DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed September 30 2025 has been entered. Claims 6-16 remain pending in the application. Claims 7-8, 11, and 13 remain withdrawn as being drawn to a nonelected species. Claims 12 and 17 remain withdrawn by Applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 9-10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanehiro et. al. (WO 2018235727 A1 using US 20200136075 A1 for ease of reference), in view of Yukihiro et. al. (WO 9836620 A1), hereinafter Yukihiro.
Regarding claim 6, Kanehiro teaches a display device (Fig 2a light emitting device 2, [0022]) comprising: a substrate (Fig 2b array substrate 4, [0023]); a first subpixel (Fig 2b green pixel region GP, [0023]) including a first pixel electrode (Fig 2b first electrode 8a for GP, [0023]) provided on the substrate (Fig 2b array substrate 4, [0023]), a first light-emitting layer (Fig 2b light-emitting layer 14 for GP, [0023]) including first quantum dots (Fig 2b green quantum dots RD, [0030]), and a first charge transport layer (Fig 2b hole transport layer 12 for GP, [0023]) provided between the first pixel electrode (Fig 2b first electrode 8a for GP, [0023]) and the first light-emitting layer (Fig 2b light-emitting layer 14 for GP, [0023]); a second subpixel (Fig 2b red pixel region RP, [0023]) including a second pixel electrode (Fig 2b first electrode 8a for RP, [0023]) provided on the substrate (Fig 2b array substrate 4, [0023]), a second light-emitting layer (Fig 2b light-emitting layer 14 for RP, [0023]) including second quantum dots (Fig 2b red quantum dots RD, [0030]), and a second charge transport layer (Fig 2b hole transport layer 12 for RP, [0023]) provided between the second pixel electrode (Fig 2b first electrode 8a for RP, [0023]) and the second light-emitting layer (Fig 2b light-emitting layer 14 for RP, [0023]), the second charge transport layer (Fig 2b hole transport layer 12 for RP, [0023]) having a same polarity (hole transport) as the first charge transport layer (Fig 2b hole transport layer 12 for GP, [0023]), the second subpixel (Fig 2b red pixel region RP, [0023]) being adjacent (Fig 2b) to the first subpixel (Fig 2b red pixel region GP, [0023]); and a third subpixel (Fig 2b blue pixel region BP, [0023]) including a third pixel electrode (Fig 2b first electrode 8a for BP, [0023]) provided on the substrate (Fig 2b array substrate 4, [0023]), a third light-emitting layer (Fig 2b light-emitting layer 14 for BP, [0023]) including third quantum dots (Fig 2b blue quantum dots BD, [0030]), and a third charge transport layer (Fig 2b hole transport layer 12 for BP, [0023]) provided between the third pixel electrode (Fig 2b first electrode 8a for BP, [0023]) and the third light-emitting layer (Fig 2b light-emitting layer 14 for BP, [0023]), the third charge transport layer (Fig 2b hole transport layer 12 for BP, [0023]) having the same polarity (hole transport) as the first charge transport layer (Fig 2b hole transport layer 12 for GP, [0023]), the third subpixel (Fig 2b blue pixel region BP, [0023]) being adjacent to the first subpixel (Fig 2b green pixel region GP, [0023]), the first light-emitting layer (Fig 2b light-emitting layer 14 for GP, [0023]) is in direct contact (Fig 2b) with the first charge transport layer (Fig 2b hole transport layer 12 for GP, [0023]), the second light-emitting layer (Fig 2b light-emitting layer 14 for RP, [0023]) is in direct contact (Fig 2b) with the second charge transport layer (Fig 2b hole transport layer 12 for RP, [0023]), the third light-emitting layer (Fig 2b light-emitting layer 14 for BP, [0023]) is in direct contact (Fig 2b) with the third charge transport layer (Fig 2b hole transport layer 12 for BP, [0023]), each of the first light-emitting layer (Fig 2b light-emitting layer 14 for GP, [0023]), the second light-emitting layer (Fig 2b light-emitting layer 14 for RP, [0023]), and the third light-emitting layer (Fig 2b light-emitting layer 14 for BP, [0023]) includes a cured photosensitive resin (photosensitive resin, [0037]) that is insoluble in the etching solution (TMAH does not remove exposed material, [0040]), and the first charge transport layer (Fig 2b hole transport layer 12 for GP, [0023]), the second charge transport layer (Fig 2b hole transport layer 12 for RP, [0023]), and the third charge transport layer (Fig 2b hole transport layer 12 for BP, [0023]) are separated from each other (Fig 2b).
Kanehiro fails to teach wherein the first charge transport layer (Fig 2b hole transport layer 12 for BP, [0023]), the second charge transport layer (Fig 2b hole transport layer 12 for BP, [0023]), and the third charge transport layer (Fig 2b hole transport layer 12 for BP, [0023]) are soluble in an etching solution, which is an organic solvent.
However, Yukihiro teaches wherein the first charge transport layer (Fig 4 hole transport layer 4, [0099] of translation corresponds to Kanehiro:Fig 2b hole transport layer 12 for BP, [0023]), the second charge transport layer (Fig 4 hole transport layer 4, [0099] of translation corresponds to Kanehiro:Fig 2b hole transport layer 12 for BP, [0023]), and the third charge transport layer (Fig 4 hole transport layer 4, [0099] of translation corresponds to Kanehiro:Fig 2b hole transport layer 12 for BP, [0023]) are soluble in an etching solution (developed with an organic solvent, [0119] of translation), which is an organic solvent (organic solvent, [0119] of translaton).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kanehiro to incorporate the teachings of Yukihiro by having the charge transport layers being soluble in an etching solution. This would allow for patterning the charge transport layer ([0119] of translation).
It is noted for clarity of the record that, while Kanehiro fails to teach the charge transport layers being soluble in an etching solution, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that this would have to be true in order to form the initial structure shown in Fig 1a.
Regarding claim 9, Kanehiro as modified in claim 6 teaches a common electrode (Kanehiro: Fig 2b second electrode 18a, [0022]) provided on all of: a side opposite (Kanehiro: Fig 2b) the first charge transport layer (Kanehiro: Fig 2b hole transport layer 12 for GP, [0023]) with respect to the first light-emitting layer (Kanehiro: Fig 2b light-emitting layer 14 for GP, [0023]), a side opposite (Kanehiro: Fig 2b) the second charge transport layer (Kanehiro: Fig 2b hole transport layer 12 for RP, [0023]) with respect to the second light-emitting layer (Kanehiro: Fig 2b light-emitting layer 14 for RP, [0023]), and a side opposite (Kanehiro: Fig 2b) the third charge transport layer (Kanehiro: Fig 2b hole transport layer 12 for BP, [0023]) with respect to the third light-emitting layer (Kanehiro: Fig 2b light-emitting layer 14 for BP, [0023]); and a fourth charge transport layer (Kanehiro: Fig 2b electron transport layer 16, [0022]) provided between the first light-emitting layer (Kanehiro: Fig 2b light-emitting layer 14 for GP, [0023]) and the common electrode (Kanehiro: Fig 2b second electrode 18a, [0022]), between the second light-emitting layer (Kanehiro: Fig 2b light-emitting layer 14 for RP, [0023]) and the common electrode (Kanehiro: Fig 2b second electrode 18a, [0022]), and between the third light-emitting layer (Kanehiro: Fig 2b light-emitting layer 14 for BP, [0023]) and the common electrode (Kanehiro: Fig 2b second electrode 18a, [0022]), the fourth charge transport layer (Kanehiro: Fig 2b electron transport layer 16, [0022]) having a reverse polarity (Kanehiro: electron transport, [0022]) to the first charge transport layer (Kanehiro: Fig 2b hole transport layer 12 for GP, [0023]), wherein at least one of the common electrode (Kanehiro: Fig 2b second electrode 18a, [0022]) and the fourth charge transport layer (Kanehiro: Fig 2b electron transport layer 16, [0022]) is formed between (Kanehiro: Fig 2b) the first light-emitting layer (Kanehiro: Fig 2b light-emitting layer 14 for GP, [0023]) and the second light-emitting layer (Kanehiro: Fig 2b light-emitting layer 14 for RP, [0023]), and between the first light-emitting layer (Kanehiro: Fig 2b light-emitting layer 14 for GP, [0023]) and the third light-emitting layer (Kanehiro: Fig 2b light-emitting layer 14 for BP, [0023]).
Regarding claim 10, Kanehiro as modified in claim 6 teaches a bank (Kanehiro: Fig 2b edge covers 6, [0023]) having an insulating property (Kanehiro: prevents short circuits so it is insulative, [0023]) and formed to cover a perimeter edge portion (Kanehiro: See annotated figure) of the first light-emitting layer (Kanehiro: Fig 2b light-emitting layer 14 for GP, [0023]).
Regarding claim 14, Kanehiro as modified in claim 6 teaches a bank (Kanehiro: Fig 2b edge covers 6, [0023]) having an insulating property (Kanehiro: prevents short circuits so it is insulative, [0023]) and formed to cover a perimeter edge portion (Kanehiro: See annotated figure) of the first pixel electrode, an angle (Kanehiro: See annotated figure) formed between a side surface of the bank (Kanehiro: Fig 2b edge covers 6, [0023]) on a first pixel electrode (Kanehiro: Fig 2b first electrode 8a for GP, [0023]) side and a surface of the first pixel electrode (Kanehiro: Fig 2b first electrode 8a for GP, [0023]) being an acute angle (Kanehiro: See annotated figure).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanehiro et. al. (WO 2018235727 A1 using US 20200136075 A1 for ease of reference), in view of Yukihiro et. al. (WO 9836620 A1), hereinafter Yukihiro, in further view of Wang et. al. (US 20170250235 A1), hereinafter Wang.
Kanehiro as modified in claim 6 fails to teach the first charge transport layer, the second charge transport layer, and the third charge transport layer are different from each other in material.
However, Hsu teaches the first charge transport layer (Fig 3B hole transport unit 131a formed of a first hole transport material, [0054] corresponds to Kanehiro: Fig 2b hole transport layer 12 for GP, [0023]), the second charge transport layer (Fig 3B hole transport unit 131a formed of a second hole transport material, [0054] corresponds to Kanehiro: Fig 2b hole transport layer 12 for RP, [0023]), and the third charge transport layer (Fig 3B hole transport unit 131a formed of a mixture of a first and second hole transport material, [0054] corresponds to Kanehiro: Fig 2b hole transport layer 12 for BP, [0023]) are different from each other in material (made from first hole transport materials, second hole transport materials, or mixture of first and second hole transport materials, [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kanehiro and Yukihiro to incorporate the teachings of Wang by having the charge transport layers being made of different materials. This would improve the luminous efficiency of the light-emitting device ([0046]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments taken together, see 35 USC §103 section beginning page 2, filed September 30, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 6 under 35 USC §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Yukihiro et. al. (WO 9836620 A1).
Applicant’s amendments and arguments taken together, see 35 USC §103 section beginning middle of page 3, filed September 30, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 15 under 35 USC §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Wang et. al. (US 20170250235 A1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALVIN L LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813