DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The rejection of claims 42-50 and 52 for failing to comply with the written description rejection is withdrawn in view of the applicant’s amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant’s arguments are addressed by the explanation provided with the 5/11/2026 Advisory Action. Verma teaches implementing puncturing patterns, however Verma does not explicitly teach redundantly transmitting data. Yonge was found to show the benefits of redundantly transmitting data to be known. As explained, the combination of Verma and Yonge shows the breadth of the claims to be obvious.
The Examiner suggested amendments to David Bennett (Reg. No. 32,194) on 8/25. Mr. Bennett stated that he would provide the suggestions to his client. The Examiner has not received any communication from the applicant regarding this case as of morning of 9/14/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 42, 44-50, and 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0141570 by Verma et al.
As to claim 42, Verma teaches a method, performed by a wireless receiver (paragraph 89), of controlling wireless transmissions in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: determining mapping of user data to a plurality of resource units comprising a first resource unit and a second resource unit (paragraph 104, the particular client has allocated more than one resource unit), wherein the mapping is based on puncturing patterns such that at least one resource unit of the plurality of resource units is muted (paragraph 57, the interfering channels are punctured so that no data is carried) and at least one of the first and second resource units is not subject to puncturing (paragraph 104, the resource units allocated to the client are not punctured); and receiving the user data using Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) (paragraph 71); and demodulating a symbol of the user data from at least one of a first set of subcarriers of the first resource unit and a second set of subcarriers of the second resource unit (paragraph 89, anything in the resource units that are specified by the puncture pattern will be demodulated including any redundant data because demodulation does not change based on the content of the data).
As to claim 52, it is rejected for the same reasoning as claim 42.
As to claim 44, the Abstract explains how the puncture pattern is based on interference from other technologies.
As to claim 45, see paragraph 19.
As to claim 46, see paragraph 127.
As to claim 47, see paragraph 122.
As to claims 48 and 49, see paragraph 65.
As to claim 50, see paragraph 57.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 34, 36-41, 51, and 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0141570 by Verma et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2011/0268200 by Yonge, III et al.
As to claim 34, Verma teaches a method, performed by a wireless transmitter (paragraph 71), of controlling wireless transmissions in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: determining mapping of user data to a plurality of resource units comprising a first resource unit and a second resource unit (paragraph 104, the particular client has allocated more than one resource unit), wherein the mapping is based on puncturing patterns such that at least one resource unit of the plurality of resource units is muted (paragraph 57, the interfering channels are punctured so that no data is carried) and at least one of the first and second resource units is not subject to puncturing (paragraph 104, the resource units allocated to the client are not punctured); and transmitting the user data using Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) modulation (paragraph 71) on a shared wireless medium having a bandwidth comprising the first resource unit and the second resource unit (paragraph 106); however, Verma does not teach that the transmitting comprises: modulating a symbol of the user data onto a first set of subcarriers of the first resource unit and redundantly modulating the symbol onto a second set of subcarriers of the second resource unit.
Yonge teaches transmitting the user data using Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) modulation on a shared wireless medium having a bandwidth comprising a first resource unit and a second resource unit, wherein the transmitting comprises: modulating a symbol of the user data onto a first set of subcarriers of a first resource unit and redundantly modulating the symbol onto a second set of subcarriers of a second resource unit (paragraph 46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the data transmission art at the time of the filing to combine the teachings of Verma regarding using puncturing patterns to transfer data with the teachings of Yonge regarding redundantly modulating symbols on to subcarriers of resource units because both concepts relate to OFDM transmissions and the claims do not coherently tie the concept of determining the mapping to the transmission of the user data; the claims determine a mapping but they never do anything with the mapping. The combination shows the incoherent combination claimed by the applicant.
As to claim 36, the Abstract explains how the puncture pattern is based on interference from other technologies.
As to claim 37, see paragraph 70.
As to claim 38, see paragraph 122.
As to claims 39 and 40, see paragraph 65.
As to claim 41, see paragraph 57.
As to claim 51, it is rejected for the same reasoning as claim 34.
As to claim 53, it is rejected for the same reasoning as claims 34 and 42.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOUGLAS B BLAIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454