DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Office acknowledges receipt on 24 March 2026 of Applicants’ amendment in which claim 21 is newly added.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 24 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue in the fourth and fifth paragraphs of page 7 and with respect to claim 1 that:
Choi does not disclose first cathode electrodes that are "separated for each of the plurality of light emitting elements," as expressly required by claim 1. Rather, Choi's electrode 600 is a single electrode that extends continuously across multiple pixels. The conductive layer 700 disclosed by Choi is not used to connect separated cathode electrodes, but instead is applied over an already-continuous electrode to locally reinforce thin regions formed over bank slopes.
Choi’s "connection" is fundamentally different from Applicant's claimed structure.
Claim 1 is rejected over the combined teachings of Choung and Choi and recites, in relevant part, “the first cathode electrode are separated for each of the plurality of light emitting elements.” One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. MPEP 2145(IV). As this principle applies to the present circumstance, Choung is cited by the Office for teaching the immediately-above-identified subject matter of claim 1 cited by Applicants, not Choi, as discussed below in greater detail with respect to the rejection of claim 1.
Applicants argue in the fifth paragraph of page 7 and with respect to claim 1 that:
Applicant’s claim requires intentional electrical separation at the cathode level, followed by selective reconnection to a common second cathode electrode at a location geometrically constrained by a concave insulating region. Choi discloses no such architecture.
Claim 1 recites, in relevant part, “the first cathode electrode are separated for each of the plurality of light emitting elements.” Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. MPEP §2145(VI). As this principle applies to the present circumstance, Applicants’ claim 1 does not recite intentional electrical separation at the cathode level, followed by selective reconnection to a common second cathode electrode at a location geometrically constrained by a concave insulating region.
Applicants argue in the last paragraph of page 7 through the third paragraph of page 8 and with respect to claim 1 that:
the purpose of Choi's conductive layer 700 is expressly to address resistance increases in an already-connected common electrode, not to connect discrete cathode electrodes that are separated per pixel. Choi therefore teaches a solution that presumes electrode continuity, whereas Applicant's claim is premised on cathode separation. These approaches address different problems and rely on different structural assumptions.
As a result, there would be no reason, other than hindsight reconstruction, to modify Choung's device using Choi in a manner that would yield Applicant's claimed structure, including the claimed concave insulating region and the localized cathode-to-cathode connection formed above that concave region.
In any event, like Choung, Choi does not disclose "the second cathode electrode is connected to one of the first cathode electrodes at a location above the concave area of the insulating layer in a cross-sectional view," as recited in Applicant's claim 1.
Claim 1 recites, in relevant part, “the second cathode electrode is connected to one of the first cathode electrodes at a location above the concave area of the insulating layer in a cross-sectional view.” It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. MPEP §2144(IV). As this principle applies to the present circumstance, it is unnecessary for Choi to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. The motivation for combining the teachings of Choi with those of Choung is identified with respect to the rejection of claim 1 provided below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following subject matter must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 21, lines 2-5, recites “the concave area of the insulating layer includes a first portion and a second portion, the first portion covering at least an upper end portion of the anode electrode; and a first distance from the substrate to the first portion is greater than a second distance from the substrate to the second portion,” which is neither illustrated by the drawings nor identified within the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-16, and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choung et al. (US20160248039A1) in view of Choi et al. (US20190165085A1).
Regarding claim 1, Choung teaches in Figs. 1, 2, 15 a display device comprising:
a plurality of light emitting elements (200/200’) arranged above a substrate (100) each of the plurality of light emitting elements (200/200’) including an anode electrode (210), an organic light emitting layer (222), and a first cathode electrode (230), wherein the anode electrode (210), the organic light emitting layer (222), and the first cathode electrode (230) are separated for each of the plurality of light emitting elements (200/200’) {¶0028, 0034};
a protective layer (240/240’) configured to cover the plurality of light emitting elements (200/200’) {¶0028};
a second cathode electrode (250) provided on the protective layer (240/240’) {¶0028};
an insulating layer (180) provided between adjacent anode electrodes (210) and in contact with the adjacent anode electrodes (210).
Choung does not necessarily teach:
the insulating layer having a concave area;
the second cathode electrode is connected to one of the first cathode electrodes at a location above the concave area of the insulating layer in a cross-sectional view, and
the concave area of the insulating layer is between the second cathode electrode and the substrate along a vertical direction in the cross-sectional view.
In an analogous art, Choi teaches in Fig. 7:
an insulating layer (400) having a concave area {¶0064};
a second cathode electrode (700) is connected to one of a first cathode electrodes (600) at a location above the concave area of the insulating layer (400) in a cross-sectional view {¶0077}, and
the concave area of the insulating layer (400) is between the second cathode electrode (700) and a substrate (100) along a vertical direction in the cross-sectional view {Fig. 7}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choung’s display device based on the teachings of Choi – such that the insulating layer has a concave area; the second cathode electrode is connected to one of the first cathode electrodes at a location above the concave area of the insulating layer in a cross-sectional view, and the concave area of the insulating layer is between the second cathode electrode and the substrate along a vertical direction in the cross-sectional view – to prevent the problem related with the burning phenomenon or wiring disconnection in the first portion … of the second electrode. Choi ¶0077.
Regarding claim 5, Choung as modified by Choi teaches the display device according to claim 1, and Choung further teaches wherein the protective layer (240) contains at least one of an inorganic oxide (ITO) and an organic insulating material {¶0042}.
Examiner’s Note: Mishima (US20200136079A1) ¶0239, e.g., teaches ITO is an inorganic oxide. Thus, Choung’s disclosed ITO is implicitly an inorganic oxide.
Regarding claim 6, Choung as modified by Choi teaches the display device according to claim 1, and Choung further teaches wherein the protective layer (240/240’) is a multilayer film {¶0042}.
Regarding claim 7, Choung as modified by Choi teaches the display device according to claim 1, and Choung further teaches wherein
the plurality of light emitting elements (200/200’) respectively correspond to a plurality of sub-pixels (P1-P3), the plurality of sub-pixels including a red sub-pixel (P3), a green sub-pixel (P2) and a blue sub-pixel (P1) {Fig. 1; ¶0027}, and
a thickness of the protective layer (240) on each of the separated first cathode electrodes (230) is substantially the same in the red sub-pixel (P3), the green sub-pixel (P2), and the blue sub-pixel (P1) {¶0028, a conductive protection layer 240 having a predetermined thickness is between the stack structure 200 and the connection electrode layer 250}.
Regarding claim 8, Choung as modified by Choi teaches the display device according to claim 1, and Choung further teaches further comprising: a resonator structure (230, 240’, 250) configured to cause light generated in a corresponding one of the organic light emitting layers (222) to resonate {¶0048, 0049}, wherein
the plurality of light emitting elements (200’) respectively correspond to a plurality of sub- pixels (P1-P3), the plurality of sub-pixels including a red sub-pixel (P3), a green sub-pixel (P2) and a blue sub-pixel (P1) {Fig. 1; ¶0027}, and
a thickness of the protective layer (240’) on each of the separated first cathode electrodes (230) is different for each of the red sub-pixel (P3), the sub-pixel (P2), and the blue sub-pixel (P1) {Fig. 15, ¶0090, ¶0103}.
Regarding claim 9, Choung as modified by Choi teaches the display device according to claim 1, and Choung further teaches wherein each of the first cathode electrodes (230) and the second cathode electrode (250) are connected outside a light emitting region (e.g., OP) of a corresponding sub-pixel (P1-P3) {¶0042, [t]he conductive protection layer 240 electrically connects the second electrode 230 patterned in each of the pixel areas P1, P2, and P3 to the connection electrode layer 250 in a central portion above the pixel defining layer 180, which is outside the light emitting region}.
Regarding claim 10, Choung as modified by Choi teaches the display device according to claim 1, and Choung further teaches wherein a number of connecting portions between each of the first cathode electrodes (230) and the second cathode electrode (250) is one or two or more for a corresponding one of the plurality of light emitting elements (200/200’) {¶0042, [t]he conductive protection layer 240 electrically connects the second electrode 230 patterned in each of the pixel areas P1, P2, and P3 to the connection electrode layer 250; and because protective layer 240 is conductive, each of an infinite number of connecting portions of the protective layer 240 between the first cathode electrode 230 and the second cathode electrode 250 connects to each of the sub-pixels}.
Regarding claim 11, Choung as modified by Choi teaches the display device according to claim 1, and Choung further teaches wherein
the second cathode electrode (250) includes a plurality of contact portions {¶0046, second cathode electrode 250 is a conductor; thus, it has an infinite number of contact portions continuously disposed}, and
one of the contact portions is connected to two or more of the plurality of light emitting elements (200/200’) {¶0042, [t]he conductive protection layer 240 electrically connects the second electrode 230 patterned in each of the pixel areas P1, P2, and P3 to the connection electrode layer 250; and because protective layer 240 is conductive, each of an infinite number of contact portions of the second cathode electrode 250 has an electrical connection to the each of the sub-pixels through protective layer 240}.
Regarding claim 12, Choung as modified by Choi teaches the display device according to claim 1, and Choung further teaches wherein a connecting portion between each of the first cathode electrodes (230) and the second cathode electrode (250) has a dotted or linear shape {see annotated copy of Choung’s Fig. 2 below}.
Regarding claim 13, Choung as modified by Choi teaches the display device according to claim 1, and Choung further teaches wherein
each of the first cathode electrodes (230) has a facing surface (e.g., upper surface) that faces the second cathode electrode (250), and
a connecting portion between each of the first cathode electrodes (230) and the second cathode electrode (250) is provided along a peripheral edge of the facing surface (e.g., upper surface) {¶0042, [t]he conductive protection layer 240 electrically connects the second electrode 230 patterned in each of the pixel areas P1, P2, and P3 to the connection electrode layer 250; and because protective layer 240 is conductive, each of an infinite number of connecting portions of the protective layer 240 is provided between the first cathode electrode 230 and the second cathode electrode 250 along a peripheral edge of the facing surface of the first cathode electrode 230}.
Regarding claim 14, Choung as modified by Choi teaches the display device according to claim 1, and Choung further teaches wherein the second cathode electrode (250) is connected to an end portion of each of the first cathode electrodes (230) {¶0042, [t]he conductive protection layer 240 electrically connects the second electrode 230 patterned in each of the pixel areas P1, P2, and P3 to the connection electrode layer 250; and because protective layer 240 is conductive, a portion of second cathode electrode 250 (e.g., a portion centered above pixel defining layer 180) is electrically connected to an end portion of the first cathode electrode 230}.
Regarding claim 15, Choung as modified by Choi teaches the display device according to claim 1, and Choung further teaches wherein
each of the first cathode electrodes (230) has a protruding portion (e.g., end portion) that protrudes with respect to a peripheral edge (e.g., side edge) of a light emitting region (e.g., OP) of a corresponding light emitting element (200/200’) of the plurality of light emitting elements (200/200’), and
the second cathode electrode (250) is connected to each of the first cathode electrodes (230) at the corresponding protruding portion (e.g., end portion) for the corresponding light emitting element (200/200’) {¶0042, [t]he conductive protection layer 240 electrically connects the second electrode 230 patterned in each of the pixel areas P1, P2, and P3 to the connection electrode layer 250; and because protective layer 240 is conductive, a portion of second cathode electrode 250 (e.g., a portion centered above pixel defining layer 180) is electrically connected to an end portion of the first cathode electrode 230}.
Regarding claim 16, Choung as modified by Choi teaches the display device according to claim 1, and Choung further teaches wherein
a corresponding light emitting element (200/200’) of the plurality of light emitting elements (200/200’) has a cutout portion (e.g., separation space between adjacent 200s/200’s) at a peripheral edge (e.g., side edge) of a light emitting region (e.g., OP) of the corresponding light emitting element (200/200’), and
the second cathode electrode (250) is connected to each of the first cathode electrodes (230) in the corresponding cutout portion (e.g., separation space between adjacent 200s/200’s) for the corresponding light emitting element (200/200’) {¶0042, [t]he conductive protection layer 240 electrically connects the second electrode 230 patterned in each of the pixel areas P1, P2, and P3 to the connection electrode layer 250; and because protective layer 240/240’ is conductive, a portion of second cathode electrode 250 (e.g., a portion centered above pixel defining layer 180) is electrically connected to the first cathode electrode 230 in a separation space (e.g., cutout portion) between adjacent light-emitting regions 200s/200’s}.
Regarding claim 19, Choung teaches in Figs. 1 and 2 a display device comprising:
a plurality of light emitting elements (200) arranged above a substrate (100) each of the plurality of light emitting elements (200) including a first electrode (210), an organic light emitting layer (222), and a second electrode (230),wherein the first electrode (210), the organic light emitting layer (222), and the second electrode (230) are separated for each of the plurality of light emitting elements (200) {¶0028, 0034};
a protective layer (240) configured to cover the plurality of light emitting elements (200) {¶0028};
a third electrode (250) provided on the protective layer (240) {¶0028}; and
an insulating layer (180) provided between adjacent first electrodes (210) and in contact with the adjacent first electrodes (210).
Cheong does not necessarily teach:
the insulating layer having a concave area;
the third electrode is connected to one of the second electrodes at a location above the concave area of the insulating layer in a cross-sectional view, and
the concave area of the insulating layer is between the third electrode and the substrate along a vertical direction in the cross-sectional view.
Choi teaches in Fig. 7:
an insulating layer (400) having a concave area {¶0064};
a third electrode is (700) connected to one of the second electrodes (600) at a location above the concave area of the insulating layer (400) in a cross-sectional view {¶0077}, and
the concave area of the insulating layer (400) is between the third electrode (700) and a substrate (100) along a vertical direction in the cross-sectional view {Fig. 7}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choung’s display device based on the teachings of Choi – such that the insulating layer has a concave area; the third electrode is connected to one of the second electrodes at a location above the concave area of the insulating layer in a cross-sectional view, and the concave area of the insulating layer is between the third electrode and the substrate along a vertical direction in the cross-sectional view – to prevent the problem related with the burning phenomenon or wiring disconnection in the first portion … of the second electrode. Choi ¶0077.
Regarding claim 20, Choung as modified by Choi teaches an electronic apparatus comprising: a display device according to claim 1 {Figs. 1, 2; ¶0027}.
Regarding claim 21, Choung as modified by Choi teaches the display device according to claim 1, and Choung further teaches wherein the concave area of the insulating layer (180) includes a first portion and a second portion, the first portion covering at least an upper end portion of the anode electrode (210); and a first distance from the substrate (100) to the first portion is greater than a second distance from the substrate (100) to the second portion (see, e.g., annotated copy of Choung’s Fig. 2 below}.
Claim(s) 2 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choung in view of Choi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choung et al. (US20200144544A1) (“Choung ‘544”).
Regarding claim 2, Choung as modified by Choi teaches the display device according to claim 1, but Choung does not teach wherein
the protective layer has a plurality of contact holes, and
the second cathode electrode is connected to each of the separated first cathode electrodes via at least one of the plurality of contact holes.
In an analogous art, Choung ‘544 teaches in Fig. 8 and paragraph [0109] the protective layer (2410-2430) has a plurality of contact holes (2410H-2430H), and the second cathode electrode (250) is connected to each of the separated first cathode electrodes (231-233) via at least one of the plurality of contact holes (2410H-2430H). Choung ‘544 teaches that the embodiment illustrated by Fig. 8 is an alternative to an embodiment illustrated by Fig. 4 and described in paragraph [0063] in which first to third protective layers 241 to 243 include a conductive material, [and] the connection layer 250 may electrically connect the first to third opposite electrodes 231 to 233 by contacting the first to third protective layers 241 to 243, which is similar to how Choung’s conductive protection layer 240 electrically connects the second electrode 230 patterned in each of the pixel areas P1, P2, and P3 to the connection electrode layer 250. Thus, Choung ‘544 teaches the embodiment of Fig. 8 is an alternative to the embodiment of Fig. 4, which is similar to Choung’s embodiment.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choung’s display device as modified by Choi based on the teachings of Choung ‘544 – such that the protective layer has a plurality of contact holes, and the second cathode electrode is connected to each of the separated first cathode electrodes via at least one of the plurality of contact holes – because all the claimed elements (e.g., protective layer, contact holes, second cathode electrode, first cathode electrodes) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (as taught by the alternative embodiments disclosed by Choung ‘544), with no change in their respective functions, to yield nothing more than predictable results. MPEP ¶2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 18, Choung as modified by Choi teaches the display device according to claim 1, but Choung does not teach further comprising: another protective layer configured to cover the second cathode electrode.
Choung ‘544 teaches in Fig. 4 and paragraph [0065] another protective layer (260) configured to cover the second cathode electrode (250). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choung’s display device as modified by Choi based on the teachings of Choung ‘544 – such that another protective layer covers the second cathode electrode – for protecting the light-emitting devices from exposure to moisture and oxygen. Choung ‘544 ¶0114.
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choung in view of Choi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US20180130950A1).
Regarding claim 3, Choung as modified by Choi teaches the display device according to claim 1, but Choung does not teach wherein each of the first cathode electrodes and the second cathode electrode independently contain a transparent metal oxide, metal, or alloy.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches in Fig. 20 and paragraphs [0032] and [0046] each of the first cathode electrodes (231) and the second cathode electrode (235) independently contain a transparent metal oxide, metal, or alloy. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choung’s display device as modified by Choi based on the teachings of Kim – such that each of the first cathode electrodes and the second cathode electrode independently contain a transparent metal oxide, metal, or alloy – because [t]he selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Regarding claim 4, Choung as modified by Choi teaches the display device according to claim 1, but Choung does not teach wherein
each of the first cathode electrodes contains a transparent metal oxide, and
the second cathode electrode contains a metal or an alloy.
Kim teaches in Fig. 20 the first cathode electrode (231) contains a transparent metal oxide {¶0032}, and the second cathode electrode (235) contains a metal or an alloy {¶0032}. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choung’s display device as modified by Choi based on the teachings of Kim – such that each of the first cathode electrodes contains a transparent metal oxide, and the second cathode electrode contains a metal or an alloy – because [t]he selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choung in view of Choi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lim (US20190379006A1).
Regarding claim 17, Choung as modified by Choi teaches the display device according to claim 1, but Choung does not teach wherein
the protective layer has a plurality of air gaps, and
each of the plurality of air gaps is provided between respective light emitting elements that are adjacent to each other.
In an analogous art, Lim teaches in Figs. 2 and 3 and paragraph [0058] the protective layer (151) has a plurality of air gaps (AG), and each of the plurality of air gaps (AG) is provided between respective light emitting elements (RP, GP, BP) that are adjacent to each other. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choung’s display device as modified by Choi based on the teachings of Lim – such that the protective layer has a plurality of air gaps, and each of the plurality of air gaps is provided between respective light emitting elements that are adjacent to each other – so [l]ight incident on the air gap AG may be reflected … and may be transferred to the color filter {Lim ¶0066} … thereby enhancing light efficiency {Lim ¶0071}.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.W.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2891
/MATTHEW C LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2891