-of-sight (LOS) path between the wireless access point 115 and the mobile device 120 can interfere with the accuracy of the RSSI measurements…” and see at least ¶ [0110], “…The mobile device 120 can also be configured to take into account the positioning effectiveness criteria, which may be included with the almanac data received from the location server 160…, …the position determination module 362 can be configured to receive almanac data from the location server 160 that is associated with positioning effectiveness criteria…”);
providing a measurement request to perform the at least one measurement (see at least ¶ [0050], “…The position determination module 362 can also be configured to send the signal measurements to a location server or other network entity that is configured to determine the position of the mobile device and/or provide assistance data to the mobile device 120 that the mobile device 120 can use to determine the position of the mobile device 120…”); and
receiving or not receiving at least one part of the at least one measurement (see at least ¶ [0068], “…The position determination module 762 can also be configured to use measurements of signals received from wireless base stations 140 and/or wireless access points 115 at the mobile device 120 to determine a position of the mobile device 120 or to use measurements of signals received from the mobile device 120 at the wireless base stations 140 and/or wireless access points 115 to determine a position of the mobile device 120…”).
Consider claim 195, Venkatraman teaches an apparatus comprising:
at least one processor (see at least ¶ [0038], “…processor…”); and
at least one non-transitory memory including computer program code (see at least ¶ [0038], “…The software can be loaded onto the memory 260…”);
wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor (see at least ¶ [0038], “…The memory 260 can store processor-readable, processor-executable software code containing instructions for controlling the processor 210 to perform functions…”), cause the apparatus at least to perform:
receive one or more criteria, from a location server, related to a presence of at least one line of sight for at least one measurement used for position estimation (see at least ¶ [0079], “…The coarse location information can be used to determine location information for the wireless access point 115 or a base station 140 from which signals have been received, and using that location information, determine an approximate location of the mobile device 120 based at least in part on the estimated coverage area of the wireless access point 115 or a base station 140 from which the signals have been received by the mobile device 120…” and see at least ¶ [0108], “…the location server 160 and/or the mobile device 120 can be configured to determine whether any obstructions may be present between the mobile device 120 and a particular wireless access point 115 based on map and/or structural information for the environment in which the mobile device 120 is located. Obstructions in the line-of-sight (LOS) path between the wireless access point 115 and the mobile device 120 can interfere with the accuracy of the RSSI measurements…” and see at least ¶ [0110], “…The mobile device 120 can also be configured to take into account the positioning effectiveness criteria, which may be included with the almanac data received from the location server 160…, …the position determination module 362 can be configured to receive almanac data from the location server 160 that is associated with positioning effectiveness criteria…”);
receive a measurement request to perform the at least one measurement (see at least ¶ [0050], “…The position determination module 362 can also be configured to send the signal measurements to a location server or other network entity that is configured to determine the position of the mobile device and/or provide assistance data to the mobile device 120 that the mobile device 120 can use to determine the position of the mobile device 120…”);
perform the at least one measurement based on the measurement request (see at least ¶ [0068], “…The position determination module 762 can also be configured to use measurements of signals received from wireless base stations 140 and/or wireless access points 115 at the mobile device 120 to determine a position of the mobile device 120 or to use measurements of signals received from the mobile device 120 at the wireless base stations 140 and/or wireless access points 115 to determine a position of the mobile device 120…”);
determine whether the at least one measurement satisfies the one or more criteria; and determine a measurement reporting mode based on whether the at least one measurement satisfies the one or more criteria in the absence of the location server specifying a measurement reporting mode (see at least ¶ [0105], “…The almanac data module 766 can be configured to select more than one bin if the coarse location of the mobile device is within a threshold distance of a geographical location associated with more than one bin…”and see at least ¶ [0107], “…The almanac data module 766 can also be configured to assign a value to each of the positioning effectiveness criteria associated with the wireless access points 115 and to only select a respective wireless access point 115 for inclusion in the almanac data to be sent to the mobile device 120 if the sum of the values associated with the positioning effectiveness criteria associated with the respective wireless access point 115. The positioning effectiveness criteria can include channel identification information and/or signal reliability metrics…”).
Consider claim 197, Venkatraman teaches an apparatus comprising:
at least one processor (see at least ¶ [0053], “…general-purpose processor…”); and
at least one non-transitory memory including computer program code (see at least ¶ [0056], “…processor-executable software code stored in memory 460…”);
wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor (see at least ¶ [0058], “…The software in the memory 460 is configured to enable the processor 410 to perform various actions, including implementing sending and/or receiving data from the mobile device 120, and/or other devices…”), cause the apparatus at least to perform:
provide one or more criteria related to one or more properties of a presence of at least one line of sight for at least one measurement used for position estimation (see at least ¶ [0079], “…The coarse location information can be used to determine location information for the wireless access point 115 or a base station 140 from which signals have been received, and using that location information, determine an approximate location of the mobile device 120 based at least in part on the estimated coverage area of the wireless access point 115 or a base station 140 from which the signals have been received by the mobile device 120…” and see at least ¶ [0108], “…the location server 160 and/or the mobile device 120 can be configured to determine whether any obstructions may be present between the mobile device 120 and a particular wireless access point 115 based on map and/or structural information for the environment in which the mobile device 120 is located. Obstructions in the line-of-sight (LOS) path between the wireless access point 115 and the mobile device 120 can interfere with the accuracy of the RSSI measurements…” and see at least ¶ [0110], “…The mobile device 120 can also be configured to take into account the positioning effectiveness criteria, which may be included with the almanac data received from the location server 160…, …the position determination module 362 can be configured to receive almanac data from the location server 160 that is associated with positioning effectiveness criteria…”);;
provide a measurement request to perform the at least one measurement (see at least ¶ [0050], “…The position determination module 362 can also be configured to send the signal measurements to a location server or other network entity that is configured to determine the position of the mobile device and/or provide assistance data to the mobile device 120 that the mobile device 120 can use to determine the position of the mobile device 120…”); and
receive or not receive at least one part of the at least one measurement (see at least ¶ [0068], “…The position determination module 762 can also be configured to use measurements of signals received from wireless base stations 140 and/or wireless access points 115 at the mobile device 120 to determine a position of the mobile device 120 or to use measurements of signals received from the mobile device 120 at the wireless base stations 140 and/or wireless access points 115 to determine a position of the mobile device 120…”).
Consider claim 199, Venkatraman teaches a method comprising:
receiving one or more criteria, from a location server, related to a presence of at least one line of sight for at least one measurement used for position estimation (see at least ¶ [0079], “…The coarse location information can be used to determine location information for the wireless access point 115 or a base station 140 from which signals have been received, and using that location information, determine an approximate location of the mobile device 120 based at least in part on the estimated coverage area of the wireless access point 115 or a base station 140 from which the signals have been received by the mobile device 120…” and see at least ¶ [0108], “…the location server 160 and/or the mobile device 120 can be configured to determine whether any obstructions may be present between the mobile device 120 and a particular wireless access point 115 based on map and/or structural information for the environment in which the mobile device 120 is located. Obstructions in the line-of-sight (LOS) path between the wireless access point 115 and the mobile device 120 can interfere with the accuracy of the RSSI measurements…” and see at least ¶ [0110], “…The mobile device 120 can also be configured to take into account the positioning effectiveness criteria, which may be included with the almanac data received from the location server 160…, …the position determination module 362 can be configured to receive almanac data from the location server 160 that is associated with positioning effectiveness criteria…”);
receiving a measurement request to perform the at least one measurement (see at least ¶ [0050], “…The position determination module 362 can also be configured to send the signal measurements to a location server or other network entity that is configured to determine the position of the mobile device and/or provide assistance data to the mobile device 120 that the mobile device 120 can use to determine the position of the mobile device 120…”);
performing the at least one measurement based on the measurement request (see at least ¶ [0068], “…The position determination module 762 can also be configured to use measurements of signals received from wireless base stations 140 and/or wireless access points 115 at the mobile device 120 to determine a position of the mobile device 120 or to use measurements of signals received from the mobile device 120 at the wireless base stations 140 and/or wireless access points 115 to determine a position of the mobile device 120…”);
determining whether the at least one measurement satisfies the one or more criteria (see at least ¶ [0068], “…The position determination module 762 can also be configured to use a combination of … information and signal measurements to determine a position of the mobile device 120. The position determination module 762 can be configured to determine the position of the mobile device in response to a request from the mobile device 120 or in response to an external entity, such as another mobile device, requesting a position of the mobile device 120…” and see at least ¶ [0105], “…The almanac data module 766 can be configured to select more than one bin if the coarse location of the mobile device is within a threshold distance of a geographical location associated with more than one bin…” and see at least ¶ [0112], “…The almanac data module 766 can be configured to select wireless access points having signal reliability metrics that meet or exceed a predetermined threshold…”); and
receiving a measurement reporting mode as specified from the location server (see at least ¶ [0046], “…The discovery scan module 364 can be configured to respond to discovery requests from the location server 160 to conduct a discovery scan and to send the results of the discovery scan to the location server 160. The discovery scan module 364 can also be configured to send the results of discovery scans initiated by the mobile device 120 to the location server 160, and the location server 160 may be configured to use the received discovery scan results to update the almanac data maintained by the location server 160…” and see at least ¶ [0105], “…The almanac data module 766 can be configured to select more than one bin if the coarse location of the mobile device is within a threshold distance of a geographical location associated with more than one bin…”and see at least ¶ [0107], “…The almanac data module 766 can also be configured to assign a value to each of the positioning effectiveness criteria associated with the wireless access points 115 and to only select a respective wireless access point 115 for inclusion in the almanac data to be sent to the mobile device 120 if the sum of the values associated with the positioning effectiveness criteria associated with the respective wireless access point 115. The positioning effectiveness criteria can include channel identification information and/or signal reliability metrics…”).
Consider claim 186 (depends on at least claim 185), Venkatraman discloses the limitations of claim 185 as applied to claim rejection 185 above and further discloses:
Venkatraman teaches receiving the measurement reporting mode as specified from the location server (see at least ¶ [0029], “…the location server 160 can be configured to provide almanac information and/or other information that the mobile device 120 can use to determine the position of the mobile device 120. The location server 160 can also be configured to assist the mobile device 120 in determining the position of the mobile device 120. For example, the location server 160 can be configured to receive signal measurements of signals received at the mobile device 120 from wireless access points 115 and/or wireless base stations 140 and to determine a position of the mobile device 120 based on those signals…”);
reporting the at least one measurement based on the measurement reporting mode (see at least ¶ [0029], “…the location server 160 can be configured to receive signal measurements of signals received at the mobile device 120 from wireless access points 115 and/or wireless base stations 140 and to determine a position of the mobile device 120 based on those signals…”); and
providing an indication of whether the at least one measurement was performed in conditions satisfying the one or more criteria (see at least ¶ [0031], “…the mobile devices 120 can be configured to report whether signal strength measurements (e.g. RTT, RSSI) measurements for a particular wireless access point 115 included in almanac data provided to the mobile device 120 by the location server 160 could be obtained by the mobile device 120. The location server 160 can be configured to update the almanac information maintained by the location server 160 if a particular wireless access point 115 is reported to have been unresponsive or undetected a threshold number of times…” and see at least ¶ [0076], “…The almanac data module 766 can also provide means for receiving wireless access point data associated with a plurality of wireless access points, means for binning the wireless access point data based on location, means for receiving a coarse location from a mobile device, means for selecting a subset of wireless access points from the plurality of wireless access points associated with the wireless access points data based on positioning effectiveness criteria, and means for sending almanac data to the mobile device comprising information associated with the subset of wireless access points…”).
Consider claim 188 (depends on at least claim 187), Venkatraman discloses the limitations of claim 187 as applied to claim rejection 187 above and further discloses:
Venkatraman teaches providing one or more criteria related to a presence of at least one line of sight for at least one measurement used for position estimation (see at least ¶ [0079], “…The coarse location information can be used to determine location information for the wireless access point 115 or a base station 140 from which signals have been received, and using that location information, determine an approximate location of the mobile device 120 based at least in part on the estimated coverage area of the wireless access point 115 or a base station 140 from which the signals have been received by the mobile device 120…” and see at least ¶ [0108], “…the location server 160 and/or the mobile device 120 can be configured to determine whether any obstructions may be present between the mobile device 120 and a particular wireless access point 115 based on map and/or structural information for the environment in which the mobile device 120 is located. Obstructions in the line-of-sight (LOS) path between the wireless access point 115 and the mobile device 120 can interfere with the accuracy of the RSSI measurements…” and see at least ¶ [0110], “…The mobile device 120 can also be configured to take into account the positioning effectiveness criteria, which may be included with the almanac data received from the location server 160…, …the position determination module 362 can be configured to receive almanac data from the location server 160 that is associated with positioning effectiveness criteria…”);
providing a measurement request to perform the at least one measurement (see at least ¶ [0050], “…The position determination module 362 can also be configured to send the signal measurements to a location server or other network entity that is configured to determine the position of the mobile device and/or provide assistance data to the mobile device 120 that the mobile device 120 can use to determine the position of the mobile device 120…”); and
receiving or not receiving at least one part of the at least one measurement (see at least ¶ [0068], “…The position determination module 762 can also be configured to use measurements of signals received from wireless base stations 140 and/or wireless access points 115 at the mobile device 120 to determine a position of the mobile device 120 or to use measurements of signals received from the mobile device 120 at the wireless base stations 140 and/or wireless access points 115 to determine a position of the mobile device 120…”).
Consider claim 189 (depends on at least claim 187), Venkatraman discloses the limitations of claim 187 as applied to claim rejection 187 above and further discloses:
Venkatraman teaches wherein the indication of whether the one or more properties of the at least one measurement satisfies the one or more criteria comprises an indication of whether the at least one measurement was performed in conditions satisfying the one or more criteria (see at least ¶ [0031], “…the mobile devices 120 can be configured to report whether signal strength measurements (e.g. RTT, RSSI) measurements for a particular wireless access point 115 included in almanac data provided to the mobile device 120 by the location server 160 could be obtained by the mobile device 120. The location server 160 can be configured to update the almanac information maintained by the location server 160 if a particular wireless access point 115 is reported to have been unresponsive or undetected a threshold number of times…” and see at least ¶ [0076], “…The almanac data module 766 can also provide means for receiving wireless access point data associated with a plurality of wireless access points, means for binning the wireless access point data based on location, means for receiving a coarse location from a mobile device, means for selecting a subset of wireless access points from the plurality of wireless access points associated with the wireless access points data based on positioning effectiveness criteria, and means for sending almanac data to the mobile device comprising information associated with the subset of wireless access points…”).
Consider claim 190 (depends on at least claim 187), Venkatraman discloses the limitations of claim 187 as applied to claim rejection 187 above and further discloses:
Venkatraman teaches wherein the indication of whether the one or more properties of the at least one measurement satisfies the one or more criteria comprises an indication of whether the at least one measurement was performed in conditions satisfying the one or more criteria (see at least ¶ [0101], “…data module 766 of the location server 160 can be configured to create sub-bins within the geographic areas based on the channels as discussed above or may be configured to create bins based on channel information that may not cover the same geographic areas as those discussed above. The geographic areas associated with the channel information may change over time as the wireless access points 115 and/or wireless base stations 140 within a particular geographic area select an operating channel or operating channels based on changing network and environmental conditions…”).
Consider claim 191 (depends on at least claim 187), Venkatraman discloses the limitations of claim 187 as applied to claim rejection 187 above and further discloses:
Venkatraman teaches performed by a location server (see at least ¶ [0081], “…data can be received from the location server…”).
Consider claim 192 (depends on at least claim 187), Venkatraman discloses the limitations of claim 187 as applied to claim rejection 187 above and further discloses:
Venkatraman teaches when a node to conduct the at least one measurement is a user equipment (UE), the one or more criteria are provided via a positioning protocol (see at least ¶ [0026], “…The mobile device 120 can also be configured to use a combination of signals from one or more of the satellites 170, the wireless base station 140, and/or the wireless access points 115 to determine a position of the mobile device 120…”).
Consider claim 193 (depends on at least claim 187), Venkatraman discloses the limitations of claim 187 as applied to claim rejection 187 above and further discloses:
Venkatraman teaches wherein the one or more criteria is additionally related to at least one of:
a strength associated to the at least one line of sight path;
a number of measured paths;
an observed path delay;
a capability of the device receiving the one or more criteria; or
whether at least one item of evidence suggesting uncertainty of the quality of the at least one measurement is identified (see at least ¶ [0026], “…Switching between channels can be time consuming, and may delay the measurements of the signals that the position determination module 362 can used to determine the position of the mobile device 120…” and see at least ¶ [0108], “…the location server 160 and/or the mobile device 120 can be configured to determine whether any obstructions may be present between the mobile device 120 and a particular wireless access point 115 based on map and/or structural information for the environment in which the mobile device 120 is located. Obstructions in the line-of-sight (LOS) path between the wireless access point 115 and the mobile device 120 can interfere with the accuracy of the RSSI measurements…”).
Consider claim 194 (depends on at least claim 187), Venkatraman discloses the limitations of claim 187 as applied to claim rejection 187 above and further discloses:
Venkatraman teaches wherein the at least one measurement is related to a sound reference signal or a positioning reference signal (see at least ¶ [0105], “…The identifier may also be information that may be used in conjunction with other information to determine which wireless access point 115 or the base station 140 is referenced by the coarse location information. A subset of wireless almanac data from the binned almanac data can be selected based on the coarse location of the mobile device 120, and optionally, positioning effectiveness criteria (stage 1120)…”).
Consider claim 196 (depends on at least claim 195), Venkatraman discloses the limitations of claim 195 as applied to claim rejection 195 above and further discloses:
Venkatraman teaches wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform:
receive the measurement reporting mode as specified from the location server;
report the at least one measurement based on the measurement reporting mode; and
provide an indication of whether the at least one measurement was performed in conditions satisfying the one or more criteria (see at least ¶ [0031], “…the mobile devices 120 can be configured to report whether signal strength measurements (e.g. RTT, RSSI) measurements for a particular wireless access point 115 included in almanac data provided to the mobile device 120 by the location server 160 could be obtained by the mobile device 120. The location server 160 can be configured to update the almanac information maintained by the location server 160 if a particular wireless access point 115 is reported to have been unresponsive or undetected a threshold number of times…” and see at least ¶ [0076], “…The almanac data module 766 can also provide means for receiving wireless access point data associated with a plurality of wireless access points, means for binning the wireless access point data based on location, means for receiving a coarse location from a mobile device, means for selecting a subset of wireless access points from the plurality of wireless access points associated with the wireless access points data based on positioning effectiveness criteria, and means for sending almanac data to the mobile device comprising information associated with the subset of wireless access points…”).
Consider claim 198 (depends on at least claim 197), Venkatraman discloses the limitations of claim 197 as applied to claim rejection 197 above and further discloses:
Venkatraman teaches wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform:
provide a measurement reporting mode; and
receive an indication of whether the at least one measurement was performed in conditions satisfying the one or more criteria (see at least ¶ [0031], “…the mobile devices 120 can be configured to report whether signal strength measurements (e.g. RTT, RSSI) measurements for a particular wireless access point 115 included in almanac data provided to the mobile device 120 by the location server 160 could be obtained by the mobile device 120. The location server 160 can be configured to update the almanac information maintained by the location server 160 if a particular wireless access point 115 is reported to have been unresponsive or undetected a threshold number of times…” and see at least ¶ [0076], “…The almanac data module 766 can also provide means for receiving wireless access point data associated with a plurality of wireless access points, means for binning the wireless access point data based on location, means for receiving a coarse location from a mobile device, means for selecting a subset of wireless access points from the plurality of wireless access points associated with the wireless access points data based on positioning effectiveness criteria, and means for sending almanac data to the mobile device comprising information associated with the subset of wireless access points…”).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHUONG A NGO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645