DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Note: The amendment of May 22nd 2026 has been considered.
Claims 1, 11 and 14 have been amended.
Claims 6, 9, 12, 13, 15, 16, 18-20, 23, 25, 26, 28-30, 33, 36, 38 and 39 have been cancelled.
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10, 11, 14, 17, 21, 22, 24, 27, 31, 32, 34, 35 and 37 are pending in the current application.
Claims 31, 32, 34, 35 and 37 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 10, 11, 14, 17-21, 22, 24 and 27 are examined in the current application.
Any rejections not recited below have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 10, 11, 14, 17, 21, 22, 24 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cleenewerck et al. (WO 2016/162529 A1). As evidenced by NPL Dubois et al., “Fatty acid profiles of 80 vegetable oils with regard to their nutritional potential” (from Eur. J. Lipid Sci. Technol. 109 (2007) pp. 710-732).
Regarding claims 1-5, 7, 8, 10, 11, 14, 17, 21, 22, 24 and 27: Cleenewerck discloses a pre-baked (i.e., pre-fried) food composition comprising 2-45wt% of a glyceride composition, wherein the glyceride composition comprises 10-40% SAFA, less than 10% TFA, C18:0/C16:0 of at least 0.7, less than 12 wt% C16:0, 30 to 80wt% of C18 fatty acids and a C14:0+C16:0/SAFA that is less than 50.0 (see Cleenewerck abstract from page 6, line 18 to page 8, line 20; Tables 1 and 5), when used as a coating with fat content of over 50% and water content under 10wt% (see Cleenewerck page 15, lines 11-24). Given the relative contents recited in the claims, overlap or lie inside the contents in Cleenewerck, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP §2144.05).
As to the use of the glyceride composition in baking or air-frying: The recitation in the claims that the glyceride is for oven baking and/or air-frying is merely an intended use. Applicants attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that intended use statements must be evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is the examiner’s position that the intended use recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art and further that the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use. While Cleenewerck discloses using the glyceride composition in frying, but fails to disclose air-frying, given that Cleenewerck discloses a glyceride composition as presently claimed, it is clear that the glyceride composition of Cleenewerck would be capable of performing the intended use, i.e. be used for oven baking and/or air-frying, presently claimed as required in the above cited portion of the MPEP.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Cleenewerck et al., (WO 2012/052471 A1): discloses a fat composition to be used for enrobing and coating, wherein the fat composition contains 15-80 wt% of triglycerides, 20-85 wt% of filler, and at most 15 wt% water, wherein the triglycerides contain as acid residues 20-70 wt% of total SAFA, at most 5 wt% of TFA, thereby C8, C10 and C12 in a weight ratio of (C8+C10+C12)/total SAFA of at least 10% and a weight ratio of (C8+C10)/C12 of at least 5%, whereby the weight ratio D/B is at least 1.5 and the weight ratio of B/total SAFA is at most 0.5, in which D represents the sum of the amounts of all MUFA and PUFA, and B represents the sum of the amounts of C14 and C16.
/ASSAF ZILBERING/Examiner, Art Unit 1792