0Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 11/25/25 has been entered. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 05/29/2025.
Claim Status
Claims 1-8 are pending.
Claims 1-8 are currently amended.
Claims 9-11 are currently withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 lines 3-4 should read as “wherein the first coil is connected to the DC power supply and the second coil is connected to the AC power supply”.
Claim 4 recites “the second coil connected to the AC power supply”. Claim 4 is dependent from claim 3, where claim 3 recites “an AC power supply…which is connected to the second coil”. The limitation in claim 4 appears redundant.
Claim 8 recites “a second connected to the AC power supply”. Claim 8 is dependent from claim 3, where claim 3 recites “an AC power supply…which is connected to the second coil”. The limitation in claim 8 appears redundant.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre- AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation ”wherein the control unit is configured to control the power supply to change the radio frequency power supplied to the second coil...”. However, the claim recites “a power supply which carries current to the coil”, and a separate power supply wherein “a radio frequency power supply… supplies microwave radio frequency power”. As currently written, it is not established wherein the radio frequency power supply is connected to the coil. However, it is established wherein the power supply carries current to the coil. Therefore, for the purposes of examination, the Examiner is interpreting the limitation to read as “wherein the control unit is configured to control the power supply to change the current supplied to the second coil…”.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected by virtue of their dependency upon claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kofuji (US 20180047595 A1), in view of Tamari (US 20190006153 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kofuji teaches a plasma processing apparatus (Fig. 1, [0046], plasma processing apparatus) comprising:
a processing chamber in which a sample is plasma processed (Fig. 1, [0046], vacuum processing chamber 106 contains sample stage 120);
a radio frequency power supply which supplies microwave radio frequency power for plasma generation (Fig. 1, [0046] magnetron 113 supplies microwaves to chamber 106 of the plasma processing apparatus);
a coil which generates a magnetic field (Fig. 1, [0046], solenoidal coil 114 generates magnetic fields) and which comprises a first coil (Fig. 1, coil running parallel to coil 114, see annotated Fig. 1 below, labeled as “first coil”) and a second coil (Fig.1, [0046], solenoidal coil 114, see annotated Fig. 1 below, labeled as “second coil”);
a sample stage on which the sample is placed (Fig. 1, [0046], sample stage 120);
a shielding plate disposed above the sample stage for shielding incidence of an ion onto the sample stage (Fig. 1, [0047], perforated plate 116 is located above sample stage 120); and
a control unit which controls the power supply to periodically change a position of an electron cyclotron resonance region generated under interaction between the microwave and the magnetic field ([0049], adjustment or switching (upward or downward) of a height position of the ECR surface with respect to the height position of the perforated plate 116, a time for holding each height position may be performed using a controller (not illustrated), via manipulation of the magnetic field generated by coil 114, [0046]),
wherein the second coil is disposed closer to the shielding plate than the first coil (Fig.1, [0046], solenoidal coil 114, labeled as “second coil” in the annotated Fig 1 above, is located below the first coil and is next to plate 116), and
wherein the control unit is configured to control the power supply to change the current supplied to the second coil to move the position of the electron cyclotron resonance region is from a position above the shielding plate to a position below the shielding plate, or from the position below the shielding plate to the position above the shielding plate in one cycle ([0049], adjustment or switching (upward or downward) of a height position of the ECR surface with respect to the height position of the perforated plate 116, a time for holding each height position may be performed using a controller (not illustrated), accomplished by adjusting the magnetic field generated by providing power to coil 114, [0046], where radio frequency power supply 126 is an example of a power supply connected to coils, [0053]).
Kofuji fails to explicitly teach a power supply which carries current to the coil.
However, Tamari teaches a power supply which carries current to the coil (Tamari, Fig. 1, [0055], coil power supply units 114a-114c supply DC current to coils 106A-106c).
Tamari is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of semiconductor processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the coils and power supplies of Tamari into the apparatus of Kofuji as doing so would allow control knobs to adjust plasma density uniformity, and thus etching profiles, across a substrate (Tamari, [0017]).
To clarify the record, the limitations “for shielding incidence of an ion onto the sample stand“, “to periodically change a position of an electron cyclotron resonance region generated under interaction between the microwave and the magnetic field”, and “wherein the position of the electron cyclotron resonance region is moved from a position above the shielding plate to a position below the shielding plate, or from the position below the shielding plate to the position above the shielding plate in one cycle” are merely an intended use and is given patentable weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. The perforated plate of Kofuji is capable of filtering out ions from the plasma, thereby structurally meeting the claim limitation. The coils, microwave generator, and controller of Kofuji are capable of generating a plasma and moving the position of the plasma via the coils within a set time period, thereby structurally meeting the claim limitations. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 3, Kofuji teaches wherein the power supply includes an AC power supply which is separate from the DC power supply and which is connected to the second coil (Fig. 2, [0053], radio frequency power supply 126 is connected to coils 131/132).
Kofuji fails to teach wherein the power supply includes a DC power supply.
However, Tamari teaches wherein the power supply includes a DC power supply (Tamari, Fig. 1, [0055], coil power supply units 114a-114c supply DC current to coils 106A-106c).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the coils and power supplies of Tamari into the apparatus of Kofuji as doing so would allow control knobs to adjust plasma density uniformity, and thus etching profiles, across a substrate (Tamari, [0017]).
Regarding claim 4, Kofuji teaches the first coil (Fig. 1, coil running parallel to coil 114, see annotated Fig. 1 above, labeled as “first coil”), and wherein the second coil connected to the AC power supply (Fig.1, [0046], solenoidal coil 114 see annotated Fig. 1 above, labeled as “second coil”, where a radio frequency power supply 126 is connected to coils, [0053]), and is disposed outside the processing chamber (Fig.1, [0046], solenoidal coil 114 is located outside of chamber 106); and the first coil is positioned higher than the shielding plate (Fig. 1, coil running parallel to coil 114 is located above plate 116).
Kofuji fails to teach wherein the first coil is connected to the DC power supply.
However, Tamari teaches wherein the first coil is connected to the DC power supply (Tamari, Fig. 1, [0055], coil power supply unit 114a supplies DC current to coil 106a).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the coils and power supplies of Tamari into the apparatus of Kofuji as doing so would allow control knobs to adjust plasma density uniformity, and thus etching profiles, across a substrate (Tamari, [0017]).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the coil includes a first coil (Fig. 1, coil running parallel to coil 114, see annotated Fig. 1 above, labeled as “first coil”) and a second coil connected to the AC power supply (Fig.1, [0046], solenoidal coil 114, see annotated Fig. 1 above, labeled as “second coil”, where a radio frequency power supply 126 is connected to coils, [0053]), and is disposed outside the processing chamber (Fig.1, [0046], solenoidal coil 114 is located outside of chamber 106); and the control unit controls the AC power supply to periodically change the position of the electron cyclotron resonance region generated under the interaction between the magnetic field generated by the first coil and the microwave ([0049], adjustment or switching (upward or downward) of a height position of the ECR surface with respect to the height position of the perforated plate 116, a time for holding each height position may be performed using a controller (not illustrated), accomplished by adjusting the magnetic field generated by providing power to coil 114, [0046], where radio frequency power supply 126 is an example of a power supply connected to coils, [0053]).
Kofuji fails to teach a first coil connected to the DC power supply.
However, Tamari teaches a first coil connected to the DC power supply (Tamari, Fig. 1, [0055], coil power supply unit 114a supplies DC current to coil 106a).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the coils and power supplies of Tamari into the apparatus of Kofuji as doing so would allow control knobs to adjust plasma density uniformity, and thus etching profiles, across a substrate (Tamari, [0017]).
To clarify the record, the limitation “to periodically change the position of the electron cyclotron resonance region generated under the interaction between the magnetic field generated by the first coil and the microwave“ is merely an intended use and is given patentable weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. The coils, microwave generator, and controller of Kofuji are capable of generating a plasma and moving the position of the plasma via the coils within a set time period, thereby structurally meeting the claim limitations. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kofuji (US 20180047595 A1), in view of Tamari (US 20190006153 A1), as applied in claims 1, 3-4, and 8, and further in view of Iwao (US 20180218883 A1).
The limitations of claims 1, 3-4, and 8 are set forth above.
Regarding claim 5, modified Kofuji teaches the radio frequency power supply (Fig. 1, [0046] magnetron 113 supplies microwaves to chamber 106 of the plasma processing apparatus).
Modified Kofuji fails to teach wherein the radio frequency power supply has a variable frequency.
However, Iwao teaches wherein the radio frequency power supply has a variable frequency (Iwao, Fig. 1, microwave oscillator 40 modulates the frequency of the microwave to the waveguide 37).
Iwao is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of semiconductor processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the microwave frequency oscillator assembly of Iwao into the apparatus of modified Kofuji as doing so would enable control of the oscillation frequency of the microwaves so that a plasma density distribution inside the chamber becomes a desired distribution (Iwao, [0013]).
Claims 2, and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kofuji (US 20180047595 A1), in view of Tamari (US 20190006153 A1) and Iwao (US 20180218883 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Kofuji teaches a plasma processing apparatus (Fig. 1, [0046], plasma processing apparatus) comprising:
a processing chamber in which a sample is plasma processed (Fig. 1, [0046], vacuum processing chamber 106 contains sample stage 120);
a radio frequency power supply which supplies microwave radio frequency power for plasma generation (Fig. 1, [0046] magnetron 113 supplies microwaves to chamber 106 of the plasma processing apparatus);
a coil which generates a magnetic field (Fig. 1, [0046], solenoidal coil 114 generates magnetic fields) and which comprises a first coil (Fig. 1, coil running parallel to coil 114, see annotated Fig. 1 above, labeled as “first coil”) and a second coil (Fig.1, [0046], solenoidal coil 114, see annotated Fig. 1 above, labeled as “second coil”);
a sample stage on which the sample is placed (Fig. 1, [0046], sample stage 120);
a shielding plate disposed above the sample stage for shielding incidence of an ion onto the sample stage (Fig. 1, [0047], perforated plate 116 is located above sample stage 120); and
a control unit to periodically change a position of an electron cyclotron resonance region generated under interaction between the microwave and the magnetic field ([0049], adjustment or switching (upward or downward) of a height position of the ECR surface with respect to the height position of the perforated plate 116, a time for holding each height position may be performed using a controller (not illustrated), via manipulation of the magnetic field generated by coil 114, [0046]),
wherein the second coil is disposed closer to the shielding plate than the first coil (Fig.1, [0046], solenoidal coil 114, labeled as “second coil” in the annotated Fig 1 above, is located below the first coil and is next to plate 116), and
wherein the control unit is configured to control the power supply to change the radio frequency power supplied to the second coil to move the position of the electron cyclotron resonance region is movable from a position above the shielding plate to a position below the shielding plate, or from the position below the shielding plate to the position above the shielding plate in one cycle ([0049], adjustment or switching (upward or downward) of a height position of the ECR surface with respect to the height position of the perforated plate 116, a time for holding each height position may be performed using a controller (not illustrated), accomplished by adjusting the magnetic field generated by providing power to coil 114, [0046], where radio frequency power supply 126 is an example of a power supply connected to coils, [0053]).
Kofuji fails to explicitly teach a power supply which carries current to the coil, and fails to explicitly teach a control unit which controls the radio frequency power supply.
However, Tamari teaches a power supply which carries current to the coil (Tamari, Fig. 1, [0055], coil power supply units 114a-114c supply DC current to coils 106A-106c).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the coils and power supplies of Tamari into the apparatus of Kofuji as doing so would allow control knobs to adjust plasma density uniformity, and thus etching profiles, across a substrate (Tamari, [0017]).
Kofuji modified by Tamari fails to explicitly teach a control unit which controls the radio frequency power supply.
However, Iwao teaches a control unit which controls the radio frequency power supply (Iwao, Fig. 1, [0050], the frequency controller 50 instructs the microwave oscillator 40 to optimize a plasma density distribution and controls an oscillation frequency of microwaves to be generated from the microwave oscillator 40).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the microwave frequency oscillator assembly of Iwao into the apparatus of modified Kofuji as doing so would enable control of the oscillation frequency of the microwaves so that a plasma density distribution inside the chamber becomes a desired distribution (Iwao, [0013]).
To clarify the record, the limitations “for shielding incidence of an ion onto the sample stand“, “to periodically change a position of an electron cyclotron resonance region generated under interaction between the microwave and the magnetic field”, and “wherein the position of the electron cyclotron resonance region is movable from a position above the shielding plate to a position below the shielding plate, or from the position below the shielding plate to the position above the shielding plate in one cycle” are merely an intended use and is given patentable weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. The perforated plate of Kofuji is capable of filtering out ions from the plasma, thereby structurally meeting the claim limitation. The coils, microwave generator, and controller of Kofuji are capable of generating a plasma and moving the position of the plasma via the coils within a set time period, thereby structurally meeting the claim limitations. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 6, modified Kofuji fails to teach wherein the control unit controls a frequency of the radio frequency power supply so that the position of the electron cyclotron resonance region is periodically changed.
However, Iwao teaches wherein the control unit controls a frequency of the radio frequency power supply so that the position of the electron cyclotron resonance region is periodically changed (Iwao, Fig. 1, [0051], frequency controller 50 instructs the microwave oscillator 40 to optimize a plasma density distribution).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the microwave frequency oscillator assembly of Iwao into the apparatus of modified Kofuji as doing so would enable control of the oscillation frequency of the microwaves so that a plasma density distribution inside the chamber becomes a desired distribution (Iwao, [0013]).
To clarify the record, the limitation “so that the position of the electron cyclotron resonance region is periodically changed “ is merely an intended use and is given patentable weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. The microwave oscillator of Iwao is capable of controlling and altering the frequency of the microwaves applied to a plasma chamber over a set time period, thereby structurally meeting the claim limitations. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II).
Regarding claim 7, Kofuji fails to teach wherein the power supply is a DC power supply.
However, Tamari teaches wherein the power supply is a DC power supply (Tamari, Fig. 1, [0055], coil power supply unit 114a supplies DC current to coil 106a).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the coils and power supplies of Tamari into the apparatus of Kofuji as doing so would allow control knobs to adjust plasma density uniformity, and thus etching profiles, across a substrate (Tamari, [0017]).
Response to Arguments
In the Applicant’s response filed 11/25/25, the Applicant asserts that none of the cited prior art, particularly Kofuji, teach the claim limitations “a first coil and a second coil, and in which the second coil is disposed closer to the shielding plate than the first coil, and a control unit is configured to control the power supply to change the radio frequency power supplied to the second coil to move the position of the electron cyclotron resonance region from a position above the shielding plate to a position below the shielding plate, or from the position below the shielding plate to the position above the shielding plate in one cycle” of independent claims 1 and 2 as newly amended. The Applicant asserts that Kofuji only teaches one coil, therefore being incapable of meeting the other claim limitations. The Examiner has carefully considered the arguments but does not find them to be persuasive.
The Examiner has provided an annotated Fig. 1 to the Rejections section above and reproduced below, and maintains that Kofuji teaches a first and second coil (Fig. 1, [0046], coil running parallel to coil 114, see annotated Fig. 1 below, labeled as “first coil” and solenoidal coil 114, labeled as “second coil”), wherein the second coil is disposed closer to the shielding plate than the first coil (Fig.1, [0046], solenoidal coil 114, labeled as “second coil” in the annotated Fig 1 below, is located below the first coil and is next to plate 116), where adjustment or switching (upward or downward) of a height position of the ECR surface with respect to the height position of the perforated plate 116, a time for holding each height position may be performed using a controller (not illustrated), accomplished by adjusting the magnetic field generated by providing power to coil 114, where radio frequency power supply 126 is an example of a power supply connected to coils (Figs. 1 and 2, [0046]-[0053]). In lieu of amending the claims to incorporate additional structural limitations (such as specific positional relations of said first and second coils or additional coil segments/power supplies), the Examiner maintains the rejections above as currently presented.
The Applicant also asserts that one would not have a reason to consult Tamari’s teachings regarding an apparatus having a DC power supply connected to a solenoid coil nor have a means to modify the arrangement of Kofuji to incorporate the DC power supplies connected to a solenoid coil as taught by Tamari. The Examiner has carefully considered the arguments but does not find them persuasive. The apparatus of Tamari possesses a similar arrangement to Kofuji wherein solenoid coils completely surround the plasma generation space, a power supply is connected to every coil (Tamari, [0055], coils 106a to 106c and power supply units 114a-114c), and the controller(s) in communication with the power supply units affect the plasma density distribution formed by the ECR via varying current values across the coils (Tamari, [0141]). Both Kofuji and Tamari contemplate manipulation of plasma generated by ECR via control of power provided to the surrounding coils. While the apparatus of Kofuji provides a mechanism to move the plane of the plasma vertically, it does not provide a mechanism to affect the plasma shape/density distribution. However, the apparatus of Tamari provides a mechanism to affect the plasma shape/density distribution. Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to have incorporated the coils and power supplies arrangements of Tamari into the apparatus of Kofuji as doing so would allow control knobs to adjust plasma density uniformity, and thus etching profiles, across a substrate (Tamari, [0017]). The Examiner regards the level of ordinary skill in the art as a highly educated, highly trained, highly skilled engineer with a breadth of knowledge spanning at least chemistry, physics, electronics and would be capable of incorporating the elements of Tamari allowing plasma density uniformity tuning into the apparatus of Kofuji while still retaining the mechanism of vertical plasma plane shifting.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TODD M SEOANE/Examiner, Art Unit 1718 /GORDON BALDWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1718