Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 02/26/2026 has been entered.
Claim Status
Claims 1 and 3-12 are pending.
Claim 1 is currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 5 recites the limitation “wherein the covering portion forms a spatial region with an outer surface of the outer container”. Claim 1, from which claim 5 depends, recites “the covering portion forms a spatial region with an outer surface of the outer container…”. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamatsu (US 20050212626 A1) in view of Wang (US 20040149224 A1), and Kobayashi (US 20180226230 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Takamatsu teaches a high frequency reaction processing apparatus for processing silicon substrates (Fig. 36, [0186], high frequency wave ionized gas plasma generating system), comprising:
an outer container made of a dielectric material (Fig. 36, [0189], dielectric outer container 40) and having an inner cavity capable of being closed by two end faces (Fig. 36, outer container 40 is a hollow quartz tube 54, enclosed on open ends by container walls 59),
a covering portion made of a conductive material (Fig. 36, [0189], covering conductive material 43) and kept at the same potential as ground potential of a high frequency waveguide and provided only on the outside of the outer container (Fig. 36, [0183], covering material 43 is kept at the same potential as high frequency waveguide 44 and is disposed outside of outer container 40),
at least one high frequency wave coupling portion provided at any position of an outer surface of the covering portion (Fig. 36, [0192], high frequency wave coupling portion 42 is connected to covering material 43 at an outer side), and
at least one inner container made of a dielectric material (Fig. 36, [0191], dielectric inner container 41), provided at a position for receiving a high frequency wave travelling through the high frequency wave coupling portion without touching an inner side face of the outer container (Fig. 36, [0192], high frequency wave 47 travels via transmission waveguide 44 through coupling portion 42, where inner container 41 is not in contact with outer container 40) and having an inner cavity capable of being closed by two end faces (Fig. 36, inner container 41 is a cylinder that is open on both top and bottom ends),
a lid portion made of conductor (Fig. 36, [0187], vacuum container walls 59 are made of aluminum) kept at the same potential as ground potential of the high frequency waveguide ([0189], covering material 43, high frequency waveguide 44, and container walls 59 are electrically connected and kept at the same potential), the lid portion closing the inner cavity of the inner container at an end face of the inner container (Fig. 36, container walls 59 enclose inner cavity of inner container 41 with O-rings 58), the lid portion having a fitting groove for fitting an end part of the inner container (Fig. 36, cylindrical member 41 protrudes into recesses of container walls 59), and
a seal member provided between the inner container and the lid portion for sealing the inner cavity of the inner container (Fig. 36, container walls 59 enclose inner cavity of inner container 41 with O-rings 58),
the seal member is provided in the vicinity of the bottom of the fitting groove (Fig. 36, O-rings 58 are provided at bottom end of recesses of container wall 59),
reaction process is performed by electromagnetic waves guided from the high frequency wave coupling portion in the inner cavity of the inner container (Fig. 36, [0192], high frequency wave 47 travels via transmission waveguide 44 through coupling portion 42 and create plasma 16 in container 12, [0188]).
Takamatsu fails to explicitly teach wherein the fitting groove has a depth with 30mm or more and with a length of 1/8 wavelength or more and 1/2 wavelength or less of the guided high frequency wave and accommodates an end part of the inner container without contacting a side surface of the inner container, and the covering portion forms a spatial region with an outer surface of the outer container and the distance between the covering portion and the outer surface of the outer container is 3 mm or more.
However, Wang teaches the fitting groove has a depth with 30mm or more (Wang, Fig. 4, [0037], distance d can be 2 to 3 inches) and accommodates an end part of the inner container without contacting a side surface of the inner container (Wang, Fig. 4, [0038], plasma tube 16 protrudes into end cap 80, avoiding contact with end cap 80 with O-rings 40/42 and gap 92).
Wang is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of plasma processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the depth of the fitting groove as taught by Wang into the apparatus of Takamatsu as doing so would help ensure blocking of the plasma from reaching the O-ring seals, preventing damage of the seals (Wang, [0041]-[0042]). As well, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the spacing of the dielectric tube from the end cap of Wang into the apparatus of Takamatsu as doing so would allow accommodation for thermally-induced expansion of the tube and end cap relative to one another (Wang, [0038]).
Takamatsu modified by Wang fails to explicitly teach wherein the fitting groove has a depth of 1/8 wavelength or more and 1/2 wavelength or less of the guided high frequency wave, and the covering portion forms a spatial region with an outer surface of the outer container and the distance between the covering portion and the outer surface of the outer container is 3 mm or more.
While Kobayashi does not explicitly teach the limitations above, Kobayashi teaches the dimensions of an RF choke to prevent excitation of electromagnetic waves in a dielectric filled gap is a results effective variable.
Kobayashi teaches an apparatus where a microwave input at a side of a housing effects an electric field throughout the entire housing (Kobayashi, Fig. 4, [0072], microwave input 466, housing 405), where the field is desired to be applied to generate a plasma in one area (Kobayashi, [0072], plasma 60) but not applied to an adjacent area through an open gap (Kobayashi, Fig. 4 and 5, [0064], region A). Specifically, Kobayashi teaches that the length L3 of a dielectric material 445 is advantageously chosen to prevent the excitation of electromagnetic waves in the dielectric filled gap, thus reducing microwave leakage through the gap, by the mathematical equation n*λ/(4*√Ɛ2), where λ is the wavelength of the microwaves and n is any odd integer greater than zero, and Ɛ2 is the dielectric constant of the dielectric material (Kobayashi, Fig. 5D, [0068]).
Kobayashi is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of semiconductor processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to have utilized the mathematical relation taught by Kobayashi to determine the depth of fitting groove needed to accommodate a specific length of the dielectric container of modified Takamatsu such that an RF choke is created as taught by Kobayashi, thereby preventing electromagnetic waves from propagating within the groove (Kobayashi, [0068]), and further helping to ensure that a plasma is not generated at all in the groove which could damage the seals (Wang, [0042], where plasma can still exist a short distance into the gap 92).
Modified Takamatsu fails to teach wherein the covering portion forms a spatial region with an outer surface of the outer container and the distance between the covering portion and the outer surface of the outer container is 3 mm or more.
While Kobayashi does not explicitly teach the limitations above, Kobayashi teaches the dimensions of an air gap formed between a conductive plate and a dielectric plate into which microwaves are transmitted is a results effective variable.
Kobayashi teaches an apparatus where a microwave is input through an air gap bounded by a movable conductive plate and a dielectric plate (Kobayashi, Figs. 6-8, [0070]-[0072], microwave input 466, cavity 467, movable conductive plate 420 and dielectric plate 469). Specifically, Kobayashi teaches that the height d21 of the air gap cavity 467 is an adjustable variable to advantageously support at least one or more eigenmodes and frequencies of the system 470 (Kobayashi, Figs. 6-8, [0070]-[0072]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have found the optimal air gap cavity dimension as taught by Kobayashi and applied it to space the cover member from the outer container of modified Takamatsu as doing so would allow one to find the optimal conditions for tuning microwaves in the cavity, allowing fields to be efficiently coupled down to a lower surface of the dielectric (Kobayashi, [0071]-[0072]).
Regarding claim 3, Takamatsu teaches wherein the inner container is made of alumina ([0205], inner container 41 may be made of alumina).
Regarding claim 4, modified Takamatsu fails to explicitly teach wherein the fitting groove has a depth of 1/4 wavelength or more of the guided high frequency wave.
While Kobayashi does not explicitly teach the limitations above, Kobayashi teaches the dimensions of an RF choke to prevent excitation of electromagnetic waves in a dielectric filled gap is a results effective variable.
Kobayashi teaches an apparatus where a microwave input at a side of a housing effects an electric field throughout the entire housing (Kobayashi, Fig. 4, [0072], microwave input 466, housing 405), where the field is desired to be applied to generate a plasma in one area (Kobayashi, [0072], plasma 60) but not applied to an adjacent area through an open gap (Kobayashi, Fig. 4 and 5, [0064], region A). Specifically, Kobayashi teaches that the length L3 of a dielectric material 445 is advantageously chosen to prevent the excitation of electromagnetic waves in the dielectric filled gap, thus reducing microwave leakage through the gap, by the mathematical equation n*λ/(4*√Ɛ2), where λ is the wavelength of the microwaves and n is any odd integer greater than zero, and Ɛ2 is the dielectric constant of the dielectric material (Kobayashi, Fig. 5D, [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to have utilized the mathematical relation taught by Kobayashi to determine the depth of fitting groove needed to accommodate a specific length of the dielectric container of modified Takamatsu such that an RF choke is created as taught by Kobayashi, thereby preventing electromagnetic waves from propagating within the groove (Kobayashi, [0068]), and further helping to ensure that a plasma is not generated at all in the groove which could damage the seals (Wang, [0042], where plasma can still exist a short distance into the gap 92).
Regarding claim 5, Takamatsu fails to teach wherein the covering portion forms a spatial region with an outer surface of the outer container.
While Kobayashi does not explicitly teach the limitations above, Kobayashi teaches the dimensions of an air gap formed between a conductive plate and a dielectric plate into which microwaves are transmitted is a results effective variable.
Kobayashi teaches an apparatus where a microwave is input through an air gap bounded by a movable conductive plate and a dielectric plate (Kobayashi, Fig. 6, [0070]-[0072], microwave input 466, cavity 467, movable conductive plate 420 and dielectric plate 469). Specifically, Kobayashi teaches that the height d21 of the air gap cavity 467 is an adjustable variable to advantageously support at least one or more eigenmodes and frequencies of the system 470 (Kobayashi, Fig. 6, [0070]-[0072]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have found the optimal air gap cavity dimension as taught by Kobayashi and applied it to space the cover member from the outer container of modified Takamatsu as doing so would allow one to find the optimal conditions for tuning microwaves in the cavity, allowing fields to be efficiently coupled down to a lower surface of the dielectric (Kobayashi, [0071]-[0072]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Takamatsu fails to explicitly teach wherein the spatial region is formed by separating the inner surface of the covering portion and the outer surface of the outer container by 1/60 wavelength or more and 1/4 wavelength or less of the travelling high frequency wave.
While Kobayashi does not explicitly teach the limitations above, Kobayashi teaches the dimensions of an air gap formed between a conductive plate and a dielectric plate into which microwaves are transmitted is a results effective variable.
Kobayashi teaches an apparatus where a microwave is input through an air gap bounded by a movable conductive plate and a dielectric plate (Kobayashi, Fig. 6, [0070]-[0072], microwave input 466, cavity 467, movable conductive plate 420 and dielectric plate 469). Specifically, Kobayashi teaches that the height d21 of the air gap cavity 467 is an adjustable variable to advantageously support at least one or more eigenmodes and frequencies of the system 470 (Kobayashi, Fig. 6, [0070]-[0072]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have found the optimal air gap cavity dimension as taught by Kobayashi and applied it to space the cover member from the outer container of modified Takamatsu as doing so would allow one to find the optimal conditions for tuning microwaves in the cavity, allowing fields to be efficiently coupled down to a lower surface of the dielectric (Kobayashi, [0071]-[0072]).
Regarding claim 8, Takamatsu teaches wherein plasma is generated in the inner cavity of the inner container (Fig. 36, [0192], high frequency wave 47 travels via transmission waveguide 44 through coupling portion 42 and create plasma 16 in container 12, [0188]).
Regarding claim 9, Takamatsu teaches wherein reaction processing of a target material is performed by an electromagnetic wave guided from the high frequency wave coupling portion in the inner cavity of the inner container (Fig. 37, [0192], high frequency wave 47 travels via transmission waveguide 44 through coupling portion 42 and create plasma 16 in container 12, [0188], which travels down to object placed on stage 63 via porous plate 60 for radical surface treatment).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamatsu (US 20050212626 A1) in view of Wang (US 20040149224 A1) and Kobayashi (US 20180226230 A1), as applied in claims 1, 3-6 and 8-9, and further in view of Wu (US 10121638 B1).
The limitations of claims 1, 3-6 and 8-9 are set forth above.
Regarding claim 7, modified Takamatsu teaches wherein the lid portion is provided on each end face of the outer container and the covering portion to close the inner cavity (Takamatsu, Fig. 36, container walls 59 enclose inner cavity of inner container 41 with O-rings 58).
Modified Takamatsu fails to explicitly teach the lid portion has a locking portion for holding the outer container apart from the covering portion.
However, Wu teaches the lid portion has a locking portion for holding the outer container apart from the covering portion (Wu, Figs. 1-3, C3 L45-C4 L60, dielectric material 144 extends into connection part 122, maintain gap G2 with external electrode 142).
Wu is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of plasma processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the extension of the dielectric tube into the connection part as taught by Wu into the apparatus of modified Takamatsu as doing so would ensure specific gap spacing that is critical to maintaining desired plasma characteristics (Wu, Figs. 1-3, C3 L45-C4 L60).
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamatsu (US 20050212626 A1) in view of Wang (US 20040149224 A1) and Kobayashi (US 20180226230 A1), as applied in claims 1, 3-6 and 8-9, and further in view of Harada (US 20170032933 A1).
The limitations of claims 1, 3-6 and 8-9 are set forth above.
Regarding claim 10, Takamatsu teaches a high frequency reaction processing apparatus (Fig. 36, [0186], high frequency wave ionized gas plasma generating system), comprising:
an outer container made of a dielectric material (Fig. 36, [0189], dielectric outer container 40) and having an inner cavity capable of being closed by two end faces (Fig. 36, outer container 40 is a hollow quartz tube 54, enclosed on open ends by container walls 59),
a covering portion made of a conductive material (Fig. 36, [0189], covering conductive material 43) and kept at the same potential as ground potential of a high frequency waveguide (Fig. 36, [0183], covering material 43 is kept at the same potential as high frequency waveguide 44),
at least one high frequency wave coupling portion provided at any position of an outer surface of the covering portion (Fig. 36, [0192], high frequency wave coupling portion 42 is connected to covering material 43 at an outer side), and
at least one inner container made of a dielectric material (Fig. 36, [0191], dielectric inner container 41), provided at a position for receiving a high frequency wave travelling through the high frequency wave coupling portion without touching an inner side face of the outer container (Fig. 36, [0192], high frequency wave 47 travels via transmission waveguide 44 through coupling portion 42, where inner container 41 is not in contact with outer container 40) and having an inner cavity capable of being closed by two end faces (Fig. 36, inner container 41 is a cylinder that is open on both top and bottom ends),
a lid portion made of conductor (Fig. 36, [0187], vacuum container walls 59 are made of aluminum) kept at the same potential as ground potential of the high frequency waveguide ([0189], covering material 43, high frequency waveguide 44, and container walls 59 are electrically connected and kept at the same potential), the lid portion closing the inner cavity of the inner container at an end face of the inner container (Fig. 36, container walls 59 enclose inner cavity of inner container 41 with O-rings 58),
wherein the lid portion has a fitting groove for fitting an end part of the inner container (Fig. 36, cylindrical member 41 protrudes into recesses of container walls 59), and
reaction process is performed by electromagnetic waves guided from the high frequency wave coupling portion in the inner cavity of the inner container (Fig. 36, [0192], high frequency wave 47 travels via transmission waveguide 44 through coupling portion 42 and create plasma 16 in container 12, [0188]).
Takamatsu fails to explicitly teach wherein the fitting groove has a depth with 30mm or more and with a length of 1/8 wavelength or more and 1/2 wavelength or less of the guided high frequency wave and accommodates an end part of the inner container without contacting a side surface of the inner container.
However, Wang teaches the fitting groove has a depth with 30mm or more (Wang, Fig. 4, [0037], distance d can be 2 to 3 inches) and accommodates an end part of the inner container without contacting a side surface of the inner container (Wang, Fig. 4, [0038], plasma tube 16 protrudes into end cap 80, avoiding contact with end cap 80 with O-rings 40/42 and gap 92).
Wang is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of plasma processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the depth of the fitting groove as taught by Wang into the apparatus of Takamatsu as doing so would help ensure blocking of the plasma from reaching the O-ring seals, preventing damage of the seals (Wang, [0041]-[0042]). As well, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the spacing of the dielectric tube from the end cap of Wang into the apparatus of Takamatsu as doing so would allow accommodation for thermally-induced expansion of the tube and end cap relative to one another (Wang, [0038]).
Takamatsu modified by Wang fails to explicitly teach wherein the fitting groove has a depth of 1/8 wavelength or more and 1/2 wavelength or less of the guided high frequency wave.
While Kobayashi does not explicitly teach the limitations above, Kobayashi teaches the dimensions of an RF choke to prevent excitation of electromagnetic waves in a dielectric filled gap is a results effective variable.
Kobayashi teaches an apparatus where a microwave input at a side of a housing effects an electric field throughout the entire housing (Kobayashi, Fig. 4, [0072], microwave input 466, housing 405), where the field is desired to be applied to generate a plasma in one area (Kobayashi, [0072], plasma 60) but not applied to an adjacent area through an open gap (Kobayashi, Fig. 4 and 5, [0064], region A). Specifically, Kobayashi teaches that the length L3 of a dielectric material 445 is advantageously chosen to prevent the excitation of electromagnetic waves in the dielectric filled gap, thus reducing microwave leakage through the gap, by the mathematical equation n*λ/(4*√Ɛ2), where λ is the wavelength of the microwaves and n is any odd integer greater than zero, and Ɛ2 is the dielectric constant of the dielectric material (Kobayashi, Fig. 5D, [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to have utilized the mathematical relation taught by Kobayashi to determine the depth of fitting groove needed to accommodate a specific length of the dielectric container of modified Takamatsu such that an RF choke is created as taught by Kobayashi, thereby preventing electromagnetic waves from propagating within the groove (Kobayashi, [0068]), and further helping to ensure that a plasma is not generated at all in the groove which could damage the seals (Wang, [0042], where plasma can still exist a short distance into the gap 92).
Modified Takamatsu fails to teach a plurality of high frequency reaction processing apparatuses and a single processing chamber connected to the inner cavity of the inner container via an end face on one side of the inner container of each of the plurality of high frequency reaction processing apparatuses.
However, Harada teaches a plurality of the high frequency reaction processing apparatuses (Harada, Fig. 1, [0047], plurality of microwave radiation mechanisms), and a single processing chamber (Harada, Fig. 1, [0041], chamber 1) connected to the inner cavity of the inner container via an end face on one side of the inner container of each of the plurality of high frequency reaction processing apparatuses (Harada, Fig. 1, [0047], plural microwave radiation mechanisms 43 are installed in microwave radiation plate 50 at bottom ends, where the interiors of mechanisms 43 are in communication with chamber 1 via slow wave member 121, slots 123, and transmission member 122, Fig. 4, [0057]).
Harada is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of plasma processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated multiple processing tubes in the manner of Harada to a common processing chamber as doing so would allow for individual adjustment of the phases or magnitudes of the microwaves, thereby making it easier to adjust plasma distribution across the processing area (Harada, [0009]).
Regarding claim 12, Takamatsu teaches wherein the outer containers in the plurality of the high frequency reaction processing apparatuses are cylinders (Takamatsu, Fig. 36, [0200], outer container 40 is a tube shape), and the outer containers of the cylinders have 150mm or less of curvature radiuses (Takamatsu, Fig. 36, [0200], outer container 40 has outer diameter of 150mm).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamatsu (US 20050212626 A1) in view of Wang (US 20040149224 A1), Kobayashi (US 20180226230 A1), and Harada (US 20170032933 A1), as applied in claims 10 and 12, and further in view of Choi (KR 20130117270 A).
The limitations of claims 10 and 12 are set forth above.
Regarding claim 11, modified Takamatsu fails to teach wherein the plurality of the high frequency reaction processing apparatuses is formed in a same shape and arranged centrally symmetrically, and end faces of the outer container and the inner container are shared with each other.
However, Harada teaches wherein the plurality of the high frequency reaction processing apparatuses is formed in a same shape and arranged centrally symmetrically (Harada, Fig. 3, [0047], plural microwave mechanisms 43 are arranged centrally and symmetrically about microwave radiation plate 50), and end faces of the outer container and inner container are shared with each other (Harada, Fig. 1, [0047], plural microwave radiation mechanisms 43 are installed in microwave radiation plate 50 at bottom ends).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated multiple processing tubes in the manner of Harada to a common processing chamber as doing so would allow for individual adjustment of the phases or magnitudes of the microwaves, thereby making it easier to adjust plasma distribution across the processing area (Harada, [0009]).
Modified Takamatsu in view of Harada fails to explicitly teach wherein the top end face is shared amongst the plurality of processing apparatuses.
However, Choi wherein the top end face is shared amongst the plurality of processing apparatuses (Choi, Fig. 1, [0023], plurality of discharge tubes 32 are installed at the top ends to singular discharge tube head 50 and cooling plate 45, [0027]) .
Choi is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of plasma processing. It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the cooling plate/discharge tube head of Choi into the apparatus of modified Takamatsu as doing so would allow each individual plasma processing apparatus to be supplied by one common gas source ([0023], Choi).
Response to Arguments
In the Applicant’s response filed 02/26/26, the Applicant asserts that none of the cited prior art, particularly Wu, teach the claim limitations “the covering portion forms a spatial region with an outer surface of the outer container and the distance between the covering portion and the outer surface of the outer container is 3 mm or more” of independent claim 1. In response to the amendments, the Examiner has newly rejected the claims in the “Claims Rejections” sections above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TODD M SEOANE/Examiner, Art Unit 1718 /GORDON BALDWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1718