DETAILED ACTION
The claims filed 7/8/2026 are under consideration.
The amendments and arguments presented in the papers filed 7/8/2026 ("Remarks”) have been thoroughly considered. The issues raised in the Office action dated 1/8/2026 listed below have been reconsidered as indicated.
a) The amendments to the specification acknowledging trade name or mark usage are acknowledged.
b) The rejections of claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-11, 13-15, 19-22, 24, 46, 50-51, 54, 57 and 91 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, are withdrawn.
c) The rejections of claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9-11, 13-15 and 46 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wei (WO 2018/081193 A1) are withdrawn.
d) The rejections of claim(s) 19-21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (WO 2018/081193 A1) are withdrawn.
e) The rejections of claim(s) 22, 24 and 91 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (WO 2018/081193 A1) in view of Mirkin 1 (US 2016/0053260 A1) are withdrawn.
f) The rejections of claim(s) 50, 51, 54 and 57 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (WO 2018/081193 A1) in view of Mirkin 2 (US 2017/0232109 A1) are withdrawn.
The Examiner’s responses to the Remarks regarding issues not listed above are detailed below in this Office action.
New grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment are detailed below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant elected with traverse Group I, claims 1-7, 9-11, 13-15, 19-22, 24, 46, 50-51, 54, 57 and 91 in the reply filed on 11/13/2025.
Claims 29-31, 32-33, 35, 66 and 69 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 11/13/2025.
The election of species requirement of 6/13/2025 has been withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification or the citation of references throughout the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892 or on a submitted IDS, they have not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, 19, 20, 21, 46 and 51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pang (Biosensors and Bioelectronics. 2015. 66:527-532).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 4, 10 and 46, Pang teaches contacting a target “analyte” with a “spherical nucleic acid” comprising a “metallic” Ag@SiO2 “nanoparticle core” and an aptamer “oligonucleotide” attached to it. Binding the target “analyte”, e.g. the influenza protein rHA, to the aptamer leads to the “detectable marker” TO (thiazole
orange) being “situated at an internal location” within the aptamer structure. See Scheme 1, which is reproduced below:
TO is a marker with “internal rotation-dependent fluorescence” encompassed by the claim in view of the instant specification. The binding leads to “restriction of internal rotation of the marker” and fluorescence release, leading to a “detectable change” as an increase in the amount of fluorescence, allowing one to detect the target “analyte”.
Regarding claim 2, Pang teaches a plurality of the aptamer is attached to the “nanoparticle core”.
Regarding claim 7, TO is a “viscosity-sensitive marker” encompassed by the claim in view of the instant specification.
Regarding claim 9, Pang demonstrates the amount of fluorescence change detected is proportional to the concentration of the target “analyte” (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, the claim limits the scope of the “ion” option of claim 10. The claim does not require the analyte to be an ion. The claim broadly encompasses a protein analyte and is rejected for the same reason as claim 10 above.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, the claims limit the scope of the ion option of claim 10. The claim does not require the analyte to be an ion. The claim broadly encompasses a protein analyte and is rejected for the same reason as claim 10 above.
Regarding claim 15, Pang teaches the aptamer is DNA (p. 529, 3.1. Characterization of the Ag@SiO2 NPs and the sensing principle verification).
Regarding claims 19, 20 and 21, Pang teaches within the aptamer/target complex the TO is “situated” at a position that is at least 1 nucleotide internal relative to the terminus of the aptamer (Scheme 1).
Regarding claim 51, Pang teaches the aptamer binds the target “analyte” as described above, leading the detectable change of blocking other molecules from binding to the target “analyte”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22, 24 and 91 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pang (Biosensors and Bioelectronics. 2015. 66:527-532) in view of Mirkin 1 (US 2016/0053260 A1; previously cited).
Regarding claim 22, 24 and 91, Pang teaches the elements of claims 1 above in the 102 rejections as required by claims 22, 24 and 91.
Pang does not teach the additional elements specific to claims 22, 24 and 91.
However, Mirkin 1 teaches other uses of structures of Pang includes nucleic acids to inhibit gene products (para. 8 and 20) and immune modulation (para. 20). Further, it is known that single stranded nucleic acids are immune system stimulatory. Both nucleic acids inhibiting gene products and nucleic acids for immune modulation are broadly encompassed by a “therapeutic agent”.
It would have been prima facie obvious to have modified the method of Pang by including additional nucleic acids on the nanoparticle that inhibit gene products and/or that are immune system stimulatory in the context of or related to cortisol levels.
Claim(s) 50, 54 and 57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pang (Biosensors and Bioelectronics. 2015. 66:527-532) in view of Mirkin 2 (US 2017/0232109 A1).
Regarding claims 50, 54 and 57, Pang teaches the elements of claims 1 and 46 above in the 102 rejections as required by claims 50, 54 and 57.
Pang does not teach the additional elements specific to claims 50, 54 and 57.
However, Mirkin 2 teaches that nanoparticle “cores” for attaching nucleic acids were known, including those made of proteins and gold-protein complexes (para. 70). Mirkin 2 further teaches the proteins are catalytically active (para. 70 and 216), the formation of a product of the reaction is an additional detectable change. Mirkin further teaches contacting an additional target with an agent, such as 5-bromo-4-chloro-3-indolyl-β-D-galactopyranoside (X-gal) (para. 235).
It would have been prima facie obvious at the time of invention to have modified the method of Pang by substituting for the use of the “cores” taught by Mirkin 2. One would have been motivated to make such modifications as it allows one to further investigate additional analytes in the context of or related to cortisol levels.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, 19-21, 46 and 51 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-11, 22-23 and 26 (7/20/2026) of copending Application No. 17/621,088 in view of Pang (Biosensors and Bioelectronics. 2015. 66:527-532).
The claim sets are drawn to substantially similar subject matter and differ in the present claims require a nanoparticle core to which the oligonucleotide is attached.
However, this design feature was known as demonstrated by Pang as described above. It would have been prima facie obvious to have added the nanoparticle core of Pang in order to enhance fluorescent signals.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 22, 24 and 91 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-11, 22-23 and 26 (7/20/2026) of copending Application No. 17/621,088 in view of Pang (Biosensors and Bioelectronics. 2015. 66:527-532) and in further view of Mirkin 1 (US 2016/0053260 A1; previously cited).
The claim sets are drawn to substantially similar subject matter and differ in the present claims require the elements of claims 22, 24 and 91.
However, this design feature was known as demonstrated by Mirkin 1 as described above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 50, 54 and 57 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-11, 22-23 and 26 (7/20/2026) of copending Application No. 17/621,088 in view of Pang (Biosensors and Bioelectronics. 2015. 66:527-532) and in further view of Mirkin 2 (US 2017/0232109 A1).
The claim sets are drawn to substantially similar subject matter and differ in the present claims require the elements of claims 50, 54 and 57.
However, this design feature was known as demonstrated by Mirkin 2 as described above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
The following references are made of record but have not been relied upon in the above rejections:
Dembska (Anal Methods. 2017. 9:6092);
Huang (Chem Commun. 2014. 50:15768);
Sharma (Chem Commun. 2007. 43(5):477-479);
Ebrahimi (J Am Chem Soc. 2019. 141:13744-13748; cited on a 4/26/2024 IDS);
Hovelmann (Chem Sci. 2016. 7:128; cited on a 4/26/2024 IDS);
Hovelmann (ChemBioChem. 2012. 13:2072-2081; cited on a 4/26/2024 IDS);
Hovelmann (J Am Chem Soc. 2013. 135:19025-19032; cited on a 4/26/2024 IDS); and
Pang (Scientific Reports. 2015. 5:9451).
-
-
-
/JOSEPH G. DAUNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682