Detailed Action
2. This office action is in response to the filing with the office dated 01/27/2026.
Application Priority
3. This application is a 371 National Stage entry PCT/KR2021/002605 filed on 03/03/2021 which claims priority to Korean patent application KR-10-2020-0027750 filed on 03/05/2020 (access code provided on page 4 of the ADS) as per Application datasheet filed with the office on 09/06/2022 and Filing receipt dated 09/17/2025.
Reply to Applicant’s arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments filed with the office on 01/27/2026 were fully considered and found to be non-persuasive. Applicant’s arguments are directed towards amended claim limitations. Please see the rejection below for Claims 1, 3, and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (US 2019/0011386 A1) and in view of Kim et al (US 20210305805 A1), Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (US 2019/0011386 A1), Kim et al (US 2021/0305805 A1) and in further view of Park et al (US 2019/0302047 A1), and Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (US 20190302047 A1) and in view of Kim et al (US 2021/0305805 A1).
Regarding applicant’s arguments regarding first and second currents, please see teachings of Park et al (US 2019/0011386 A1) ([0074] As in at least one example embodiment described above, the CCIC may change levels of various voltages and currents using a power adjustment operation according to the operation mode thereof. As an example, a level of the first current may be different from that of the second current, and a level of the first reference voltage may be different from that of the second reference voltage).
Park et al [2019/0302047 A1] also teaches, ([0039] The power controller 120 may perform a power control operation for the water detection operation. As an example, a current having a certain level may be applied to the first pin in order to detect water, and the power controller 120 may adjust the level of the current applied to the first pin; [0107] In addition, a current provided in the pull-up operation may have various levels according to the capability of a current source).
Applicant's amendment and arguments which were not persuasive necessitated the ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
5. Claims 1, 3, and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (US 2019/0011386 A1) and in view of Kim et al (US 20210305805 A1)
Regarding independent claim 1, Park et al (US 2019/0011386 A1) teaches, An apparatus (element 100, figures 1-5, 10-14) for detecting a foreign substance or a device on a connector (element 110/210, figures 1-5, 10-13) including at least a first pin (paragraphs [0030], figures 1-5, 10-13), wherein the apparatus comprises: a current source, wherein the current source
supplies detection currents to the at least first pin of the connector (paragraph [0058]-[0060]), wherein the detection currents are set at different levels (paragraphs [0072]-[0074], [0086]); a detection circuit, wherein the detection circuit detects a voltage on the first pin (paragraph [0058]-[0060], [0072]-[0074]); and a detection controller, wherein the detection controller
controls the different levels of the detection currents supplied to the first pin and supply time points (paragraphs [0058]-[0060], [0072]-[0074], [0088], [0094], [0095]), and wherein the detection controller detects the foreign substance or the device attached to the connector by measuring the input voltage on the first pin from the detection circuit (paragraphs [0058]-[0060], [0072]-[0074], [0088], [0094], [0095]).
Examiner Note: The recitation “An apparatus for detecting a foreign substance or a device on a connector” requires only one of either a foreign substance or a device on a connector.
Park et al (US 2019/0011386 A1) further teaches, wherein the detection circuit first measures both of a second voltage (Vs2) on the first pin for a second current (12) and a third voltage (Vs3)on the first pin for a third current (13) through, sequentially supplies the second current (12) and the third current (I3) to the first pin through the current source via the connection state determination subroutine (paragraphs [0088]-[0092]); wherein the detection controller determines whether or not a substance attached to the first pin is a resistance component based on both of a ratio of the second current (I2) to the third current (I3) and a ratio of the second voltage (Vs2) to the third voltage (Vs3) (paragraphs [0088]-[0092]);
Park et al (US 2019/0011386 A1) also teaches ([0074] As in at least one example embodiment described above, the CCIC may change levels of various voltages and currents using a power adjustment operation according to the operation mode thereof. As an example, a level of the first current may be different from that of the second current, and a level of the first reference voltage may be different from that of the second reference voltage).
Park et al (US 2019/0011386 A1) is silent about the detection controller starts a rated device determination subroutine, when the substance is the resistance component, a rated device is connected to the first pin, and when the substance is not the resistance component, the rated device is not connected to the first pin.
Kim et al (US 20210305805 A1) teaches, ([0063] Referring to FIG. 4, the electronic device (e.g., the electronic device 101 of FIG. 1) may include a processor (e.g., the processor 120 of FIG. 1), an interface (e.g., the interface 177 of FIG. 1), a power management module (e.g., the power management module 188 of FIG. 1), and a battery (e.g., the battery 189 of FIG. 1). According to an embodiment, the interface 177 may include the connecting terminal 178 of FIG. 1. According to an embodiment, the interface 177 may include a USB Type-C connecting terminal corresponding to the USB Type-C standard, and the electronic device 101 may be connected with an external electronic device 410 (e.g., a charging device) through a USB Type-C connector. The external electronic device 410 may include a connector (e.g., the connector 320 of FIG. 3A) corresponding to the USB Type-C standard to be coupled to the interface 177 corresponding to the USB Type-C standard. According to an embodiment, the processor 120 of the electronic device 101 may identify the type of the connected external electronic device 410 through a CC1 terminal 401 and a CC2 terminal 402 provided in the interface 177. For example, the processor 120 may measure a voltage value and a resistance value corresponding to the external electronic device 410 through the CC1 terminal 401 and the CC2 terminal 402 and may identify the type of the external electronic device 410 (e.g., a data providing device or a power supply device (charging device)) based on the measured voltage value and resistance value. [0065] For example, the processor 120 may apply an electric current (e.g., an RP current source) corresponding to the CC1 terminal 401 and the CC2 terminal 402 (hereinafter, the CC1 terminal 401 and the CC2 terminal 402 may be referred to as a CC terminal 401 and 402) and may detect the state of the CC terminal 401 and 402 based on the applied electric current. For example, the processor 120 may identify whether the external electronic device 410 is connected or the type of the connected external electronic device 410 based on the CC terminal 401 and 402. According to an embodiment, when there is moisture in the CC terminal 401 and 402, the processor 120 may measure a resistance value corresponding to the moisture based on the CC terminal 401 and 402 and may detect whether there is the moisture in the CC terminal 401 and 402 based on the measured resistance value. Also see paragraph [0068]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Park et al (US 2019/0011386 A1) by providing for identify the type of the external electronic device as taught by Kim et al (US 20210305805 A1) (paragraphs [0063], [0065] and [0068]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to detect moisture or the type of the external electronic device connected through the connector based on a voltage value or a resistance value corresponding to the electrical signal, as taught by Kim et al (paragraph [0060], [0063], [0065]).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Park et al (US 2019/0011386 A1) and Kim et al (US 2021/0305805 A1) teach the apparatus of claim 1.
Park et al (US 2019/0011386 A1) further teaches, wherein when a first current (Ii) is supplied to the first pin, the first pin carries a first voltage (Vst), if the first voltage (Vsi) is smaller than a second threshold value, the detection controller starts a connection state determination subroutine (paragraphs [0057]-[0059], In addition, the CCIC 230 may detect a voltage by applying a current to the CC1 and CC2 pins A5 and B5 in the water detection mode, and may detect water by comparing this voltage with a certain reference voltage (for example, a second reference voltage, a second desired reference voltage, a second threshold voltage, etc.). the CCIC 230 may apply a voltage at a relatively lower level to the CC1 and CC2 pins A5 and B5 in the water detection mode than in the normal mode. In addition, the reference voltage set in the water detection mode may have a different level from the first reference voltage set in the normal mode, and as an example, the second reference voltage may have a higher level than the first reference voltage. The resistance of the CC1 and CC2 pins A5 and B5 may vary with the inflow/presence or not of water and the kind of inflowing water/liquid/substance (for example, salt water, fresh water, other substance, etc.), and the CCIC 230 may detect the resistance such that the resistance is classified into a plurality of classes, thereby determining the inflow or not of water and the kind of inflowing water [0059]). the CCIC may change levels of various voltages and currents using a power adjustment operation according to the operation mode thereof. As an example, a level of the first current may be different from that of the second current, and a level of the first reference voltage may be different from that of the second reference voltage [0074]. Park further teaches, the resistance may be checked periodically and/or non-periodically (e.g., a plurality of times, such as, 10 times, and the voltage may be checked on these occasions as well. When it is determined that the resistance corresponds to water during this process, for reexamination using the CC pins, the mode of the CCIC may be set as the water detection mode (CC check), and the CC pins may be set to be for water detection [0088], also see figs. 9 and 14, paragraphs [0072]-[0074], [0088], [0094]-[0096], [0102]).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Park et al (US 2019/0011386 A1) and Kim et al (US 2021/0305805 A1) teach the apparatus of claim 1.
Park et al (US 2019/0011386 A1) further teaches, wherein the detection controller supplies a fourth current (I4) to the first pin through the current source, wherein the detection controller measures, through the detection circuit, a fourth-first voltage (Vs4-1) on the first pin at a first time point after supplying the fourth current (14) and a fourth-second voltage (Vs4-2) of the first pin at a second time point, after supplying the fourth current (I4) figs. 9 and 14, paragraphs [0072]-[0074], [0088], [0094]-[0096], [0102]; and wherein the detection controller determines whether or not a rated device is connected based on a magnitude of a resistance component calculated using the fourth current (I4) and the fourth-second voltage (Vs4-2) and a difference between the fourth-first voltage (Vs41) and the fourth-second voltage (Vs4-2) (the CCIC may change levels of various voltages and currents using a power adjustment operation according to the operation mode thereof. As an example, a level of the first current may be different from that of the second current, and a level of the first reference voltage may be different from that of the second reference voltage [0074]. Park further teaches, the resistance may be checked periodically and/or non-periodically (e.g., a plurality of times, such as, 10 times, and the voltage may be checked on these occasions as well. When it is determined that the resistance corresponds to water during this process, for reexamination using the CC pins, the mode of the CCIC may be set as the water detection mode (CC check), and the CC pins may be set to be for water detection [0088], also see figs. 9 and 14, paragraphs [0072]-[0074], [0088], [0094]-[0096], [0102]).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Park et al (US 2019/0011386 A1) and Kim et al (US 2021/0305805 A1) teach the apparatus of claim 1.
Park et al (US 2019/0011386 A1) further teaches, wherein the detection controller determines that the rated device is connected to the first pin when the magnitude of the resistance component calculated using the fourth current (I4) and the fourth-second voltage (Vs4-2) belongs to a resistance magnitude region of the rated device and a value obtained by subtracting the fourth-first voltage (Vs4-1) from the fourth-second voltage (Vs4-2) is not greater than a fourth threshold value ([0058] The CCIC 230 may detect the resistance from the CC1 and CC2 pins A5 and B5 in the normal mode, thereby recognizing a cable and/or setting a role of a host and/or slave device. As an example, the CCIC 230 may detect a voltage by applying a current to the CC1 and CC2 pins A5 and B5, and may perform the recognition and setting operations set forth above by comparing a certain reference voltage (for example, a first reference voltage, a first desired reference voltage, a first threshold voltage, etc.) with a voltage having a changed level according to a change in the resistance of the CC1 and CC2 pins A5 and B5. [0088] the resistance may be checked periodically and/or non-periodically (e.g., a plurality of times, such as, 10 times, and the voltage may be checked on these occasions as well. When it is determined that the resistance corresponds to water during this process, for reexamination using the CC pins, the mode of the CCIC may be set as the water detection mode (CC check), and the CC pins may be set to be for water detection. [0092] Similar to the case where a water detection request is received, even when the CCIC receives a dryness detection request (Dry check) from the MUIC, currents provided to the CC pins and reference voltages may also be set. As an example, after receiving the dryness detection request from the MUIC, the CCIC may apply about 1 μA, as a current source (Rp Src), to the CC pins. Since water has resistance, a voltage may be detected by V=Resistance*1 μA by using the corresponding resistance, and the CCIC determines whether a class of the resistance corresponds to Rp or Rd, by classifying the resistance by an Rp/Rd critical value that is set. The class of the resistance may be represented by, e.g., Rp, Rd, or Ra, and as an example, when the voltage is greater than 2.75 V, the class of the resistance is represented by Rp. When the class of the resistance is finally detected as Rp, the CCIC may determine that water is dried, and may provide a result of detecting the drying of water to the MUIC or to another component (for example, an AP) in the system (figs. 9, 14, paragraphs [0088], [0094]-[0096], [0102]).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Park et al (US 2019/0011386 A1) and Kim et al (US 2021/0305805 A1) teach the apparatus of claim 1.
Park et al (US 2019/0011386 A1) further teaches, wherein the detection controller cuts off a current supplied to the first pin through the current source, detects a first cut-off voltage (VsTP-I)on the first pin at a first cut-off time point and a second cut-off voltage (VsTP-2)on the first pin at a second cut-off time point through the detection circuit (figure 14 and its description in paragraphs [0088], [0094]-[0096]), determines that the foreign substance other than moisture is attached to the first pin when the second cut-off voltage (VsTP-2) is not greater than a fifth threshold value, and determines that the moisture is attached to the first pin when a difference between the first cut-off voltage (VsTP-i) and the second cut-off voltage (VSTP-a)is greater than a sixth threshold value ([0059] In addition, the CCIC 230 may detect a voltage by applying a current to the CC1 and CC2 pins A5 and B5 in the water detection mode, and may detect water by comparing this voltage with a certain reference voltage (for example, a second reference voltage, a second desired reference voltage, a second threshold voltage, etc.). According to at least one example embodiment, the CCIC 230 may apply a voltage at a relatively lower level to the CC1 and CC2 pins A5 and B5 in the water detection mode than in the normal mode. In addition, the reference voltage set in the water detection mode may have a different level from the first reference voltage set in the normal mode, and as an example, the second reference voltage may have a higher level than the first reference voltage. The resistance of the CC1 and CC2 pins A5 and B5 may vary with the inflow/presence or not of water and the kind of inflowing water/liquid/substance (for example, salt water, fresh water, other substance, etc.), and the CCIC 230 may detect the resistance such that the resistance is classified into a plurality of classes, thereby determining the inflow or not of water and the kind of inflowing water. [0088] the resistance may be checked periodically and/or non-periodically (e.g., a plurality of times, such as, 10 times, and the voltage may be checked on these occasions as well. When it is determined that the resistance corresponds to water during this process, for reexamination using the CC pins, the mode of the CCIC may be set as the water detection mode (CC check), and the CC pins may be set to be for water detection. [0092] Similar to the case where a water detection request is received, even when the CCIC receives a dryness detection request (Dry check) from the MUIC, currents provided to the CC pins and reference voltages may also be set. As an example, after receiving the dryness detection request from the MUIC, the CCIC may apply about 1 μA, as a current source (Rp Src), to the CC pins. Since water has resistance, a voltage may be detected by V=Resistance*1 μA by using the corresponding resistance, and the CCIC determines whether a class of the resistance corresponds to Rp or Rd, by classifying the resistance by an Rp/Rd critical value that is set. The class of the resistance may be represented by, e.g., Rp, Rd, or Ra, and as an example, when the voltage is greater than 2.75 V, the class of the resistance is represented by Rp. When the class of the resistance is finally detected as Rp, the CCIC may determine that water is dried, and may provide a result of detecting the drying of water to the MUIC or to another component (for example, an AP) in the system (fig. 14, paragraphs [0094]-[0096], [0102]).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Park et al (US 2019/0011386 A1) and Kim et al (US 2021/0305805 A1) teach the apparatus of claim 1.
Park et al (US 2019/0011386 A1) further teaches the detection controller sequentially supplies a fifth current (IS) and a sixth current (I) to the first pin (paragraphs [0088]-[0092]), detects a fifth voltage (Vss) for the fifth current (Is) and a sixth voltage (Vs6) for the sixth current (I6), calculates a resistance value in each of the fifth current (IS) and the sixth current (I6) (paragraphs [0088]-[0092]).
Park et al further teaches, ([0074] As in at least one example embodiment described above, the CCIC may change levels of various voltages and currents using a power adjustment operation according to the operation mode thereof. As an example, a level of the first current may be different from that of the second current, and a level of the first reference voltage may be different from that of the second reference voltage).
Park et al (US 2019/0011386 A1) fails to teach wherein when it is determined that the substance attached to the first pin is not a rated device and determines that a device in a dead battery state is connected to the first pin when a resistance value for a large current among the fifth current (Is) and the sixth current (I6) is relatively small.
Kim et al (US 2021/0305805 A1) teaches, ([0056] According to various embodiments, the connector 210 may be a connector in accordance with Universal Serial Bus (hereinafter, “USB”) and may be specifically a Type-C connector corresponding to the USB Type-C standard. However, various embodiments of the disclosure are not limited to USB Type-C and may be applied to cable interfaces in accordance with various standards, such as High-Definition Multimedia Interface (HDMI), Recommended Standard 232 (RS-232), Power Line Communication, or Plain Old Telephone Service (POTS), or non-standard cable interfaces. Further, various embodiments of the disclosure may be applied to an interface for transmitting data (e.g., data transmitted through a configuration channel 1 (CC1) pin or a configuration channel 2 (CC2) pin included in the Type-C standard) available to automatically detect which devices are connected between a source (a device that supplies power) and a sink (a device that is supplied with power) or between a downstream facing port (DFP, a device that provides data) and an upstream facing port (UFP, a device that receives data). [0064] According to various embodiments, the external electronic device 410 may include a controller 411 and a protocol controller 412. The controller 411 may at least partially control each component provided in the external electronic device 410. The protocol controller 412 may periodically transmit a set electrical signal. For example, the protocol controller 412 may transmit a set electrical signal under control of the controller 411 or may periodically transmit a set electrical signal without control of the controller 411. According to an embodiment, when the external electronic device 410 is connected to the electronic device 101, the controller 411 of the external electronic device 410 may detect connection with the electronic device 101 through the CC1 terminal 401 and the CC2 terminal 402 connected to the protocol controller 412. According to an embodiment, in response to the connection with the electronic device 101, the controller 411 of the external electronic device 410 may apply a set voltage (e.g., about 5V) to the electronic device 101. The electronic device 101 may be provided with a voltage from the external electronic device 410 through a Vbus terminal 405 provided in the interface 177. The processor 120 may control the power management module 188 to charge the battery 189 based on the provided voltage).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Park et al (US 2019/0011386 A1) by providing for identify the type of the external electronic device as taught by Kim et al (US 20210305805 A1) (paragraphs [0063], [0065] and [0068]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to detect moisture or the type of the external electronic device connected through the connector based on a voltage value or a resistance value corresponding to the electrical signal, as taught by Kim et al (paragraph [0060], [0063], [0065]).
6. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (US 2019/0011386 A1), Kim et al (US 2021/0305805 A1) and in further view of Park et al (US 2019/0302047 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Park et al (US 2019/0011386 A1) and Kim et al (US 2021/0305805 A1) teach the apparatus of claim 1.
Park et al (US 2019/0011386 A1) and Kim et al Kim et al (US 2021/0305805 A1) are silent about wherein the first pin is connected to a pull-down resistor carrying a pull-down voltage (Vs), and wherein when the pull-down voltage (Vs) on the first pin is greater than a first threshold value, the detection controller determines that a power supply device is connected to the first pin.
Park et al (US 2019/0302047 A1) teaches, wherein the first pin is connected to a pull-down resistor carrying a pull-down voltage (Vs) (Figure 14, paragraphs [0114-[0117]), and wherein when the pull-down voltage (Vs) on the first pin is greater than a first threshold value, the detection controller determines that a power supply device is connected to the first pin (Figure 14, paragraphs [0114-[0117], also see paragraphs [0104]-[0105]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Park et al and Kim et al by providing a pull-down resistor for carrying a pull-down voltage as taught by Park et al (US 2019/0302047 A1, Figure 14, paragraphs [0114-[0117], also see paragraphs [0104]-[0105]). Also see figures 16-19 paragraphs [0123]-[0125] [0132]-[0136])
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the level of a voltage detected from the first pin may be changed according to the pull-up/pull-down operation for the first pin, and the water detection circuit may detect the voltage level at least twice from the first pin. For example, even if the same level of pull-up/pull-down voltage is provided to the first pin, the voltage level detected from the first pin may vary depending on whether there is water in the connector, as taught by Park et al (US 2019/0302047 A1) (paragraph [0115]).
7. Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (US 20190302047 A1) and in view of Kim et al (US 2021/0305805 A1).
Regarding independent claim 9, Park et al (US 20190302047 A1) teaches, a method for detecting a foreign substance by an apparatus of detecting the foreign substance or a device connected to a connector (figures 6, 11 and paragraphs [0064]-[0069], [0094]-[0100]) the method comprising: a first step: determining, by a detection controller, if a power supply device is connected to a first pin of the connector, wherein the first pin is connected to a pull-
down resistor carrying a pull-down voltage (Vs) (figure 3, paragraph [0054]-[0056]); a second step: determining if the detection controller enters a connection state determination subroutine, based on a first voltage (Vs ) on the first pin measured after a first current (Ii) is supplied to the first pin (Figure 14, paragraphs [0114-[0117], also
see paragraphs [0104]-[0105]); and a third step: determining if a substance attached to the first pin is a resistance component based on both a second voltage (Vs2) and a third voltage (Vs3) on the first pin measured after a second current (I2) and a third current (I3) that is different from the second current (I2) sequentially are supplied to the first pin in the connection state determination subroutine (figure 6, paragraphs [0064]-[0070]).
Park et al [2019/0302047 A1] teaches, [0039] The power controller 120 may perform a power control operation for the water detection operation. As an example, a current having a certain level may be applied to the first pin in order to detect water, and the power controller 120 may adjust the level of the current applied to the first pin; [0107] In addition, a current provided in the pull-up operation may have various levels according to the capability of a current source).
Park et al (US 2019/0302047 A1) further teaches, observed voltage change due to resistance component and capacitance component of the water that has entered the connector (figures 4, 5, 14 and paragraphs [0043], [0044], [0058], [0060]-[0062],[0104] [0109], [0110],[0116]; ([0094]-[0099] and figure 11 describe the process of detecting water, turning off power, multiple detection cycles).
Park et al (US 2019/0302047 A1) silent about determining if the detection controller should start a rated device determination subroutine, that determines that a rated device is connected to the first pin when the substance is the resistance component, and determines that a rated device is not connected to the first pin when the substance is not the resistance component.
Kim et al (US 2021/0305805 A1) teaches, ([0056] According to various embodiments, the connector 210 may be a connector in accordance with Universal Serial Bus (hereinafter, “USB”) and may be specifically a Type-C connector corresponding to the USB Type-C standard. However, various embodiments of the disclosure are not limited to USB Type-C and may be applied to cable interfaces in accordance with various standards, such as High-Definition Multimedia Interface (HDMI), Recommended Standard 232 (RS-232), Power Line Communication, or Plain Old Telephone Service (POTS), or non-standard cable interfaces. Further, various embodiments of the disclosure may be applied to an interface for transmitting data (e.g., data transmitted through a configuration channel 1 (CC1) pin or a configuration channel 2 (CC2) pin included in the Type-C standard) available to automatically detect which devices are connected between a source (a device that supplies power) and a sink (a device that is supplied with power) or between a downstream facing port (DFP, a device that provides data) and an upstream facing port (UFP, a device that receives data). [0061] The electronic device according to various embodiments may transmit/receive data through the CC1 or CC2 terminal (hereinafter, collectively referred to as a CC pin) to/from the external electronic device connected through the USB Type-C connector. The CC pin may be used to automatically detect which devices are connected between a source (a device that supplies power) and a sink (a device that is supplied with power) or between a DFP (a device that provides data) and a UFP (a device that receives data). [0064] According to various embodiments, the external electronic device 410 may include a controller 411 and a protocol controller 412. The controller 411 may at least partially control each component provided in the external electronic device 410. The protocol controller 412 may periodically transmit a set electrical signal. For example, the protocol controller 412 may transmit a set electrical signal under control of the controller 411 or may periodically transmit a set electrical signal without control of the controller 411. According to an embodiment, when the external electronic device 410 is connected to the electronic device 101, the controller 411 of the external electronic device 410 may detect connection with the electronic device 101 through the CC1 terminal 401 and the CC2 terminal 402 connected to the protocol controller 412. According to an embodiment, in response to the connection with the electronic device 101, the controller 411 of the external electronic device 410 may apply a set voltage (e.g., about 5V) to the electronic device 101. The electronic device 101 may be provided with a voltage from the external electronic device 410 through a Vbus terminal 405 provided in the interface 177. The processor 120 may control the power management module 188 to charge the battery 189 based on the provided voltage).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Park et al by providing for automatically detect which devices are connected between a source (a device that supplies power) and a sink (a device that is supplied with power) or between a downstream facing port (DFP, a device that provides data) and an upstream facing port (UFP, a device that receives data), as taught by Kim et al (paragraphs [0056], [0064]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to automatically detect which devices are connected between a source (a device that supplies power) and a sink and also charge the battery, as taught by Kim et al (paragraphs [0056], [0064]).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Park et al (US 2019/0302047 A1) and Kim et al (US 2021/0305805 A1) teach the method of claim 9.
Park et al (US 2019/0302047 A1) teaches, wherein in the first step, the detection controller determines that the power supply device is connected to the first pin when the pull-down voltage (Vs) is greater than a first threshold value (paragraphs [0038]-[0041]), and wherein the method proceeds to the second step when the pull-down voltage (Vs) of the first pin is not greater than the first threshold value (paragraphs [0038]-[0041]).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Park et al (US 2019/0302047 A1) and Kim et al (US 2021/0305805 A1) teach the method of claim 9.
Park et al (US 2019/0302047 A1) further teaches, wherein the method proceeds from the second step to the third step when the first voltage (Vsi) on the first pin is smaller than a second threshold value (figure 6, paragraphs [0065]-[0069]), and wherein the method returns from the second step to the first step when the first voltage (Vst) is not smaller than the second threshold value (figure 6, paragraphs [0065]-[0069]).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Park et al (US 2019/0302047 A1) and Kim et al (US 2021/0305805 A1) teach the method of claim 9.
Park et al (US 2019/0302047 A1) does not explicitly teach, wherein in the third step, performing the rated device determination subroutine when a difference between a ratio of the second current (I2) to the third current (I3) and a ratio of the second voltage (Vs2) to the third voltage (Vs3) is smaller than a third threshold value, and determining if the device connected to the first pin of the connector is in a dead battery state when the difference between the ratio of the second current (12) to the third current (I3) and the ratio of the second voltage (Vs2) to the third voltage (Vs3) is not smaller than the third threshold value.
However, Park et al (US 2019/0302047 A1) further teaches, (observed voltage change due to resistance component and capacitance component of the water that has entered the connector (figures 4, 5, 14 and paragraphs [0043], [0044], [0058], [0060]-[0062],[0104] [0109], [0110],[0116]); ([0094]-[0099] and figure 11 describe the process of detecting water, turning off power, multiple detection cycles; [0101] FIG. 12 is a block diagram of a water detection circuit 400; [0102] Referring to FIG. 12, the water detection circuit 400 may include a voltage detector 410, a voltage change amount determiner 420, and detection logic 430. The water detection circuit 400 may be connected to at least one (e.g., a first pin) of a plurality of pins included in a connector (not shown) and may generate a detection result Det_W indicating that there is water in a connector, based on a voltage detected from the first pin. As an example, the voltage detector 410 may output a digital code according to a voltage level detected from the first pin, and the detection logic 430 may generate a detection result Det_W indicating that water is detected or not detected, based on the value of the digital code. [0103] As an operation example, the voltage detector 410 may detect a first voltage level from the first pin at a first point in time and may detect a second voltage level from the first pin at a second pint in time after a certain time. The voltage change amount determiner 420 may determine an amount of change in a voltage applied to the first pin, based on a voltage difference between the first voltage level and the second voltage level. For example, a result obtained by dividing the voltage difference between the first voltage level and the second voltage level by a time interval between the first point in time and the second point in time may be determined as an amount of change in the voltage).
Park et al is silent about determining if the device connected to the first pin of the connector is in a dead battery state.
Kim et al (US 2021/0305805 A1) teaches, ([0056] According to various embodiments, the connector 210 may be a connector in accordance with Universal Serial Bus (hereinafter, “USB”) and may be specifically a Type-C connector corresponding to the USB Type-C standard. However, various embodiments of the disclosure are not limited to USB Type-C and may be applied to cable interfaces in accordance with various standards, such as High-Definition Multimedia Interface (HDMI), Recommended Standard 232 (RS-232), Power Line Communication, or Plain Old Telephone Service (POTS), or non-standard cable interfaces. Further, various embodiments of the disclosure may be applied to an interface for transmitting data (e.g., data transmitted through a configuration channel 1 (CC1) pin or a configuration channel 2 (CC2) pin included in the Type-C standard) available to automatically detect which devices are connected between a source (a device that supplies power) and a sink (a device that is supplied with power) or between a downstream facing port (DFP, a device that provides data) and an upstream facing port (UFP, a device that receives data). [0061] The electronic device according to various embodiments may transmit/receive data through the CC1 or CC2 terminal (hereinafter, collectively referred to as a CC pin) to/from the external electronic device connected through the USB Type-C connector. The CC pin may be used to automatically detect which devices are connected between a source (a device that supplies power) and a sink (a device that is supplied with power) or between a DFP (a device that provides data) and a UFP (a device that receives data). [0064] According to various embodiments, the external electronic device 410 may include a controller 411 and a protocol controller 412. The controller 411 may at least partially control each component provided in the external electronic device 410. The protocol controller 412 may periodically transmit a set electrical signal. For example, the protocol controller 412 may transmit a set electrical signal under control of the controller 411 or may periodically transmit a set electrical signal without control of the controller 411. According to an embodiment, when the external electronic device 410 is connected to the electronic device 101, the controller 411 of the external electronic device 410 may detect connection with the electronic device 101 through the CC1 terminal 401 and the CC2 terminal 402 connected to the protocol controller 412. According to an embodiment, in response to the connection with the electronic device 101, the controller 411 of the external electronic device 410 may apply a set voltage (e.g., about 5V) to the electronic device 101. The electronic device 101 may be provided with a voltage from the external electronic device 410 through a Vbus terminal 405 provided in the interface 177. The processor 120 may control the power management module 188 to charge the battery 189 based on the provided voltage).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Park et al by providing for automatically detect which devices are connected between a source (a device that supplies power) and a sink (a device that is supplied with power) or between a downstream facing port (DFP, a device that provides data) and an upstream facing port (UFP, a device that receives data), as taught by Kim et al (paragraphs [0056], [0064]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to automatically detect which devices are connected between a source (a device that supplies power) and a sink and also charge the battery, as taught by Kim et al (paragraphs [0056], [0064]).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Park et al (US 2019/0302047 A1) and Kim et al (US 2021/0305805 A1) teach the method of claim 9.
Park et al (US 2019/0302047 A1) does not explicitly teach, further comprising a fourth step, wherein the fourth step comprises: supplying a fourth current (I4) to the first pin in the rated device determination subroutine, and determining a rated device is connected to the first pin based on a fourth-first voltage (Vs4-r) of the first pin at a first time point after supplying the fourth current (I4) and a fourth second voltage (Vs4-2) of the first pin at a second time point after supplying the fourth current (I4).
However, Park et al (US 2019/0302047 A1) further teaches, observed voltage change due to resistance component and capacitance component of the water that has entered the connector (figures 4, 5, 14 and paragraphs [0043], [0044], [0058], [0060]-[0062],[0104] [0109], [0110],[0116]; ([0094]-[0099] and figure 11 describe the process of detecting water, turning off power, multiple detection cycles; [0101] FIG. 12 is a block diagram of a water detection circuit 400; [0102] Referring to FIG. 12, the water detection circuit 400 may include a voltage detector 410, a voltage change amount determiner 420, and detection logic 430. The water detection circuit 400 may be connected to at least one (e.g., a first pin) of a plurality of pins included in a connector (not shown) and may generate a detection result Det_W indicating that there is water
in a connector, based on a voltage detected from the first pin. As an example, the voltage detector 410 may output a digital code according to a voltage level detected from the first pin, and the detection logic 430 may generate a detection result Det_W indicating that water is detected or not detected, based on the value of the digital code. [0103] As an operation example, the voltage detector 410 may detect a first voltage level from the first pin at a first point in time and may detect a second voltage level from the first pin at a second pint in time after a certain time. The voltage change amount determiner 420 may determine an amount of change in a voltage applied to the first pin, based on a voltage difference between the first voltage level and the second voltage level. For example, a result obtained by dividing the voltage difference between the first voltage level and the second voltage level by a time interval between the first point in time and the second point in time may be determined as an amount of change in the voltage).
Park et al is silent about determining if the rated device connected to the first pin.
Kim et al (US 2021/0305805 A1) teaches ([0056] According to various embodiments, the connector 210 may be a connector in accordance with Universal Serial Bus (hereinafter, “USB”) and may be specifically a Type-C connector corresponding to the USB Type-C standard. However, various embodiments of the disclosure are not limited to USB Type-C and may be applied to cable interfaces in accordance with various standards, such as High-Definition Multimedia Interface (HDMI), Recommended Standard 232 (RS-232), Power Line Communication, or Plain Old Telephone Service (POTS), or non-standard cable interfaces. Further, various embodiments of the disclosure may be applied to an interface for transmitting data (e.g., data transmitted through a configuration channel 1 (CC1) pin or a configuration channel 2 (CC2) pin included in the Type-C standard) available to automatically detect which devices are connected between a source (a device that supplies power) and a sink (a device that is supplied with power) or between a downstream facing port (DFP, a device that provides data) and an upstream facing port (UFP, a device that receives data). [0061] The electronic device according to various embodiments may transmit/receive data through the CC1 or CC2 terminal (hereinafter, collectively referred to as a CC pin) to/from the external electronic device connected through the USB Type-C connector. The CC pin may be used to automatically detect which devices are connected between a source (a device that supplies power) and a sink (a device that is supplied with power) or between a DFP (a device that provides data) and a UFP (a device that receives data).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Park et al by providing for automatically detect which devices are connected between a source (a device that supplies power) and a sink (a device that is supplied with power) or between a downstream facing port (DFP, a device that provides data) and an upstream facing port (UFP, a device that receives data), as taught by Kim et al (paragraphs [0056], [0064]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to automatically detect which devices are connected between a source (a device that supplies power) and a sink and also charge the battery, as taught by Kim et al (paragraphs [0056], [0064]).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Park et al (US 2019/0302047 A1) and Kim et al (US 2021/0305805 A1) teach the method of claim 9.
Park et al (US 2019/0302047 A1) does not explicitly teach, wherein in the fourth step, it is determined that the rated device is connected to the first pin when a magnitude of the resistance component calculated using the fourth current (I4) and the fourth-second voltage (Vs4-2) belongs to a resistance magnitude region of the rated device and a value obtained by subtracting the fourth-first voltage (Vs4-1) from the fourth-second voltage (Vs4-2) is not greater than a fourth threshold value.
However, Park et al (US 2019/0302047 A1) further teaches, observed voltage change due to resistance component and capacitance component of the water that has entered the connector (figures 4, 5, 14 and paragraphs [0043], [0044], [0058], [0060]-[0062],[0104] [0109], [0110],[0116]; Park et al further teaches, (Park et al further teaches, ([0094]-[0099] and figure 11 describe the process of detecting water, turning off power, multiple detection cycles; [0101] FIG. 12 is a block diagram of a water detection circuit 400; [0102] Referring to FIG. 12, the water detection circuit 400 may include a voltage detector 410, a voltage change amount determiner 420, and detection logic 430. The water detection circuit 400 may be connected to at least one (e.g., a first pin) of a plurality of pins included in a connector (not shown) and may generate a detection result Det_W indicating that there is water in a connector, based on a voltage detected from the first pin. As an example, the voltage detector 410 may output a digital code according to a voltage level detected from the first pin, and the detection logic 430 may generate a detection result Det_W indicating that water is detected or not detected, based on the value of the digital code. [0103] As an operation example, the voltage detector 410 may detect a first voltage level from the first pin at a first point in time and may detect a second voltage level from the first pin at a second pint in time after a certain time. The voltage change amount determiner 420 may determine an amount of change in a voltage applied to the first pin, based on a voltage difference between the first voltage level and the second voltage level. For example, a result obtained by dividing the voltage difference between the first voltage level and the second voltage level by a time interval between the first point in time and the second point in time may be determined as an amount of change in the voltage).
Park et al is silent about determining if the rated device connected to the first pin.
Kim et al (US 2021/0305805 A1) teaches ([0056] According to various embodiments, the connector 210 may be a connector in accordance with Universal Serial Bus (hereinafter, “USB”) and may be specifically a Type-C connector corresponding to the USB Type-C standard. However, various embodiments of the disclosure are not limited to USB Type-C and may be applied to cable interfaces in accordance with various standards, such as High-Definition Multimedia Interface (HDMI), Recommended Standard 232 (RS-232), Power Line Communication, or Plain Old Telephone Service (POTS), or non-standard cable interfaces. Further, various embodiments of the disclosure may be applied to an interface for transmitting data (e.g., data transmitted through a configuration channel 1 (CC1) pin or a configuration channel 2 (CC2) pin included in the Type-C standard) available to automatically detect which devices are connected between a source (a device that supplies power) and a sink (a device that is supplied with power) or between a downstream facing port (DFP, a device that provides data) and an upstream facing port (UFP, a device that receives data).[0061] The electronic device according to various embodiments may transmit/receive data through the CC1 or CC2 terminal (hereinafter, collectively referred to as a CC pin) to/from the external electronic device connected through the USB Type-C connector. The CC pin may be used to automatically detect which devices are connected between a source (a device that supplies power) and a sink (a device that is supplied with power) or between a DFP (a device that provides data) and a UFP (a device that receives data).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Park et al by providing for automatically detect which devices are connected between a source (a device that supplies power) and a sink (a device that is supplied with power) or between a downstream facing port (DFP, a device that provides data) and an upstream facing port (UFP, a device that receives data), as taught by Kim et al (paragraphs [0056], [0064]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to automatically detect which devices are connected between a source (a device that supplies power) and a sink and also charge the battery, as taught by Kim et al (paragraphs [0056], [0064]).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Park et al (US 2019/0302047 A1) and Kim et al (US 2021/0305805 A1) teach the method of claim 9.
Park et al (US 2019/0302047 A1) does not explicitly teach, further comprising performing a fifth step, when the magnitude of the resistance component calculated using the fourth current (I4) and the fourth- second voltage (Vs4-2) does not belong to the resistance magnitude region of the rated device or a value obtained by subtracting the fourth-first voltage (Vs4-1) from the fourth-second voltage (Vs4-2) is greater than the fourth threshold value, wherein the fifth step comprises: cutting off the current supplied to the first pin, detecting a first cut-off voltage (VsTP-t) of the first pin at a first cut-off time point and a second cut-off voltage (VsTP-2) of the first pin at a second cut-off time point; determining that the foreign substance other than moisture is attached to the first pin when the second cut-off voltage (VsTP-2) is not greater than a fifth threshold value; and determining that moisture is attached to the first pin when a difference between the first cut-off voltage (VsTP-i) and the second cut-off voltage (VsTP-2) is greater than a sixth threshold value.
However, Park et al (US 2019/0302047 A1) further teaches, observed voltage change due to resistance component and capacitance component of the water that has entered the connector (figures 4, 5, 11, 12, 14 and paragraphs [0043], [0044], [0058], [0060]-[0062],[0104] [0109], [0110],[0116]); ([0094]-[0099] and figure 11 describe the process of detecting water, turning off power, multiple detection cycles; [0101] FIG. 12 is a block diagram of a water detection circuit 400; [0102] Referring to FIG. 12, the water detection circuit 400 may include a voltage detector 410, a voltage change amount determiner 420, and detection logic 430. The water detection circuit 400 may be connected to at least one (e.g., a first pin) of a plurality of pins included in a connector (not shown) and may generate a detection result Det_W indicating
that there is water in a connector, based on a voltage detected from the first pin. As an example, the voltage detector 410 may output a digital code according to a voltage level detected from the first pin, and the detection logic 430 may generate a detection result Det_W indicating that water is detected or not detected, based on the value of the digital code. [0103] As an operation example, the voltage detector 410 may detect a first voltage level from the first pin at a first point in time and may detect a second voltage level from the first pin at a second pint in time after a certain time. The voltage change amount determiner 420 may determine an amount of change in a voltage applied to the first pin, based on a voltage difference between the first voltage level and the second voltage level. For example, a result obtained by dividing the voltage difference between the first voltage level and the second voltage level by a time interval between the first point in time and the second point in time may be determined as an amount of change in the voltage).
Park et al is silent about determining if the rated device connected to the first pin.
Kim et al (US 2021/0305805 A1) teaches [0094] Referring to FIG. 9B, the processor 120 may apply an electrical signal to a CC terminal 901 (e.g., the CC1 terminal 401 and the CC2 terminal 402 of FIG. 4) at a first time 951. For example, at the first time 951, the CC terminal 901 may be connected to a current generator (e.g., the current generator 514 of FIG. 5) so that a set electric signal from the current generator 514 may flow thereto. While the electrical signal is applied to the CC terminal 901, the electronic device 101 may happen to be exposed to water.
The processor 120 may detect moisture on the CC terminal 901 at a second time 952 and may block the electrical signal to the CC terminal 901 at a third time 953. For example, the processor 120 may control at least one switch disposed between the CC terminal 901 and the current generator 514, thereby blocking the electrical signal to the CC terminal 901. According to an embodiment, the processor 120 may generate an interruption signal 903 so that a voltage is not applied from the connected external electronic device 410 at a fourth time 954. [0095] FIG. 9C illustrates a second embodiment in which a notification is provided in response to detection of moisture. Specifically, FIG. 9C is a flowchart illustrating the embodiment of identifying whether an external electronic device is inserted based on a GND terminal with moisture detected and providing a notification of insertion of the external electronic device.
Regarding dependent claim 16, Park et al (US 2019/0302047 A1) and Kim et al (US 2021/0305805 A1) teach the method of claim 12.
Park et al (US 2019/0302047 A1) does not explicitly teach, wherein the determining if the device connected to the first pin of the connector is in the dead battery state comprises: sequentially supplying a fifth current (Is) and a sixth current (I) to the first pin, detecting a fifth voltage (Vss) for the fifth current (Is) and a sixth voltage (Vs6) for the sixth current (I), calculating a resistance value in each of the fifth current (Is) and the sixth current (I6), and determining that the device in the dead battery state is connected to the first pin when the resistance value for a larger current between the fifth current (Is) and the sixth current (I) is relatively small.
Park et al (US 2019/0302047 A1) further teaches, observed voltage change due to resistance component and capacitance component of the water that has entered the connector (figures 4, 5, 14 and paragraphs [0043], [0044], [0058], [0060]-[0062],[0104] [0109], [0110],[0116]; ([0094]-[0099] and figure 11 describe the process of detecting water, turning off power, multiple detection cycles; ([0101] FIG. 12 is a block diagram of a water detection circuit 400; [0102] Referring to FIG. 12, the water detection circuit 400 may include a voltage detector 410, a voltage change amount determiner 420, and detection logic 430. The water detection circuit 400 may be connected to at least one (e.g., a first pin) of a plurality of pins included in a connector (not shown) and may generate a detection result Det_W indicating that there is water in a connector, based on a voltage detected from the first pin. As an example, the voltage detector 410 may output a digital code according to a voltage level detected from the first pin, and the detection logic 430 may generate a detection result Det_W indicating that water is detected or not detected, based on the value of the digital code. [0103] As an operation example, the voltage detector 410 may detect a first voltage level from the first pin at a first point in time and may detect a second voltage level from the first pin at a second pint in time after a certain time. The voltage change amount determiner 420 may determine an amount of change in a voltage applied to the first pin, based on a voltage difference between the first voltage level and the second voltage level. For example, a result obtained by dividing the voltage difference between the first voltage level and the second voltage level by a time interval between the first point in time and the second point in time may be determined as an amount of change in the voltage).
Park et al is silent about device connected to the first pin of the connector is in the dead battery state.
Kim et al (US 2021/0305805 A1) teaches, [0056] According to various embodiments, the connector 210 may be a connector in accordance with Universal Serial Bus (hereinafter, “USB”) and may be specifically a Type-C connector corresponding to the USB Type-C standard. However, various embodiments of the disclosure are not limited to USB Type-C and may be applied to cable interfaces in accordance with various standards, such as High-Definition Multimedia Interface (HDMI), Recommended Standard 232 (RS-232), Power Line Communication, or Plain Old Telephone Service (POTS), or non-standard cable interfaces. Further, various embodiments of the disclosure may be applied to an interface for transmitting data (e.g., data transmitted through a configuration channel 1 (CC1) pin or a configuration channel 2 (CC2) pin included in the Type-C standard) available to automatically detect which devices are connected between a source (a device that supplies power) and a sink (a device that is supplied with power) or between a downstream facing port (DFP, a device that provides data) and an upstream facing port (UFP, a device that receives data). [0061] The electronic device according to various embodiments may transmit/receive data through the CC1 or CC2 terminal (hereinafter, collectively referred to as a CC pin) to/from the external electronic device connected through the USB Type-C connector. The CC pin may be used to automatically detect which devices are connected between a source (a device that supplies power) and a sink (a device that is supplied with power) or between a DFP (a device that provides data) and a UFP (a device that receives data). [0064] According to various embodiments, the external electronic device 410 may include a controller 411 and a protocol controller 412. The controller 411 may at least partially control each component provided in the external electronic device 410. The protocol controller 412 may periodically transmit a set electrical signal. For example, the protocol controller 412 may transmit a set electrical signal under control of the controller 411 or may periodically transmit a set electrical signal without control of the controller 411. According to an embodiment, when the external electronic device 410 is connected to the electronic device 101, the controller 411 of the external electronic device 410 may detect connection with the electronic device 101 through the CC1 terminal 401 and the CC2 terminal 402 connected to the protocol controller 412. According to an embodiment, in response to the connection with the electronic device 101, the controller 411 of the external electronic device 410 may apply a set voltage (e.g., about 5V) to the electronic device 101. The electronic device 101 may be provided with a voltage from the external electronic device 410 through a Vbus terminal 405 provided in the interface 177. The processor 120 may control the power management module 188 to charge the battery 189 based on the provided voltage.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Park et al by providing for automatically detect which devices are connected between a source (a device that supplies power) and a sink (a device that is supplied with power) or between a downstream facing port (DFP, a device that provides data) and an upstream facing port (UFP, a device that receives data), as taught by Kim et al (paragraphs [0056], [0064]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to automatically detect which devices are connected between a source (a device that supplies power) and a sink and also charge the battery, as taught by Kim et al (paragraphs [0056], [0064]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment and arguments which were not persuasive necessitated the ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SURESH K RAJAPUTRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 2/10/2026