DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 16-17, 19-27, and 29-30 are pending. Claims 1-15, 18, and 28 were previously canceled. Claim 21 is amended. Claims 16-17, 19-20, 22-27, and 29-30 are previously presented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to arguments on pages 10-11 of the remarks that secondary reference GARNIER “does not disclose controlling the net charging or discharging rates of the first and second modules” and “does not disclose or suggest determining, commanding, or verifying a net rate of change of the controlled variable for the first module relative to that of the second module”, it is submitted that the claims do not recite “controlling the net charging or discharging rates” or “determining, commanding, or verifying a net rate of change”. Furthermore, the specification as originally filed, in the sections which disclose transmitting energy to/from the DC bus causing modules to be charged more/less quickly, does not appear to disclose these features, and Applicant has not shown support in the specification for these features. GARNIER discloses balancing the modules during both charging and discharging, with the balancing comprising the modules with the most charge transferring energy to other module(s). For example, when balancing occurs during charging operation, the modules with the most charge, which discharge during the balancing, see their net amount of charged energy during the charging session decreased by the balancing operation, and thus are effectively “charged less quickly”. The modules receiving the transferred energy from the modules with the most charge see their net amount of charged energy during the charging session increased by the balancing operation, and thus are effectively “charged more quickly”. When balancing occurs during discharging operation, the modules with the most charge, which discharge during the balancing, see their net amount of discharged energy during the discharging session increased by the balancing operation, and thus are effectively “discharged more quickly”. The modules receiving the transferred energy from the modules with the most charge see their net amount of discharged energy during the discharging session decreased by the balancing operation, and thus are effectively “discharged less quickly”. It is not believed the balancing operation as disclosed in GARNIER would leave said modules “at substantially the same state of charge” as argued by Applicant, as GARNIER discloses transferring energy between modules, and furthermore, independent claims 16 and 23 do not recite the states of charge of the modules change or do not change during the energy transmission to/from the common DC bus. It is maintained that secondary reference GARNIER teaches the modules charge more/less quickly and discharge more/less quickly as recited in independent claims 16 and 23, within the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-17, 21, 23-24, and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE (US Pub. No. 2011/0089898; cited in previous office action) in view of UNDERWOOD (WO 2020/030762A1; cited on IDS with date 9/23/2022; cited in previous office action) and further in view of GARNIER (US Pub. No. 2014/0035531; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 16, LEE discloses a method for reducing imbalances that occur during charging and discharging (¶ 0053: the two-stage charge equalization apparatus according to the present invention performs charge equalization by controlling charge in the battery cell in order to overcome the voltage difference between batteries which can be caused when charging or discharging the batteries in the battery string) of a battery system (¶ 0010: charge equalization apparatus which performs charge equalization in a series-connected battery string), the method comprising:
providing the battery system with:
at least two battery modules (1141, 1142, Fig. 1), and a controller (2200, Fig. 2), the at least two battery modules being connected in series (¶ 0047: a battery string 1140 is divided into M battery modules 1141 to 1146 having K battery cells connected in series);
for each battery module of the at least two battery modules, a DC-DC converter (1121, 1122, Fig. 1), wherein a respective terminal of each DC-DC converter is connected to a respective battery module (¶ 0048: Each of M battery modules 1141 to 1146 dividing the battery string 1140 into each module is connected to …. DC-DC converters 1121 to 1126 composing a second stage DC-DC converter 1120. Therefore, M battery modules are equipped with …. M DC-DC converters), and a second terminal of each DC-DC converter is connected to a common DC bus (¶ 0048: All inputs of the second stage DC-DC converter 1120 are connected to an output of the first stage DC-DC converter 1110 in parallel as shown in FIG. 1; the common bus is the connection between the stage DC-DC converter 1120 and the first stage DC-DC converter 1110); and
a further power conversion system (1110, Fig. 1) connected to the common DC bus (as shown in Fig. 1), and wherein the controller is connected to the further power conversion system and to the DC-DC converters so that the controller controls the further power conversion system and the DC-DC converters (¶ 0057: The charge equalization is carried out on the low-charged battery cell by allowing the microprocessor 2200 to measure the voltage of the individual battery under the control of the multiplexer 2110, determine low-charged battery cell based on the voltage of the individual battery and control the switch module 1130, the main switch of each DC-DC converter 1121 to 1126 for each module in the second stage and the main switch of the first stage DC-DC converter 1110); and
during a discharging of the battery system (¶ 0053: balancing can occur during discharging), actuating the DC-DC converters by the controller in order to reduce the difference between the first battery module and the second battery module (¶ 0053: the two-stage charge equalization apparatus according to the present invention performs charge equalization by controlling charge in the battery cell in order to overcome the voltage difference between batteries which can be caused when charging or discharging the batteries), in terms of the controlled variable thereof (¶ 0026: charge equalization of the battery string is preferably performed if a difference in measurement voltage of the battery cell is higher than the certain value), to cause one DC-DC converter to dissipate an amount of electrical energy from the common DC bus that one of the first and second battery modules is discharged less quickly than the other of the first and second battery modules as a result (¶ 0078: (b) selecting a low charged battery cell based on the voltage measured upon performing the charge equalization of the battery string (s50); …. and (e) charging the low-charge battery cell by operating the first DC-DC converter; since the voltage difference which prompts the equalization may occur during discharge, it follows that the low-charge battery cell receiving the charge is discharged less quickly).
LEE fails to disclose the battery system is a redox flow battery system; with each battery module having a cell arrangement with a plurality of redox flow cells and a tank device for storing electrolyte and for supplying the cell arrangement with the electrolyte.
UNDERWOOD discloses the battery system is a redox flow battery system (pg. 6, ll. 17-18: a flow battery 1 consists of a series of four Vanadium Redox stacks 21 ... 24, normally electrically connected in series); with each battery module having a cell arrangement with a plurality of redox flow cells (21, 22, 23, 24, Fig. 2) and a tank device (3, Fig. 2) for storing electrolyte and for supplying the cell arrangement with the electrolyte (pg. 6, ll. 19-21: The stacks are paired with electrolyte tanks 3. By paired is intended that each tank supplies in parallel two stacks via pipework 4, with electrolyte pumps 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the redox flow battery system in order to utilize the known characteristics of redox flow battery systems, such as improved safety, durability, and/or flexibility.
LEE fails to disclose a bidirectional power conversion system, and the battery modules are connected to the bidirectional power conversion system.
UNDERWOOD further discloses a bidirectional power conversion system (6, Figure 2), and the battery modules are connected to the bidirectional power conversion system (pg. 6, ll. 28-29: The battery is connected to an inverter/charger 6 to receive charge from a source of electricity 8 and supply it to a load 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the bidirectional conversion system in order to provide controlled power input to and output from the battery system, therefore facilitating connection of the battery system to a power source and a load.
LEE fails to disclose during a charging of the battery system, actuating the DC-DC converters by the controller in order to reduce a difference between a first battery module and a second battery module, in terms of a controlled variable thereof, to cause one DC-DC converter to transmit an amount of electrical energy on the common DC bus that one of the first and second battery modules is charged less quickly than the other of the first and second battery modules as a result; during the charging of the battery system, actuating the DC-DC converters by the controller in order to reduce the difference between the first battery module and the second battery module, in terms of the controlled variable thereof, to cause one DC-DC converter to transmit an amount of electrical energy on the common DC bus that one of the first and second battery modules is charged more quickly than the other of the first and second battery modules as a result; and during the discharging of the battery system, actuating the DC-DC converters by the controller in order to reduce the difference between the first battery module and the second battery module, in terms of the controlled variable thereof, to cause one DC- DC converter to dissipate an amount of electrical energy from the common DC bus that one of the first and second battery modules is discharged more quickly than the other of the first and second battery modules as a result.
GARNIER discloses during a charging of the battery system (¶ 0116: This charge balancing can allow the disparities in the levels of charge of the various stages 11 to be eliminated, during or following the charging of the power battery 1; ¶ 0131: One example is now described of operation of the bidirectional balancing system 5 for balancing voltage levels in the case of the charging of a power battery 1, in such a manner as to bring all the stages 11 to a nominal voltage level; ¶ 0132: This balancing both between stages 11 of a module 13 and between modules 13 can be implemented at the same time as the charging of the battery 1), actuating the DC-DC converters (7, Fig. 3) by the controller (14, Fig. 3) in order to reduce a difference between a first battery module and a second battery module (¶ 0097: description is presented here for charge balancing between modules 13. Of course, the charge balancing may be implemented in a similar manner between accumulator stages 11 by virtue of a plurality of converters 7 respectively connected across the terminals of an accumulator stage 11; ¶ 0112; stages 11 of the modules 13 can thus be balanced without the need for an external power supply; ¶ 0116: see above), in terms of a controlled variable thereof (¶ 0131: balancing voltage levels in the case of the charging of a power battery 1, in such a manner as to bring all the stages 11 to a nominal voltage level), to cause one DC-DC converter to transmit an amount of electrical energy on the common DC bus (the DC bus is the node connecting the DC-DC converters 7 in Figs. 2 & 3 to the auxiliary battery 3, and is analogous to the common DC bus of LEE described above) that one of the first and second battery modules is charged less quickly than the other of the first and second battery modules as a result (¶ 0111: a single converter 7 that is bidirectional in current may be provided which allows, on the one hand, the modules 13 with the most charge to be discharged by using the charge balancing energy in order to supply power to the low-voltage system, and on the other hand, the stages 11 of the modules 13 to be charged up from the low-voltage supply system; ¶ 0141: take the energy from the module 13 with the most charge and to transfer it to the most discharged module 13; if said balancing occurs during a charging operation of the battery, then the stage that is most discharged (and is receiving power from the stage that is most charged) will effectively be charging "more quickly" than other stages, and the stage that is most charged would be charged "less quickly", within the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language);
during the charging of the battery system (¶ 0116: This charge balancing can allow the disparities in the levels of charge of the various stages 11 to be eliminated, during or following the charging of the power battery 1 but also during or following discharging of the power battery 1; ¶ 0132: This balancing both between stages 11 of a module 13 and between modules 13 can be implemented at the same time as the charging of the battery 1), actuating the DC-DC converters by the controller in order to reduce the difference between the first battery module and the second battery module, in terms of the controlled variable thereof, to cause one DC-DC converter to transmit an amount of electrical energy on the common DC bus that one of the first and second battery modules is charged more quickly than the other of the first and second battery modules as a result (¶ 0111, 0141: see above; if said balancing occurs during a charging operation of the battery, then the stage that is most discharged (and is receiving power from the stage that is most charged) will effectively be charging "more quickly" than other stages, and the stage that is most charged would be charged "less quickly", within the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language); and
during the discharging of the battery system (¶ 0116: This charge balancing can allow the disparities in the levels of charge of the various stages 11 to be eliminated, during or following the charging of the power battery 1 but also during or following discharging of the power battery 1; ¶ 0153: charge balancing both between stages 11 of a module 13 and between modules 13 can also be implemented at the same time as the discharge of the battery 1), actuating the DC-DC converters by the controller in order to reduce the difference between the first battery module and the second battery module, in terms of the controlled variable thereof, to cause one DC- DC converter to dissipate an amount of electrical energy from the common DC bus that one of the first and second battery modules is discharged more quickly than the other of the first and second battery modules as a result (¶ 0111, 0141: see above; if said balancing occurs during a discharging operation of the battery, then the stage that is most charged (and is providing power to the stage that is most discharged) will effectively be discharging "more quickly" than other stages, and the stage that is most discharged would be discharging "less quickly", within the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the controlling the DC-DC converters during charging/discharging as recited in order to improve the speed of the balancing by allowing individual modules to discharge during the balancing process.
Regarding claim 17, LEE discloses the DC-DC converters are of bidirectional or unidirectional design (¶ 0048, 0056-0057).
Regarding claim 21, LEE discloses the redox flow battery system comprises at least one measuring device for providing a controlled variable for each battery module (¶ 0018), and wherein the controller is connected to the at least one measuring device for acquiring measurement values of the at least one measuring device (¶ 0018), and wherein the method further comprises:
acquiring the measurement values of the at least one measuring device by the controller (¶ 0018-0019);
if at least one measurement value of a first battery module differs from a measurement value of a second battery module at a first point in time (¶ 0025-0026):
carrying out at least one of the following steps in order to reduce a difference between the measurement values of the first battery module and the second battery module at a second point in time later, and thereby carrying out the step in a period between the first point in time and the second point in time (¶ 0053), the steps being:
a) during the charging of the redox flow battery system, actuating the DC-DC converters by the controller in order to reduce a difference between the first battery module and the second battery module, in terms of a controlled variable thereof, to cause one DC-DC converter to transmit an amount of electrical energy on the common DC bus so that one of the first and second battery modules is charged less quickly than the other of the first and second battery modules as a result;
b) during a discharging of the redox flow battery system, actuating the DC-DC converters by the controller in order to reduce the difference between the first battery module and the second battery module, in terms of a controlled variable thereof, to cause one DC-DC converter to dissipate an amount of electrical energy from the common DC bus so that one of the first and second battery modules is discharged less quickly than the other of the first and second battery modules as a result (¶ 0026, 0053, 0078);
c) during the charging of the redox flow battery system, actuating the DC-DC converters by the controller in order to reduce the difference between first battery module and the second battery module, in terms of the controlled variable thereof, to cause one DC-DC converter to transmit an amount of electrical energy on the common DC bus so that one of the first and second battery modules is charged more quickly than the other of the first and second battery modules as a result; and
d) during the discharging of the redox flow battery system, actuating the DC-DC converters by the controller in order to reduce the difference between the first battery module and the second battery module, in terms of the controlled variable thereof, to cause one DC-DC converter to dissipate an amount of electrical energy from the common DC bus so that one of the first and second battery modules is discharged more quickly than the other of the first and second battery modules as a result.
Regarding claim 23, LEE discloses a battery system (¶ 0010: charge equalization apparatus which performs charge equalization in a series-connected battery string), comprising:
at least two battery modules (1141, 1142, Fig. 1),
wherein the at least two battery modules are connected in series (¶ 0047: a battery string 1140 is divided into M battery modules 1141 to 1146 having K battery cells connected in series);
a DC-DC converter for each battery module (1121, 1122, Fig. 1), said DC-DC converter having a first terminal connected to a respective battery module (¶ 0048: Each of M battery modules 1141 to 1146 dividing the battery string 1140 into each module is connected to …. DC-DC converters 1121 to 1126 composing a second stage DC-DC converter 1120. Therefore, M battery modules are equipped with …. M DC-DC converters) and a second terminal connected to a common DC bus (¶ 0048: All inputs of the second stage DC-DC converter 1120 are connected to an output of the first stage DC-DC converter 1110 in parallel as shown in FIG. 1; the common bus is the connection between the stage DC-DC converter 1120 and the first stage DC-DC converter 1110);
a further power conversion system (1110, Fig. 1) connected to the common DC bus (as shown in Fig. 1); and
a controller (2200, Fig. 2) connected to said further power conversion system and to said DC-DC converters, said controller being configured to control said further power conversion system and said DC-DC converters (¶ 0057: The charge equalization is carried out on the low-charged battery cell by allowing the microprocessor 2200 to measure the voltage of the individual battery under the control of the multiplexer 2110, determine low-charged battery cell based on the voltage of the individual battery and control the switch module 1130, the main switch of each DC-DC converter 1121 to 1126 for each module in the second stage and the main switch of the first stage DC-DC converter 1110),
wherein the battery system is further configured to automatically reduce imbalances that occur during charging and discharging of the battery system (¶ 0053: the two-stage charge equalization apparatus according to the present invention performs charge equalization by controlling charge in the battery cell in order to overcome the voltage difference between batteries which can be caused when charging or discharging the batteries), and
wherein the battery system is further configured to automatically reduce imbalances that occur during charging and discharging of the battery system (¶ 0053: see above) by performing at least one of the following steps:
during the charging of the battery system, actuating the DC-DC converters by the controller in order to reduce the difference between the first battery module and the second battery module, in terms of the controlled variable thereof, to cause one DC-DC converter to transmit an amount of electrical energy on the common DC bus that one of the first and second two battery modules is charged less quickly than the other of the first and second battery modules as a result (this limitation is phrased in the alternative, and LEE discloses a different alternative);
during a discharging of the battery system (¶ 0053: the two-stage charge equalization apparatus according to the present invention performs charge equalization by controlling charge in the battery cell in order to overcome the voltage difference between batteries which can be caused when charging or discharging the batteries in the battery string), actuating the DC-DC converters by the controller in order to reduce the difference between the first battery module and the second battery module (¶ 0053: the control device directly connected to the battery string uses a common DC-DC converter in order to transfer the charge energy into the battery efficiently in a comparatively simple structure. Further, the charge equalization is performed by collecting the certain number of batteries as each module to use the common DC-DC converter between the battery modules, and inputting the charge outputted from the DC-DC converter (second stage DC-DC converter) between the modules to the battery cell to be charged via the current conversion switch module which selectively forms the current flow path and controls the current flow direction via a simple switch control), in terms of the controlled variable thereof (¶ 0026: charge equalization of the battery string is preferably performed if a difference in measurement voltage of the battery cell is higher than the certain value), to cause one DC-DC converter to dissipate an amount of electrical energy from the common DC bus that one of the first and second battery modules is discharged less quickly than the other of the first and second battery modules as a result (¶ 0078: two-stage charge equalization method for a series-connected battery string according to the present invention comprises steps of (a) determining whether to perform charge equalization of the battery string based on a voltage difference obtained by measuring a voltage of each battery cell composing the battery string (s10~S40); (b) selecting a low charged battery cell based on the voltage measured upon performing the charge equalization of the battery string (s50); (c) controlling directions of two negative and positive outputs of the second DC-DC converter to connect the low-charged battery cell and the two outputs of the second DC-DC converter in parallel (s60); (d) operating the second DC-DC converter (s80); and (e) charging the low-charge battery cell by operating the first DC-DC converter (s80); if balancing occurs during discharging operation, the low-charge battery that is being charged would effectively be discharging "less quickly");
during the discharging of the battery system, actuating the DC-DC converters by the controller in order to reduce the difference between the first battery module and the second battery module, in terms of the controlled variable thereof, to cause one DC-DC converter to dissipate an amount of electrical energy from the common DC bus that one of the first and second battery modules is discharged more quickly than the other of the first and second battery modules as a result (this limitation is phrased in the alternative, and LEE discloses a different alternative).
LEE fails to disclose the battery system is a redox flow battery system, wherein each battery module of the at least two battery modules includes a cell arrangement having a plurality of redox flow cells and a tank device for storing electrolyte and for supplying the cell arrangement with electrolyte.
UNDERWOOD discloses the battery system is a redox flow battery system (pg. 6, ll. 17-18: a flow battery 1 consists of a series of four Vanadium Redox stacks 21 ... 24, normally electrically connected in series), with each battery module of the at least two battery modules includes a cell arrangement having a plurality of redox flow cells (21, 22, 23, 24, Fig. 2) and a tank device (3, Fig. 2) for storing electrolyte and for supplying the cell arrangement with electrolyte (pg. 6, ll. 19-21: The stacks are paired with electrolyte tanks 3. By paired is intended that each tank supplies in parallel two stacks via pipework 4, with electrolyte pumps 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the redox flow battery system in order to utilize the known characteristics of redox flow battery systems, such as improved safety, durability, and/or flexibility.
LEE fails to disclose a bidirectional power conversion system, wherein the at least two battery modules are connected to the bidirectional power conversion system.
UNDERWOOD further discloses a bidirectional power conversion system (6, Figure 2), wherein the at least two battery modules are connected to the bidirectional power conversion system (pg. 6, ll. 28-29: The battery is connected to an inverter/charger 6 to receive charge from a source of electricity 8 and supply it to a load 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the bidirectional conversion system in order to provide controlled power input to and output from the battery system, therefore facilitating connection of the battery system to a power source and a load.
LEE fails to disclose the battery system is further configured to automatically reduce imbalances that occur during charging and discharging of the battery system by, during the charging of the battery system, actuating the DC-DC converters by the controller in order to reduce a difference between a first battery module and a second battery module of the at least two battery modules, in terms of a controlled variable thereof, to cause one DC-DC converter to transmit an amount of electrical energy on the common DC bus that one of the first and second battery modules is charged more quickly than the other of the first and second battery modules as a result.
GARNIER discloses the battery system is further configured to automatically reduce imbalances that occur during charging and discharging of the battery system (¶ 0132, 0153) by, during the charging of the battery system (¶ 0116: This charge balancing can allow the disparities in the levels of charge of the various stages 11 to be eliminated, during or following the charging of the power battery 1; ¶ 0131: One example is now described of operation of the bidirectional balancing system 5 for balancing voltage levels in the case of the charging of a power battery 1, in such a manner as to bring all the stages 11 to a nominal voltage level; ¶ 0132: This balancing both between stages 11 of a module 13 and between modules 13 can be implemented at the same time as the charging of the battery 1), actuating the DC-DC converters (7, Fig. 3) by the controller (14, Fig. 3) in order to reduce a difference between a first battery module and a second battery module of the at least two battery modules (¶ 0097: description is presented here for charge balancing between modules 13. Of course, the charge balancing may be implemented in a similar manner between accumulator stages 11 by virtue of a plurality of converters 7 respectively connected across the terminals of an accumulator stage 11; ¶ 0112; stages 11 of the modules 13 can thus be balanced without the need for an external power supply; ¶ 0116: see above), in terms of a controlled variable thereof (¶ 0131: balancing voltage levels in the case of the charging of a power battery 1, in such a manner as to bring all the stages 11 to a nominal voltage level), to cause one DC-DC converter to transmit an amount of electrical energy on the common DC bus (the DC bus is the node connecting the DC-DC converters 7 in Figs. 2 & 3 to the auxiliary battery 3, and is analogous to the common DC bus of LEE described above) that one of the first and second battery modules is charged more quickly than the other of the first and second battery modules as a result (¶ 0111: a single converter 7 that is bidirectional in current may be provided which allows, on the one hand, the modules 13 with the most charge to be discharged by using the charge balancing energy in order to supply power to the low-voltage system, and on the other hand, the stages 11 of the modules 13 to be charged up from the low-voltage supply system; ¶ 0141: take the energy from the module 13 with the most charge and to transfer it to the most discharged module 13; if said balancing occurs during a charging operation of the battery, then the stage that is most discharged (and is receiving power from the stage that is most charged) will effectively be charging "more quickly" than other stages, and the stage that is most charged would be charged "less quickly", within the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the controlling the DC-DC converters during charging as recited in order to improve the speed of the balancing by allowing individual modules to charge/discharge during the balancing process.
Regarding claim 24, LEE discloses said DC-DC converters are of bidirectional or unidirectional design (¶ 0048, 0056-0057).
Regarding claim 29, LEE as modified by UNDERWOOD and GARNIER teaches a computer program comprising computer code in non-transitory form configured to command a redox flow battery system to execute the method according to claim 16 (LEE, ¶ 0011, 0015-0022: computer code is implied in order to implement the disclosed microprocessor operations).
Regarding claim 30, LEE as modified by UNDERWOOD and GARNIER teaches a computer-readable medium storing a computer program for executing the method according to claim 16 when computer-executable code of the computer program is executed by the controller (LEE, ¶ 0011, 0015-0022: medium with computer program is implied in order to implement the disclosed microprocessor operations).
Claim(s) 19 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE in view of UNDERWOOD and GARNIER as applied to claims 16-17, 21, 23-24, and 29-30 above, and further in view of COLBORN (US Pub. No. 2004/0053093; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 19, LEE as modified by UNDERWOOD and GARNIER teaches the method as applied to claim 16 but fails to teach each battery module of the at least two battery modules comprises auxiliary systems to be supplied with current from outside of the respective battery module by way of terminals, and the method comprises connecting the terminals of the auxiliary systems to the common DC bus and feeding the auxiliary systems with energy via the common DC bus.
COLBORN discloses each battery module of the at least two battery modules comprises auxiliary systems to be supplied with current from outside of the respective battery module by way of terminals, and the method comprises connecting the terminals of the auxiliary systems to the common DC bus and feeding the auxiliary systems with energy via the common DC bus (¶ 0027: power is optionally drawn from the DC bus via auxiliary bus 41 to power the fuel cell controller. This power may also be used to power auxiliary equipment inside the fuel cell such as pumps and air blowers, which may be controlled and/or powered by the fuel cell controller).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the auxiliary systems supplied with current from outside the respective battery module as recited in order to ensure proper operation of the battery module.
Regarding claim 25, LEE as modified by UNDERWOOD and GARNIER teaches the redox flow battery system as applied to claim 23 but fails to teach each battery module of the at least two battery modules comprises auxiliary systems to be supplied with current from outside of the respective battery module by way of terminals, wherein the terminals of the auxiliary systems are connected to the common DC bus and are fed with energy from the common DC bus.
COLBORN discloses each battery module of the at least two battery modules comprises auxiliary systems to be supplied with current from outside of the respective battery module by way of terminals, wherein the terminals of the auxiliary systems are connected to the common DC bus and are fed with energy from the common DC bus (¶ 0027: power is optionally drawn from the DC bus via auxiliary bus 41 to power the fuel cell controller. This power may also be used to power auxiliary equipment inside the fuel cell such as pumps and air blowers, which may be controlled and/or powered by the fuel cell controller).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the auxiliary systems supplied with current from outside the respective battery module as recited in order to ensure proper operation of the battery module.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE in view of UNDERWOOD and GARNIER as applied to claims 16-17, 21, 23-24, and 29-30 above, and further in view of BEASTON (US Pub. No. 2016/0111900; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 20, LEE as modified by UNDERWOOD and GARNIER teaches the method as applied to claim 16 but fails to teach in a calibration step, determining characteristics of individual battery modules of the at least two battery modules in order to stipulate different charging and discharging speeds for the individual battery modules and lengths of time for which the different charging and discharging speeds are used.
BEASTON discloses in a calibration step, determining characteristics of individual battery modules of the at least two battery modules in order to stipulate different charging and discharging speeds for the individual battery modules and lengths of time for which the different charging and discharging speeds are used (¶ 0207-0209).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the calibration step in order to ensure proper balancing operation (BEASTON, ¶ 0208).
Claim(s) 22 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE in view of UNDERWOOD and GARNIER as applied to claims 16-17, 21, 23-24, and 29-30 above, and further in view of YOSHIDA (US Pub. No. 2015/0035495; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 22, LEE as modified by UNDERWOOD and GARNIER teaches the method as applied to claim 16 but fails to teach the battery system comprises, for each battery module, a first switch and a second switch, the first switch being arranged in series in a series circuit with an associated battery module and the second switch being arranged in a bypass line for bypassing the associated battery module and a respectively associated first switch, and the controller being connected to each of the first switches and the second switches so that the controller determines respective switch positions in order to connect the at least two battery modules into the series circuit or to bypass the series circuit, and wherein the method further comprises: controlling with the controller a number of battery modules in the series circuit in order to reduce a difference between the first battery module and the second battery module in terms of the controlled variable, wherein one of the first and second battery modules is in the series circuit for a shorter period of time than the other of the first and second battery modules over a period during the charging or discharging of the redox flow battery system.
YOSHIDA discloses the redox flow battery system comprises, for each battery module (100, Fig. 12), a first switch (206, Fig. 12) and a second switch (208, Fig. 12), the first switch being arranged in series in a series circuit with an associated battery module and the second switch being arranged in a bypass line for bypassing the associated battery module and a respectively associated first switch (¶ 0172, 0174), and the controller being connected to each of the first switches and the second switches so that the controller determines respective switch positions in order to connect the at least two battery modules into the series circuit or to bypass the series circuit (¶ 0172, 0174), and wherein the method further comprises: controlling with the controller a number of battery modules in the series circuit in order to reduce a difference between the first battery module and the second battery module in terms of the controlled variable (¶ 0175), wherein one of the first and second battery modules is in the series circuit for a shorter period of time than the other of the first and second battery modules over a period during the charging or discharging of the redox flow battery system (¶ 0207).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the first switch and the second switch as recited in order to provide an efficient alternative means to reduce imbalances between the modules.
Regarding claim 26, LEE as modified by UNDERWOOD and GARNIER teaches the redox flow battery system as applied to claim 23 but fails to teach a first switch and a second switch for each battery module of the at least two battery modules, the first switch being arranged in each case in series in a series circuit with an associated battery module of the at least two battery modules and the second switch being arranged in each case in a bypass line around the associated battery module and an associated first switch, and wherein the controller is connected to each of the first switches and the second switches, and the controller is configured to determine a respective switch position in order to connect the at least two battery modules into the series circuit or out of the series circuit.
YOSHIDA discloses a first switch (206, Fig. 12) and a second switch (208, Fig. 12) for each battery module (100, Fig. 12) of the at least two battery modules, the first switch being arranged in each case in series in a series circuit with an associated battery module of the at least two battery modules and the second switch being arranged in each case in a bypass line around the associated battery module and an associated first switch (¶ 0172, 0174), and wherein the controller is connected to each of the first switches and the second switches, and the controller is configured to determine a respective switch position in order to connect the at least two battery modules into the series circuit or out of the series circuit (¶ 0172, 0174-0175).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the first switch and the second switch as recited in order to provide an efficient alternative means to reduce imbalances between the modules.
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE in view of UNDERWOOD, GARNIER, and YOSHIDA as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of SMITH (US Patent 5,883,495; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 27, LEE as modified by UNDERWOOD, GARNIER, and YOSHIDA teaches the redox flow battery system as applied to claim 26, but fails to teach said first switch comprises two normally off MOSFETs with channels that are connected in series and with reverse diodes always blocking in both current directions, and wherein said second switch comprises one normally off MOSFET.
SMITH discloses said first switch comprises two normally off MOSFETs with channels that are connected in series and with reverse diodes always blocking in both current directions (152, 154, Fig. 2; col 6, ll. 56 – col 7, ll. 23). Furthermore, MOSFETS are an old and known expedient in the art, and providing the second switch of YOSHIDA as a MOSFET would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the first and second switch of YOSHIDA by utilizing MOSFETs in order to utilize the known characteristics of MOSFETs, such fast switching speeds, low power dissipation, and simpler drive circuitry.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 10/20/2026
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859