DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In lines 4-5, the applicant states “the plurality of electrodes are first electrodes”; however,
it is unclear whether the applicant is referring back to the “a plurality of second electrodes” stated in line 2 of the same claim or “a plurality of electrodes;” stated in line 4 of claim 1. Further, it is unclear whether “a plurality of second electrodes” are within the “a plurality of electrodes;” stated in line 4 of claim 1 or are completely distinct from the “a plurality of electrodes;” Appropriate clarification and/or correction are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In view of the 112 rejection above, claim(s) s 1 thru 9, 11, 12, 14 thru 18, 20, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsao et al US 2019/0164920 A1 in view of Takahashi US 2014/0264847 A1 in view of Shieh et al. US 2012/0273934 A1. Tsao discloses (see, for example, FIG. 14) a semiconductor device comprising a semiconductor element 15’, element first surface (i.e. bottom surface of element 15’), element second surface (i.e. top surface of element 15’), electrode 40’, conducting member 30, obverse surface (i.e. top surface of conducting member 30), reverse surface (i.e. bottom surface of conducting member 30), conductive bonding material 90, resin member 95, first barrier layer 25’, and protective film 60’. In FIG.14, Tsao discloses the element first surface being further provided with a protective film 60’ covering a part of the electrode 40’. Tsao does not disclose each of the plurality of electrodes the plurality of electrodes include electrodes arranged in a first row and electrodes arranged in a second row, the first row and the second row being adjacent to each other and each extending in a first direction perpendicular to the thickness direction, the first row and the second row being spaced apart from each other in a second direction perpendicular to the thickness direction and the first direction. However, Takahashi discloses (see, for example, FIG. 2, 5, and 6) a semiconductor device comprising a plurality of electrodes 3 set in adjacent, vertical rows that include electrodes arranged in a first row and electrodes arranged in a second row, the first row and the second row being adjacent to each other and each extending in a first direction perpendicular to the thickness direction, the first row and the second row being spaced apart from each other in a second direction perpendicular to the thickness direction and the first direction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time of prior to the effective filing date, to have each of the plurality of electrodes the plurality of electrodes include electrodes arranged in a first row and electrodes arranged in a second row, the first row and the second row being adjacent to each other and each extending in a first direction perpendicular to the thickness direction, the first row and the second row being spaced apart from each other in a second direction perpendicular to the thickness direction and the first direction in order to increase density, and thereby downsize the semiconductor device.
Tsao in view of Takahashi does not disclose each of the plurality of electrodes has an oval shape having a major diameter extending in the second direction and a minor diameter extending in the first direction. However, Shieh discloses (see, for example, FIG. 1A) a semiconductor device 150 comprising an electrode 110. In FIG. 1C and paragraph [0042], Shieh discloses the shape includes a shape of an oval. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to have each of the plurality of electrodes has an oval shape having a major diameter extending in the second direction and a minor diameter extending in the first direction in order to reduce stress, and increase yield; and furthermore, such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 2, see, for example, paragraph [0039] wherein Tsao discloses the electrode 40’ may include Cu.
Regarding claim 3, see, for example, paragraph [0030] wherein Tsao discloses the conductive member 30 may be Cu.
Regarding claim 4, see, for example, paragraph [0045] wherein Tsao discloses the conductive member 25’ may be Ni.
Regarding claim 5, see, for example, paragraph [0057] wherein Tsao discloses the conductive bonding material 90 may be a solder joint, which contain Sn.
Regarding claim 6, see, for example, FIG. 14 wherein Tsao discloses electrode 40’ and another first barrier layer 30’.
Regarding claim 7, see, for example, FIG. 14 wherein Tsao discloses the conductive bonding material 90 and the first barrier layer 25’ being in contact with each other.
Regarding claim 8, see, for example, FIG. 14 wherein Tsao discloses a second barrier layer 25 that is disposed between the conducting member 30 and the conductive bonding material 90 and prevents a reaction between the conducting member 30 and the conductive bonding material 90.
Regarding claim 9, see, for example, paragraph [0045] wherein Tsao discloses the second barrier layer 25 may be Ni.
Regarding claim 11, see, for example, FIG. 14 wherein Tsao discloses the conducting member 30 and the second barrier layer 25 being in contact with each other.
Regarding claim 12, see, for example, FIG. 14 wherein Tsao discloses the conductive bonding material 90 and the second barrier layer 25 being in contact with each other.
Regarding claim 14, see, for example, FIG. 14 wherein Tsao discloses the electrode 40’ including a lateral surface facing in a direction perpendicular to the thickness direction.
Regarding claim 15, see, for example, FIG. 14 wherein Tsao discloses a conductive pad 20’, and the conductive pad 20’ being greater in size along a direction perpendicular to the thickness direction of the electrode 40’.
Regarding claim 16, see, for example, the rejection for claim 1 above, and FIG. 2. wherein Takahashi discloses the electrode 3 having a circular cross section.
Regarding claims 17-18, see, for example, FIG. 14 and paragraph [0036] wherein Tsao discloses switching/control circuit 155/155’ being connected. Also, see, for example, FIG. 6 wherein Takahashi discloses multiple electrodes 3 connected to multiple control/switching circuits 5. Takahashi further discloses the electrodes 3 having a circular shape. In FIG. 6, Takahashi discloses multiple leads connecting the electrodes 3 to the switching circuit 5. Also see 112 rejection above.
Regarding claim 20, see, for example, FIG. 6 wherein Takahashi discloses each of
the electrodes 3 in the first row is located between two adjacent electrodes 3’ in the second row in the first direction.
Regarding claim 21, see, for example, FIG. 14 wherein Tsao discloses the conducting member 30 including a lead wherein the lead includes a projection. The resin member 95 fills spaces between the plurality of projections of the leads 30.
In view of the 112 rejection above, claim(s) 1 thru 14, 16 thru 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US 2016/0027751 A1 in view of Furman et al. US 2009/0075469 A1 in view of Takahashi US 2014/0264847 A1 in view of Shieh et al. US 2012/0273934 A1. Kim discloses (see, for example, FIG. 10) a semiconductor device comprising a semiconductor element 121, element first surface (i.e. bottom surface), element second surface (i.e. top surface), electrode 123, conducting member 42, obverse surface (i.e. top surface), reverse surface (i.e. bottom surface), conductive bonding material 51, and a first barrier layer 125. In FIG. 10, Kim discloses the element first surface (i.e. bottom surface of semiconductor element 121) being further provided with a protective film 127 covering a bottom portion of the electrode 123. Kim does not disclose a resin member that covers at least a portion of the conducting member, the semiconductor element and the conductive bonding material. However, Furman discloses (see, for example, FIG. 1, and paragraph [0067]) a semiconductor device 2a comprising a resin member 16, and being silica epoxy, a type of resin material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to have a resin member that covers at least a portion of the conducting member, the semiconductor element and the conductive bonding material in order to protect and improve the overall stability and the mechanical connection within the semiconductor device.
Kim in view of Furman does not disclose each of the plurality of electrodes the plurality of electrodes include electrodes arranged in a first row and electrodes arranged in a second row, the first row and the second row being adjacent to each other and each extending in a first direction perpendicular to the thickness direction, the first row and the second row being spaced apart from each other in a second direction perpendicular to the thickness direction and the first direction. However, Takahashi discloses (see, for example, FIG. 2, 5, and 6) a semiconductor device comprising a plurality of electrodes 3 set in adjacent, vertical rows that include electrodes arranged in a first row and electrodes arranged in a second row, the first row and the second row being adjacent to each other and each extending in a first direction perpendicular to the thickness direction, the first row and the second row being spaced apart from each other in a second direction perpendicular to the thickness direction and the first direction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time of prior to the effective filing date, to have each of the plurality of electrodes the plurality of electrodes include electrodes arranged in a first row and electrodes arranged in a second row, the first row and the second row being adjacent to each other and each extending in a first direction perpendicular to the thickness direction, the first row and the second row being spaced apart from each other in a second direction perpendicular to the thickness direction and the first direction in order to increase density, and thereby downsize the semiconductor device.
Kim in view of Furman in view of Takahashi does not disclose each of the plurality of electrodes has an oval shape having a major diameter extending in the second direction and a minor diameter extending in the first direction. However, Shieh discloses (see, for example, FIG. 1A) a semiconductor device 150 comprising an electrode 110. In FIG. 1C and paragraph [0042], Shieh discloses the shape includes a shape of an oval. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to have each of the plurality of electrodes has an oval shape having a major diameter extending in the second direction and a minor diameter extending in the first direction in order to reduce stress, and increase yield; and furthermore, such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 2, see, for example, paragraph [0059] wherein Kim discloses the electrode may be Cu or Al.
Regarding claim 3, see, for example, paragraph [0068] wherein Kim discloses the conducting member may include multiple materials such as Cu, etc. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the conducting member containing Cu in order to have a material that prevents solder diffusion, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 4, see, for example, paragraph [0060] wherein Kim discloses the first barrier layer may contain Ni.
Regarding claim 5, see, for example, paragraph [0071] wherein Kim discloses the first conductive bonding material may contain Sn.
Regarding claim 6, see, for example, FIG. 10 wherein Kim discloses the electrode 123 and the first barrier layer 125 being in contact with each other.
Regarding claim 7, see, for example, FIG. 10 wherein Kim discloses the conducting bonding material 51/155 and the first barrier layer 125 being in contact with each other.
Regarding claim 8, see, for example, FIG. 10 wherein Kim discloses a second barrier layer 43/41.
Regarding claim 9, see, for example, paragraph [0068] wherein Kim discloses the barrier layer may be multiple metals including Ni.
Regarding claim 10, see, for example, FIG. 10 wherein Kim discloses a base layer 41, and auxiliary layer 43.
Regarding claim 11, see, for example, FIG. 10 wherein Kim discloses the conductive member 42 and the second barrier layer 43/41 being in contact with each other.
Regarding claim 12, see, for example, FIG. 10 wherein Kim discloses the conductive bonding material 51/57/55 and the second barrier layer 43/41 being in contact with each other.
Regarding claim 13, see, for example, FIG. 10 wherein Kim discloses a semiconductor device comprising a semiconductor element 121, electrode 123, conducting member 23, conductive bonding material 31, first barrier layer 45, protective film 127, and second barrier 25. The second barrier 25 is greater in length in a direction perpendicular to the thickness direction than the first barrier layer 45. Also see the rejection for claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 14, see, for example, FIG. 10 wherein Kim discloses the electrode 123 including a lateral surface facing in a direction perpendicular to the thickness direction.
Regarding claim 16, see, for example, the rejection for claim 1 above, and FIG. 2. wherein Takahashi discloses the electrode 3 having a circular cross section.
Regarding claims 17-18, see, for example, FIG. 6 wherein Takahashi discloses multiple electrodes 3 connected to multiple control/switching circuits 5. Takahashi further discloses the electrodes 3 having a circular shape. In FIG. 6, Takahashi discloses multiple leads connecting the electrodes 3 to the switching circuit 5. Also see 112 rejection above.
Regarding claim 20, see, for example, FIG. 6 wherein Takahashi discloses each of
the electrodes 3 in the first row is located between two adjacent electrodes 3’ in the second row in the first direction.
In view of the 112 rejection above, claim(s) 1, 2, 4 thru 6, 8 thru 10, 12 thru 14, and 16 thru 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. US 2014/0264843 A1 in view of Furman et al. US 2009/0075469 A1 in view of Takahashi US 2014/0264847 A1 in view of Shieh et al. US 2012/0273934 A1. Lin discloses (see, for example, FIG. 3) a semiconductor device comprising a semiconductor element 10, element first surface (i.e. bottom surface), element second surface (i.e. top surface), electrode 14, conducting member 141, obverse surface (i.e. top surface), reverse surface (i.e. bottom surface), conductive bonding material 50, and a first barrier layer 20. In FIG. 3, Lin discloses the element first surface (i.e. bottom surface of semiconductor element 10) being further provided with a protective film 12 covering a portion of the electrode 14. Lin does not disclose a resin member that covers at least a portion of the conducting member, the semiconductor element and the conductive bonding material. However, Furman discloses (see, for example, FIG. 1, and paragraph [0067]) a semiconductor device 2a comprising a resin member 16, and being silica epoxy, a type of resin material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to have a resin member that covers at least a portion of the conducting member, the semiconductor element and the conductive bonding material in order to protect and improve the overall stability and the mechanical connection within the semiconductor device.
Lin in view of Furman does not disclose each of the plurality of electrodes the plurality of electrodes include electrodes arranged in a first row and electrodes arranged in a second row, the first row and the second row being adjacent to each other and each extending in a first direction perpendicular to the thickness direction, the first row and the second row being spaced apart from each other in a second direction perpendicular to the thickness direction and the first direction. However, Takahashi discloses (see, for example, FIG. 2, 5, and 6) a semiconductor device comprising a plurality of electrodes 3 set in adjacent, vertical rows that include electrodes arranged in a first row and electrodes arranged in a second row, the first row and the second row being adjacent to each other and each extending in a first direction perpendicular to the thickness direction, the first row and the second row being spaced apart from each other in a second direction perpendicular to the thickness direction and the first direction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time of prior to the effective filing date, to have each of the plurality of electrodes the plurality of electrodes include electrodes arranged in a first row and electrodes arranged in a second row, the first row and the second row being adjacent to each other and each extending in a first direction perpendicular to the thickness direction, the first row and the second row being spaced apart from each other in a second direction perpendicular to the thickness direction and the first direction in order to increase density, and thereby downsize the semiconductor device.
Lin in view of Furman in view of Takashahi does not disclose each of the plurality of electrodes has an oval shape having a major diameter extending in the second direction and a minor diameter extending in the first direction. However, Shieh discloses (see, for example, FIG. 1A) a semiconductor device 150 comprising an electrode 110. In FIG. 1C and paragraph [0042], Shieh discloses the shape includes a shape of an oval. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to have each of the plurality of electrodes has an oval shape having a major diameter extending in the second direction and a minor diameter extending in the first direction in order to reduce stress, and increase yield; and furthermore, such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 2, see, for example, paragraph [0017] wherein Lin discloses the electrode 14 may be Cu.
Regarding claim 4, see, for example, paragraph [0020] wherein Lin discloses the first barrier layer 20 may contain Ni.
Regarding claim 5, see, for example, paragraph [0030] wherein Lin discloses the first conductive bonding material 50 may be solder, which contain Sn.
Regarding claim 6, see, for example, FIG. 3 wherein Lin discloses the electrode 14 and the first barrier layer 20 being in contact with each other.
Regarding claim 8, see, for example, FIG. 3 wherein Lin discloses a second barrier layer 24/26.
Regarding claim 9, see, for example, paragraph [0022] wherein Lin discloses the second barrier layer 24/26 may include Ni.
Regarding claim 10, see, for example, FIG. 3 wherein Lin discloses a base layer 24, and auxiliary layer 26.
Regarding claim 12, see, for example, FIG. 3 wherein Lin discloses the conductive bonding material 50 and the second barrier layer 24/26 being in contact with each other.
Regarding claim 13, see, for example, FIG. 3 wherein Lin discloses the second barrier 24/26 being greater in length in a direction parallel to the thickness direction of the first barrier layer 20.
Regarding claim 14, see, for example, FIG. 3 wherein Lin discloses the electrode 14 including a lateral surface facing in a direction perpendicular to the thickness direction.
Regarding claim 16, see, for example, the rejection for claim 1 above, and FIG. 2. wherein Takahashi discloses the electrode 3 having a circular cross section.
Regarding claims 17-18, see, for example, FIG. 6 wherein Takahashi discloses multiple electrodes 3 connected to multiple control/switching circuits 5. Takahashi further discloses the electrodes 3 having a circular shape. In FIG. 6, Takahashi discloses multiple leads connecting the electrodes 3 to the switching circuit 5. Also see 112 rejection above.
Regarding claim 19, see, for example, FIG. 3 wherein Lin discloses the first barrier layer 20, and second barrier layer 24/26.
Regarding claim 20, see, for example, FIG. 6 wherein Takahashi discloses each of
the electrodes 3 in the first row being located between two adjacent electrodes 3’ in the second row in the first direction.
Regarding claim 21, see, for example, FIG. 3 wherein Lin discloses the conducting member 141 including a lead wherein the lead includes a projection. In FIG. 3 and paragraph [0018], Lin discloses the resin member 36 fills spaces between the plurality of projections of the leads 141.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15, and 17-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
INFORMATION ON HOW TO CONTACT THE USPTO
Eugene Lee
November 4, 2026
/EUGENE LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815