DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant’s argument regarding the written description rejection are not persuasive. The Examiner has explained in the rejection that demodulation would happen the same way at the receiver regardless of whether or not the data redundantly modulated by the transmitter. The applicant does not disclose a special technique for “redundantly” demodulating as the invention would clearly only demodulate the redundantly modulated data once when it is received. The applicant is ignoring the fact that the transmitter and receiver serve and perform different functions and limitations cannot just be used interchangeably between the two.
Regarding the prior art, the Yum reference is no longer used so the arguments are moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 42-50 and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The applicant did not disclose “redundantly” demodulating a symbol from a second set of subcarriers. Instead, the applicant disclosed demodulating a symbol from a second set of subcarriers that happened to be redundantly modulated when it was transmitted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 42, 44-50, and 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0141570 by Verma et al.
As to claim 42, Verma teaches a method, performed by a wireless receiver (paragraph 89), of controlling wireless transmissions in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: determining mapping of user data to a plurality of resource units comprising a first resource unit and a second resource unit (paragraph 104, the particular client has allocated more than one resource unit), wherein the mapping is based on puncturing patterns such that at least one resource unit of the plurality of resource units is muted (paragraph 57, the interfering channels are punctured so that no data is carried) and at least one of the first and second resource units is not subject to puncturing (paragraph 104, the resource units allocated to the client are not punctured); and receiving the user data using Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) (paragraph 71); and demodulating a symbol of the user data from a first set of subcarriers of the first resource unit and redundantly demodulating the symbol from a second set of subcarriers of the second resource unit (paragraph 89, anything in the resource units that are specified by the puncture pattern will be demodulated including any redundant data because demodulation does not change based on the content of the data).
As to claim 52, it is rejected for the same reasoning as claim 42.
As to claim 44, the Abstract explains how the puncture pattern is based on interference from other technologies.
As to claim 45, see paragraph 19.
As to claim 46, see paragraph 127.
As to claim 47, see paragraph 122.
As to claims 48 and 49, see paragraph 65.
As to claim 50, see paragraph 57.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 34, 36-41, 51, and 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0141570 by Verma et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2011/0268200 by Yonge, III et al.
As to claim 34, Verma teaches a method, performed by a wireless transmitter (paragraph 71), of controlling wireless transmissions in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: determining mapping of user data to a plurality of resource units comprising a first resource unit and a second resource unit (paragraph 104, the particular client has allocated more than one resource unit), wherein the mapping is based on puncturing patterns such that at least one resource unit of the plurality of resource units is muted (paragraph 57, the interfering channels are punctured so that no data is carried) and at least one of the first and second resource units is not subject to puncturing (paragraph 104, the resource units allocated to the client are not punctured); and transmitting the user data using Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) modulation (paragraph 71) on a shared wireless medium having a bandwidth comprising the first resource unit and the second resource unit (paragraph 106); however, Verma does not teach that the transmitting comprises: modulating a symbol of the user data onto a first set of subcarriers of the first resource unit and redundantly modulating the symbol onto a second set of subcarriers of the second resource unit.
Yonge teaches transmitting the user data using Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) modulation on a shared wireless medium having a bandwidth comprising a first resource unit and a second resource unit, wherein the transmitting comprises: modulating a symbol of the user data onto a first set of subcarriers of a first resource unit and redundantly modulating the symbol onto a second set of subcarriers of a second resource unit (paragraph 46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the data transmission art at the time of the filing to combine the teachings of Verma regarding using puncturing patterns to transfer data with the teachings of Yonge regarding redundantly modulating symbols on to subcarriers of resource units because both concepts relate to OFDM transmissions and the claims do not coherently tie the concept of determining the mapping to the transmission of the user data; the claims determine a mapping but they never do anything with the mapping. The combination shows the incoherent combination claimed by the applicant.
As to claim 36, the Abstract explains how the puncture pattern is based on interference from other technologies.
As to claim 37, see paragraph 70.
As to claim 38, see paragraph 122.
As to claims 39 and 40, see paragraph 65.
As to claim 41, see paragraph 57.
As to claim 51, it is rejected for the same reasoning as claim 34.
As to claim 53, it is rejected for the same reasoning as claims 34 and 42.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOUGLAS B BLAIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454