DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment’s filed October 15, 2025 have been entered. Applicant’s amendments have overcome each and every claim objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Action mailed July 15, 2025. Claims 1-3 and 6-20 remain pending, but stand rejected for the reasons detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasagi (JP Publication No. H06216554, cited in IDS filed 9/8/2022) in view of Yeh (US Publication No. 2016/0298909) and Lee (US Publication No. 2006/0289150).
Regarding claim 1, Kasagi discloses a heat radiating device comprising: a plurality of heat pipes (Figure 1-4, plurality of heat pipes 1) including: a first heat pipe (first 1) including a first heat receiving portion (portion of first 1 over 5); and a second heat pipe (second 1) including a second heat receiving portion (portion of second 1 over 5), wherein the first heat receiving portion (portion of first 1 over 5) and the second heat receiving portion (portion of second 1 over 5) are located in a first direction (vertical direction) with respect to an integrated circuit (heating element 5) mounted on a circuit board (circuit board 6), and wherein the first heat receiving portion (portion of first 1 over 5) and the second heat receiving portion (portion of second 1 over 5) are each thermally connected to the integrated circuit (5); at least one heat sink (Figure 5, heat radiating fins 7) connected to the plurality of heat pipes (plurality of 1); a heat transfer member (metal case 4) located in the first direction (vertical direction) with respect to the integrated circuit (5) and the circuit board (6) and including: a first portion (bottom portion of 4 between 1 and 5) disposed between the integrated circuit (5) and the first heat receiving portion (portion of first 1 above 5) and the second heat receiving portion (portion of second 1 above 5); a first side portion (first sidewall of 4) disposed between the circuit board (6) and the at least one heat sink (7; see Figure 7); and a second side portion (second sidewall of 4) disposed between the circuit board (6) and the at least one heat sink (7; see Figure 7), wherein: the first heat receiving portion (portion of first 1 over 5) and the second heat receiving portion (portion of second 1 over 5) of the plurality of heat pipes (plurality of 1) are aligned with each other in a second direction (horizontal direction) orthogonal to the first direction (vertical direction), the first heat receiving portion (portion of first 1 over 5) is in contact with the second heat receiving portion (portion of second 1 over 5); and the first heat receiving portion (portion of first 1 over 5) and the second heat receiving portion (portion of second 1 over 5) each have a first width in the first direction (height of 1) and have a second width (width of 1) smaller than the first width (height of 1) in the second direction (horizontal direction); and a groove (space within 4) formed within the heat transfer member (4) between side portions the first side portion (first sidewall of 1) and the second side portion (second sidewall of 4) of the heat transfer member (4) and located in the first direction (vertical direction) from the integrated circuit (5) above the first portion (bottom portion of 4 between 1 and 5) of the heat transfer member (4), wherein: the first heat receiving portion (portion of first 1 over 5) and the second heat receiving portion (portion of second 1 over 5) of the plurality of heat pipes (plurality of 1) are arranged within the groove (between sidewalls of 4), a width of the groove (width of space between sidewalls of 4 corresponding to width of first and second 4) in the second direction (horizontal direction) corresponds to a combined total of the second width of the first heat receiving portion (width of first 1 over 5) and the second heat receiving portion (width of second 1 over 5) of the plurality of heat pipes (1) in the second direction (horizontal direction).
Kasagi does not disclose wherein each of the first side portion and the second side portion of the heat transfer member has a width in the second direction larger than the first width, the at least one heat sink extends, in the second direction, over the plurality of heat pipes within the groove, and over the first side portion and the second side portion of the heat transfer member.
However, Yeh teaches a heat radiating device comprising: a plurality of heat pipes (first heat pipes 21) including: a first heat pipe (first 21) including a first heat receiving portion (first segment 22); and a second heat pipe (second 21) including a second heat receiving portion (22), wherein the first heat receiving portion (22) and the second heat receiving portion (22) are located in a first direction (vertical direction) with respect to an integrated circuit (heat generating component contacting copper plate A); at least one heat sink (40) connected to the plurality of heat pipes (21); a heat transfer member (comprised of copper plate A and dissipation spacer 10) located in the first direction (vertical direction) with respect to the integrated circuit (heat generating component contacting A, corresponding to 5 in Kasagi) and including: a first portion (A) disposed between the integrated circuit (heat generating component contacting A) and the first heat receiving portion (22 of first 21) and the second heat receiving portion (22 of second 21); a first side portion (left flange of 10) disposed between the integrated circuit (heat generating component contacting A) and the at least one heat sink (40); a second side portion (right flange of 10) disposed between the integrated circuit (heat generating component contacting A) and the at least one heat sink (40); and a groove (space defining grooves 111 accommodating 22) formed within the heat transfer member (10, A) between the first side portions and the second side portion of the heat transfer member (flanges of 10) of the heat transfer member (10, A) and located in the first direction (vertical direction) from the integrated circuit (heat generating component contacting A), wherein each of the first side portion (left flange of 10) and the second side portion (right flange of 10) of the heat transfer member (10, A) has a width in the second direction (horizontal direction) larger than the first width (height of 22), the at least one heat sink extends, in the second direction (horizontal direction), over the plurality of heat pipes (21) within the groove (space defined by 111), and over the first side portion and the second side portion (flanges of 10) of the heat transfer member (10, A).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the side portions of Kasagi to include the extended side portions taught in Yeh and to have modified the heat sink of Kasagi to be connected with condensing portions of the heat pipes above the heat transfer member, as taught in Yeh, such that the side portions of the heat transfer member (modified side portions of 4 in Kasagi) were disposed between a circuit board (6 in Kasagi) and the at least one heat sink (modified 7 in Kasagi). Doing so would have provided a mounting base for which to connect the heat sink, provided for a more compact heat radiating device, and improved heat dissipation by increasing the surface area contact between the heat receiving portion and the heat fins (see Figures 1-4 and Paragraph [0018] in Yeh).
Regarding the limitation “wherein each of the side portions has a width in the second direction larger than the first width,” because the heat radiating device of the claimed invention has similar structure and proportion to the heat radiating device of Kasagi as modified by Yeh, the stated limitation is held to be merely a selection of optimal working parameters established through routine experimentation, and thus obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to formulate the claimed relation between the width of the side portion and the first width of the heat pipe, because doing so would have increased heat dissipation by maximizing the amount of heat pipes capable of contacting the heat transfer member, and by increasing the amount of surface area contact between the heat transfer member and the heat fins.
Kasagi in view of Yeh does not teach a first side of the at least one heat sink includes an inlet port for receiving an airflow generated by a cooling fan to cool a surface of the circuit board.
However, Lee teaches at least one heat sink (fin group 14, including fan holder 34), wherein a first side of the at least one heat sink (side 14 connected to fan 30) includes an inlet port (space between fins 14 defined by fan holder 34) for receiving an airflow generated by a cooling fan (fan 30) to cool a surface of the circuit board (see Paragraph [0004], where processor in Lee corresponds to heating elements 5 of circuit board 6 in Kasagi).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the cooling fan of Lee to the heat sink of Kasagi as modified by Yeh to cool a surface of the circuit board in Kasagi as modified by Yeh. Doing so would have allowed the heating elements and other electronic components (i.e. circuit board) in the device to function within their normal operating temperature ranges, thereby assuring the quality of data management, storage, and transfer (see Paragraph [0004] in Lee).
Regarding claim 2, Kasagi in view of Yeh and Lee teaches the heat radiating device according to claim 1, and further teaches (in Kasagi) wherein the second width (T) is smaller than 3/4 of the first width (W) (Table 1, second width T = 10; first width W = 44; where ¾ (44) = 33, and 10 < 33).
Regarding claim 3, Kasagi in view of Yeh and Lee teaches the heat radiating device according to claim 1, and further teaches (in Kasagi) wherein the combined total of the second width of the first heat receiving portion (width of first 1) and the second heat receiving portion (width of second 1) of the plurality of heat pipes (1) in the second direction (horizontal direction) corresponds to a width of the integrated circuit (partial width of 5) in the second direction (horizontal direction; NOTE: see Figure 14A of instant application).
Regarding claim 6, Kasagi discloses a heat radiating device comprising: a plurality of heat pipes (Figures 1-4, heat pipes 1) including respective heat receiving portions (portions of 1 above 5) that are located in a first direction (vertical direction) with respect to an integrated circuit (heating elements 5 of circuit board 6) and that are thermally connected to the integrated circuit (5); and at least one heat sink (Figure 5, heat radiating fins 7) connected to the plurality of heat pipes (1, through connection with case 4), wherein: the heat receiving portions (portions of 1 above 5) of the plurality of heat pipes (1) are aligned with each other in a second direction (horizontal direction) orthogonal to the first direction (vertical direction) and are in contact with the heat receiving portions (portions of 1 above 5) of adjacent ones of the heat pipes (adjacent 1), the heat receiving portions (portions of 1 above 5) each have a first width (Figures 1-2, width W) in the first direction (vertical direction) and have a second width (Figures 1-2, thickness T) smaller than the first width (W) in the second direction (horizontal direction), a groove (space within 4) formed between side portions (edges of 4) in a heat transfer member (case 4) and located in the first direction (vertical direction) from the integrated circuit (5), wherein: the heat receiving portions (portions of 1 above 5) of the plurality of heat pipes (1) are arranged within the groove (space within 4), and a width of the groove (space within 4) in the second direction (horizontal direction) corresponds to a width of the integrated circuit (horizontal width of plurality of 5 corresponding to horizontal width of plurality of 2; see Figure 4) in the second direction (horizontal direction), the heat transfer member (4) includes a first portion (bottom portion of 4 between 1 and 5) disposed between the integrated circuit (5) and the respective heat receiving portions (portions of 1 above 5).
Kasagi does not disclose wherein each side portion of the heat transfer member has a width in the second direction larger than the first width; and wherein the at least one heat sink extends, in the second direction, over the plurality of heat pipes within the groove, and over each side portion of the heat transfer member, each side portion of the heat transfer member are disposed between a circuit board and the at least one heat sink.
However, Yeh teaches a heat radiating device comprising: a plurality of heat pipes (first heat pipes 21) including respective heat receiving portions (first segment 22) that are located in a first direction (vertical direction) with respect to an integrated circuit (heat generating component contacting copper plate A) and that are thermally connected to the integrated circuit (heat generating component contacting A); at least one heat sink (40) connected to the plurality of heat pipes (21); a heat transfer member (comprised of copper plate A and dissipation spacer 10) disposed between the heat receiving portions (22) of the plurality of heat pipes (21) and the integrated circuit (heat generating component contacting copper plate A), wherein: the heat receiving portions (22) of the plurality of heat pipes (21) are aligned with each other in a second direction (horizontal direction) orthogonal to the first direction (vertical direction); and the heat receiving portions (22) each have a first width (height of 22) in the first direction (vertical direction) and have a second width smaller than the first width in the second direction; and a groove (space defining grooves 111 accommodating 22) formed between side portions (flanges of 10; see Paragraph [0004]) of in the heat transfer member (10, A) and located in the first direction (vertical direction) from the integrated circuit (heat generating component contacting A), wherein each side portion (flanges of 10) of the heat transfer member (10, A) has a width in the second direction (horizontal direction) larger than the first width (height of 22), and wherein: the heat receiving portions (22) of the plurality of heat pipes (21) are arranged within the groove (space defined by 111), and the at least one heat sink (40) extends, in the second direction (horizontal direction), over the plurality of heat pipes (21) within the groove (space defined by 111), and over each side portion (flanges of 10) of the heat transfer member (10, A), each side portion (flanges of 10) of the heat transfer member (10, A) are disposed between an integrated circuit (heat generating component contacting A) and the at least one heat sink (40).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the side portions of Kasagi to include the extended side portions taught in Yeh and to have modified the heat sink of Kasagi to be connected with condensing portions of the heat pipes above the heat transfer member, as taught in Yeh, such that the side portions of the heat transfer member (modified side portions of 4 in Kasagi) were disposed between a circuit board (6 in Kasagi) and the at least one heat sink (modified 7 in Kasagi). Doing so would have provided a mounting base for which to connect the heat sink, provided for a more compact heat radiating device, and improved heat dissipation by increasing the surface area contact between the heat receiving portion and the heat fins (see Figures 1-4 and Paragraph [0018] in Yeh).
Regarding the limitation “wherein each of the side portions has a width in the second direction larger than the first width,” because the heat radiating device of the claimed invention has similar structure and proportion to the heat radiating device of Kasagi as modified by Yeh, the stated limitation is held to be merely a selection of optimal working parameters established through routine experimentation, and thus obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to formulate the claimed relation between the width of the side portion and the first width of the heat pipe, because doing so would have increased heat dissipation by maximizing the amount of heat pipes capable of contacting the heat transfer member, and by increasing the amount of surface area contact between the heat transfer member and the heat fins.
Kasagi in view of Yeh does not teach wherein a first side of the at least one heat sink includes an inlet port for receiving an airflow generated by a cooling fan to cool a surface of the circuit board.
However, Lee teaches at least one heat sink (fin group 14, including fan holder 34), wherein a first side of the at least one heat sink (side 14 connected to fan 30) includes an inlet port (space between fins 14 defined by fan holder 34) for receiving an airflow generated by a cooling fan (fan 30) to cool a surface of the circuit board (see Paragraph [0004], where processor in Lee corresponds to heating elements 5 of circuit board 6 in Kasagi).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the cooling fan of Lee to the heat sink of Kasagi as modified by Yeh to cool a surface of the circuit board in Kasagi as modified by Yeh. Doing so would have allowed the heating elements and other electronic components (i.e. circuit board) in the device to function within their normal operating temperature ranges, thereby assuring the quality of data management, storage, and transfer (see Paragraph [0004] in Lee).
Regarding claim 7, Kasagi discloses a heat radiating device comprising: a plurality of heat pipes (Figures 1-4, heat pipes 1) including respective heat receiving portions (portions of 1 above 5) that are located in a first direction (vertical direction) with respect to an integrated circuit (heating elements 5 of circuit board 6) mounted on a circuit board (circuit board 6) and that are thermally connected to the integrated circuit (5); at least one heat sink (Figure 5, heat fins 7) connected to the plurality of heat pipes (1, through connection with case 4), wherein: the heat receiving portions (portions of 1 above 5) of the plurality of heat pipes (1) are aligned with each other in a second direction (horizontal direction) orthogonal to the first direction (vertical direction) and are in contact with the heat receiving portions (portions of 1 above 5) of adjacent ones of the heat pipes (adjacent 1), and the heat receiving portions (portions of 1 above 5) each have a first width (Figures 1-2, width W) in the first direction (vertical direction) and have a second width (Figures 1-2, thickness T) smaller than the first width (W) in the second direction (horizontal direction), a groove (space within 4) formed between a first side portion and a second side portion (edges of 4) of a heat transfer member (case 4) and located in the first direction (vertical direction) from the integrated circuit (5) above a first portion (bottom portion of 4) of the heat transfer member (4), wherein: the first portion (bottom portion of 4) of the heat transfer member (4) is disposed between the groove (space within 4) and the integrated circuit (5), the heat receiving portions (portions of 1 above 5) of the plurality of heat pipes (1) are arranged within the groove (space within 4), and a depth of the groove (vertical width of space within 4) in the first direction (vertical direction) corresponds to the first width of the heat receiving portions (1) in the first direction (vertical direction; see Figure 4).
Kasagi does not disclose wherein each of the first side portion and the second side portion each has a width in the second direction larger than the first width, wherein the first side portion and the second side portion of the heat transfer member are disposed between the circuit board and the at least one heat sink, and wherein the at least one heat sink extends, in the second direction, over the plurality of heat pipes within the groove, and over the respective side portions of the heat transfer member.
However, Yeh teaches a heat radiating device comprising: a plurality of heat pipes (first heat pipes 21) including respective heat receiving portions (first segment 22) that are located in a first direction (vertical direction) with respect to an integrated circuit (heat generating component contacting copper plate A) and that are thermally connected to the integrated circuit (heat generating component contacting A); at least one heat sink (40) connected to the plurality of heat pipes (21); a heat transfer member (comprised of copper plate A and dissipation spacer 10) disposed between the heat receiving portions (22) of the plurality of heat pipes (21) and the integrated circuit (heat generating component contacting copper plate A), wherein: the heat receiving portions (22) of the plurality of heat pipes (21) are aligned with each other in a second direction (horizontal direction) orthogonal to the first direction (vertical direction); and the heat receiving portions (22) each have a first width (height of 22) in the first direction (vertical direction) and have a second width smaller than the first width in the second direction; and a groove (space defining grooves 111 accommodating 22) formed between side portions (left and right flanges of 10) of in the heat transfer member (10, A) and located in the first direction (vertical direction) from the integrated circuit (heat generating component contacting A), wherein each of the first side portion and the second side portion (flanges of 10) each has a width in the second direction (horizontal direction) larger than the first width (height of 22), wherein the first side portion and the second side portion of the heat transfer member (left and right flanges of 10) are disposed between the integrated circuit (heat generating component contacting A) and the at least one heat sink (40),and wherein: the heat receiving portions (22) of the plurality of heat pipes (21) are arranged within the groove (space defined by 111), and the at least one heat sink (40) extends, in the second direction (horizontal direction), over the plurality of heat pipes (21) within the groove (space defined by 111), and over the respective first side portion and second side portion (left and right flanges of 10) of the heat transfer member (10, A).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the side portions of Kasagi to include the extended side portions taught in Yeh and to have modified the heat sink of Kasagi to be connected with condensing portions of the heat pipes above the heat transfer member, as taught in Yeh, such that the side portions of the heat transfer member (modified side portions of 4 in Kasagi) were disposed between a circuit board (6 in Kasagi) and the at least one heat sink (modified 7 in Kasagi). Doing so would have provided a mounting base for which to connect the heat sink, provided for a more compact heat radiating device, and improved heat dissipation by increasing the surface area contact between the heat receiving portion and the heat fins (see Figures 1-4 and Paragraph [0018] in Yeh).
Regarding the limitation “wherein each of the side portions has a width in the second direction larger than the first width,” because the heat radiating device of the claimed invention has similar structure and proportion to the heat radiating device of Kasagi as modified by Yeh, the stated limitation is held to be merely a selection of optimal working parameters established through routine experimentation, and thus obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to formulate the claimed relation between the width of the side portion and the first width of the heat pipe, because doing so would have increased heat dissipation by maximizing the amount of heat pipes capable of contacting the heat transfer member, and by increasing the amount of surface area contact between the heat transfer member and the heat fins.
Kasagi in view of Yeh does not teach a first side of the at least one heat sink includes an inlet port for receiving an airflow generated by a cooling fan to cool a surface of the circuit board.
However, Lee teaches at least one heat sink (fin group 14, including fan holder 34), wherein a first side of the at least one heat sink (side 14 connected to fan 30) includes an inlet port (space between fins 14 defined by fan holder 34) for receiving an airflow generated by a cooling fan (fan 30) to cool a surface of the circuit board (see Paragraph [0004], where processor in Lee corresponds to heating elements 5 of circuit board 6 in Kasagi).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the cooling fan of Lee to the heat sink of Kasagi as modified by Yeh to cool a surface of the circuit board in Kasagi as modified by Yeh. Doing so would have allowed the heating elements and other electronic components (i.e. circuit board) in the device to function within their normal operating temperature ranges, thereby assuring the quality of data management, storage, and transfer (see Paragraph [0004] in Lee).
Regarding claim 18, Kasagi in view of Yeh and Lee teaches the heat radiating device of claim 1, and further teaches (in Kasagi) wherein the groove (between sidewalls of 4) is continuous along the first portion (bottom portion of 4 over 5) of the heat transfer member (4; see Figure 6 in Kasagi).
Regarding claim 19, Kasagi in view of Yeh and Lee teaches the heat radiating device of claim 6, and further teaches (in Kasagi) wherein the groove (between sidewalls of 4) is continuous along the first portion (bottom portion of 4 over 5) of the heat transfer member (4; see Figure 6 in Kasagi).
Regarding claim 20, Kasagi in view of Yeh and Lee teaches the heat radiating device of claim 7, and further teaches (in Kasagi) wherein the groove (between sidewalls of 4) is continuous along the first portion (bottom portion of 4 over 5) of the heat transfer member (4; see Figure 6 in Kasagi).
Claims 8-14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasagi (JP Publication No. H06216554, cited in IDS filed 9/8/2022) in view of Ito (US Publication No. 2021/0318072), Wu (US Publication No. 2014/0055954), and Lee (US Publication No. 2006/0289150).
Regarding claim 8, Kasagi discloses a heat radiating device comprising: a plurality of heat pipes (Figures 1-4, heat pipes 1) including: a first heat pipe (first 1) having a first heat receiving portion (portion of first 1 connected to 5), a first upper surface (upper surface of first 1), a first lower surface (lower surface of first 1), and a first heat radiating portion (portion of first 1 connected to 7); and a second heat pipe (second 1) having a second heat receiving portion (portion of second 1 connected to 5) and a second heat radiating portion (portion of second 1 connected to 7), wherein the first heat pipe (first 1) and the second heat pipe (second 1) are located in a first direction (vertical direction) with respect to an integrated circuit (heat generating elements 5 of circuit 6), and wherein the first heat pipe (first 1) and the second heat pipe (second 1) are thermally connected to the integrated circuit (5); and at least one heat sink (Figure 5, fins 7) connected to the plurality of heat pipes (1, through connection with case 4), wherein: the first heat receiving portions (portion of first 1 connected to 5) of the first heat pipe (first 1) is adjacent to and is in contact with the second heat receiving portion (portion of second 1 connected to 5) of the second heat pipe (second 1), the first heat receiving portion (portion of first 1 connected to 5) of the first heat pipe (first 1) and the second heat receiving portion (portion of second 1 connected to 5) of the second heat pipe (second 1) are aligned with each other in a second direction (horizontal direction) orthogonal to the first direction (vertical direction), the first heat receiving portion (portion of first 1 over 5) and the second heat receiving portions (portion of second 1 over 5) each have a first width (Figures 1-2, width W) in the first direction (vertical direction) and have a second width (Figures 1-2, thickness T) smaller than the first width (W) in the second direction (horizontal direction), the first heat radiating portion (portion of first 1 connected to 7) is positioned at a first distance away from the first heat receiving portion (portion of first 1 over 5) and the second heat radiating portion (portion of second 1 connected to 7) is positioned at a second distance away from the second heat receiving portion (portion of second 1 over 5) and each of the first heat radiating portion (portion of first 1 connected to 7) and the second heat radiating portion (portion of second 1 connected to 7) are connected to the at least one heat sink (7).
Kasagi does not disclose wherein a ratio between widths in the first direction and in the second direction of the first heat pipe changes in an extending direction of the first heat pipe based on a change in a slope of the first lower surface while the first upper surface remains parallel to the at least one heat sink and the integrated circuit, the extending direction is a direction from the heat receiving portion to the heat radiating portion.
However Ito teaches a heat radiating device (see Figures 1-4 and 17) comprising: a plurality of heat pipes (Figures 1-4, heat pipes 13) including: a first heat pipe (first 13) having a first heat receiving portion (portion of first 13 connected to cover 32 and heat receiving plate 34), a first upper surface (upper surface of first 13), a first lower surface (lower surface of first 13), and a first heat radiating portion (portion of first 13 connected to heat sink 20); and a second heat pipe (second 13) having a second heat receiving portion (portion of second 13 connected to cover 32 and heat receiving plate 34) and a second heat radiating portion (portion of second 13 connected to heat sink 20), wherein the first heat pipe (first 13) and the second heat pipe (second 13) are located in a first direction (vertical direction) with respect to an integrated circuit (heat generating component connected to 34) and that are thermally connected to the integrated circuit (heat generating component connected to 34); and at least one heat sink (heat sink 20) connected to the plurality of heat pipes (13), wherein: a ratio between widths in the first direction (vertical direction) and in the second direction (horizontal direction) of the first heat pipe (first 13) among the plurality of heat pipes (13) changes in an extending direction (transverse direction toward heatsink 20) of the first heat pipe (13) based on a change in a slope of the first lower surface (lower surface of first 13), the extending direction (transverse direction) is a direction from the heat receiving portion (portion of 14 connected to 32, 34) to the heat radiating portion (portion of 14 connected to 20; Paragraph [0105], portion of 13 connected to 26 being vertically flattened).
Because Kasagi and Ito both teach a similar configuration between the heat pipes and heat sink (see Figures 5 and 8 in Kasagi; see Figure 17 in Ito), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the heat pipes of Kasagi to include a flattened, heat radiating portion connected to the heat sink, as taught in Ito. Doing so would have improved heat transfer between the heat sink and the heat pipes by increasing the thermal contact area between the heat fins and the heat pipes (see Paragraphs [0083] and [0105] in Ito). This space-saving configuration would have also allowed for additional sets of heat pipes to be connected to the heat sink (see Paragraph [0083] in Ito).
Kasagi in view of Ito does not teach a ratio between widths in the first direction and in the second direction of the first heat pipe changes in an extending direction of the first heat pipe based on a change in a slope of the first lower surface while the first upper surface remains parallel to the at least one heat sink and the integrated circuit.
However, Wu teaches (see Figures 1-8; in particular Figures 3A and 8B) a ratio between widths in the first direction (vertical direction) and in the second direction (horizontal direction) of a first heat pipe (pipe body 10) changes in an extending direction (direction from vaporizing section 13a toward condensing section 14) of the first heat pipe (10) based on a change in a slope of the first lower surface (see Figure 3A) while the first upper surface (upper surface of 10) remains parallel to the at least one heat sink (21) and the integrated circuit (heat source 31; see Figure 8B and Paragraph [0072]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the plurality of heat pipes in Kasagi as modified by Ito such that only the bottom surface was sloped as taught in Wu, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of improving heat transfer between the heat sink and the heat pipes by increasing the thermal contact area between the heat fins and the heat pipes (see Paragraphs [0083] and [0105] in Ito; see Paragraphs [0061], [0078] in Wu). Doing so would have also enabled increased vapor-liquid circulation efficiency and upgraded the anti-gravity effect in heat transfer (see Paragraph [0076] in Wu).
Regarding the limitation, “the first upper surface remains parallel to the at least one heat sink and the circuit board,” because Kasagi, Ito, and Wu all suggest the top surface of the heat pipes are parallel with bottom edges of the heat sink and circuit board (see Figure 7 in Kasagi, see Figure 4 in Ito; see Figure 8 in Wu), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have made the first surface of the intermediate portion to be parallel to edges of the heat sink and the circuit board, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Kasagi in view of Ito and Wu does not teach wherein a first side of the at least one heat sink includes an inlet port for receiving an airflow generated by a cooling fan to cool a surface of the circuit board.
However, Lee teaches at least one heat sink (fin group 14, including fan holder 34), wherein a first side of the at least one heat sink (side 14 connected to fan 30) includes an inlet port (space between fins 14 defined by fan holder 34) for receiving an airflow generated by a cooling fan (fan 30) to cool a surface of the circuit board (see Paragraph [0004], where processor in Lee corresponds to heating elements 5 of circuit board 6 in Kasagi).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the cooling fan of Lee to the heat sink of Kasagi as modified by Ito and Wu to cool a surface of the circuit board in Kasagi as modified by Ito and Wu. Doing so would have allowed the heating elements and other electronic components (i.e. circuit board) in the device to function within their normal operating temperature ranges, thereby assuring the quality of data management, storage and transfer (see Paragraph [0004] in Lee).
Regarding claim 9, Kasagi in view of Ito, Wu, and Lee teaches the heat radiating device according to claim 8, and further teaches (in Ito) wherein the first heat radiating portion (portion of 13 connected to 26) is located in a third direction (vertical direction, where portion of 13 connected to 26 is located above portion of 13 connected to 32; see Figure 4) with respect to the at least one heat sink (26) and is connected to the at least one heat sink (26), wherein the first heat radiating portion (portion of 13 connected to 26) has a third width (vertical width) in the third direction (vertical direction) and has a fourth width (horizontal width) larger than the third width (vertical width; Paragraph [0105], portion of 13 connected to 26 being vertically flattened, as modified by Wu) in a fourth direction (horizontal direction) orthogonal to the third direction (vertical direction) (see also Figure 17).
Regarding claim 10, Kasagi in view of Ito, Wu, and Lee teaches the heat radiating device according to claim 9, and further teaches wherein the first direction (vertical direction) and the third direction (vertical direction) are a same direction.
Regarding claim 11, Kasagi in view of Ito, Wu, and Lee teaches the heat radiating device according to claim 9, and further teaches wherein the first width (vertical width of 1 connected to casing 4) is larger than the third width (vertical width of 1 connected to heat sink, as taught in Ito) (NOTE: portion of heat pipe 1 connected to casing 4 of Kasagi being horizontally compressed to form shape shown in Figure 4 of Kasagi; portion of heat pipe 1 connected to the heat sink (as taught in Ito) being vertically compressed as taught in Ito and Wu, such that the vertical width of the portion of heat pipe 1 connected to casing 4 is necessarily larger than the vertical width of the portion of heat pipe 1 connected above the heat sink).
Regarding claim 12, Kasagi in view of Ito, Wu, and Lee teaches the heat radiating device according to claim 9, and further teaches wherein the fourth width (horizontal width of 1 connected to casing 4) is larger than the second width (vertical width of 1 connected to heat sink, as taught in Ito) (NOTE: portion of heat pipe 1 connected to casing 4 of Kasagi being horizontally compressed to form shape shown in Figure 4 of Kasagi; portion of heat pipe 1 connected to the heat sink (as taught in Ito) being vertically compressed as taught in Ito and Wu, such that the horizontal width of the portion of heat pipe 1 connected to casing 4 is necessarily smaller than the horizontal width of the portion of heat pipe 1 connected above the heat sink).
Regarding claim 13, Kasagi in view of Ito, Wu, and Lee teaches the heat radiating device according to claim 8, and further teaches (in Ito) wherein the first heat pipe (heat pipe 13) among the plurality of heat pipes (13) includes a curved portion (comprised of stepped portion of 13 and portion of 13 connected to fin group 26; see Figure 4) connected to bent in a fifth direction (vertical direction, where stepped portion is bent upward relative to portion connected to cover 32; see Figure 4), and the curved portion (stepped portion of 13 and portion connected to 26) has a fifth width (vertical width of portion connected to 26) in the fifth direction (vertical direction) and has a sixth width (horizontal width) larger than the fifth width (vertical width) in a sixth direction (horizontal direction) orthogonal to the fifth direction (vertical direction) (see also Figure 17).
Because Kasagi and Ito both teach a similar configuration between the heat pipes and heat sink (see Figures 5 and 8 in Kasagi; see Figures 1-4 and 17 in Ito), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the heat pipes of Kasagi to include a bent, heat radiating portion connected to the heat sink as taught in Ito. Doing so would have improved heat transfer between the heat sink and the heat pipes by increasing the thermal contact between the fins and the heat pipe (see Paragraphs [0083] and [0105] in Ito). This space-saving configuration would have also allowed for additional sets of heat pipes to be connected to the heat sink (see Paragraph [0083] in Ito), and would have allowed for condensed fluid within the heat pipes to flow toward the heat generating components (see Figures 1-4 in Ito).
Regarding claim 14, Kasagi in view of Ito, Wu, and Lee teaches the heat radiating device according to claim 13, and further teaches wherein the first direction (vertical direction) and the fifth direction (vertical direction) are a same direction.
Regarding claim 16, Kasagi discloses an electronic apparatus comprising: a circuit board (Figures 1-5, printed circuit board 6) on which an integrated circuit (first heat generating element 5) and a part (second heat generating element 5) are mounted; and a heat radiating device (comprised of heat pipes 1, metal casing 4, and heat fins 7) that includes: a plurality of heat pipes (Figures 1-4, heat pipes 1) including respective heat receiving portions (portions of 1 above 5) that are located in a first direction (vertical direction) with respect to the integrated circuit (first 5) and that are thermally connected to the integrated circuit (first 5); and at least one heat sink (Figure 5, heat fins 7) connected to the plurality of heat pipes (1, through connection with case 4), wherein: the heat receiving portions (portions of 1 above 5) of the plurality of heat pipes (1) are aligned with each other in a second direction (horizontal direction) orthogonal to the first direction (vertical direction) and are in contact with the heat receiving portions (portions of 1 above 5) of adjacent ones of the heat pipes (adjacent 1), the heat receiving portions (portions of 1 above 5) each have a first width (Figures 1-2, W) in the first direction (vertical direction) and have a second width (Figures 1-2, thickness T) smaller than the first width (W) in the second direction (horizontal direction), the plurality of heat pipes (1) includes respective heat radiating portions (portions of 1 connected to 7) connected to the at least one heat sink (7) and located away from the heat receiving portions (portions of 1 above 5), at least one heat pipe (left 1) among the plurality of heat pipes (1) includes an intermediate portion (portion of 1 connected between 5 and 7) located between the at least one heat sink (7) and the part on the circuit board (second 5), the intermediate portion (portion of 1 between 5 and 7) has a first surface (top portion of 1) facing the heat sink (7) and a second surface (bottom portion of 1) facing the circuit board (6).
Kasagi does not disclose a slope or a step formed in the second surface such that a width of the intermediate portion in the first direction is gradually decreased in an extending direction of the at least one heat pipe from the heat receiving portion to the heat radiating portion, the first surface of the intermediate portion facing the heat sink is parallel to a lower edge of the at least one heat sink, the first surface of the intermediate portion is parallel to the circuit board.
However Ito teaches a heat radiating device (see Figures 1-4 and 17) comprising: a plurality of heat pipes (Figures 1-4, heat pipes 13) including respective heat receiving portions (portion of 13 connected to cover 32 and heat received plate 34) that are located in a first direction (vertical direction) with respect to an integrated circuit (heat generating component connected to 34) and that are thermally connected to the integrated circuit (heat generating component connected to 34); and at least one heat sink (heat sink 20) connected to the plurality of heat pipes (13), wherein: the heat receiving portions (end portion of 13 connected to 32, 34) of the plurality of heat pipes (13) are aligned with each other in a second direction (horizontal direction) orthogonal to the first direction (vertical direction), the heat receiving portions (end portions of 13 connected to 32, 34) each have a first width (vertical height of 13) in the first direction (vertical direction) and have a second width (horizontal width of 13) smaller than the first width (vertical height of 13) in the second direction (horizontal direction; see Paragraph [0037]), the plurality of heat pipes (13) include respective heat radiating portions (end portions of 13 connected to 20) connected to the at least one heat sink (20) and located away from the heat receiving portions (portion of 13 connected to 32, 34), at least one heat pipe (14) among the plurality of heat pipes (13) includes an intermediate portion (Figure 4, gradually compressed portion of 13) located between the at least one heat sink (20) and the part on the circuit board (substrate connected to 34), the intermediate portion (see Figure 4) has a first surface (top surface of compressed portion of 13) facing the heat sink (20) and a second surface (bottom surface of compressed portion of 13) facing the circuit board (substrate connected to 34), a portion of the first surface of the intermediate portion (top surface of compressed portion of 14) facing the heat sink (20) is parallel to a lower edge of the at least one heat sink (lower edge of 22), a portion of the first surface of the intermediate portion (top surface of compressed portion of 14) is parallel to the integrated circuit (heat generating component connected to 34), and a slope or a step is formed in the second surface (bottom surface of compressed portion of 14) such that a width of the intermediate portion (gradually compressed portion of 13) in the first direction (vertical direction) is gradually decreased in an extending direction (transverse direction, between 32 and 20) of the at least one heat pipe (14 of 13) from the heat receiving portion (portion of 13 connected to 32, 34) to the heat radiating portion (portion of 32 connected to 20; Paragraph [0105], portion of 13 connected to 26 being vertically flattened).
Because Kasagi and Ito both teach a similar configuration between the heat pipes and heat sink (see Figures 5 and 8 in Kasagi; see Figure 17 in Ito), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the heat pipes of Kasagi to include a flattened, heat radiating portion connected to the heat sink, as taught in Ito. Doing so would have improved heat transfer between the heat sink and the heat pipes by increasing the thermal contact area between the heat fins and the heat pipes (see Paragraphs [0083] and [0105] in Ito). This space-saving configuration would have also allowed for additional sets of heat pipes to be connected to the heat sink (see Paragraph [0083] in Ito).
Kasagi in view of Ito does not teach wherein the first surface of the intermediate portion facing the heat sink is parallel to a lower edge of the at least one heat sink, and wherein the first surface of the intermediate portion is parallel to the circuit board.
However, Wu teaches a heat pipe (Figures 3A and 8B, pipe body 10) comprising a heat receiving portion (13a), and a heat dissipating portion (14), and an intermediate portion (portion between 13a and 14), the first surface (top surface) of an intermediate portion (portion between 13a and 14; see Figures 3A and 8B) facing the heat sink (21) is parallel to a lower edge of the at least one heat sink (lower edges of 21), and the first surface (top surface) of the intermediate portion (portion between 13a and 14) is parallel to the circuit board (circuit board 31; see Paragraph [0072]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the plurality of heat pipes in Kasagi as modified by Ito such that only the bottom surface was sloped as taught in Wu, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of improving heat transfer between the heat sink and the heat pipes by increasing the thermal contact area between the heat fins and the heat pipes (see Paragraphs [0083] and [0105] in Ito; see Paragraphs [0061], [0078] in Wu). Doing so would have also enabled increased vapor-liquid circulation efficiency and upgraded the anti-gravity effect in heat transfer (see Paragraph [0076] in Wu).
Regarding the limitation, “the first surface of the intermediate portion is parallel to the circuit board”, because Kasagi, Ito, and Wu all suggest the bottom surface of the heat pipes are parallel with the circuit board (see Figure 7 in Kasagi, see Figure 4 in Ito; see Figure 8 in Wu), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have made the first surface of the intermediate portion to be parallel to the circuit board, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Kasagi in view of Ito and Wu does not teach wherein a first side of the at least one heat sink includes an inlet port for receiving an airflow generated by a cooling fan to cool a surface of the circuit board.
However, Lee teaches at least one heat sink (fin group 14, including fan holder 34), wherein a first side of the at least one heat sink (side 14 connected to fan 30) includes an inlet port (space between fins 14 defined by fan holder 34) for receiving an airflow generated by a cooling fan (fan 30) to cool a surface of the circuit board (see Paragraph [0004], where processor in Lee corresponds to heating elements 5 of circuit board 6 in Kasagi).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the cooling fan of Lee to the heat sink of Kasagi as modified by Ito and Wu to cool a surface of the circuit board in Kasagi as modified by Ito and Wu. Doing so would have allowed the heating elements and other electronic components (i.e. circuit board) in the device to function within their normal operating temperature ranges, thereby assuring the quality of data management, storage, and transfer (see Paragraph [0004] in Lee).
Regarding claim 17, Kasagi in view of Ito, Wu, and Lee teaches the heat radiating device of claim 8, and further teaches wherein a first ratio between widths at the first heat receiving portion (height-to-width ratio of 4 in Kasagi being greater than 1) of the first heat pipe (1, as modified by Ito) is different than a second ratio between widths at the first heat radiating portion (portion of 1 in Kasagi connected to heat sink being vertically compressed, as taught in Ito, resulting in a height-to-width ratio being less than 1) of the first heat pipe (1, as modified by Ito and Wu).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasagi (JP Publication No. H06216554, cited in IDS filed 9/8/2022), Ito (US Publication No. 2021/0318072), Wu (US Publication No. 2014/0055954), Lee (US Publication No. 2006/0289150), and in further view of Saturley (US Publication No. 2019/0269035)
Regarding claim 15, Kasagi in view of Ito, Wu, and Lee teaches the heat radiating device according to claim 8, and further teaches (in Kasagi) wherein the at least one heat sink (7) includes a second fin block (7), the second fin block (7) is connected to the heat radiating portion (portion of 1 connected to heat sink, as modified by Ito and Wu).
Kasagi in view of Ito, Wu, and Lee does not teach wherein the at least one heat sink includes a first fin block, wherein the first fin block is connected to the heat receiving portion.
However, Saturley teaches wherein at least one heat sink (Figures 1-3, comprised of first and second heat sinks 12, 14) includes a first fin block (12) and a second fin block (14), the first fin block (12) is connected to a heat receiving portion (portion of heat pipe 10 connected to component 20 through base of 12), and the second fin block (14) is connected to the heat radiating portion (portion of 10 connected to 14).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the heat sink of Saturley to the heat receiving portion of Kasagi as modified by Ito, Wu, and Lee. Doing so would have improved heat dissipation by providing a second heat sink block configured to cool the heat pipe and heat generating component (see Paragraphs [0027]-[0030] and Figures 1-3 in Saturley).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3 and 6-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s amendments are directed at clarifying a fan is coupled to the heat sink to cool a surface of the circuit board. Examiner agrees the amendments overcome the previously cited art of record, but submits combining a fan to a heat sink would have been obvious to a PHOSITA in view of Lee (US Publication No. 2006/0289150). Specifically, Lee teaches at least one heat sink (fin group 14, including fan holder 34), wherein a first side of the at least one heat sink (side 14 connected to fan 30) includes an inlet port (space between fins 14 defined by fan holder 34) for receiving an airflow generated by a cooling fan (fan 30) to cool a surface of the circuit board (see Paragraph
[0004], where processor in Lee corresponds to heating elements 5 of circuit board 6 in Kasagi).
Examiner also submits He (US Publication No. 2006/0289149), Inoue (US Publication No. 2014/0036440), and Sugawara (US Publication No. 2018/0042136) also teach a fan coupled to a heat sink to cool a circuit board.
For these reasons, and the reasons detailed above, claims 1-3 and 6-20 stand rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GAGE CRUM/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
gsc