DETAILED ACTION
This final office action is responsive to the amendments filed on 12/22/2025.
Claims 1, 3, 9-10, 12-14, 16, 22-23 and 25-26 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant has amended independent claims 1, 13, 14 to include new/old limitations in a form not previously presented necessitating new search and considerations. Claims 2, 4-8, 11, 15, 17-21, 24 and 27 have been canceled by the Applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7-10, 12-14, 16, 20-23 and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi et al. (US 2016/0292006 A1, hereafter Takeuchi) in view of Usui et al. (US 2017/0262410 A1, hereafter Usui), and further in view of Seo et al. (US 2021/0058906 A1, hereafter Seo), and further in view of Guo et al (US 2018/0288785 A1, hereafter Guo), and further in view of Necas (US 2018/0365074 A1).
Takeuchi, Usui , Seo and Guo were cited in the last office action.
As per claim 1, Takeuchi teaches the invention substantially as claimed including a method performed by a network node for controlling execution of a plurality of processing jobs in a communication network ([0011] manage job flows, plurality of jobs, job-execution-display [0064] jobs, parallel relationships fig. 49 computer 110 communication network 120 fig. 12 jobs running in parallel e.g. jobs 2-4), the method comprising:
grouping the plurality of processing jobs into one or more groups ([0011] groups the plurality of jobs into a plurality of groups), a number of the one or more groups being less than a number of processing jobs in the plurality of processing jobs ([0112] groups, jobs, jobs, contained, easily inside a screen in a job flow, large number of job present i.e. less number groups than the jobs [0196] fig. 30 group/job relation table 76 fig. 30 number of groups: 6 number of jobs 13 i.e. number of jobs is less than the number of group);
launching, for each group, processing of the processing jobs of the group (fig. 12 job 1 i.e. first job to be called/executed job groups, jobs, execution intervals [0121] currently running jobs, visualized, distance from the first job, job executed first i.e. execution of single job causes execution of the next jobs fig. 13), the processing comprising parallel processing of at least a plurality of the processing jobs of the group (fig. 12 jobs running in parallel e.g. jobs 2-4, 11 [0121] currently running jobs [0067] processing, jobs, synchronize; fig. 28 group number:1 job number: 1, 5, 8, 11, 13 fig. 32 group number:1 state: running i.e. multiple jobs of group 1 is running in parallel);
each processing job being for one of a plurality of received data units ([0008] jobs related to image data processing);
acquiring scheduling information relating to scheduling ([0073] job execution display information, execution intervals of jobs in each group correspondence with execution intervals of jobs in another group), grouping the processing jobs being based on the scheduled information ([0073] job execution schedule, execution intervals of jobs in each group, another group; fig. 13 group name, job in group, classification, execution interval);
performing scheduling in accordance with the grouping ([0110] jobs with same scheduled activation data information, same batch, activated on the same day [0073] job execution schedule, execution intervals of jobs in each group, another group; fig. 13 group name, job in group, classification, execution interval); and
grouping the processing jobs comprising one or more of ([0072] grouping unit, group the plurality of jobs, plurality of groups, attribute information):
grouping processing jobs with respective expected processing times that fall within a processing time range so that processing jobs that fall within the processing time range are allowed to belong to a same group ([0192] fig. 28 table 74 group number , execution interval i.e. job number 1, 5, 8, 11, 13 belong to group number 1 and have same execution interval 0 to 5 [0193] The intervals for executing the grouped jobs are stored under the “execution interval”. [0011] groups, plurality of jobs, plurality of groups, attribute information, classification information, transition information [0073] execution intervals, jobs, in each group [0110] scheduled activation dates, designated, each job, classify jobs having same scheduled activation date information).
Takeuchi doesn’t specifically teach execution in parallel processing device of a plurality of processing jobs for communication reception; launching processing of jobs of the group using single execution call; each processing job being for one of a plurality of received data units; each of the data units of the plurality of received data units relating to one or more of: a carrier, a baseband port, a reception antenna, and a transmitter of the data unit, the transmitter being associated with a cell unit of the communication network; scheduling information relating to scheduling of the communication reception; performing communication scheduling for which communication reception is in accordance with the grouping, the communication scheduling performed according to one or more of: transmitters with one or more common parameters allocated in simultaneously transmitted data units; when data from different numerologies is to be processed; cells scheduled together which share the same numerologies; and a same channel being scheduled for several transmitters cells in the same slot; and grouping the processing jobs comprising one or more of: grouping processing jobs for data units, of the plurality of received data units, so that processing jobs relating to a same carrier are allowed to belong to a same group; grouping processing jobs for data units, of the plurality of received data units, relating to different carriers are allowed to belong to different groups; grouping processing jobs for data units, of the plurality of received data units, so that processing jobs relating to different baseband ports are allowed to belong to a same group; grouping processing jobs for data units, of the plurality of received data units, so that processing jobs relating to transmitters associated with different cell units are allowed to belong to the same group; grouping processing jobs with respective kernel dimensions that falls within a kernel dimension range so that processing jobs that fall within the kernel dimension range are allowed to belong to a same group; grouping processing jobs so that processing jobs for the same number of baseband ports are allowed to belong to a same group; and grouping processing jobs for data units, of the plurality of received data units, so that processing jobs relating to transmitters associated with respective data rates that fall within a data rate range are allowed to belong to a same group.
Usui, however, teaches execution in parallel processing device of a plurality of processing jobs for communication reception ([0051] parallel computer, processing, parallel manner [0057] communication processing, parallel computer, transmission / reception processing, collective communication);
launching processing of jobs using a single execution call ([0080] fig. 3 parallel computer 50 nodes 100a-c, management node 200 [0082] management node, manages jobs executed by nodes 100, receives, instruction for execution of a job from user, arranges program executed, nodes);
the processing comprising parallel processing of at least a plurality of the processing jobs of the group ([0057] executing, processes, parallel, belonging to a single process group);
each processing job being for a received data unit ([0053] input data, FFT operation, performed, data portions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to combine the teachings of Takeuchi with the teachings of Usui of parallel computer performing collective communication processing , receiving instruction for execution of a job from user, arranging program executed by nodes, parallel processing process belonging to a single group; operation performed on the received data portion to improve efficiency and allow execution in parallel processing device of a plurality of processing jobs for communication reception; launching processing of jobs execution call; the processing comprising parallel processing of at least some of the processing jobs of the group; and each processing job being for a received data unit to the method Takeuchi as in the instant invention. The combination would have been obvious because applying the known method of parallel computer performing parallel communication processing, executing the jobs using user instruction in parallel as taught by Usui to the method of Takeuchi to yield predictable result and is motivated by improved efficiency.
Takeuchi and Usui, in combination, do not specifically teach each of the data units of the plurality of received data units relating to one or more of: a carrier, a baseband port, a reception antenna, and a transmitter of the data unit, the transmitter being associated with a cell unit of the communication network; and scheduling information relating to scheduling of the communication reception; performing communication scheduling for which communication reception is in accordance with the grouping, the communication scheduling performed according to one or more of: transmitters with one or more common parameters allocated in simultaneously transmitted data units; when data from different numerologies is to be processed; cells scheduled together which share the same numerologies; and a same channel being scheduled for several transmitters cells in the same slot; grouping comprising one or more of: grouping processing jobs for data units, of the plurality of received data units, so that processing jobs relating to a same carrier are allowed to belong to a same group; grouping processing jobs for data units, of the plurality of received data units, relating to different carriers are allowed to belong to different groups; grouping processing jobs for data units, of the plurality of received data units, so that processing jobs relating to different baseband ports are allowed to belong to a same group; grouping processing jobs for data units, of the plurality of received data units, so that processing jobs relating to transmitters associated with different cell units are allowed to belong to the same group; grouping processing jobs with respective kernel dimensions that falls within a kernel dimension range so that processing jobs that fall within the kernel dimension range are allowed to belong to a same group; grouping processing jobs so that processing jobs for the same number of baseband ports are allowed to belong to a same group; and grouping processing jobs for data units, of the plurality of received data units, so that processing jobs relating to transmitters associated with respective data rates that fall within a data rate range are allowed to belong to a same group.
Seo, however, teaches each of the data units of the plurality of received data units relating to one or more of: a carrier, a baseband port, a reception antenna, and a transmitter of the data unit, the transmitter being associated with a cell unit of the communication network ([0278] signal processing, receiving / transmitting, through antenna ports [0064] channel, subcarriers [0011] transceiver, transmitting, radio signal [0049] BS 20, communicates, eNB [0048] wireless communication system [0107] serving cell [0109] network, UE, connection to current serving cell fig. 1 10 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to combine the teachings of Takeuchi and Usui with the teachings of Seo of receiving/transmitting signal associated with antenna ports, channels, subcarriers, serving cell in a wireless communication system to improve efficiency and allow each of the data units of the plurality of received data units relating to one or more of: a carrier, a reception antenna, and a transmitter of the data unit, the transmitter being associated with a cell unit of the communication network to the method of Takeuchi and Usui as in the instant invention.
The combination would have been obvious because applying the known method of Seo with the method of Takeuchi and Usui to yield predictable result and is motivated by improved efficiency.
Takeuchi, Usui and Seo, in combination, do not specifically teach scheduling information relating to scheduling of the communication reception; performing communication scheduling for which communication reception is in accordance with the grouping, the communication scheduling performed according to one or more of: transmitters with one or more common parameters allocated in simultaneously transmitted data units; when data from different numerologies is to be processed; cells scheduled together which share the same numerologies; and a same channel being scheduled for several transmitters cells in the same slot; grouping comprising one or more of: grouping processing jobs for data units, of the plurality of received data units, so that processing jobs relating to a same carrier are allowed to belong to a same group; grouping processing jobs for data units, of the plurality of received data units, relating to different carriers are allowed to belong to different groups; grouping processing jobs for data units, of the plurality of received data units, so that processing jobs relating to different baseband ports are allowed to belong to a same group; grouping processing jobs for data units, of the plurality of received data units, so that processing jobs relating to different transmitters are allowed to belong to a same group; grouping processing jobs for data units, of the plurality of received data units, so that processing jobs relating to transmitters associated with different cell units are allowed to belong to the same group; grouping processing jobs with respective kernel dimensions that falls within a kernel dimension range so that processing jobs that fall within the kernel dimension range are allowed to belong to a same group; grouping processing jobs so that processing jobs for the same number of baseband ports are allowed to belong to a same group; and grouping processing jobs for data units, of the plurality of received data units, so that processing jobs relating to transmitters associated with respective data rates that fall within a data rate range are allowed to belong to a same group.
Guo, however, teaches scheduling information relating to scheduling of the communication reception ([0007] scheduling of concurrent packet transmissions in wireless control system [0020] obtain, transmission schedule, priority, time slot [0023] receiver to receive information indicative of a set of transmissions between the wireless transceivers for a period of time, priority of each transmissions, topology of transceivers; fig. 1A 102, 108 [0134] [0135] fig. 4 B receiving start/end time, schedule start time);
performing communication scheduling for which communication reception is in accordance with the grouping (fig. 1A assigning, to each transmission in each group of the set of transmissions, a respective time slot within a sequence of time slots of the timer period according to the priority, obtain the transmission schedule 106 [0083] scheduled, concurrently, transmit download broadcast/multicast packet, time slot [0134] fig. 4B schedule packet transmission starting time, transmission to receiving TX2RX turnaround and/or receiving to transmission RX2TX turnaround; [0135] packet receiving start / end time, schedule start time [0142] parallel scheduling, time slot, scheduled, group, transmit packet concurrently), the communication scheduling performed according to one or more of: transmitters with one or more common parameters allocated in simultaneously transmitted data units ([0015] first/second…/last group, scheduled, transmit at the first/second…/last time slot of a schedule [0056] fig. 1A partitioning set of transmissions, priorities i.e. common parameter of transmission, topology of network, groups of concurrent transmissions, highest to lowest priority group 104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to combine the teachings of Takeuchi, Usui and Seo with the teachings of Guo of receiving obtaining transmission schedule information indicative of set of transmissions between the transceivers for a period of time based on priority of transmission and topology of wireless transceivers; grouping the transmission according to the priority of transmission and network topology and scheduling; assigning, to each transmission in each group of the set of transmissions, a respective time slot within a sequence of time slots of the timer period according to the priority, to perform downloading broadcast/ multicast packet to improve efficiency and allow scheduling information relating to scheduling of the communication reception; performing communication scheduling for which communication reception is in accordance with the grouping; the communication scheduling performed according to one or more of: transmitters with one or more common parameters allocated in simultaneously transmitted data units; grouping processing jobs for data units, of the plurality of received data units to the method of Takeuchi, Usui and Seo as in the instant invention.
The combination would have been obvious because applying the scheduling method using schedule based on the priority of transmission and topology of transceivers to the scheduling method of Takeuchi, Usui and Seo to yield expected result and improvement in efficiency.
Takeuchi, Usui, Seo and Guo, in combination, do not specifically teach grouping processing jobs with respective expected processing times that fall within a processing time range.
Necas, however, teaches grouping processing jobs with respective expected processing times that fall within a processing time range ([0038] tasks that can be completed in a particular time period e.g. N millisecond /seconds, N-M seconds range of execution times to perform tasks associated with execution times within the range of execution time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of Takeuchi, Usui, Seo and Guo with the teachings of Necas of tasks with execution time within the range of execution time to improve efficiency and allow grouping processing jobs with respective expected processing times that fall within a processing time range to the method of Takeuchi, Usui, Seo and Guo as in the instant invention.
The combination would have been obvious because applying the known method of determining the tasks with execution time within the range of execution times as taught by Necas to the teachings of Takeuchi, Usui, Seo and Guo to yield expected result and improved efficiency.
As per claim 3, Takeuchi teaches method further comprises wherein grouping the processing job ([0011]) groups the plurality of jobs according to the attribute information).
Usui teaches remaining claim elements of receiving content of each of the data units, of the plurality of received data units ([0105] input data, stored, transmission buffer [0062] data segments [0063] storage area, hold, data segment ).
Seo teaches remaining claim elements of receiving content from a radio processing device associated with the communication network ([0011] UE, transceiver, receiving radio signal, processor [0062] data, transmitted from network to UE [0278] signal processing, receiving / transmitting, through antenna ports [0064] channel, subcarriers [0011] transceiver, transmitting, radio signal [0049] BS 20, communicates, eNB [0048] wireless communication system [0107] serving cell [0109] network, UE, connection to current serving cell fig. 1 10 20); and
wherein grouping comprises one or more of:
grouping processing jobs so that processing jobs for data unit, of the plurality of received data units, relating to different reception antennas are allowed to belong to the same group ([0105] beams belonging to different antenna panels, simultaneously transmitted within one symbol, all beam in beam group ); and
grouping processing jobs soi that processing jobs for data units, of the plurality of received data units, relating to transmitters with the same, or over-lapping, communication resource allocation are allowed to belong to the same group ([0150] group 1 RMSI, OSI, and paging; group 2 RAR, DCI format and USS).
As per claim 9, Takeuchi teaches wherein the processing jobs of each group are organized in an execution graph ([0011] job-execution-schedule, transition relationship between first and second job fig. 8 job flow of grouped jobs [0121] currently running jobs, job position, within overall flow [0122] each job distance from the first job [0123] fig. 12 relationships between job flow, job flow partitioned according distance from the first job), wherein a node of the execution graph represents one or more processing jobs of the group ([0123] fig. 12 relationships between job flow, job flow partitioned according distance from the first job; each distance representing jobs in the same execution interval; fig. 8), and wherein launching processing of the processing jobs of the group comprises initiating execution of one or more initial nodes of the execution graph using the single execution call ([0122] first job, executed first in the job flow [0119] job flow of the grouped job).
Usui teaches remaining claim elements of using the single execution call ([0082] management node, receives, instruction for execution of a job from user, arranges program executed).
As per claim 10, Usui teaches wherein each of the processing jobs relates to one or more of:
an input scaling operation, a fast Fourier transform (FFT) operation ([0010] FFT operation), a channel estimation operation, an equalization operation, a demodulation operation, a de-scrambling operation, a de-rate matching operation, a channel decoding operation, a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) operation, a processing result read-out operation ([0053] operation result obtained [0138] result received, all-to-all communication), and an end-of-execution operation ([0177] ends the present processing [0296] ).
As per claim 12, Takeuchi teaches wherein at least one of the one or more groups comprises two or more processing jobs (fig. 7 group name, job in group e.g. GrpA-1: Brach A-1, Brach A-2, Brach A-3, Brach A-4, Brach A-5).
Claim 13 recites a non-transitory computer storage medium storing a computer program comprising program instructions, the computer program being loadable into a data processing unit and configured to cause execution of a method for elements similar to claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected for the same rationale.
Claim 14 recites an apparatus for elements similar to claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected for the same rationale.
Claim 16 recites the apparatus for elements similar to claim 3. Therefore, it is rejected for same rationale.
Claim 22 recites the apparatus for elements similar to claim 9. Therefore, it is rejected for same rationale.
Claim 23 recites the apparatus for elements similar to claim 10. Therefore, it is rejected for same rationale.
Claim 25 recites the apparatus for elements similar to claim 12. Therefore, it is rejected for same rationale.
As per claim 26, Usui teaches apparatus further comprising the parallel processing device ([0051] parallel computer, processing, parallel manner).
Examiners Note
Applicant is further reminded of that the cited paragraphs and in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant(s) and although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider all of the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Examiner suggests removing “one or more of” limitations from independent claims as possible allowable subject matter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In Applicant’s response filed on 12/22/2025, Applicant argues the following:
Applicant respectfully submits that Takeuchi completely fails to disclose or suggest at least “grouping processing jobs with respective expected processing times that fall within a processing time range are allowed to belong to a same group” as recited in amended independent claims 1, 13 and 14.
Takeuchi states that the jobs to be executed on a same scheduled activation date are grouped in batched. However, the time/day at which the jobs are processed is not the same as the processing time of the jobs, i.e. the amount of time the job to be processed, which is what is recited in the amended independent claims.
Further, with regard to the feature “Each of the data units of the plurality of received data units relating to one or more of: a carrier, a baseband port, a reception antenna, and a transmitted of the data unit, the transmitter being associated with a cell unit of the communication network” as variously related in amended independent claims. Applicant respectfully submits that the cited portion of Guo does not relate to the field of parallel processing of groups of jobs and suggest nothing with regard to the claimed arrangement which are directed toward parallel processing.
Examiner has thoroughly considered Applicant’s arguments, but respectfully, find them unpersuasive for at least the following reasons:
With respect to point a: Examiner respectfully disagree. Takeuchi teaches groups the plurality of jobs into a plurality of groups according to the attribute information by using the classification information ([0011]), which at least teach grouping job according to the attribute and classification of jobs. Takeuchi further teaches execution time period of a job of the plurality of job groups ([0292] fig.17), which is one of the attribute of the job. therefore, Takeuchi teaches the execution time period of grouped job fall within the specific time range. In addition, Takeuchi teaches execution interval for a group of jobs as illustrated in table 74 of fig. 28 e.g. group 1 has jobs 1, 5, 8, 11, 13 and have execution interval of 0-5 i.e. these jobs i.e. 1, 5, 8, 11 and 13 has execution time that falls within the interval of 0-5 ([0192], fig. 28). Therefore, group 1 has jobs that are processed during the execution interval 0 to 5 irrespective of when these jobs are scheduled, they are expected to start and finish within the execution interval. Further, the argument is moot in view of new grounds of rejections.
With respect to point b: Same as with respect to point a. above.
With respect to point c: Examiner respectfully disagree. Guo clearly teaches concurrent processing e.g. transmission of packets ([0001] [0007] [0140]), which is directed to parallel processing of packets and is similar to the idea of parallel processing of jobs, where jobs are directed to data processing.
Conclusion
Authorization for Internet Communication
Applicant is encouraged to submit an authorization to communicate with the Examiner via the internet by making the following statement (MPEP 502.03)
“Recognizing that internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.”
Please note that the above statement can only by submitted via Central Fax (not Examiner’s Fax), Regular postal mail, or EFS Web using PTO/SB/439.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ABU ZAR GHAFFARI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2195
/ABU ZAR GHAFFARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195