DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 9-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganesan et al. (US 20220330038 A1) in view of Selvanesan et al. (US 20210160014 A1) and Omori et al. (US 20090305736 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ganesan et al. disclose a method for context-triggered power control of a sidelink between a first user equipment, UE, and a second UE, the method being performed by the first UE, the method comprising: controlling transmission power of the sidelink depending on transmission context in which transmission on the sidelink is triggered (paragraph [0101]; UE-A may transmit the initial discovery transmission in a reduced power level (X dBm) based on the range (transmission context) of discovery transmission, where the range is higher layer parameter, which enables the UE-A to find sidelink UE(s) in its vicinity (transmission context)); and in absence of response to transmission of a message on the sidelink, retransmitting the message on the sidelink whilst applying a transmission power ramping scheme, wherein, according to the transmission power ramping scheme, transmission power for retransmitting the message is controlled to be increased from retransmission to retransmission of the message (paragraph [0101]; If the UE-A does not receive any feedback from the sidelink UE(s) (e.g., UE-B 303, UE-C 305 and/or UE-D 307), then the UE-A may (re)transmit the discovery message with an increased step of transmit power (step value,Y dB, total transmit power, X+Y dBm) and this power ramping procedure is continued until a certain time period (i.e., timer) expires). However, Ganesan et al. may not explicitly suggest in absence of the response to transmission of a message within a predetermined time period, performing the retransmission. Selvanesan et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor suggest in absence of response to transmission of a message on the sidelink within a predetermined time period, performing a retransmission (paragraph [0196]; Via a control channel an acknowledgement may be sent to the UE1 which, in case it is not received or in case an explicit non-acknowledgement message is received, causes a retransmission. In case no acknowledgement has been received within the HARQ feedback timing, a retransmission is performed by UE1. If there is no acknowledgement received, within the HARQ feedback timing, another retransmission may be carried out). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art after the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a feedback timing as taught by Selvanesan et al. to implement retransmission mechanism if there is no acknowledgement/response received within the feedback timing in the teaching of Ganesan et al. The motivation would have been to improve spectral efficiency of the sidelink communications by reducing an increase of overhead signaling. However, Ganesan et al. and Selvanesan et al. may not explicitly suggest at least one of how much and how fast to increase the transmission power from retransmission to retransmission depends on the transmission context. Omori et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor suggest transmission power for retransmitting the message is controlled to be increased from retransmission to retransmission of the message and at least one of how much and how fast to increase the transmission power from retransmission to retransmission depends on the transmission context (paragraphs [0007-0008]; a certain number of times (represented by the number of retransmissions), while the transmission power is being increased from an initial transmission power by a certain value so as to set the transmission power) (fig. 3; initial transmission power values are increased with step power widths for transmission intervals and the number of retransmission times depends on the corresponding speed states (transmission contexts) and speed state discriminating thresholds (transmission contexts)). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art after the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in Ganesan et al. and Selvanesan et al.’s method/system at least one of how much and how fast to increase the transmission power from retransmission to retransmission depends on the transmission context as suggested by Omori et al. The motivation would have been to allow transmission power to be set in a sufficient manner while the UE does not consume the power unnecessarily (paragraph [0008]).
Regarding claim 4, Ganesan et al. disclose wherein at least one of how much and how fast to increase the transmission power from retransmission to retransmission (paragraph [0101]; the UE-A may (re)transmit the discovery message with an increased step of transmit power (step value,Y dB (how much), total transmit power, X+Y dBm) and this power ramping procedure is continued until a certain time period (i.e., timer) expires (how fast)). Omori et al. further suggest increasing the transmission power from retransmission to retransmission depends on how many retransmissions of the message have been made (paragraphs [0007-0008]; a certain number of times (represented by the number of retransmissions), while the transmission power is being increased from an initial transmission power by a certain value so as to set the transmission power. The number of retransmission repeated times are included in parameters of power ramping. The power ramping is used, while the parameters are being adjusted).
Regarding claim 5, Omori et al. further suggest wherein the transmission power ramping scheme is adjusted according to an update of the transmission context (paragraph [0008] and abstract; the power ramping is used, while the parameters are being adjusted. The power ramping section includes a moving state discrimination section for discriminating the moving state of the mobile communication terminal station and a power ramping transmission parameter selecting section for setting the transmission parameters in response to the moving state that has been discriminated).
Regarding claim 6, Ganesan et al. further suggest wherein a message transmitted on the sidelink comprises information indicative of the transmission context (paragraph [0133]; Rx UE(s) decodes the sidelink control information (SCI) or MAC-CE transmitted by the Tx UE indicating the Tx UE's current location information/relative location information like zone id and the associate range information).
Regarding claim 9, Ganesan et al. further suggest wherein the transmission context is indicative of an application in the first UE that triggered the sidelink transmission (paragraphs [0103-0104]; the UE-A determines to which direction a transmission needs to be made. determining the required “field of view” or direction by a device may be accomplished based on the application layer determining the required “field of view” or direction based on the actual geographical position of the UE-B and the UE-A's own location. The location of the UE-B is conveyed to it using one of the V2X application).
Regarding claim 10, Ganesan et al. further suggest wherein the transmission context indicates that the sidelink transmission is time-critical (paragraph [0071]; information includes priority (field) for the communications between UEs).
Regarding claim 11, Ganesan et al. further suggest wherein the transmission context is indicative of a distance between the first UE and a target location of the sidelink transmission (paragraph [0111]; combination of the range and angular measurements and/or speed/direction of travel of the UE (with respect to other UEs for V2X) may be used for transmission. The range may be conditioned on the indicated directionality (distance)).
Regarding claim 12, Ganesan et al. further suggest wherein the transmission context is indicative of a relative distance between the first UE and the second UE (paragraph [0075]; SL pathloss (relative distance) between Tx UE and Rx UE is considered for transmission of SL).
Regarding claim 13, Ganesan et al. further suggest wherein the transmission context is indicative of an absolute speed of the first UE (paragraph [0111]; combination of the range and angular measurements and/or speed/direction of travel of the UE (with respect to other UEs for V2X) may be used for transmission).
Regarding claim 14, Ganesan et al. further suggest wherein the transmission context is indicative of a relative speed between the first UE and the second UE (paragraph [0111]; combination of the range and angular measurements and/or speed/direction of travel of the UE (with respect to other UEs for V2X) may be used for transmission).
Regarding claim 15, Ganesan et al. further suggest wherein the transmission context is indicative of a combination of relative distance between the first UE and the second UE and relative speed between the first UE and the second UE (paragraph [0111]; combination of the range and angular measurements and/or speed/direction of travel of the UE (with respect to other UEs for V2X) may be used for transmission).
Regarding claim 16, Ganesan et al. further suggest wherein each of the first UE and the second UE are part of a respective vehicle (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, Ganesan et al. further suggest wherein the transmission context is represented by a value, from a set of values, wherein each of these values is for encoding at least one transmission condition (paragraphs [0074] [0128]; power values given by open-loop power control based on SL path loss between Tx UE and Rx UE. Power control parameters (P0 and alpha values) may be separately/independently configured for each path loss RS) (also paragraph [0079]; transmission of communication request message is initiated based on QoS parameters).
Regarding claim 18, Ganesan et al. disclose a user equipment, UE, for context-triggered power control of a sidelink between the UE and a second UE, the UE comprising processing circuitry and a non-transitory storage medium, the storage medium containing instructions executable by the processing circuitry such that the UE is operative to: control transmission power of the sidelink depending on transmission context in which transmission on the sidelink is triggered (paragraph [0101]; UE-A may transmit the initial discovery transmission in a reduced power level (X dBm) based on the range (transmission context) of discovery transmission, where the range is higher layer parameter, which enables the UE-A to find sidelink UE(s) in its vicinity (transmission context)); and in absence of response to transmission of a message on the sidelink, retransmitting the message on the sidelink whilst applying a transmission power ramping scheme, wherein, according to the transmission power ramping scheme, transmission power for retransmitting the message is controlled to be increased from retransmission to retransmission of the message (paragraph [0101]; If the UE-A does not receive any feedback from the sidelink UE(s) (e.g., UE-B 303, UE-C 305 and/or UE-D 307), then the UE-A may (re)transmit the discovery message with an increased step of transmit power (step value,Y dB, total transmit power, X+Y dBm) and this power ramping procedure is continued until a certain time period (i.e., timer) expires). However, Ganesan et al. may not explicitly suggest in absence of the response to transmission of a message within a predetermined time period, performing the retransmission. Selvanesan et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor suggest in absence of response to transmission of a message on the sidelink within a predetermined time period, performing a retransmission (paragraph [0196]; Via a control channel an acknowledgement may be sent to the UE1 which, in case it is not received or in case an explicit non-acknowledgement message is received, causes a retransmission. In case no acknowledgement has been received within the HARQ feedback timing, a retransmission is performed by UE1. If there is no acknowledgement received, within the HARQ feedback timing, another retransmission may be carried out). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art after the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a feedback timing as taught by Selvanesan et al. to implement retransmission mechanism if there is no acknowledgement/response received within the feedback timing in the teaching of Ganesan et al. The motivation would have been to improve spectral efficiency of the sidelink communications by reducing an increase of overhead signaling. However, Ganesan et al. and Selvanesan et al. may not explicitly suggest at least one of how much and how fast to increase the transmission power from retransmission to retransmission depends on the transmission context. Omori et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor suggest transmission power for retransmitting the message is controlled to be increased from retransmission to retransmission of the message and at least one of how much and how fast to increase the transmission power from retransmission to retransmission depends on the transmission context (paragraphs [0007-0008]; a certain number of times (represented by the number of retransmissions), while the transmission power is being increased from an initial transmission power by a certain value so as to set the transmission power) (fig. 3; initial transmission power values are increased with step power widths for transmission intervals and the number of retransmission times depends on the corresponding speed states (transmission contexts) and speed state discriminating thresholds (transmission contexts)). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art after the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in Ganesan et al. and Selvanesan et al.’s method/system at least one of how much and how fast to increase the transmission power from retransmission to retransmission depends on the transmission context as suggested by Omori et al. The motivation would have been to allow transmission power to be set in a sufficient manner while the UE does not consume the power unnecessarily (paragraph [0008]).
Regarding claim 20, Ganesan et al. disclose a user equipment, UE, for context-triggered power control of a sidelink between the UE and a second UE, the UE comprising: a control module for controlling transmission power of the sidelink depending on transmission context in which transmission on the sidelink is triggered (paragraph [0101]; UE-A may transmit the initial discovery transmission in a reduced power level (X dBm) based on the range (transmission context) of discovery transmission, where the range is higher layer parameter, which enables the UE-A to find sidelink UE(s) in its vicinity (transmission context)); and in absence of response to transmission of a message on the sidelink, retransmitting the message on the sidelink whilst applying a transmission power ramping scheme, wherein, according to the transmission power ramping scheme, transmission power for retransmitting the message is controlled to be increased from retransmission to retransmission of the message (paragraph [0101]; If the UE-A does not receive any feedback from the sidelink UE(s) (e.g., UE-B 303, UE-C 305 and/or UE-D 307), then the UE-A may (re)transmit the discovery message with an increased step of transmit power (step value,Y dB, total transmit power, X+Y dBm) and this power ramping procedure is continued until a certain time period (i.e., timer) expires). However, Ganesan et al. may not explicitly suggest in absence of the response to transmission of a message within a predetermined time period, performing the retransmission. Selvanesan et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor suggest in absence of response to transmission of a message on the sidelink within a predetermined time period, performing a retransmission (paragraph [0196]; Via a control channel an acknowledgement may be sent to the UE1 which, in case it is not received or in case an explicit non-acknowledgement message is received, causes a retransmission. In case no acknowledgement has been received within the HARQ feedback timing, a retransmission is performed by UE1. If there is no acknowledgement received, within the HARQ feedback timing, another retransmission may be carried out). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art after the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a feedback timing as taught by Selvanesan et al. to implement retransmission mechanism if there is no acknowledgement/response received within the feedback timing in the teaching of Ganesan et al. The motivation would have been to improve spectral efficiency of the sidelink communications by reducing an increase of overhead signaling. However, Ganesan et al. and Selvanesan et al. may not explicitly suggest at least one of how much and how fast to increase the transmission power from retransmission to retransmission depends on the transmission context. Omori et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor suggest transmission power for retransmitting the message is controlled to be increased from retransmission to retransmission of the message and at least one of how much and how fast to increase the transmission power from retransmission to retransmission depends on the transmission context (paragraphs [0007-0008]; a certain number of times (represented by the number of retransmissions), while the transmission power is being increased from an initial transmission power by a certain value so as to set the transmission power) (fig. 3; initial transmission power values are increased with step power widths for transmission intervals and the number of retransmission times depends on the corresponding speed states (transmission contexts) and speed state discriminating thresholds (transmission contexts)). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art after the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in Ganesan et al. and Selvanesan et al.’s method/system at least one of how much and how fast to increase the transmission power from retransmission to retransmission depends on the transmission context as suggested by Omori et al. The motivation would have been to allow transmission power to be set in a sufficient manner while the UE does not consume the power unnecessarily (paragraph [0008]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganesan et al. (US 20220330038 A1) in view of Selvanesan et al. (US 20210160014 A1) and Omori et al. (US 20090305736 A1), and further in view of Peters et al. (US 20030086388 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Ganesan et al., Selvanesan et al., and Omori et al. disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention as recited in claim 1 above without explicitly suggest wherein a message retransmitted comprises an indicator of how many times the message has been retransmitted. However, Peters et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor suggest wherein a message retransmitted comprises an indicator of how many times the message has been retransmitted (paragraph [0044]; The retries field 1206 indicates the number of times the host retransmits a poll message to a peripheral address (direct communication)). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art after the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in Ganesan et al., Selvanesan et al., and Omori et al.’s method/system where a message retransmitted comprises an indicator of how many times the message has been retransmitted as suggested by Peters et al. The motivation would have been to track the retransmissions in order to manage transmission resources.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s remarks/arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of amended claim(s) 1 regarding “at least one of how much and how fast to increase the transmission power from retransmission to retransmission depends on the transmission context” have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made above.
Conclusion
HOANG-CHUONG Q. VU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2476
/HOANG-CHUONG Q VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476