DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 17, 22-23, 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shao et al (WO 2021/168373, claiming priority to 62/979833, filed 21 February 2020, of record).
Concerning claims 1, 2, 17 and 32 Shao disclose a double stranded ribonucleic acids (dsRNAs) targeting MCJ (same as DNAJC15, see lines 25-30 on page 7) (see Abstract), including one with antisense strand of SEQ ID NO: 252 (see Table 6 on page 60), 23 nucleotides long and identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 419:
SEQ ID NO: 419 1 UGAUAACUUGUUCUAGAGGUUUC 23
|||||||||||||||||||||||
SEQ ID NO: 252 1 UGAUAACUUGUUCUAGAGGUUUC 23
Further Shao disclose the sense strand complementary to SEQ ID NO: 252, of SEQ ID NO: 251 (see Table 6 on page 60), 21 nucleotides long and identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 325:
SEQ ID NO: 325 1 AACCUCUAGAACAAGUUAUCA 21
|||||||||||||||||||||
SEQ ID NO: 251 1 AACCUCUAGAACAAGUUAUCA 21
Concerning claims 3 and 4 Shao disclose that dsRNA comprises 2'-O-methyl modified nucleotides (see explanations for abbreviations of Table 6 in Table 5).
Concerning claim 7 Shao disclose that dsRNA is conjugated to GalNAc ligand (see explanations for abbreviations of Table 6 in Table 5 and ligand on page 57).
Concerning claim 22 Shao disclose cell comprising dsRNA of the invention (see lines 6-7 on page 3).
Concerning claim 23 Shao disclose pharmaceutical composition comprising dsRNA of the invention (see bridging paragraph between pages 2 and 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 14-15, 17, 22-23, 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao et al, above, and in further view of Rajeev et al (WO 2013/075035, May 2013, cited from IDS).
Teachings of Shao are discussed above.
Shao do not teach the ligand as in instant claims 14-15.
Rajeev teach RNAi agents (dsRNA) conjugated to GalNAc ligand identical to the one in instant claims 14-15 (see pages 6 and 7).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to conjugate dsRNA taught by Shao to GalNAc ligand taught by Rajeev, arriving at instant invention. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so, because Shao suggests conjugation to GalNAc and Rajeev provides an example of such effective ligand conjugated to dsRNAs.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 33 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Previous rejections are withdrawn in view of new amendments, arguments are moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EKATERINA POLIAKOVA-GEORGANTAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637