Response to Amendment
The amendments traverse the claim objections and the 112 rejections which are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Bonfils” (EP 2253963. Examiner’s note: the citations to Bonfils are based on the English translation) in view of “Adachi” (US 2013/0175079).
Regarding claim 1, Bonfils discloses 1. An electric vehicle power distribution system comprising: A unitary busbar comprising a solid core conductor, an insulation layer, a shielding layer compressed against the insulation layer, and at least one formed connector made from the solid core conductor, wherein the shielding layer is a conductive material formed from a single formed component (Fig. 1, page 3, bottom-page 4, top; the rod 32 is a unitary busbar comprising a solid core copper or aluminum conductor, an insulation layer 38, an electrostatic shield layer 40 compresses the insulation layer 38 to restrict the necessary space around the bar 10, and a connection insert 24 made from the rod 32, the electrostatic shield layer 40 is a unitary metallization);
a first connection point configured to electrically connect with the at least one formed connector on the busbar (Fig. 1, page 3, bottom; the connecting surface 16 is a first connection point configured to electrically connect with the at least one formed connector on the busbar);
and a second connection point electrically coupled to the busbar at an end opposite to the at least one formed connector (Fig. 1, page 3, bottom; the connecting surface 18 is a second connection point electrically coupled to the busbar at an end opposite to the at least one formed connector).
Bonfils does not disclose wherein the unitary busbar is bent to conform to the interior configuration of the electric vehicle; and a rigid ground conductor connected to the shielding layer, wherein the shielding layer is grounded to the electric vehicle via the rigid ground conductor.
Adachi discloses the unitary busbar is bent to conform to the interior configuration of the electric vehicle (Fig. 1A, [0034]; the busbar is bent);
and a rigid ground conductor connected to the shielding layer, wherein the shielding layer is grounded to the electric vehicle via the rigid ground conductor (Fig. 1A-B, [0032]; the metallic foil 27 is connected to the shield case of the motor unit thereby establishing a frame-ground connection).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Bonfils’ system with Adachi’s connector in order to prevent a break of a metallic foil due to the bend of the metallic foil and bringing the shielding capability, as suggested by Adachi at Abstract.
Regarding claim 8, Bonfils in view of Adachi discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Bonfils discloses 8. The electric vehicle power distribution system of claim 1, wherein the solid core conductor is an aluminum or copper conductor (Fig. 1, page 3, bottom; the rod 32 is a unitary busbar comprising a solid core copper or aluminum conductor).
Regarding claim 10, Bonfils in view of Adachi discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 10, Bonfils discloses 10. The electric vehicle power distribution system of claim 1, wherein the insulation layer comprises cross-linked polyethylene (XLPE), polyvinyl chloride (PVC) or silicone (Fig. 1, page 4, top; the insulation layer 38 is silicone).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonfils in view of Adachi and Sugimura (US 2019/0199075).
Regarding claim 2, Bonfils in view of Adachi discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Bonfils does not disclose the limitations of claim 2.
Sugimura discloses 2. The electric vehicle power distribution system of claim 1, wherein the first connection point is an electric vehicle charge port (Fig. 1, [0027], [0031]; the wire harness 2 has a first connection point is an electric vehicle charge port).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Bonfils’ system, as modified by Adachi, with Sugimura’s connector in order to address the need for an increase in demand for high charging electric power output by quick charging, as suggested by Sugimura at [0004].
Regarding claim 3, Bonfils in view of Adachi discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Bonfils does not disclose the limitations of claim 3.
Sugimura discloses 3. The electric vehicle power distribution system of claim 1, wherein the second connection point is a battery connector in an electric vehicle (Fig. 1, [0027], [0031]; the wire harness 2 has a second connection point which is a battery connector in an electric vehicle).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Bonfils’ system, as modified by Adachi, with Sugimura’s connector in order to address the need for an increase in demand for high charging electric power output by quick charging, as suggested by Sugimura at [0004].
Claims 5-6 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonfils in view of Adachi and “Grotz” (US 2018/0317334).
Regarding claim 5, Bonfils in view of Adachi discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Bonfils does not disclose the limitations of claim 5.
Grotz discloses 5. The electric vehicle power distribution system of claim 1, wherein the formed connector is forged from the solid core conductor (Figs. 5-10, [0050], [0069]; the contact region 36, 361 is formed by bending the wire 32).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Bonfils’ system, as modified by Adachi, with Grotz’s connector in order to form a connector having the desired 3D contour, as suggested by Grotz at [0069].
Regarding claim 6, Bonfils in view of Adachi and Grotz discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 5, above.
Bonfils does not disclose the limitations of claim 6.
Grotz discloses 6. The electric vehicle power distribution system of claim 5, wherein the formed connector comprises a flattened portion and a through hole disposed through the flattened portion (Figs. 5-10, [0050], [0069]; the contact region 36, 364 comprises a flattened portion and a through hole disposed through the flattened portion).
Regarding claim 16, Bonfils in view of Adachi discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Bonfils does not disclose the limitations of claim 16.
Grotz discloses 16. The electric vehicle power distribution system of claim 1, wherein the busbar comprises two formed connectors, with one formed connector forged at each end of the solid core conductor (Figs. 5-10, [0050], [0069]; busbar comprises two formed connectors, with one formed connector forged at each end of the solid core conductor, see Figs. 5-6).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Bonfils’ system, as modified by Adachi, with Grotz’s connector in order to form a connector having the desired 3D contour, as suggested by Grotz at [0069].
Regarding claim 17, Bonfils in view of Adachi and Grotz discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 16, above.
Bonfils does not disclose the limitations of claim 17.
Grotz discloses 17. The electric vehicle power distribution system of claim 16, wherein the two formed connectors each comprise a through hole (Figs. 5-10, [0050], [0069]; the two formed connectors each comprise a through hole, see Figs. 5-6).
Claims 7 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonfils in view of Adachi and Kempf (US 2022/0029329).
Regarding claim 7, Bonfils in view of Adachi discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Bonfils does not disclose the limitations of claim 7.
Kempf discloses 7. The electric vehicle power distribution system of claim 1, wherein the busbar can support charging of 350 kW at 400V while maintaining a shielding layer temperature of 100 degrees Celsius or less ([0002], [0109]; connectors for electric vehicles and support charging of 350 kW at 400V, the temperature of the cable is less than 100 degrees Celsius).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Bonfils’ system, as modified by Adachi, with Kempf’s connector in order reduce the high power DC charging time from over 30 minutes to 10 minutes, as suggested by Kempf at [0002].
Regarding claim 11, Bonfils in view of Adachi discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Bonfils does not disclose the limitations of claim 11.
Kempf discloses 11. The electric vehicle power distribution system of claim 1, wherein the busbar can support charging at 350 kW ([0002], [0109]; connectors for electric vehicles and support charging of 350 kW at 400V).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Bonfils’ system, as modified by Adachi, with Kempf’s connector in order reduce the high power DC charging time from over 30 minutes to 10 minutes, as suggested by Kempf at [0002].
Regarding claim 12, Bonfils in view of Adachi and Sugimura discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 11, above.
Bonfils does not disclose the limitations of claim 12.
Kempf discloses 12. The electric vehicle power distribution system of claim 11, wherein the busbar can support charging at 400V ([0002], [0109]; connectors for electric vehicles and support charging of 350 kW at 400V).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Bonfils’ system, as modified by Adachi, with Kempf’s connector in order reduce the high power DC charging time from over 30 minutes to 10 minutes, as suggested by Kempf at [0002].
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonfils in view of Adachi and “Yamamoto” (US 2021/0249802).
Regarding claim 9, Bonfils in view of Adachi discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Bonfils does not disclose the limitations of claim 9.
Yamamoto discloses 9. The electric vehicle power distribution system of claim 1, wherein the shielding layer comprises an aluminum or copper shielding layer (Fig. 7, [0074]; the shield layer 35 is made of aluminum or copper).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Bonfils’ system, as modified by Adachi, with Yamamoto’s aluminum or copper shield layer which are suitable conductors that are relatively inexpensive and highly conductive, as suggested by Yamamoto at [0074].
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonfils in view of Adachi and “Ooi” (US 2019/0259511).
Regarding claim 13, Bonfils in view of Adachi discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Bonfils does not disclose the limitations of claim 13.
Ooi discloses the surface area of a cross-section of the conductor is between 150 to 250 mm2 ([0038], [0158]; the conductor cross sectional area is more than 100 mm2),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Bonfils’ system, as modified by Adachi, with Ooi’s cable in order to have both flexibility and space-saving property, as suggested by Ooi at Abstract.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonfils in view of Adachi and “Suzuki” (US 2015/0057987).
Regarding claim 14, Bonfils in view of Adachi discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Bonfils does not disclose the limitations of claim 14.
Suzuki discloses 14. The electric vehicle power distribution system of claim 1, wherein the thickness of the insulation layer is between .5 to 2 mm ([0035]; the thickness of the insulation layer is .5 and 1 mm).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Bonfils’ system, as modified by Adachi, with Suzuki’s cable in order to appropriately select the thickness so as to fit to specifications of an electric device, as suggested by Suzuki at [0035].
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonfils in view of Adachi and “Simonsohn” (US 2019/0356068).
Regarding claim 15, Bonfils in view of Adachi discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Bonfils does not disclose the limitations of claim 15.
Simonsohn discloses 15. The electric vehicle power distribution system of claim 1, wherein the thickness of the shielding layer is between .5 to 2 mm ([0022]; the shielding sheath has a thickness of .5 mm).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Bonfils’ system, as modified by Adachi, with Simonsohn’s cable in order to provide similar characteristics with respect to thermal expansion compared to an insulating material, as suggested by Simonsohn at [0022].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STANLEY TSO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847