DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Amended claim 40-44 and new claim 49 are under examination.
Claim 1-39 and 45-48 are cancelled.
Claim 40-44 and 49 are rejected.
Withdrawn Rejections
The objection set forth in previous office action over claim 40 and 41 have been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
The 112, second paragraph rejection over claim 40-44 as set forth in previous office action, have been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 40-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vrljic et al. (US 2018/0027851).
Regrading claim 40 and 44, Vrljic et al. (Vrljic) discloses a consumable product, a meat substitute comprising entirely plant-based proteins and fats (plant-based meat substitute (‘851, [0015], [0076]). Vrljic discloses the consumable product comprises isolated and purified protein, hemoprotein (‘851, [305]) obtained from plant, fungus (‘851, [308]) from transgenic plant cells (‘851, [0123], [0139] in media (slurry/cultured cell lines) (‘851, [0370]); wherein the isolated and purified protein, hemoprotein is also considered an yeast extract (‘851, [0112], [0123], [0129], [0139]). Vrljic discloses the consumable product comprising organic acids (‘851, [0172]); vitamins (‘851, [0108]); salts (‘851, [0022]); plant proteins (‘851, [0018]); sugar, sucrose (saccharide) (‘851, [0017]; plant fibers (‘851, [0152]); vegetable oil (‘851, [0018]; and emulsifier (‘851, [0017]). Vrljic discloses the consumable product, a meat substitute having organoleptic and physiochemical properties characteristics of meat products (‘851, [0089]-[0092], [0099]).
With respect to new limitation “…further wherein said slurry of transgenic plant is derived from a plant cell powder…” in claim 40 and recitation of claim 44 with respect to the “plant cell powder…”, are directed to the plant cell powder which is an intermediate product, within the slurry of the claimed finished product; Vrljic’s transgenic plant cells (‘851, [0123], [0139] in the media (slurry/cultured cell lines) (‘851, [0370]) encompasses the limitation set forth in claim 40 and 44.
Regarding claim 41, 42, and 43, Vrljic discloses the consumable product comprises the isolated and purified protein, hemoprotein (‘851, [305]) is hemoglobin, myoglobin (‘851, [0107], [0127], [0128]). With respect to claim 42 and 43, as Vrljic’s hemoglobin, myoglobin (‘851, [0107], [0127], [0128]) has been taught and meets the limitation as recited in claim 41, with respect to claim 42 and 43 with components listed as an alternative and never specifically claimed as being present then claims 42 and 43 are rejected for the same reasons as claim 41 with Vrljic’s hemoglobin, myoglobin (‘851, [0107], [0127], [0128]) being the taught element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vrljic et al. (US 2018/0027851).
Regarding claim 49, Vrljic discloses the claimed invention as discussed above. Vrljic discloses the plant isolated and purified protein, hemoprotein with an amino acid sequence set (‘851, [0130]-[0131]). Vrljic does not explicitly disclose a nucleic acid sequence having at least 90% homology as recited in claim 49. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust Vrljic’s isolated and purified protein, hemoprotein to express a nucleaic acid sequence having at least 90% homology since Vrljic clearly teach the plant hemo-containing proteins, myoglobin having at least 100% sequence identity (‘851, [0131]) with a heme-binding motif.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/09/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to the new limitation “…further wherein said slurry of transgenic plant is derived from a plant cell powder…” in claim 40 and recitation of claim 44 with respect to the “plant cell powder…”, are directed to the plant cell powder which is an intermediate product, within the slurry of the claimed finished product; Vrljic’s transgenic plant cells (‘851, [0123], [0139] in the media (slurry/cultured cell lines) (‘851, [0370]) encompasses the limitation set forth in claim 40 and 44.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HONG T YOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792