DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, line 3, “another one the pattern” should be --another one of the pattern--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9, 12-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “a bus bar disposed on the pattern coil; and one or more winding coils disposed on at least one surface of one surface or an opposing surface of the printed circuit board, at least one of the one or more winding coils being formed on the bus bar” contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. According to Fig. 9, a pattern coil 120 is formed on printed circuit board 110, a bus bar disposed on the pattern coil 120, and a winding coil 130 is formed on the bus bar 160. Based on the newly amended claims, the specification does not show “one or more winding coils disposed on at least one surface of one surface or an opposing surface of the printed circuit board” when “a bus bar disposed on the pattern coil”.
Claim 12 recites “a bus bar disposed between on the pattern coil; and one or more winding coils disposed on at least one of the one surface of the printed circuit board or an opposite surface of the printed circuit board and formed around the core, at least one of the one or more winding coils being formed on the bus bar” contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. According to Fig. 9, a pattern coil 120 is formed on printed circuit board 110, a bus bar disposed on the pattern coil 120, and a winding coil 130 is formed on the bus bar 160. Based on the newly amended claims, the specification does not show “one or more winding coils disposed on at least one of the one surface of the printed circuit board or an opposite surface of the printed circuit board and formed around the core” when “a bus bar disposed between on the pattern coil”.
Claims 1-9, 12-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a bus bar disposed on the pattern coil; and one or more winding coils disposed on at least one surface of one surface or an opposing surface of the printed circuit board, at least one of the one or more winding coils being formed on the bus bar” is indefinite and unclear. According to Fig. 9, a pattern coil 120 is formed on printed circuit board 110, a bus bar disposed on the pattern coil 120, and a winding coil 130 is formed on the bus bar 160. Based on the newly amended claims, “one or more winding coils disposed on at least one surface of one surface or an opposing surface of the printed circuit board” when “a bus bar disposed on the pattern coil” appears to contradict each other such that the one or more winding coils disposed on at least one surface of one surface the printed circuit board indirectly through the bus bar. As best understood and based on how the current amended claim is structured, the examiner will interpret an element disposed or formed on another element as directly or indirectly.
Claim 5 recites “the winding coil” is indefinite and unclear since claim 1 recites “at least one or more winding coils”. The examiner suggests clarification.
Claim 6 recites “the winding coil” is indefinite and unclear since claim 1 recites “at least one or more winding coils”. The examiner suggests clarification.
Claim 12 recites “a bus bar disposed between on the pattern coil” is indefinite and unclear regarding the term “between”.
Claim 12 recites “a bus bar disposed between on the pattern coil; and one or more winding coils disposed on at least one of the one surface of the printed circuit board or an opposite surface of the printed circuit board and formed around the core, at least one of the one or more winding coils being formed on the bus bar” is indefinite and unclear. According to Fig. 9, a pattern coil 120 is formed on printed circuit board 110, a bus bar disposed on the pattern coil 120, and a winding coil 130 is formed on the bus bar 160. Based on the newly amended claims, “one or more winding coils disposed on at least one of the one surface of the printed circuit board or an opposite surface of the printed circuit board and formed around the core” when “a bus bar disposed between on the pattern coil” appears to contradict each other such that one or more winding coils disposed on at least one of the one surface of the printed circuit board indirectly through the bus bar. As best understood and based on how the current amended claim is structured, the examiner will interpret an element disposed or formed on another element as directly or indirectly.
Claim 16 recites “the winding coil” is indefinite and unclear since claim 1 recites “at least one or more winding coils”. The examiner suggests clarification.
Claim 18 recites “the winding coil” is indefinite and unclear since claim 1 recites “at least one or more winding coils”. The examiner suggests clarification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8, 12-14, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0266554].
Regarding Claim 1, Sun et al. shows a magnetic component (Figs. 2-3) comprising:
a printed circuit board (400);
a pattern coil (410) formed on a surface of the printed circuit board (see Figs. 2-3);
a core (110, 120) penetrating the printed circuit board (see Figs. 2-3);
a bus bar (310) disposed on the pattern coil (410, see Fig. 3); and
one or more winding coils (primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220, Paragraph [0026]; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and element 320, Paragraph [0026]) disposed on at least one surface of one surface or an opposing surface of the printed circuit board (see Fig. 3, primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 indirectly disposed on at least one surface of top surface and bottom surface of element 400; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and element 320 disposed on at least one surface of top surface and bottom surface of element 400), at least one of the one or more winding coils (primary-side coil for element 200 having element 210) being formed on the bus bar (310, see Fig. 3, primary-side coil being formed on element 310 indirectly through element 210, see also 112(b) rejections above).
Regarding Claim 12, Sun et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 2-3) comprising:
a printed circuit board (400);
a pattern coil (410) formed on one surface of the printed circuit board (see Figs. 2-3);
a core (110, 120) penetrating the printed circuit board (see Figs. 2-3);
a bus bar (310) disposed on the pattern coil (410, see Fig. 3); and
one or more winding coils (primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220, Paragraph [0026]; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and element 320, Paragraph [0026]) disposed on at least one of the one surface of the printed circuit board or an opposite surface of the printed circuit board (see Fig. 3, primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 indirectly disposed on at least one surface of top surface and bottom surface of element 400; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and element 320 disposed on at least one surface of top surface and bottom surface of element 400) and formed around the core (see Figs. 2-3), at least one of the one or more winding coils (primary-side coil for element 200 having element 210) being formed on the bus bar (310, see Fig. 3, primary-side coil being formed on element 310 indirectly through element 210, see also 112(b) rejections above),
wherein one of the pattern coil (410) and the one or more winding coils (primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220) is a primary coil (primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 is a primary coil, Paragraph [0026]) and another one of the pattern coil and the one or more windings coils is a secondary coil (element 410 is a secondary coil, Paragraphs [0047], [0053]).
Regarding Claims 2 and 13, Sun et al. shows the printed circuit board (400) comprises at least one through hole (430) into which a part of the core (110, 120) is inserted (see Figs. 2-3, Paragraphs [0041]-[0042]).
Regarding Claims 3 and 14, Sun et al. shows the printed circuit board (400) comprises: a first hole (430) into which a part of the core (110, 120) is inserted (see Figs. 2-3, Paragraphs [0041]-[0042]); and at least one second hole (420) into which the other part of the core (110, 120) is inserted (see Figs. 2-3, Paragraphs [0040], [0043]).
Regarding Claim 4, Sun et al. shows one of the pattern coil (410) and the one or more winding coils (primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220) is a primary coil (primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 is a primary coil, Paragraph [0026]) and another one the pattern coil and the one or more winding coils is a secondary coil (element 410 is a secondary coil, Paragraphs [0047], [0053]).
Regarding Claims 6 and 18, Sun et al. shows the winding coil is configured in plurality (primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220, Paragraph [0026]; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and elements 310, 320; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and element 320, Paragraph [0026]), and wherein at least two winding coils among the plurality of winding coils are coils of different orders (primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 are coils of different orders as shown in Fig. 3, Paragraph [0026]; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and elements 310, 320 are coils of different orders as shown in Fig. 3, Paragraph [0026]; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and element 320 are coils of different orders as shown in Fig. 3, Paragraph [0026]).
Regarding Claims 8 and 19, Sun et al. shows the core (110, 120) comprises:
a first core (110) disposed on the one surface (top surface) of the printed circuit board (400, see Figs. 2-3); and
a second core (120) disposed on the opposite surface (bottom surface) of the printed circuit board (400, see Figs. 2-3),
wherein the first core (110) and the second core (120) comprise a central core (111, 121) penetrating the first hole (430) of the printed circuit board (400, Paragraphs [0041]-[0042]).
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, 12-13, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sekiguchi et al. [JP 2011-134744].
Regarding Claim 1 (see 112(b) rejections above), Sekiguchi et al. shows a magnetic component (Figs. 1-4) comprising:
a printed circuit board (element 4a of element 42, Paragraph [0033]);
a pattern coil (element 4b of element 42, Paragraph [0033]) formed on a surface of the printed circuit board (Paragraph [0033]);
a core (62 or 61) penetrating the printed circuit board (see Figs. 1-4);
a bus bar (22, Paragraph [0036]) disposed on the pattern coil (element 22 disposed on element 4b of element 42 indirectly); and
one (1) or more (1, 21) winding coils disposed on at least one surface of one surface (element 1 disposed on one surface of element 4a of element 42 indirectly, see 112(b) rejections above) or an opposing surface of the printed circuit board, at least one of the one (1) or more winding coils being formed on the bus bar (22, Paragraph [0023], see Figs. 1-4).
Regarding Claim 12 (see 112(b) rejections above), Sekiguchi et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 1-4) comprising:
a printed circuit board (element 4a of element 42, Paragraph [0033]);
a pattern coil (element 4b of element 42, Paragraph [0033]) formed on one surface of the printed circuit board (Paragraph [0033]);
a core (62 or 61) penetrating the printed circuit board (see Figs. 1-4);
a bus bar (22, Paragraph [0036]) disposed between on the pattern coil (element 22 disposed on element 4b of element 42 indirectly); and
one (1) or more (1, 21) winding coils disposed on at least one of the one surface of the printed circuit board (element 1 disposed on one surface of element 4a of element 42 indirectly, see 112(b) rejections above) or an opposite surface of the printed circuit board and formed around the core (see Figs. 1-4), at least one of the one (1) or more winding coils being formed on the bus bar (22, Paragraph [0023], see Figs. 1-4),
wherein one of the pattern coil and the one (1) or more winding coils is a primary coil (Paragraph [0023]) and another one of the pattern coil (4b) and the one or more winding coils is a secondary coil (element 4b is interpreted as a secondary coil since the term “secondary” can be arbitrary).
Regarding Claims 2 and 13, Sekiguchi et al. shows the printed circuit board (element 4a of element 42) comprises at least one through hole (see Figs. 1-4) into which a part of the core (62 or 61) is inserted (see Figs. 1-4).
Regarding Claim 4, Sekiguchi et al. shows one of the pattern coil and the one (1) or more winding coils is a primary coil (Paragraph [0023]) and another one the pattern coil (4b) and the one or more winding coils is a secondary coil (element 4b is interpreted as a secondary coil since the term “secondary” can be arbitrary).
Regarding Claims 6 and 18, Sekiguchi et al. shows the winding coil is configured in plurality (1, 21), and wherein at least two winding coils among the plurality of winding coils are coils of different orders (see Figs. 1-4, elements 1 and 21 are of different orders).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 12-14, and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0266554] in view of Brelivet et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0151244].
Regarding Claim 1, Sun et al. shows a magnetic component (Figs. 2-3) comprising:
a printed circuit board (400);
a pattern coil (410) formed on a surface of the printed circuit board (see Figs. 2-3);
a core (110, 120) penetrating the printed circuit board (see Figs. 2-3);
a bus bar (310) disposed on the pattern coil (410, see Fig. 3); and
one or more winding coils (primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220, Paragraph [0026]; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and element 320, Paragraph [0026]) disposed on at least one surface of one surface or an opposing surface of the printed circuit board (see Fig. 3, primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 indirectly disposed on at least one surface of top surface and bottom surface of element 400; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and element 320 disposed on at least one surface of top surface and bottom surface of element 400), at least one of the one or more winding coils (primary-side coil for element 200 having element 210) being formed on the bus bar (310, see Fig. 3, primary-side coil being formed on element 310 indirectly through element 210, see also 112(b) rejections above).
In addition, Brelivet et al. clearly shows a transformer (Figs. 2A-2B) teaching and suggesting at least one of the one or more winding coils (202) being formed on the bus bar (215a).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have at least one of the one or more winding coils being formed on the bus bar as taught by Brelivet et al. for the device as disclosed by Sun et al. to have a compact design to reduce manufacture size, cost and weight. Also, the motivation would have to improve performance characteristic such as desired charging power and desired current-transformer capability (Paragraph [0026]).
Regarding Claim 12, Sun et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 2-3) comprising:
a printed circuit board (400);
a pattern coil (410) formed on one surface of the printed circuit board (see Figs. 2-3);
a core (110, 120) penetrating the printed circuit board (see Figs. 2-3);
a bus bar (310) disposed on the pattern coil (410, see Fig. 3); and
one or more winding coils (primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220, Paragraph [0026]; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and element 320, Paragraph [0026]) disposed on at least one of the one surface of the printed circuit board or an opposite surface of the printed circuit board (see Fig. 3, primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 indirectly disposed on at least one surface of top surface and bottom surface of element 400; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and element 320 disposed on at least one surface of top surface and bottom surface of element 400) and formed around the core (see Figs. 2-3), at least one of the one or more winding coils (primary-side coil for element 200 having element 210) being formed on the bus bar (310, see Fig. 3, primary-side coil being formed on element 310 indirectly through element 210, see also 112(b) rejections above),
wherein one of the pattern coil (410) and the one or more winding coils (primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220) is a primary coil (primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 is a primary coil, Paragraph [0026]) and another one of the pattern coil and the one or more windings coils is a secondary coil (element 410 is a secondary coil, Paragraphs [0047], [0053]).
In addition, Brelivet et al. clearly shows a transformer (Figs. 2A-2B) teaching and suggesting at least one of the one or more winding coils (202) being formed on the bus bar (215a).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have at least one of the one or more winding coils being formed on the bus bar as taught by Brelivet et al. for the device as disclosed by Sun et al. to have a compact design to reduce manufacture size, cost and weight. Also, the motivation would have to improve performance characteristic such as desired charging power and desired current-transformer capability (Paragraph [0026]).
Regarding Claims 2 and 13, Sun et al. shows the printed circuit board (400) comprises at least one through hole (430) into which a part of the core (110, 120) is inserted (see Figs. 2-3, Paragraphs [0041]-[0042]).
Regarding Claims 3 and 14, Sun et al. shows the printed circuit board (400) comprises: a first hole (430) into which a part of the core (110, 120) is inserted (see Figs. 2-3, Paragraphs [0041]-[0042]); and at least one second hole (420) into which the other part of the core (110, 120) is inserted (see Figs. 2-3, Paragraphs [0040], [0043]).
Regarding Claim 4, Sun et al. shows one of the pattern coil (410) and the one or more winding coils (primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220) is a primary coil (primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 is a primary coil, Paragraph [0026]) and another one the pattern coil and the one or more winding coils is a secondary coil (element 410 is a secondary coil, Paragraphs [0047], [0053]).
Regarding Claims 5 and 16, Sun et al. shows the winding coil is configured in plurality (primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220, Paragraph [0026]; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and elements 310, 320; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and element 320, Paragraph [0026]).
Sun et al. does not explicitly disclose at least two winding coils among the plurality of winding coils are connected in series, parallel, or series-parallel.
However, having at least two winding coils among the plurality of winding coils are connected in series, parallel, or series-parallel would have been an obvious design choice based on intended and/or environmental use to achieve desirable inductance values based on design requirements.
Regarding Claims 6 and 18, Sun et al. shows the winding coil is configured in plurality (primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220, Paragraph [0026]; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and elements 310, 320; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and element 320, Paragraph [0026]), and wherein at least two winding coils among the plurality of winding coils are coils of different orders (primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 are coils of different orders as shown in Fig. 3, Paragraph [0026]; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and elements 310, 320 are coils of different orders as shown in Fig. 3, Paragraph [0026]; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and element 320 are coils of different orders as shown in Fig. 3, Paragraph [0026]).
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, Sun et al. shows at least one winding coil among the plurality of winding coils (primary-side coil for element 210 of element 200) is disposed on the one surface (top surface) of the printed circuit board (400, see Figs. 2-3, primary-side coil for element 210 of element 200 indirectly disposed on top surface of element 400), and at least one other winding coil (primary-side coil for element 220 of element 200 OR element 320) among the plurality of winding coils is disposed on the opposite surface (bottom surface) of the printed circuit board (400, see Figs. 2-3, primary-side coil for element 220 of element 200 indirectly disposed on bottom surface of element 400 OR element 320 disposed on bottom surface of element 400).
Regarding Claims 8 and 19, Sun et al. shows the core (110, 120) comprises:
a first core (110) disposed on the one surface (top surface) of the printed circuit board (400, see Figs. 2-3); and
a second core (120) disposed on the opposite surface (bottom surface) of the printed circuit board (400, see Figs. 2-3),
wherein the first core (110) and the second core (120) comprise a central core (111, 121) penetrating the first hole (430) of the printed circuit board (400, Paragraphs [0041]-[0042]).
Claim(s) 5, 7, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al.
Regarding Claims 5 and 16, Sun et al. shows the winding coil is configured in plurality (primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220, Paragraph [0026]; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and elements 310, 320; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and element 320, Paragraph [0026]).
Sun et al. does not explicitly disclose at least two winding coils among the plurality of winding coils are connected in series, parallel, or series-parallel.
However, having at least two winding coils among the plurality of winding coils are connected in series, parallel, or series-parallel would have been an obvious design choice based on intended and/or environmental use to achieve desirable inductance values based on design requirements.
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, Sun et al. shows at least one winding coil among the plurality of winding coils (primary-side coil for element 210 of element 200) is disposed on the one surface (top surface) of the printed circuit board (400, see Figs. 2-3, primary-side coil for element 210 of element 200 indirectly disposed on top surface of element 400), and at least one other winding coil (primary-side coil for element 220 of element 200 OR element 320) among the plurality of winding coils is disposed on the opposite surface (bottom surface) of the printed circuit board (400, see Figs. 2-3, primary-side coil for element 220 of element 200 indirectly disposed on bottom surface of element 400 OR element 320 disposed on bottom surface of element 400).
Claim(s) 5, 7, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. OR Sun et al. in view of Brelivet et al. as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Li et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0154095].
Regarding Claims 5 and 16, Sun et al. shows the winding coil is configured in plurality (primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220, Paragraph [0026]; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and elements 310, 320; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and element 320, Paragraph [0026]).
Sun et al. OR Sun et al. in view of Brelivet et al. does not explicitly disclose at least two winding coils among the plurality of winding coils are connected in series, parallel, or series-parallel.
However, having at least two winding coils among the plurality of winding coils are connected in series, parallel, or series-parallel would have been an obvious design choice based on intended and/or environmental use to achieve desirable inductance values based on design requirements.
Moreover, Li et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 1-4) teaching and suggesting at least two winding coils (top and bottom elements 60) among the plurality of winding coils are connected in series, parallel (Paragraph [0041]), or series-parallel.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the winding coil is configured in plurality, and wherein at least two winding coils among the plurality of winding coils are connected in series, parallel, or series-parallel as taught by Li et al. for the device as disclosed by Sun et al. OR Sun et al. in view of Brelivet et al. to achieve desirable inductance values based on design requirements such as increase a circuit’s overall current handling capacity. Also, the motivation would have to provide a symmetric planar transformer and adjustable leakage inductance (Paragraph [0011]).
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, Sun et al. shows at least one winding coil among the plurality of winding coils (primary-side coil for element 210 of element 200) is disposed on the one surface (top surface) of the printed circuit board (400, see Figs. 2-3, primary-side coil for element 210 of element 200 indirectly disposed on top surface of element 400), and at least one other winding coil (primary-side coil for element 220 of element 200 OR element 320) among the plurality of winding coils is disposed on the opposite surface (bottom surface) of the printed circuit board (400, see Figs. 2-3, primary-side coil for element 220 of element 200 indirectly disposed on bottom surface of element 400 OR element 320 disposed on bottom surface of element 400).
Claim(s) 9 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. OR Sun et al. in view of Brelivet et al. as applied to claims 1-3, 8, 13-14, and 19 above, and further in view of Eom et al. [KR 2015-0035918].
Regarding Claims 9 and 20, Sun et al. OR Sun et al. in view of Brelivet et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above but does not show a coupling part coupling the first core and the second core.
Eom et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 23-30) teaching and suggesting a coupling part (3) coupling the first core (12) and the second core (14, see Figs. 23-30).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a coupling part coupling the first core and the second core as taught by Eom et al. for device as disclosed by Sun et al. OR Sun et al. in view of Brelivet et al. to facilitate mechanical stability of the cores and ensure insulation distance to prevent unwanted connection therefore easy to mount on a main board and manufacturing thereof is advantageous (see English translation).
Claim(s) 8-9 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. OR Sun et al. in view of Brelivet et al. as applied to claims 1-3 and 13-14 above, and further in view of Ohashi et al. [JP 2003-324016].
Regarding Claims 8 and 19, Sun et al. OR Sun et al. in view of Brelivet et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above.
In addition, Ohashi et al. shows the core (4a, 4b) comprises: a first core (4a) disposed on the one surface (top surface) of the printed circuit board (2, see Figs. 1-3); and a second core (4b) disposed on the opposite surface (bottom surface) of the printed circuit board (2, see Figs. 1-3), wherein the first core (4a) and the second core (4b) comprise a central core (9b for elements 4a, 4b) penetrating the first hole (10b) of the printed circuit board (2, see Figs. 1-3, Paragraph [0005]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the core comprises: a first core disposed on the one surface of the printed circuit board; and a second core disposed on the opposite surface of the printed circuit board, wherein the first core and the second core comprise a central core penetrating the first hole of the printed circuit board as taught by Ohashi et al. for device as disclosed by Sun et al. OR Sun et al. in view of Brelivet et al. to form a coil device that functions as a transformer to achieve desirable operating characteristics and facilitate mechanical stability to prevent displacement of the printed circuit board (Paragraph [0001]).
Regarding Claims 9 and 20, Sun et al. OR Sun et al. in view of Brelivet et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above but does not show a coupling part coupling the first core and the second core.
Ohashi et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 1-3) teaching and suggesting a coupling part (5) coupling the first core (4a) and the second core (4b, see Figs. 1-3).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a coupling part coupling the first core and the second core as taught by Ohashi et al. for device as disclosed by Sun et al. OR Sun et al. in view of Brelivet et al. to facilitate mechanical stability of the cores and enable reliable fixing of core element with respect to the circuit board (Abstract, Advantage).
Claim(s) 3, 6, 8, 14, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekiguchi et al. in view of Sun et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0266554].
Regarding Claims 3 and 14, Sekiguchi et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above but does not show the printed circuit board comprises: a first hole into which a part of the core is inserted; and at least one second hole into which the other part of the core is inserted.
Sun et al. shows the printed circuit board (400) comprises: a first hole (430) into which a part of the core (110, 120) is inserted (see Figs. 2-3, Paragraphs [0041]-[0042]); and at least one second hole (420) into which the other part of the core (110, 120) is inserted (see Figs. 2-3, Paragraphs [0040], [0043]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the printed circuit board comprises: a first hole into which a part of the core is inserted; and at least one second hole into which the other part of the core is inserted as taught by Sun et al. for device as disclosed by Sekiguchi et al. to have the transformer and printed circuit board assembled as one module facilitating mechanical stability and reliability (Paragraph [0040]).
Regarding Claims 6 and 18, Sekiguchi et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above.
In addition, Sun et al. shows the winding coil is configured in plurality (primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220, Paragraph [0026]; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and elements 310, 320; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and element 320, Paragraph [0026]), and wherein at least two winding coils among the plurality of winding coils are coils of different orders (primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 are coils of different orders as shown in Fig. 3, Paragraph [0026]; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and elements 310, 320 are coils of different orders as shown in Fig. 3, Paragraph [0026]; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and element 320 are coils of different orders as shown in Fig. 3, Paragraph [0026]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the winding coil is configured in plurality, and wherein at least two winding coils among the plurality of winding coils are coils of different orders as taught by Sun et al. for the device as disclosed by Sekiguchi et al. to modularize the coupled transformer and PCB providing symmetry to achieve desired operating characteristics and magnetic coupling as required by design requirements (Paragraphs [0026], [0031]).
Regarding Claims 8 and 19, Sun et al. shows the core (110, 120) comprises:
a first core (110) disposed on the one surface (top surface) of the printed circuit board (400, see Figs. 2-3); and
a second core (120) disposed on the opposite surface (bottom surface) of the printed circuit board (400, see Figs. 2-3),
wherein the first core (110) and the second core (120) comprise a central core (111, 121) penetrating the first hole (430) of the printed circuit board (400, Paragraphs [0041]-[0042]).
Claim(s) 5 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekiguchi et al. in view of Li et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0154095].
Regarding Claims 5 and 16, Sekiguchi et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above but does not show does not explicitly disclose the winding coil is configured in plurality and at least two winding coils among the plurality of winding coils are connected in series, parallel, or series-parallel.
However, having the winding coil is configured in plurality and at least two winding coils among the plurality of winding coils are connected in series, parallel, or series-parallel would have been an obvious design choice based on intended and/or environmental use to achieve desirable inductance values based on design requirements.
Li et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 1-4) teaching and suggesting the winding coil is configured in plurality (top and bottom elements 60) and at least two winding coils (top and bottom elements 60) among the plurality of winding coils are connected in series, parallel (Paragraph [0041]), or series-parallel.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the winding coil is configured in plurality, and wherein at least two winding coils among the plurality of winding coils are connected in series, parallel, or series-parallel as taught by Li et al. for the device as disclosed by Sekiguchi et al. to achieve desirable inductance values based on design requirements such as increase a circuit’s overall current handling capacity. Also, the motivation would have to provide a symmetric planar transformer and adjustable leakage inductance (Paragraph [0011]).
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekiguchi et al. in view of Li et al. as applied to claims 5 and 15 above, and further in view of Sun et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0266554].
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, Sekiguchi et al. in view of Li et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above but does not show does not explicitly disclose at least one winding coil among the plurality of winding coils is disposed on the one surface of the printed circuit board, and at least one other winding coil among the plurality of winding coils is disposed on the opposite surface of the printed circuit board.
Sun et al. shows at least one winding coil among the plurality of winding coils (primary-side coil for element 210 of element 200) is disposed on the one surface (top surface) of the printed circuit board (400, see Figs. 2-3, primary-side coil for element 210 of element 200 indirectly disposed on top surface of element 400), and at least one other winding coil (primary-side coil for element 220 of element 200 OR element 320) among the plurality of winding coils is disposed on the opposite surface (bottom surface) of the printed circuit board (400, see Figs. 2-3, primary-side coil for element 220 of element 200 indirectly disposed on bottom surface of element 400 OR element 320 disposed on bottom surface of element 400).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have at least one winding coil among the plurality of winding coils is disposed on the one surface of the printed circuit board, and at least one other winding coil among the plurality of winding coils is disposed on the opposite surface of the printed circuit board as taught by Sun et al. for the device as disclosed by Sekiguchi et al. in view of Li et al. to modularize the coupled transformer and PCB providing symmetry to achieve desired operating characteristics and magnetic coupling as required by design requirements (Paragraphs [0026], [0031]).
Claim(s) 9 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekiguchi et al. in view of Sun et al. as applied to claims 3, 8, 14, and 19 above, and further in view of Eom et al. [KR 2015-0035918].
Regarding Claims 9 and 20, Sekiguchi et al. in view of Sun et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above but does not show a coupling part coupling the first core and the second core.
Eom et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 23-30) teaching and suggesting a coupling part (3) coupling the first core (12) and the second core (14, see Figs. 23-30).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a coupling part coupling the first core and the second core as taught by Eom et al. for device as disclosed by Sekiguchi et al. in view of Sun et al. to facilitate mechanical stability of the cores and ensure insulation distance to prevent unwanted connection therefore easy to mount on a main board and manufacturing thereof is advantageous (see English translation).
Claim(s) 8-9 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekiguchi et al. in view of Sun et al. as applied to claims 3 and 14 above, and further in view of Ohashi et al. [JP 2003-324016].
Regarding Claims 8 and 19, Sekiguchi et al. in view of Sun et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above.
In addition, Ohashi et al. shows the core (4a, 4b) comprises: a first core (4a) disposed on the one surface (top surface) of the printed circuit board (2, see Figs. 1-3); and a second core (4b) disposed on the opposite surface (bottom surface) of the printed circuit board (2, see Figs. 1-3), wherein the first core (4a) and the second core (4b) comprise a central core (9b for elements 4a, 4b) penetrating the first hole (10b) of the printed circuit board (2, see Figs. 1-3, Paragraph [0005]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the core comprises: a first core disposed on the one surface of the printed circuit board; and a second core disposed on the opposite surface of the printed circuit board, wherein the first core and the second core comprise a central core penetrating the first hole of the printed circuit board as taught by Ohashi et al. for device as disclosed by Sekiguchi et al. in view of Sun et al. to form a coil device that functions as a transformer to achieve desirable operating characteristics and facilitate mechanical stability to prevent displacement of the printed circuit board (Paragraph [0001]).
Regarding Claims 9 and 20, Sekiguchi et al. in view of Sun et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above but does not show a coupling part coupling the first core and the second core.
Ohashi et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 1-3) teaching and suggesting a coupling part (5) coupling the first core (4a) and the second core (4b, see Figs. 1-3).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a coupling part coupling the first core and the second core as taught by Ohashi et al. for device as disclosed by Sekiguchi et al. in view of Sun et al. to facilitate mechanical stability of the cores and enable reliable fixing of core element with respect to the circuit board (Abstract, Advantage).
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 12, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0211613] in view of Brelivet et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0151244].
Regarding Claim 1 (see 112(b) rejections above), Lin et al. shows a magnetic component (Fig. 3) comprising:
a printed circuit board (34);
a pattern coil (343) formed on a surface of the printed circuit board (see Fig. 3);
a core (332) penetrating the printed circuit board (see Fig. 3);
a conductor (31) disposed on the pattern coil (element 31 disposed on element 343 indirectly); and
one (320a) or more (320a, 320b) winding coils disposed on at least one surface of one surface (element 320a disposed on one surface of element 34 indirectly, see 112(b) rejections above) or an opposing surface of the printed circuit board (element 320b disposed on an opposing surface of element 34, see 112(b) rejections above), at least one of the one (320a) or more winding coils being formed on the conductor (31, see Fig. 3).
Lin et al. does not explicitly show a bus bar disposed on the pattern coil and at least one of the one or more winding coils being formed on the bus bar.
Brelivet et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 2A-2B) teaching and suggesting a bus bar (element 214 having elements 215a, 215b) disposed on the pattern coil (224, see Fig. 2B) and at least one (202) of the one or more winding coils being formed on the bus bar (element 214 having elements 215a, 215b, see Fig. 2B).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a bus bar disposed on the pattern coil and at least one of the one or more winding coils being formed on the bus bar as taught by Brelivet et al. for the device as disclosed by Lin et al. to have better handle high currents and improve performance characteristics such as desired charging power and desired current-transfer capability (Paragraph [0026]).
Regarding Claim 12 (see 112(b) rejections above), Lin et al. shows a transformer (Fig. 3) comprising:
a printed circuit board (34);
a pattern coil (343) formed on one surface of the printed circuit board (see Fig. 3);
a core (332) penetrating the printed circuit board (see Fig. 3);
a conductor (31) disposed between on the pattern coil (element 31 disposed on element 343 indirectly); and
one (320a) or more (320a, 320b) winding coils disposed on at least one of the one surface of the printed circuit board (element 320a disposed on one surface of element 34 indirectly, see 112(b) rejections above) or an opposite surface of the printed circuit board (element 320b disposed on an opposite surface of element 34, see 112(b) rejections above) and formed around the core (see Fig. 3), at least one of the one (320a) or more winding coils being formed on the conductor (31, see Fig. 3),
wherein one of the pattern coil and the one (320a) or more winding coils is a primary coil (Paragraph [0014]) and another one of the pattern coil (343) and the one or more winding coils is a secondary coil (Paragraph [0018]).
Lin et al. does not explicitly show a bus bar disposed between on the pattern coil and at least one of the one or more winding coils being formed on the bus bar.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a bus bar disposed between on the pattern coil and at least one of the one or more winding coils being formed on the bus bar as taught by Brelivet et al. for the device as disclosed by Lin et al. to have better handle high currents and improve performance characteristics such as desired charging power and desired current-transfer capability (Paragraph [0026]).
Regarding Claims 2 and 13, Lin et al. shows the printed circuit board (34) comprises at least one through hole (341) into which a part of the core (332) is inserted (see Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 4, Lin et al. shows one of the pattern coil and the one (320a) or more winding coils is a primary coil (Paragraph [0014]) and another one the pattern coil (343) and the one or more winding coils is a secondary coil (Paragraph [0018]).
Regarding Claims 5 and 16, Lin et al. shows the winding coil is configured in plurality (320a, 320b) and at least two winding coils among the plurality of winding coils are connected in series (see Fig. 3, elements 320a, 320b are connected in series), parallel, or series-parallel.
Regarding Claims 6 and 18, Lin et al. shows the winding coil is configured in plurality (320a, 320b), and wherein at least two winding coils among the plurality of winding coils are coils of different orders (see Fig. 3, elements 320a, 320b are coils of different orders).
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, Lin shows at least one winding coil (320a) among the plurality of winding coils is disposed on the one surface of the printed circuit board (34, see Fig. 3), and at least one other winding coil (320b) among the plurality of winding coils is disposed on the opposite surface of the printed circuit board (34, see Fig. 3).
Claim(s) 3, 6, 8, 14, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. in view of Brelivet et al. as applied to claims 1-2 and 12-13 Sun et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0266554].
Regarding Claims 3 and 14, Lin et al. in view of Brelivet et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above but does not show the printed circuit board comprises: a first hole into which a part of the core is inserted; and at least one second hole into which the other part of the core is inserted.
Sun et al. shows the printed circuit board (400) comprises: a first hole (430) into which a part of the core (110, 120) is inserted (see Figs. 2-3, Paragraphs [0041]-[0042]); and at least one second hole (420) into which the other part of the core (110, 120) is inserted (see Figs. 2-3, Paragraphs [0040], [0043]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the printed circuit board comprises: a first hole into which a part of the core is inserted; and at least one second hole into which the other part of the core is inserted as taught by Sun et al. for device as disclosed by Lin et al. in view of Brelivet et al. to have the transformer and printed circuit board assembled as one module facilitating mechanical stability and reliability (Paragraph [0040]).
Regarding Claims 6 and 18, Lin et al. in view of Brelivet et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above.
In addition, Sun et al. shows the winding coil is configured in plurality (primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220, Paragraph [0026]; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and elements 310, 320; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and element 320, Paragraph [0026]), and wherein at least two winding coils among the plurality of winding coils are coils of different orders (primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 are coils of different orders as shown in Fig. 3, Paragraph [0026]; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and elements 310, 320 are coils of different orders as shown in Fig. 3, Paragraph [0026]; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and element 320 are coils of different orders as shown in Fig. 3, Paragraph [0026]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the winding coil is configured in plurality, and wherein at least two winding coils among the plurality of winding coils are coils of different orders as taught by Sun et al. for the device as disclosed by Lin et al. in view of Brelivet et al. to modularize the coupled transformer and PCB providing symmetry to achieve desired operating characteristics and magnetic coupling as required by design requirements (Paragraphs [0026], [0031]).
Regarding Claims 8 and 19, Sun et al. shows the core (110, 120) comprises:
a first core (110) disposed on the one surface (top surface) of the printed circuit board (400, see Figs. 2-3); and
a second core (120) disposed on the opposite surface (bottom surface) of the printed circuit board (400, see Figs. 2-3),
wherein the first core (110) and the second core (120) comprise a central core (111, 121) penetrating the first hole (430) of the printed circuit board (400, Paragraphs [0041]-[0042]).
Claim(s) 5, 7, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Brelivet et al. as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Li et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0154095].
Regarding Claims 5 and 16, Lin et al. in view of Brelivet et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above.
In addition, having the winding coil is configured in plurality and at least two winding coils among the plurality of winding coils are connected in series, parallel, or series-parallel would have been an obvious design choice based on intended and/or environmental use to achieve desirable inductance values based on design requirements.
Moreover, Li et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 1-4) teaching and suggesting the winding coil is configured in plurality (top and bottom elements 60) and at least two winding coils (top and bottom elements 60) among the plurality of winding coils are connected in series, parallel (Paragraph [0041]), or series-parallel.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the winding coil is configured in plurality, and wherein at least two winding coils among the plurality of winding coils are connected in series, parallel, or series-parallel as taught by Li et al. for the device as disclosed by Lin in view of Brelivet et al. to achieve desirable inductance values based on design requirements such as increase a circuit’s overall current handling capacity. Also, the motivation would have to provide a symmetric planar transformer and adjustable leakage inductance (Paragraph [0011]).
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, Lin shows at least one winding coil (320a) among the plurality of winding coils is disposed on the one surface of the printed circuit board (34, see Fig. 3), and at least one other winding coil (320b) among the plurality of winding coils is disposed on the opposite surface of the printed circuit board (34, see Fig. 3).
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Brelivet et al. and Li et al. as applied to claims 5 and 15 above, and further in view of Sun et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0266554].
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, Lin in view of Brelivet et al. and Li et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above.
In addition, Sun et al. shows at least one winding coil among the plurality of winding coils (primary-side coil for element 210 of element 200) is disposed on the one surface (top surface) of the printed circuit board (400, see Figs. 2-3, primary-side coil for element 210 of element 200 indirectly disposed on top surface of element 400), and at least one other winding coil (primary-side coil for element 220 of element 200 OR element 320) among the plurality of winding coils is disposed on the opposite surface (bottom surface) of the printed circuit board (400, see Figs. 2-3, primary-side coil for element 220 of element 200 indirectly disposed on bottom surface of element 400 OR element 320 disposed on bottom surface of element 400).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have at least one winding coil among the plurality of winding coils is disposed on the one surface of the printed circuit board, and at least one other winding coil among the plurality of winding coils is disposed on the opposite surface of the printed circuit board as taught by Sun et al. for the device as disclosed by Lin in view of Brelivet et al. and Li et al. to modularize the coupled transformer and PCB providing symmetry to achieve desired operating characteristics and magnetic coupling as required by design requirements (Paragraphs [0026], [0031]).
Claim(s) 9 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. in view of Brelivet et al. and Sun et al. as applied to claims 3, 8, 14, and 19 above, and further in view of Eom et al. [KR 2015-0035918].
Regarding Claims 9 and 20, Lin et al. in view of Brelivet et al. and Sun et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above but does not show a coupling part coupling the first core and the second core.
Eom et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 23-30) teaching and suggesting a coupling part (3) coupling the first core (12) and the second core (14, see Figs. 23-30).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a coupling part coupling the first core and the second core as taught by Eom et al. for device as disclosed by Lin et al. in view of Brelivet et al. and Sun et al. to facilitate mechanical stability of the cores and ensure insulation distance to prevent unwanted connection therefore easy to mount on a main board and manufacturing thereof is advantageous (see English translation).
Claim(s) 8-9 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. in view of Brelivet et al. and Sun et al. as applied to claims 3 and 14 above, and further in view of Ohashi et al. [JP 2003-324016].
Regarding Claims 8 and 19, Lin et al. in view of Brelivet et al. and Sun et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above.
In addition, Ohashi et al. shows the core (4a, 4b) comprises: a first core (4a) disposed on the one surface (top surface) of the printed circuit board (2, see Figs. 1-3); and a second core (4b) disposed on the opposite surface (bottom surface) of the printed circuit board (2, see Figs. 1-3), wherein the first core (4a) and the second core (4b) comprise a central core (9b for elements 4a, 4b) penetrating the first hole (10b) of the printed circuit board (2, see Figs. 1-3, Paragraph [0005]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the core comprises: a first core disposed on the one surface of the printed circuit board; and a second core disposed on the opposite surface of the printed circuit board, wherein the first core and the second core comprise a central core penetrating the first hole of the printed circuit board as taught by Ohashi et al. for device as disclosed by Lin et al. in view of Brelivet et al. and Sun et al. to form a coil device that functions as a transformer to achieve desirable operating characteristics and facilitate mechanical stability to prevent displacement of the printed circuit board (Paragraph [0001]).
Regarding Claims 9 and 20, Lin et al. in view of Brelivet et al. and Sun et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above but does not show a coupling part coupling the first core and the second core.
Ohashi et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 1-3) teaching and suggesting a coupling part (5) coupling the first core (4a) and the second core (4b, see Figs. 1-3).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a coupling part coupling the first core and the second core as taught by Ohashi et al. for device as disclosed by Lin et al. in view of Brelivet et al. and Sun et al. to facilitate mechanical stability of the cores and enable reliable fixing of core element with respect to the circuit board (Abstract, Advantage).
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 12-14, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perlick et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2002/0159214] in view of Brelivet et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0151244].
Regarding Claim 1 (see 112(b) rejections above), Perlick et al. shows a magnetic component (Fig. 2) comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB at C, Paragraph [0048]);
a pattern coil (38) formed on a surface of the printed circuit board (see Fig. 2);
a core (32 or 34) penetrating the printed circuit board (see Fig. 2); and
one (36) or more winding coils disposed on at least one surface of one surface (element 36 disposed on one surface of PCB, see 112(b) rejections above, see Fig. 2) or an opposing surface of the printed circuit board.
Perlick et al. does not explicitly show a bus bar disposed on the pattern coil and at least one of the one or more winding coils being formed on the bus bar.
Brelivet et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 2A-2B) teaching and suggesting a bus bar (element 214 having elements 215a, 215b) disposed on the pattern coil (224, see Fig. 2B) and at least one (202) of the one or more winding coils being formed on the bus bar (element 214 having elements 215a, 215b, see Fig. 2B).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a bus bar disposed on the pattern coil and at least one of the one or more winding coils being formed on the bus bar as taught by Brelivet et al. for the device as disclosed by Perlick et al. to have better handle high currents and improve performance characteristics such as desired charging power and desired current-transfer capability (Paragraph [0026]).
Regarding Claim 12 (see 112(b) rejections above), Perlick et al. shows a transformer (Fig. 2) comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB at C, Paragraph [0048]);
a pattern coil (38) formed on one surface of the printed circuit board (see Fig. 2);
a core (32 or 34) penetrating the printed circuit board (see Fig. 2); and
one (36) or more winding coils disposed on at least one of the one surface of the printed circuit board (element 36 disposed on one surface of PCB, see 112(b) rejections above) or an opposite surface of the printed circuit board and formed around the core (see Fig. 2),
wherein one of the pattern coil and the one (36) or more winding coils is a primary coil (Paragraph [0048]) and another one of the pattern coil (38) and the one or more winding coils is a secondary coil (Paragraph [0048]).
Perlick et al. does not explicitly show a bus bar disposed on the pattern coil and at least one of the one or more winding coils being formed on the bus bar.
Brelivet et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 2A-2B) teaching and suggesting a bus bar (element 214 having elements 215a, 215b) disposed on the pattern coil (224, see Fig. 2B) and at least one (202) of the one or more winding coils being formed on the bus bar (element 214 having elements 215a, 215b, see Fig. 2B).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a bus bar disposed on the pattern coil and at least one of the one or more winding coils being formed on the bus bar as taught by Brelivet et al. for the device as disclosed by Perlick et al. to have better handle high currents and improve performance characteristics such as desired charging power and desired current-transfer capability (Paragraph [0026]).
Regarding Claims 2 and 13, Perlick et al. shows the printed circuit board (PCB) comprises at least one through hole (see Fig. 2) into which a part of the core (32 or 34) is inserted (see Fig. 2).
Regarding Claims 3 and 14, Perlick et al. shows the printed circuit board (PCB) comprises: a first hole (center hole) into which a part of the core (32 or 34) is inserted (see Fig. 2); and at least one second hole (side hole) into which the other part of the core (32 or 34) is inserted (see Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 4, Perlick et al. shows one of the pattern coil and the one (36) or more winding coils is a primary coil (Paragraph [0048]) and another one the pattern coil (38) and the one or more winding coils is a secondary coil (Paragraph [0048]).
Regarding Claims 8 and 19, Perlick et al. shows the core (32, 34) comprises: a first core (32) disposed on the one surface (top surface) of the printed circuit board (PCB, see Fig. 2); and a second core (34) disposed on the opposite surface (bottom surface) of the printed circuit board (PCB, see Fig. 2), wherein the first core (32) and the second core (34) comprise a central core (see Fig. 2) penetrating the first hole (center hole) of the printed circuit board (PCB, see Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 5 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perlick et al. in view of Brelivet et al. as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Li et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0154095].
Regarding Claims 5 and 16, Perlick et al. in view of Brelivet et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above but does not show does not explicitly disclose the winding coil is configured in plurality and at least two winding coils among the plurality of winding coils are connected in series, parallel, or series-parallel.
However, having the winding coil is configured in plurality and at least two winding coils among the plurality of winding coils are connected in series, parallel, or series-parallel would have been an obvious design choice based on intended and/or environmental use to achieve desirable inductance values based on design requirements.
Li et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 1-4) teaching and suggesting the winding coil is configured in plurality (top and bottom elements 60) and at least two winding coils (top and bottom elements 60) among the plurality of winding coils are connected in series, parallel (Paragraph [0041]), or series-parallel.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the winding coil is configured in plurality, and wherein at least two winding coils among the plurality of winding coils are connected in series, parallel, or series-parallel as taught by Li et al. for the device as disclosed by Perlick et al. in view of Brelivet et al. to achieve desirable inductance values based on design requirements such as increase a circuit’s overall current handling capacity. Also, the motivation would have to provide a symmetric planar transformer and adjustable leakage inductance (Paragraph [0011]).
Claim(s) 6 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perlick et al. in view of Brelivet et al. as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Sun et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0266554].
Regarding Claims 6 and 18, Perlick et al. in view of Brelivet et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above but does not show the winding coil is configured in plurality, and wherein at least two winding coils among the plurality of winding coils are coils of different orders.
Sun et al. shows the winding coil is configured in plurality (primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220, Paragraph [0026]; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and elements 310, 320; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and element 320, Paragraph [0026]), and wherein at least two winding coils among the plurality of winding coils are coils of different orders (primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 are coils of different orders as shown in Fig. 3, Paragraph [0026]; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and elements 310, 320 are coils of different orders as shown in Fig. 3, Paragraph [0026]; OR primary-side coil for element 200 having elements 210, 220 and element 320 are coils of different orders as shown in Fig. 3, Paragraph [0026]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the winding coil is configured in plurality, and wherein at least two winding coils among the plurality of winding coils are coils of different orders as taught by Sun et al. for the device as disclosed by Perlick et al. in view of Brelivet et al. to modularize the coupled transformer and PCB providing symmetry to achieve desired operating characteristics and magnetic coupling as required by design requirements (Paragraphs [0026], [0031]).
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perlick et al. in view of Brelivet et al. and Li et al. as applied to claims 5 and 15 above, and further in view of Sun et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0266554].
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, Perlick et al. in view of Brelivet et al. and Li et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above but does not show does not explicitly disclose at least one winding coil among the plurality of winding coils is disposed on the one surface of the printed circuit board, and at least one other winding coil among the plurality of winding coils is disposed on the opposite surface of the printed circuit board.
Sun et al. shows at least one winding coil among the plurality of winding coils (primary-side coil for element 210 of element 200) is disposed on the one surface (top surface) of the printed circuit board (400, see Figs. 2-3, primary-side coil for element 210 of element 200 indirectly disposed on top surface of element 400), and at least one other winding coil (primary-side coil for element 220 of element 200 OR element 320) among the plurality of winding coils is disposed on the opposite surface (bottom surface) of the printed circuit board (400, see Figs. 2-3, primary-side coil for element 220 of element 200 indirectly disposed on bottom surface of element 400 OR element 320 disposed on bottom surface of element 400).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have at least one winding coil among the plurality of winding coils is disposed on the one surface of the printed circuit board, and at least one other winding coil among the plurality of winding coils is disposed on the opposite surface of the printed circuit board as taught by Sun et al. for the device as disclosed by Perlick et al. in view of Brelivet et al. and Li et al. to modularize the coupled transformer and PCB providing symmetry to achieve desired operating characteristics and magnetic coupling as required by design requirements (Paragraphs [0026], [0031]).
Claim(s) 9 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perlick et al. in view of Brelivet et al. as applied to claims 1-3, 8, 12-14, and 19 above, and further in view of Eom et al. [KR 2015-0035918].
Regarding Claims 9 and 20, Perlick et al. in view of Brelivet et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above but does not show a coupling part coupling the first core and the second core.
Eom et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 23-30) teaching and suggesting a coupling part (3) coupling the first core (12) and the second core (14, see Figs. 23-30).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a coupling part coupling the first core and the second core as taught by Eom et al. for device as disclosed by Perlick et al. in view of Brelivet et al. to facilitate mechanical stability of the cores and ensure insulation distance to prevent unwanted connection therefore easy to mount on a main board and manufacturing thereof is advantageous (see English translation).
Claim(s) 8-9 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perlick et al. in view of Brelivet et al. as applied to claims 1-3 and 12-14 above, and further in view of Ohashi et al. [JP 2003-324016].
Regarding Claims 8 and 19, Perlick et al. in view of Brelivet et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above.
In addition, Ohashi et al. shows the core (4a, 4b) comprises: a first core (4a) disposed on the one surface (top surface) of the printed circuit board (2, see Figs. 1-3); and a second core (4b) disposed on the opposite surface (bottom surface) of the printed circuit board (2, see Figs. 1-3), wherein the first core (4a) and the second core (4b) comprise a central core (9b for elements 4a, 4b) penetrating the first hole (10b) of the printed circuit board (2, see Figs. 1-3, Paragraph [0005]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the core comprises: a first core disposed on the one surface of the printed circuit board; and a second core disposed on the opposite surface of the printed circuit board, wherein the first core and the second core comprise a central core penetrating the first hole of the printed circuit board as taught by Ohashi et al. for device as disclosed by Perlick et al. in view of Brelivet et al. to form a coil device that functions as a transformer to achieve desirable operating characteristics and facilitate mechanical stability to prevent displacement of the printed circuit board (Paragraph [0001]).
Regarding Claims 9 and 20, Perlick et al. in view of Brelivet et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above but does not show a coupling part coupling the first core and the second core.
Ohashi et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 1-3) teaching and suggesting a coupling part (5) coupling the first core (4a) and the second core (4b, see Figs. 1-3).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a coupling part coupling the first core and the second core as taught by Ohashi et al. for device as disclosed by Perlick et al. in view of Brelivet et al. to facilitate mechanical stability of the cores and enable reliable fixing of core element with respect to the circuit board (Abstract, Advantage).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9, 12-14, and 16-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 03/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments that Sun et al. does not show “at least one of the one or more winding coils being formed on the bus bar” is found not persuasive. Based on the 112(b) rejections, Sun et al. shows at least one of the one or more winding coils (primary-side coil for element 200 having element 210) being formed on the bus bar (310, see Fig. 3, primary-side coil being formed on element 310 indirectly through element 210, see also 112(b) rejections above). The examiner suggests overcoming the 112(b) rejections by being more specific regarding the structures of a pattern coil 120 is formed on printed circuit board 110, a bus bar disposed on the pattern coil 120, and a winding coil 130 is formed on the bus bar 160.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., at least one of the one or more winding coils being directly formed on the bus bar) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TSZFUNG J CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837