DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1 and 4-26 are pending and under examination. The allowability of the claims is withdrawn in view of the art rejections set forth below.
Priority
The present application claims benefit of two documents under 35 USC 119(a)-(d), China 202010188038.1 and PCT/CN2020/109645. The '038.1 document is not in English and therefore the examiner cannot determine whether it discloses the now-claimed invention. However the '645 document discloses the now-claimed invention; see for example Figure 1. The present application also claims domestic benefit of U.S. application 16/877069, now U.S. Patent 11207349. That application discloses the now-claimed invention; see for example original claims 1, 3, and 6. Therefore for the purposes of applying prior art, the effective filing date of the present claims is 18 May 2020, the date that '069 was filed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 1-16-2026 has been considered. An intialed copy is enclosed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 13-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al (US 12,053,491 with priority to at least December 14, 2015).
Chen et al claims a bispecific chimeric antigen receptor as set forth below:
The ofatumumab antibody comprises the CDRs and SEQ ID NOS: 4 and 3 as set forth in the instant claims.
A comparison of SEQ ID NO:4 with the light chain sequence of Ofatumumab known to the prior art.
A comparison of SEQ ID NO:3 with the heavy chain sequence of Ofatumumab of the prior art. A copy of the Ofatumumab heavy and light chain sequences were obtained from:gsrs.ncats.nih.gov/ginas/app/ui/substances/M95KG522R0 for the comparisons set forth supra. Thus, the Ofatumumab as cited in the claims, necessarily comprise the CD20 binding sequences set forth in instant claims 1 and claims dependent thereon.
The instantly claimed anti-CD19 antibody variable heavy chain regions and variable light chain regions are also identical to the heavy and light chain variable regions of the anti-CD18 scFV as set forth in SEQ ID NO:4 of Chen et al. Instant SEQ ID NO:5 (VH2) aligned with SEQ ID NO:4.
Instant SEQ ID NO:6 aligned with SEQ ID NO:4 of Chen et al
Chen et al also teaches the specific N to C terminal order of the light and heavy variable regions as claimed in 1, 4, 5, 6 and associated nucleic acids, vectors, immune host cells (see claims 1-9 of Chen et al). Chen et al also teaches that the bispecific chimeric antigen receptor comprises a spacer of SEQ ID NO:5 which is an IgG4 hinge, a transmembrane domain (CD28; SEQA IDN O:6), a co-stimulatory domains (CD28 and 4-1BB) and a CD3-zeta cytoplasmic signaling domain (see columns 12-13). Chen et al also teach the presence of a signal peptide sequence (see Figure 1) from GM-CSF (column 13, lines 5-7). Chen et al teach a CAR where the spacer between the anti CD20 and anti-CD19 antibodies is (G4S)1 as in the instant SEQ ID NO:16 (see column 3, lines 12-25). As such, Chen et al teach and claim at least one of the elements from each of claims 7-11 anticipating the instant invention. As to claims 13-17, Chen et also claim immune cells comprising the polypeptide, nucleic acid encoding the polypeptide and vectors comprising the nucleic acids (see claims 5-9). As to claims 17-21 and 23-26, Chen et al teach using the cells for treating/killing cancer cells where the individual may have a B-cell malignancy expressing one or both of CD20 and CD19 (column 2, lines 60-66). Cancers that may be treated are B-cell lymphomas and leukemias, Hodgkin’s disease, non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma, hairy cell leukemia, CLL and myeloma (see column 7 and column 9, lines 40-50). The instantly claimed functional properties of the bispecific CAR of claims 23-26 are linked to the structure of the chimeric receptor present and as such, the functional properties are necessarily present. As to claim 22, Chen et al teach that the cells can be autologous cells, syngeneic cells or allogeneic cells (see column 9, lines 30-32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US 12,053,491 with priority to at least December 14, 2015) in view of Orentas et al (US 2024/0034802, with priority to July 31, 2018).
The teachings of Chen et al are set forth supra. Chen et al differs by not reciting alternates for the co-stimulatory region(s), the hinge region(s) and the transmembrane domain(s) as set forth in instant claims 8, 10 and 11.
Orentas et al teach a tandem bispecific chimeric antigen receptor (see Figure 1 B) where the hinge and transmembrane are derived from CD8, the costimulatory region is from 4-1BB (aka CD137) and the cytoplasmic signaling domain is CD3zeta. Orentas et al teach functional alternatives for the linker domain (instant claim 10 hinge region) are derived from the extracellular domain of CD8 or CD28 (see paragraph [0029]) as they are linked to the transmembrane region. As to instant claim 11, alternates for the transmembrane domain are: CD28, CD3 epsilon, CD45, CD4, CD5, CD8, CD9, CD16, CD22, CD33, CD37, CD64, CD80, CD83, CD86, CD134, CD137, CD154 and combinations thereof (paragraph [0030]). Orentas et al teach the CAR comprises at least one costimulatory domain of OX4, CD70, CD27, CD28, CD5, ICAM-1, LFA-1 (CD11a/CD18), ICOS (CD278), DAP10, DAP12, 4-1BB(CD137) or combinations thereof (see paragraph [0034]) as it relates to instant claim 8.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to substitute or add one or the functionally equivalent domains of Orentas et al to or for the same domains of Chen et al in the bispecific CAR of Chen et al because Orentas et al teach that the domains can be used as alternates or in combination in for the disclosed CD20/19 bispecific CAR and other bispecific CARs.
Free of the Prior Art
Claim 12 as drawn to the bispecific CAR compising the amino acid seqeunce set forth in SEQ ID NO:16 is free of the prior art.
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Patricia Duffy/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1645