DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 13-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sutton (US Pat Num 2015/0087787) in view of Lui et al (Pub Num 2017/0169920, herein referred to as Liu). Sutton discloses a polymeric blend of polypropylene homopolymer and propylene-α-olefin interpolymer for coating wires and cables (abstract), while having sufficient dielectric strength (Paragraph 6). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Sutton discloses an electrical cable that may comprising at least one elongated electrically conductive element, and at least one semiconductive layer surrounding said elongated electrically conductive element (Paragraph 46), wherein the semiconductive layer is obtained from a polymer composition comprising at least one homophasic propylene polymer, and at least one homophasic copolymer of a C3-C6 olefin and ethylene (Paragraph 15), wherein the polymer composition comprises at least one conductive filler (i.e. Paragraph 87, HFDK-0587 BK semiconducting materials from Dow). With respect to claim 3, Sutton discloses that the homophasic propylene polymer is a copolymer of propylene and ethylene (Paragraph 22). With respect to claim 4, Sutton discloses that the polymer composition comprises at least 20% by weight of the homophasic propylene polymer, relative to the total weight of the polymer composition (Paragraph 27). With respect to claim 5, Sutton discloses that the polymer composition comprises at most 80% by weight of the homophasic propylene polymer, relative to the total weight of the polymer composition (Paragraph 17). With respect to claim 6, Sutton discloses the homophasic copolymer of a C3-C6 olefin and ethylene is a homophasic copolymer of propylene and ethylene (Paragraph 22). With respect to claim 7, Sutton discloses that the polymer composition comprises at least 10% by weight of the homophasic copolymer of a C3-C6 olefin and ethylene relative to the total weight of the polymer composition (Paragraph 27). With respect to claim 8, Sutton discloses that the polymer composition comprises at most 50% by weight of the polymer of the homophasic copolymer of a C3-C6 olefin and ethylene, relative to the total weight of the polymer composition (Paragraph 27). With respect to claim 9, Sutton discloses that the homophasic copolymer of a C3-C6 olefin and ethylene is obtained by a copolymerization process using a metallocene catalyst (Paragraph 16). With respect to claim 10, Sutton discloses that the polymer composition comprises at most 50% by weight of the polymer of the homophasic copolymer of a C3-C6 olefin and ethylene, relative to the total weight of the polymer composition (Paragraph 27). With respect to claim 11, Sutton discloses that the polymeric composition, wherein the ethylene of the homophasic copolymer of a C3-C6 olefin and ethylene represents at most 15 mol% relative to the total number of moles of homophasic copolymer of a C3-C6 olefin and ethylene (Paragraph 23). With respect to claim 13, Sutton discloses that the semiconductive layer may be non-crosslinked layer (Paragraph 45). With respect to claims 14-15, Sutton discloses that the electric cable may also comprise an electrically insulating layer surrounding the elongated electrically conductive element and the electrically insulating layer surrounding a semiconductive layer (Paragraph 46). With respect to claim 18, Sutton discloses an electrical cable comprising at least one elongated electrically conductive element, and at least one semiconductive layer surrounding said elongated electrically conductive element (Paragraph 46), wherein the semiconductive layer is obtained from a polymer composition comprising at least one homophasic propylene polymer, and at least one homophasic copolymer of a C3-C6 olefin and ethylene (Paragraph 15), wherein the polymer composition comprises at least one conductive filler (i.e. Paragraph 87, HFDK-0587 BK semiconducting materials from Dow).
However, Sutton doesn’t necessarily disclose the at least one filler being a carbon based electrically conductive filler other than acetylene or furnace blacks (claim 1), the polymer composition comprises at least 6% by weight of conductive filler, relative to the total weight of the polymer composition (claim 2), nor the semiconductive layer being in direct contact with the elongated electrically conductive element (claim 17), nor the conductive filler being furnace black and having a smooth surface (claim 18).
Lui teaches an electrical cable (Fig 1) comprising a semiconducting layer made of a polymeric composition that exhibits increased thermal conductance while still providing desired electrical, physical, and mechanical properties (Paragraph 3). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Lui teaches an electrical cable (Fig 1) comprising at least one elongated electrically conductive element (1), and at least one semiconductive layer (2) surrounding said elongated electrically conductive element (11), wherein the semiconductive layer (2) is obtained from a polymer composition comprising at least at least one homophasic copolymer of a C3-C6 olefin and ethylene (Paragraph 10-12), wherein the polymer composition comprises at least one conductive filler being a carbon based electrically conductive filler other than acetylene or furnace blacks, such as channel carbon black, thermal carbon black, lamp carbon black, and graphitized carbon black (Paragraph 16). With respect to claim 2, Lui teaches that the polymeric composition comprises at least 6% by weight of electrical filler (i.e. 10-30%,) relative to the total weight of the polymer composition (Paragraph 4). With respect to claim 17, Lui teaches that the semiconductive layer (2) is in direct physical contact with the elongated electrically conductive element (1, Fig 1). With respect to claim 18, Lui teaches an electrical cable (Fig 1) comprising at least one elongated electrically conductive element (1), and at least one semiconductive layer (2) surrounding said elongated electrically conductive element (11), wherein the semiconductive layer (2) is obtained from a polymer composition comprising at least at least one homophasic copolymer of a C3-C6 olefin and ethylene (Paragraph 10-12), wherein the polymer composition comprises at least one conductive filler being made of furnace black (Paragraph 16), wherein the cable (Fig 1) has a smooth surface.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the electric cable of Sutton to comprise the conductive filler material composition as taught by Lui because Lui teaches that such a configuration provides an electrical cable (Fig 1) comprising a semiconducting layer made of a polymeric composition that exhibits increased thermal conductance while still providing desired electrical, physical, and mechanical properties (Paragraph 3).
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sutton (US Pat Num 2015/0087787) in view of Lui (Pub Num 2017/0169920), as applied to claim 1 above (herein referred to as modified Sutton), further in view of Bareggi et al (WO Pat Num 2018/100409 A, herein referred to as Bareggi). Modified Sutton discloses a polymeric blend of polypropylene homopolymer and propylene-α-olefin interpolymer for coating wires and cables (abstract), while having sufficient dielectric strength (Paragraph 6), as disclosed above with respect to claim 1.
However, modified Sutton doesn’t necessarily disclose polymer composition also comprising a dielectric fluid (claim 12).
Bareggi teaches an electrical cable (Fig 1) comprising a polymeric composition that favorably influences the electrical behavior at high voltages of insulating systems (Page 3, lines 26-29), wherein the additional of dielectric fluid may reduce the risk of formation of morphological defects (Page 3, lines 16-18). Specifically, with respect to claim 12, Bareggi teaches an electrical cable (10) comprising at least one elongated electrically conductive element (11), and at least one semiconductive layer (12) surrounding and in physical contact with said elongated electrically conductive element (11), wherein the semiconductive layer (11) may be obtained from a polymer composition comprising at least one propylene polymer, and at least one copolymer of a C3-C6 olefin and ethylene (Pages 3-4, lines 30-33 & 1-4, respectively), wherein the polymer composition may also comprising a dielectric fluid (Page 6, lines 11-19).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the electric cable of Sutton to comprise the polymeric composition additions configuration as taught by Bareggi because Bareggi teaches that such a configuration provides an electrical cable (Fig 1) comprising a polymeric composition that favorably influences the electrical behavior at high voltages of insulating systems (Page 3, lines 26-29), wherein the additional of dielectric fluid may reduce the risk of formation of morphological defects (Page 3, lines 16-18).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 and 17-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent art in the present case, both of which disclose cables comprising semiconductive layers utilizing other carbon blacks other than acetylene or furnace blacks.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/William H. Mayo III/
William H. Mayo III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
WHM III
November 4, 2025