DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on July 29, 2026.
Claims 1 and 2 have been amended and are hereby entered.
Claims 15 and 16 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method for producing an optoelectronic device, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 2, 2026.
Claims 1 – 14 are currently pending and have been examined.
This action is made FINAL.
Response to Amendments
Applicant's amendments to the claims, filed July 29, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of the claims 1 – 14 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention as set forth in the office action filed April 30, 2026.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed July 29, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1 – 14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong as set forth in the office action filed April 30, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s statement of common ownership, filed July 29, 2026, caused the disqualification of Thirion as prior art. The rejection of claims 1 – 3, 5, and 8 – 14 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed July 29, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that amended claim 1 limits the definition of RXI to a scope not taught or suggested by the cited references. Applicant further argues that the rejection relies on a hypothetical compound constructed by selectively combining individual substituents from a broad generic disclosure of Jeong and that there is no explanation as to why a person of ordinary skill would have selected and combined the particular substituents. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Office submits a proper obviousness rejection was set forth in the Office action mailed April 30, 2026 as the prior art renders obviousness and teaches each required component of the instant claims. Each specific component of claimed compounds is discussed and addressed in the rejection. Applicant sets forth a chemical formula which encompasses a large number of compounds where each variable is selected from many defined possibilities. Applicant does not claim merely a single species, but a large number of compounds according to Formula I. Similarly, Jeong sets forth a chemical structural formula with disclosed and defined variable groups and Jeong is analogous art. Just as applicant sets forth that one of ordinary skill in the art could form compounds from a disclosed, broadly defined chemical formula including compounds not expressly set forth as example compounds, the Office submits one of the same skill in the art would know how to make compounds from a chemical structural formula teaching in Jeong. Jeong’s teachings suggest that each derivative disclosed within the expressly defined formula is predictably functional for use in an EL device as there is no teaching away from any of the compounds within the defined formula. Per MPEP 2123, “Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971).” Applicant argues the rejection does not articulate a rationale as to why one of ordinary skill in the art would navigate the vast array of possible compounds encompassed by Jeong so as to arrive at a compound of Formula I of the instant application. In response, "The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain." In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong (US20200176679A1).
As per claims 1 – 3, and 5, Jeong teaches:
An organic molecule comprising a structure of Formula I
(Jeong teaches compounds of Formula 1
([0046]). A specific compound taught by Jeong is compound 305
([0059]), which does not contain substituents off of the phenyl groups as required by the claim. However, Jeong teaches compounds such as compound 251
([0059]) which contains two tert-butyl groups on each of the phenyl rings. Compound 305 teaches a cyclohexyl group in the R2 position of Formula 1 in Jeong, which corresponds to the claimed RXI position in Formula I. However, in the definitions for R2, Jeong teaches that the group may be a hydrogen or an alkyl group ([0047]). Jeong further teaches compounds such as compound 497
, where the R2 position is a hydrogen. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to similarly substitute the phenyl rings of compound 305 as per compound 251 and to replace the cyclohexyl group of compound 305 with a hydrogen atom as per compound 497. When modified in this way, the modified compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein RII, RIV, RVII, and RIX are all a C4 alkyl group, namely a tert-butyl group as required by claim 2 and RXI is a hydrogen and the remaining R groups are hydrogen. This compound reads on Formula Ia in claim 5.)
Jeong includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Jeong being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of improved service life, efficiency and stability in organic electroluminescent elements containing them (Abstract), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claims 4 and 7, Jeong teaches:
A structure of Formula Ic
(In addition to compound 251 above, Jeong teaches compound 247
, which contains an alternative bonding pattern for the phenyl substituents in which two methyl groups are provided on one of the phenyl substituents and one methyl group is provide on the other phenyl substituent instead of the tert-butyl groups. Therefore, it would have been similarly obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the phenyl rings of compound 305 with methyl groups. While the compound does not contain the third methyl group on the phenyl substituent as required by the Formula, Jeong teaches multiple methyl substituents and it would have been obvious to add a third substituent in the claimed location. When modified in this way, the modified compound reads on the claimed structure wherein RII is a C1 alkyl group and RXI are is a C6 alkyl group and the remaining R groups are hydrogen. The compound contains a methyl group in the RX position of Formula I as required by claim 4.)
Jeong includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Jeong being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of improved service life, efficiency and stability in organic electroluminescent elements containing them (Abstract), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claim 6, Jeong teaches:
A structure of Formula Ib
(In addition to compound 251 above, Jeong teaches compound 253
, which contains an alternative bonding pattern for the phenyl substituents in which one cyclohexyl group is provided on each of the phenyl substituents instead of the tert-butyl groups. Therefore, it would have been similarly obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the phenyl rings of compound 305 with cyclohexyl groups. When modified in this way, the modified compound reads on the claimed structure wherein RVI and RXI are both a C6 alkyl group and the remaining R groups are hydrogen.)
Jeong includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Jeong being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of improved service life, efficiency and stability in organic electroluminescent elements containing them (Abstract), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claim 8, Jeong teaches:
A structure of Formula Id
(In addition to compound 251 above, Jeong teaches compound 265
, which contains an alternative bonding pattern for the phenyl substituents in which one phenyl group is provided on each of the phenyl substituents instead of the tert-butyl groups. Therefore, it would have been similarly obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the phenyl rings of compound 305 with phenyl groups. When modified in this way, the modified compound reads on the claimed structure wherein RVI and RXI are both a C6 alkyl group and the remaining R groups are hydrogen. When modified in this way, the modified compound reads on the claimed structure wherein RIII is a C6 aryl, RXI is a C6 alkyl group and the remaining R groups are hydrogen.)
Jeong includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Jeong being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of improved service life, efficiency and stability in organic electroluminescent elements containing them (Abstract), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claim 9, Jeong teaches:
A structure of Formula Ie
(In addition to compound 251 above, Jeong teaches compound 277
, which contains an alternative bonding pattern for the phenyl substituents in which two phenyl groups are provided on one of the phenyl substituents and one phenyl substituent is provided on the other phenyl substituent instead of the tert-butyl groups. Therefore, it would have been similarly obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the phenyl rings of compound 305 with phenyl groups. When modified in this way, the modified compound reads on the claimed structure wherein RIV is a C6 aryl group and RXI is a C6 alkyl group and the remaining R groups are hydrogen.)
Jeong includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Jeong being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of improved service life, efficiency and stability in organic electroluminescent elements containing them (Abstract), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claims 10, 11, and 13, Jeong teaches:
An optoelectronic device comprising the organic molecule configured to be a luminescent emitter, wherein the optoelectronic device is an organic light-emitting diode ([0017]: “Further, the present invention uses a compound represented by Formula 1 a dopant in order to provide an organic electroluminescent element which is excellent in light emission efficiency and service life characteristics.”)
As per claim 12, Jeong teaches:
A composition comprising the organic molecule as an emitter and/or host ([0060]: “The compound of Formula 1 of the present invention may be usefully used as a dopant material of a light emitting layer.”)
An emitter and/or a host material, which differs from the organic molecule ([0062]: “The aforementioned material for forming a light emitting layer may further include a material which is typically added when the organic compound is prepared in a form required to be used in forming a light emitting layer, for example, a host material, and the like.”)
As per claim 14, Jeong teaches:
The optoelectronic device comprising a substrate, an anode and a cathode, wherein the anode or the cathode is on the substrate and the light emitting layer comprises the organic molecule (In the Examples, as described in [0194], a device is prepared wherein a substrate is provided below an anode, an emission layer is provided and then a cathode is provided.)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789