DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 12-19 and 21 is /are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (EP 1698999) in view of Voy et al. (US 4661189) and Hada et al. (US 20120241077).
As to claim 1, Suzuki discloses a method for inspecting RFID labels (Abstract).
Suzuki discloses that the method comprises of: providing a main continuous band 202, on which the self-adhesive labels 210, juxtaposed in a direction of travel of the main continuous band are attached; providing inspection means 104 adapted to detect any non-compliance in the self- adhesive labels; advancing the main continuous band so as to expose one or more of the self-adhesive labels to the inspection means; if the inspection means detects a non-conformity in at least one self-adhesive label, imparting a bend 108 to the main continuous band downstream of the inspection means, thereby giving the main continuous band a radius of curvature such as to cause an at least partial detachment of the at least one self-adhesive label from the main continuous band; removing the at least one self-adhesive label detached from the main continuous band, leaving a corresponding empty space on the main continuous band; applying a replacement label on the main continuous band 120, in the empty space left by the at least one removed self-adhesive label, to replace the removed self-adhesive label (Fig. 2 below; ¶7 and 23-32).
Suzuki fails to specifically teach or disclose whether the web may be rewound in the opposite direction so as to inspect the label that replaces a defect label by the inspection means upstream of the processing area where said replacement label is placed upon the continuous web. Voy discloses a method for manufacturing labels (Abstract). Voy discloses that it is known and conventional in the art to rewind a carrier web with labels so as to inspect uninspected labels upon said web (C9, L67 – C10, L8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the rewinding method of Voy in the method taught by Suzuki because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution to achieve the predictable result of providing a known conventional and successful means for ensuring that uninspected labels upon a carrier web of material can be inspected. “The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Suzuki discloses that a tray is disposed in the vicinity of the peeling roller so that defective tags may be placed into said tray, but fails to teach or disclose that an interlocking group comprising a collection of spools or an external drum coupled with a pressure roller may accept the defective label to move it to the desired tray. It is the position of the Examiner that utilizing an external drum (roll/roller) coupled with a pressure roller to form a nip to grasp a label from a web. Hada discloses a method/apparatus for the manufacture of liquid crystal display devices (Abstract). Hada discloses that it is known and conventional in the art to utilize a nip (rolls/drums 131, 132) to grip and remove sheet from a carrier web after the carrier web is given a radius of curvature by a wedge (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the nip of Hada in the method taught by the above references as combined because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution to achieve the predictable result of providing a known successful and conventional means for removing a label sheet from a carrier material to move said label to a desired place/tray. “The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to claim 12, the method of claim 1 is taught as seen above. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to encode the replacement label in the method of Suzuki with the information of the defective label since one of ordinary skill would recognize that this would replace the information missing in the label set due to the defective label.
As to claim 13, the method of claim 12 is taught as seen above. Suzuki fails to specifically teach or disclose that the step of providing the encoded replacement labels upstream of the of the inspection means. Providing the replacement labels upstream of the inspection means would amount to a selection of performing process steps which is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946). Here, the expected result would be to provide a replacement label upon the carrier web to replace the defective label so that the set of labels being produced would be complete.
As to claims 14, 16 and 18, the method of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Suzuki discloses that an auxiliary labeling unit 111 is provided downstream of the inspection unit and it is adapted to apply replacement labels on the empty spaces left by the removed labels (Fig. 1).
As to claims 15 and 17, the method of claim 14 is taught as seen above. Suzuki fails to specifically teach or disclose that the auxiliary labeling unit may be placed upstream of the inspection unit. Providing the replacement labels by placing the auxiliary labeling unit upstream of the inspection means would amount to a selection of performing process steps which is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946). Here, the expected result would be to provide a replacement label upon the carrier web to replace the defective label so that the set of labels being produced would be complete.
As to claim 19, the method of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Suzuki discloses that the removal step is carried out by a peeling roller/cam 108 upon which the web slides, that is switched from a first position upon which the web slides upon a first radius of curvature and the labels do not detach, to a second position in which the peeling roller/cam exposes to the carrier a second curved surface having a second radius of curvature smaller than the first radius of curvature which is configured in such a way to cause the detachment of an undesired label (Fig. 2).
As to claim 21, the method of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Suzuki discloses that a computer means is provided to control and coordinate servomechanisms responsible for implementing the steps of the method (¶ 40-42).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 14, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 6-7 that none of the prior art, specifically Hada, teach or disclose the use of a pressure roller and external drum (pinch rolls/roller) as an interlocking group for pinching off and removing a label from band of adhesive labels. This argument is not persuasive since, as seen in the rejection above, Hada discloses that it is known and conventional in the art to use an interlocking group for pinching off a label from a band of adhesive labels when said band is given a radius of curvature by a wedge.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER C CAILLOUET/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745