DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Europe on December 20, 2019.
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on April 2, 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1 – 14, drawn to an organic molecule in the reply filed on April 2, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 15 and 16 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method for producing an optoelectronic device, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1 – 14 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references provided in the Information Disclosure Statements filed on September 15, 2022, October 14, 2024, and December 2, 2025 have been considered. Signed copies of the corresponding 1449 forms have been included with this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1 recites definitions for variables and state that “Optionally one or more hydrogen atoms are independently substituted by R5.” The claims then define R5 as including hydrogen. This renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how a hydrogen atom could be substituted, as this would result in a divalent hydrogen. It is also unclear what the structure of a hydrogen atom substituted by a hydrogen atom would be.
For examination purposes “a hydrogen atom… substituted by…” is interpreted as “a hydrogen atom being replaced by.”
Examiner recommends removing the clause and replacing with “which is optionally substituted by R5.”
Claims 2 – 14 are rejected as being dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong (US20200176679A1).
As per claims 1 – 3, and 5, Jeong teaches:
An organic molecule comprising a structure of Formula I
( Jeong teaches compounds of Formula 1
([0046]). A specific compound taught by Jeong is compound 305
([0059]), which does not contain substituents off of the phenyl groups as required by the claim. However, Jeong teaches compounds such as compound 251
([0059]) which contains two tert-butyl groups on each of the phenyl rings. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to similarly substitute the phenyl rings of compound 305. When modified in this way, the modified compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein RII, RIV, RVII, and RIX are all a C4 alkyl group, namely a tert-butyl group as required by claim 2 and RXI is a C6 alkyl group, namely a cyclohexyl group as required by claim 2 and the remaining R groups are hydrogen. This compound reads on Formula Ia in claim 5.)
Jeong includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Jeong being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of improved service life, efficiency and stability in organic electroluminescent elements containing them (Abstract), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claims 4 and 7, Jeong teaches:
A structure of Formula Ic
(In addition to compound 251 above, Jeong teaches compound 247
, which contains an alternative bonding pattern for the phenyl substituents in which two methyl groups are provided on one of the phenyl substituents and one methyl group is provide on the other phenyl substituent instead of the tert-butyl groups. Therefore, it would have been similarly obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the phenyl rings of compound 305 with methyl groups. While the compound does not contain the third methyl group on the phenyl substituent as required by the Formula, Jeong teaches multiple methyl substituents and it would have been obvious to add a third substituent in the claimed location. When modified in this way, the modified compound reads on the claimed structure wherein RII is a C1 alkyl group and RXI are is a C6 alkyl group and the remaining R groups are hydrogen. The compound contains a methyl group in the RX position of Formula I as required by claim 4.)
Jeong includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Jeong being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of improved service life, efficiency and stability in organic electroluminescent elements containing them (Abstract), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claim 6, Jeong teaches:
A structure of Formula Ib
(In addition to compound 251 above, Jeong teaches compound 253
, which contains an alternative bonding pattern for the phenyl substituents in which one cyclohexyl group is provided on each of the phenyl substituents instead of the tert-butyl groups. Therefore, it would have been similarly obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the phenyl rings of compound 305 with cyclohexyl groups. When modified in this way, the modified compound reads on the claimed structure wherein RVI and RXI are both a C6 alkyl group and the remaining R groups are hydrogen.)
Jeong includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Jeong being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of improved service life, efficiency and stability in organic electroluminescent elements containing them (Abstract), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claim 8, Jeong teaches:
A structure of Formula Id
(In addition to compound 251 above, Jeong teaches compound 265
, which contains an alternative bonding pattern for the phenyl substituents in which one phenyl group is provided on each of the phenyl substituents instead of the tert-butyl groups. Therefore, it would have been similarly obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the phenyl rings of compound 305 with phenyl groups. When modified in this way, the modified compound reads on the claimed structure wherein RVI and RXI are both a C6 alkyl group and the remaining R groups are hydrogen. When modified in this way, the modified compound reads on the claimed structure wherein RIII is a C6 aryl, RXI is a C6 alkyl group and the remaining R groups are hydrogen.)
Jeong includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Jeong being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of improved service life, efficiency and stability in organic electroluminescent elements containing them (Abstract), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claim 9, Jeong teaches:
A structure of Formula Ie
(In addition to compound 251 above, Jeong teaches compound 277
, which contains an alternative bonding pattern for the phenyl substituents in which two phenyl groups are provided on one of the phenyl substituents and one phenyl substituent is provided on the other phenyl substituent instead of the tert-butyl groups. Therefore, it would have been similarly obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the phenyl rings of compound 305 with phenyl groups. When modified in this way, the modified compound reads on the claimed structure wherein RIV is a C6 aryl group and RXI is a C6 alkyl group and the remaining R groups are hydrogen.)
Jeong includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Jeong being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of improved service life, efficiency and stability in organic electroluminescent elements containing them (Abstract), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claims 10, 11, and 13, Jeong teaches:
An optoelectronic device comprising the organic molecule configured to be a luminescent emitter, wherein the optoelectronic device is an organic light-emitting diode ([0017]: “Further, the present invention uses a compound represented by Formula 1 a dopant in order to provide an organic electroluminescent element which is excellent in light emission efficiency and service life characteristics.”)
As per claim 12, Jeong teaches:
A composition comprising the organic molecule as an emitter and/or host ([0060]: “The compound of Formula 1 of the present invention may be usefully used as a dopant material of a light emitting layer.”)
An emitter and/or a host material, which differs from the organic molecule ([0062]: “The aforementioned material for forming a light emitting layer may further include a material which is typically added when the organic compound is prepared in a form required to be used in forming a light emitting layer, for example, a host material, and the like.”)
As per claim 14, Jeong teaches:
The optoelectronic device comprising a substrate, an anode and a cathode, wherein the anode or the cathode is on the substrate and the light emitting layer comprises the organic molecule (In the Examples, as described in [0194], a device is prepared wherein a substrate is provided below an anode, an emission layer is provided and then a cathode is provided.)
Claims 1 – 3, 5, and 8 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thirion (WO2021013993A1).
As per claims 1 – 3, and 5, Thirion teaches:
An organic molecule comprising a structure of Formula I
(Thirion teaches compounds of Formula 1
(Page 2, Paragraph 2). A specific compound taught by Thirion is compound
on Page 172, which does not contain the claimed RXI group. However, in Formula I, Thirion teaches that RV can be selected from an alkyl, aryl, or heteroaryl group (Page 4, Paragraph 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention replace the pyridine group with a phenyl group. When modified in this way, the modified compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein RII, RIV, RVII, and RIX are all a C4 alkyl group, namely a tert-butyl group as required by claim 2, and RXI is a C6 aryl group, namely a phenyl group as required by claim 2 and the remaining R groups are hydrogen. This compound reads on Formula Ia in claim 5.)
Thirion includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Thirion being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of higher efficiencies and higher color purity (Page 1, Paragraph 5), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claim 8, Thirion teaches:
A structure of Formula Id
(Another compound taught by Thirion is
on page 170, which does not contain the claimed RXI group. However, in Formula I, Thirion teaches that RV can be selected from an alkyl, aryl, or heteroaryl group (Page 4, Paragraph 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention replace the pyridine group with a phenyl group. When modified in this way, the modified compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein RIII and RXI are both a C6 aryl group and the remaining R groups are hydrogen.)
Thirion includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Thirion being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of higher efficiencies and higher color purity (Page 1, Paragraph 5), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claim 9, Thirion teaches:
A structure of Formula Ie
(Another compound taught by Thirion is
on page 170, which does not contain the claimed RXI group. However, in Formula I, Thirion teaches that RV can be selected from an alkyl, aryl, or heteroaryl group (Page 4, Paragraph 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention replace the pyridine group with a phenyl group. When modified in this way, the modified compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein RII, RIV and RXI are all a C6 aryl group and the remaining R groups are hydrogen.)
Thirion includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Thirion being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of higher efficiencies and higher color purity (Page 1, Paragraph 5), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claims 10, 11, and 13, Thirion teaches:
An optoelectronic device comprising the organic molecule configured to be a luminescent emitter, wherein the optoelectronic device is an organic light-emitting diode (Page 85, Paragraph 4: “A preferred embodiment relates to the use of an organic molecule according to the invention as a luminescent emitter in an optoelectronic device.”)
As per claim 12, Thirion teaches:
A composition comprising the organic molecule as an emitter and/or host, and an emitter and/or a host material, which differs from the organic molecule (Page 86, Paragraph 5: “A further aspect of the invention relates to a composition comprising or consisting of (a) at least one organic molecule according to the invention, in particular in the form of an emitter and/or a host, and (b) one or more emitter and/or host materials, which differ from the organic molecule according to the invention.”)
As per claim 14, Thirion teaches:
The optoelectronic device comprising a substrate, an anode and a cathode, wherein the anode or the cathode is on the substrate and the light emitting layer comprises the organic molecule (On Page 99, Paragraph 6, Thirion teaches a device structure that includes a substrate, with an anode on top, a light emitting layer, and a cathode layer.)
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789