DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 10/10/2025.
Claims 32-56 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 32, 36, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 46, 47, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WATANABE et al. (US 2015/0373772 A1; hereafter WATANABE).
With respect to claim 32, WATANABE discloses a method for staggering connection establishment occasions (paragraph [0032] and [0033] and [0034], where the handover re-establishment is adjusted or restricted to improve network performance) for associated wireless modems (Abstract; Title; 111, 112 in FIG. 2), the method being performed by a controller (150, Network Management in FIG. 1; 151, HO parameter adjustment unit in FIG. 2) and comprising:
configuring a group of associated wireless modems (111, 112 in FIG. 2) for mobility reporting (S81, S82, S83, S84, S85, S86 in FIG. 11), wherein each wireless modem is configured to report, to a serving radio access network node (141, 140 in FIG. 1), at least one mobility related parameter (S91, S92, S93, S94 in FIG. 13; S101, S102, S103, in FIG. 14) as part of their mobility reporting (S81, S82, S83, S84, S85, S86 in FIG. 11), and
wherein the wireless modems (106, 106 in FIG. 1; 106 in FIG. 2) collectively are configured with different reporting trigger conditions (S91, S92, S93, S94 in FIG. 13; S101, S102, S103, in FIG. 14) for the same mobility related parameter(S91, S92, S93, S94 in FIG. 13; S101, S102, S103, in FIG. 14).
With respect to claim 36, WATANABE further discloses the method according to claim 32, further comprising: obtaining information (paragraph [0079]) that the wireless modems (111, 112 in FIG. 2) are associated with each other.
With respect to claim 38, WATANABE further discloses the method according to claim 32, wherein the group of associated wireless modems (111, 112 in FIG. 2) are configured for mobility reporting (S81, S82, S83, S84, S85, S86 in FIG. 11) via one of: RRC signalling, MAC/RLC signalling, or Physical layer signalling ( paragraph [0079]).
With respect to claim 39, WATANABE further discloses the method according to claim 32, wherein the group of associated wireless modems (111, 112 in FIG. 2) are part of, integrated with, or collocated with, a communication device (100 in FIG. 1).
With respect to claim 40, WATANABE further discloses the method according to claim 32, wherein the controller (150, Network Management in FIG. 1; 151, HO parameter adjustment unit in FIG. 2) is collocated with the wireless modems (111, 112 in FIG. 2).
With respect to claim 41, WATANABE further discloses the method according to claim 32, wherein the controller (150, Network Management in FIG. 1; 151, HO parameter adjustment unit in FIG. 2) is part of, integrated with, or collocated with, a radio access network node ( 140, 141 in FIG. 1).
With respect to claim 42, WATANABE discloses a method for staggered connection establishment occasions (paragraph [0032] and [0033] and [0034], where the handover re-establishment is adjusted or restricted to improve network performance), the method being performed by a group of associated wireless modems (Abstract; Title; 111, 112 in FIG. 2), the method comprising:
obtaining configuring from a controller (150, Network Management in FIG. 1; 151, HO parameter adjustment unit in FIG. 2), wherein each wireless modem is configured to report, to a serving radio access network node (141 in FIG. 1), at least one mobility related parameter (S91, S92, S93, S94 in FIG. 13; S101, S102, S103, in FIG. 14) as part of their mobility reporting (S81, S82, S83, S84, S85, S86 in FIG. 11), and
wherein the wireless modems (111, 112 in FIG. 2) collectively are configured with different reporting trigger conditions (S91, S92, S93, S94 in FIG. 13; S101, S102, S103, in FIG. 14) for the same mobility related parameter (S91, S92, S93, S94 in FIG. 13; S101, S102, S103, in FIG. 14); and
reporting, by each of the wireless modems (111,112 in FIG. 2), said at least one mobility related parameter (S91, S92, S93, S94 in FIG. 13; S101, S102, S103, in FIG. 14) as part of the mobility reporting (S81, S82, S83, S84, S85, S86 in FIG. 11).
With respect to claim 46, WATANABE further discloses the method according to claim 42, wherein the wireless modems (111, 112 in FIG. 2) are associated with each other at network attach time (paragraph [0079]; see the RRC reconfiguration).
With respect to claim 47, WATANABE further discloses the method according to claim 42, further comprising:
providing information that the wireless modems (111,112 in FIG. 2) are associated with each other (paragraph [0079]; see the RRC reconfiguration).
With respect to claim 49, WATANABE further discloses the method according to claim 42, wherein the information is provided at time of network registration (paragraph [0079]; see the RRC reconfiguration) of the wireless modems (111, 112 in FIG. 2) but before data bearer connection establishment to the wireless modems (111, 112 in FIG. 2).
With respect to claim 50, WATANABE further discloses the method according to claim 42, wherein the group of associated wireless modems (111, 112 in FIG. 2) are configured for mobility reporting (S81, S82, S83, S84, S85, S86 in FIG. 11) via one of: RRC signalling, MAC/RLC signalling, or Physical layer signalling (paragraph [0079]).
With respect to claim 51, WATANABE further discloses the method according to claim 42, wherein the group of associated wireless modems (111, 112 in FIG. 2) are part of, integrated with, or collocated with, a communication device (101 in FIG. 1).
With respect to claim 52, WATANABE further discloses the method according to claim 42, wherein the controller (150, Network Management in FIG. 1; 151, HO parameter adjustment unit in FIG. 2) is collocated with the wireless modems (111, 112 in FIG. 2).
With respect to claim 53, WATANABE further discloses the method according to claim 42, wherein the controller (150, Network Management in FIG. 1; 151, HO parameter adjustment unit in FIG. 2) is part of, integrated with, or collocated with, a radio access network node ( 140 in FIG. 1).
With respect to claim 54, WATANABE discloses a controller (150, Network Management in FIG. 1; 151, HO parameter adjustment unit in FIG. 2) for staggering connection establishment occasions (paragraph [0032] and [0033] and [0034], where the handover re-establishment is adjusted or restricted to improve network performance) for associated wireless modems ( 111, 112 in FIG. 2), the controller comprising processing circuitry, the processing circuitry being configured to cause the controller (150, Network Management in FIG. 1; 151, HO parameter adjustment unit in FIG. 2) to:
configure a group of associated wireless modems ( 111, 112 in FIG. 2) for mobility reporting (S81, S82, S83, S84, S85, S86 in FIG. 11), wherein each wireless modem is configured to report, to a serving radio access network node ( 141, 140 in FIG. 1), at least one mobility related parameter (S91, S92, S93, S94 in FIG. 13; S101, S102, S103, in FIG. 14) as part of their mobility reporting (S81, S82, S83, S84, S85, S86 in FIG. 11), and wherein the wireless modems ( 111, 112 in FIG. 2) collectively are configured with different reporting trigger conditions (S91, S92, S93, S94 in FIG. 13; S101, S102, S103, in FIG. 14) for the same mobility related parameter (S91, S92, S93, S94 in FIG. 13; S101, S102, S103, in FIG. 14).
With respect to claim 55, WATANABE discloses a controller (150, Network Management in FIG. 1; 151, HO parameter adjustment unit in FIG. 2) for staggering connection establishment occasions (paragraph [0032] and [0033] and [0034], where the handover re-establishment is adjusted or restricted to improve network performance) for associated wireless modems (111, 112 in FIG. 2), the controller (150, Network Management in FIG. 1; 151, HO parameter adjustment unit in FIG. 2) comprising:
a configure module configured to configure a group of associated wireless modems (111, 112 in FIG. 2) for mobility reporting (S81, S82, S83, S84, S85, S86 in FIG. 11), wherein each wireless modem is configured to report, to a serving radio access network node (140, 141 in FIG. 1), at least one mobility related parameter (S91, S92, S93, S94 in FIG. 13; S101, S102, S103, in FIG. 14) as part of their mobility reporting (S81, S82, S83, S84, S85, S86 in FIG. 11), and
wherein the wireless modems (111, 112 in FIG. 2) collectively are configured with different reporting trigger conditions (S91, S92, S93, S94 in FIG. 13; S101, S102, S103, in FIG. 14) for the same mobility related parameter(S91, S92, S93, S94 in FIG. 13; S101, S102, S103, in FIG. 14).
With respect to claim 56, WATANABE discloses a communication device (100 in FIG. 1) for staggered connection establishment occasions (paragraph [0032] and [0033] and [0034], where the handover re-establishment is adjusted or restricted to improve network performance), the communication device comprising a group of associated wireless modems (111, 112 in FIG. 2), the communication device further comprising processing circuitry, the processing circuitry being configured to cause the communication device (100 in FIG. 1) to:
obtain configuring from a controller (150, Network Management in FIG. 1; 151, HO parameter adjustment unit in FIG. 2), wherein each wireless modem is configured to report, to a serving radio access network node (140, 141 in FIG. 1), at least one mobility related parameter (S91, S92, S93, S94 in FIG. 13; S101, S102, S103, in FIG. 14) as part of their mobility reporting (S81, S82, S83, S84, S85, S86 in FIG. 11), and
wherein the wireless modems (111, 112 in FIG. 2) collectively are configured with different reporting trigger conditions (S91, S92, S93, S94 in FIG. 13; S101, S102, S103, in FIG. 14) for the same mobility related parameter (S91, S92, S93, S94 in FIG. 13; S101, S102, S103, in FIG. 14); and
report, by each of the wireless modems (111, 112 in FIG. 2), said at least one mobility related parameter (S91, S92, S93, S94 in FIG. 13; S101, S102, S103, in FIG. 14) as part of the mobility reporting (S81, S82, S83, S84, S85, S86 in FIG. 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 33-35 and 43-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WATANABE in view of CHENG (US 2015/0038141 A1; hereafter CHENG).
With respect to claim 33, WATANABE does not disclose the method according to claim 32, wherein the reporting trigger conditions pertain to at least one of: signal strength threshold, hysteresis offset, time-to-trigger (TTT) value, and a measurement report offset.
CHENG discloses wherein the reporting trigger conditions pertain to at least one of: signal strength threshold, hysteresis offset, time-to-trigger (TTT) value, and a measurement report offset (120, 130, 104, 150 in FIG. 1; paragraphs [0064], [0071], [0072], [0073], [0074]).
CHENG teaches the benefit of reduced unneeded handover (paragraph [0008]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the threshold and events as taught by CHENG in the method of WATANABE to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 34, WATANABE does not disclose the method according to claim 33, wherein the wireless modems collectively are configured with different strength thresholds, hysteresis offsets, TTT values, and/or measurement report offsets.
CHENG discloses wherein the wireless modems collectively are configured with different strength thresholds, hysteresis offsets, TTT values, and/or measurement report offsets (120, 130, 104, 150 in FIG. 1; paragraphs [0064], [0071], [0072], [0073], [0074]).
CHENG teaches the benefit of reduced unneeded handover (paragraph [0008]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the threshold and events as taught by CHENG in the method of WATANABE to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 35, WATANABE does not disclose the method according to claim 32, wherein the mobility related parameter is at least one of: reference signal received power (RSRP) and reference signal received quality (RSRQ).
CHENG discloses wherein the mobility related parameter is at least one of: reference signal received power (RSRP) and reference signal received quality (RSRQ) (120, 130, 104, 150 in FIG. 1; paragraphs [0064], [0071], [0072], [0073], [0074]).
CHENG teaches the benefit of reduced unneeded handover (paragraph [0008]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the threshold and events as taught by CHENG in the method of WATANABE to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 43, WATANABE does not disclose the method according to claim 42, wherein the reporting trigger conditions pertain to at least one of: signal strength threshold, hysteresis offset, time-to-trigger (TTT) value, and a measurement report offset.
CHENG discloses wherein the reporting trigger conditions pertain to at least one of: signal strength threshold, hysteresis offset, time-to-trigger (TTT) value, and a measurement report offset (120, 130, 104, 150 in FIG. 1; paragraphs [0064], [0071], [0072], [0073], [0074]).
CHENG teaches the benefit of reduced unneeded handover (paragraph [0008]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the threshold and events as taught by CHENG in the method of WATANABE to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 44, WATANABE does not disclose the method according to claim 43, wherein the wireless modems collectively are configured with different strength thresholds, hysteresis offsets, TTT values, and/or measurement report offsets.
CHENG discloses wherein the wireless modems collectively are configured with different strength thresholds, hysteresis offsets, TTT values, and/or measurement report offsets (120, 130, 104, 150 in FIG. 1; paragraphs [0064], [0071], [0072], [0073], [0074]).
CHENG teaches the benefit of reduced unneeded handover (paragraph [0008]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the threshold and events as taught by CHENG in the method of WATANABE to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 45, WATANABE does not disclose the method according to claim 42, wherein the mobility related parameter is at least one of: reference signal received power (RSRP) and reference signal received quality, RSRQ.
CHENG discloses wherein the mobility related parameter is at least one of: reference signal received power (RSRP) and reference signal received quality, RSRQ (120, 130, 104, 150 in FIG. 1; paragraphs [0064], [0071], [0072], [0073], [0074]).
CHENG teaches the benefit of reduced unneeded handover (paragraph [0008]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the threshold and events as taught by CHENG in the method of WATANABE to produce an expected result.
Claims 37 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WATANABE in view of Altman et al. (US 2017/0251515 A1; hereafter ALTMAN).
With respect to claim 37, WATANABE does not disclose the method according to claim 36, wherein the information is obtained from a database or from at least one of the wireless modems.
ALTMAN discloses wherein the information is obtained from a database or from at least one of the wireless modems (paragraphs [0118] and [0120], see the presets in the database for grouping or bonding the modems).
ALTMAN teaches the benefit of improved organization by using stored database settings (paragraphs [0001, [0002]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the database as taught by ALTMAN with the method of WATANABE to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 48, WATANABE does not disclose the method according to claim 42, wherein the information is provided to a database or to the controller.
ALTMAN discloses wherein the information is provided to a database or to the controller (paragraphs [0118] and [0120], see the presets in the database for grouping or bonding the modems).
ALTMAN teaches the benefit of improved organization by using stored database settings (paragraphs [0001, [0002]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the database as taught by ALTMAN with the method of WATANABE to produce an expected result.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 10/10/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 32, 42, 54, 55, and 56 under LE have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of WATANABE.
Conclusion
/BRIAN T O CONNOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465 January 24, 2026