DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the amendment filed on 11/11/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trussell et al. (PGPub 2017/0110351 A1) in view of Chen (PGPub 2001/0002523 A1).
Trussell et al. teach a process for arranging a substrate processing tool on a pedestal within a semiconductor fabrication room, wherein the pedestal includes a plurality of pedestal plates (116, Fig. 1A) supported by a pedestal frame including a plurality of stanchions (118, Fig. 1A), the method comprising: determining, inherently, dimensions of the pedestal plates; determining, inherently, locations of installation features of the pedestal plates in accordance with components of the substrate processing tool (100, 108, Fig. 1A-1C, paragraphs [0073]-[0075]); orienting the at least one pedestal plate (2, 3, 4) with the at least one alignment feature (31) using an overhead transport system (not shown) as shown in Figs. 8-9; installing the pedestal frame on a subfloor (120) of the semiconductor fabrication room as shown in Fig. 1A, wherein the stanchions of the pedestal frame are positioned such that a weight distribution of the pedestal frame on the subfloor is different from a weight distribution of the substrate processing tool as shown in Fig. 1C; and installing the pedestal plates on the pedestal frame as shown in Figs. 1A-1C.
However, Trussell et al. silent machining installation features in the pedestal plates based on the determined locations, and marking at least one of the pedestal plates with at least one alignment feature. Chen teaches a process of arranging a pedestal (2, 3, 4) on a frame including a plurality of stanchions (5) as shown in Fig. 8, wherein installation features, (such as at least one access hole (8), as per claim 4) are formed in the pedestal plates based on determined locations and providing at least one of the pedestal plates with at least one alignment feature, such as an axis (as per claim 5) for placing the pedestal plates in accordance with the installation features on the frame as shown in Figs. 8-9 (paragraphs [0022]-[0025]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify a process for arranging a substrate processing tool on a pedestal within a semiconductor fabrication room of Trussell et al. by forming installation features in the pedestal plates and at least one alignment feature as taught by Chen in order to install the pedestal plates on the frame in accordance with the installation features in the pedestal plates and the at least one alignment feature.
Re. claim 2: Trussell et al. also teach that the substrate processing tool is installed on the pedestal plates as shown in Figs. 1A-1C.
Re. claim 3: Trussell et al. also teach that an overall footprint of the pedestal is greater than an overall footprint of the substrate processing tool as shown in Figs. 1A-1C.
Re. claim 9: Chen also shows that he at least one of the pedestal plates (2) is installed with the at least one alignment feature (31, the way of tile form, X-Y axes) and remaining ones of the pedestal plates (3, 4) are installed based on the at least one alignment feature as shown in Figs. 8-9.
Re. claim 11: Trussell et al. also teach that a plurality of the substrate processing tools is installed on the pedestal plates as shown in Figs. 1B-1C.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art of record fails to disclose the claimed invention such as orienting the at least one pedestal plate with the at least one alignment feature using an overhead transport system. Applicant argues that the amended claim specifies how the overhead transport system operates (orienting the at least one of the pedestal plates), and clarifies how the plates are oriented in a specific manner (orienting the at least one of the pedestal plates with the at least one alignment features). Examiner traverses the argument. According to Figs. 8-9 of Chen, the pedestal plates (3, 4) with the at least one alignment feature are oriented and placed the plates on the pedestal frame including a plurality of stanchions. Even though Chen silent the overhead transport system, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected to orient (such as holding, moving and placing) the plates above the pedestal frame including a plurality of stanchions on the floor. Also, there is no specific structural definition what the overhead transport system is. The examiner asserts that the claims have been given their broadest reasonable interpretation, without reading limitations from the specification into the claims. In re Zletz, 893 F. 2d 319, 312-322, 13 USPQ2d 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989). Therefore, the overhead transport system can be any tool, device, mechanism or hand to move the plates above the pedestal frame including a plurality of stanchions on the floor. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable rangers involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (il-A). The applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations. Therefore, examiner believes that the prior art of record, Chen, teaches all limitations as set forth above and examiner maintains his rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL D KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3729