DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 4/23/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2 and 8-13 remain pending in the application. Claim(s) 3-7 and 14-17 have been canceled. Applicant's amendments to the drawings have overcome the objections previously set forth in the Final Rejection mailed 10/24/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Language from the reference(s) is shown in quotations. Limitations from the claims are shown in quotations within parentheses. Examiner explanations are shown in italics.
Claims 1-2 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferrer (FR 2978076 A1), as machine translated, previously cited, in view of Gupta et al., "Study on Variants of Solution Treatment and Aging Cycle of Titanium Alloy Ti6Al4V," Journal of materials engineering and performance. , 2016, Vol.25(4), p.1492, previously cited, and Zhang et al., “Surface plasma chromized burn-resistant titanium alloy,” Surface & Coatings Technology 201 (2007) 4884–4887, 2006, previously cited.
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Ferrer teaches “a method of assembling metal shells” (which reads upon “a method for manufacturing a metal component comprising the following steps”, as recited in the instant claim; page 3). Ferrer teaches that “the titanium piece is a shell” (which reads upon “providing a shell of a titanium-based material, the shell having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface”, as recited in the instant claim; page 3). Ferrer teaches that “(a) A first shell (10) is provided in a first alloy in a shape close to its final shape, this first shell (10) having a first face ( 11) and a second face (12) opposed to said first face (11), (b) is deposited by cold spraying at a supersonic speed a powder of a second alloy on said first face (11) so as to form on this first shell (10) a second shell (20) of this second alloy which is integral with said first shell (10)” (which reads upon “producing, via additive manufacturing, a covering layer made of a titanium fire- resistant material that at least partially covers the first surface and/or the second surface, such that the intermediate layer disposed directly in contact with the covering layer made of a titanium fire-resistant material is mainly formed of the titanium fire- resistant material and conversely, the intermediate layer disposed directly in contact with the shell made of a titanium-based material being mainly formed of the titanium-based material”, as recited in the instant claim; which reads on claim 9; pages 3-4). Ferrer teaches that “one of these two alloys being a titanium alloy, and the other of these two alloys being a titanium fire-resistant alloy” (which reads upon “a titanium fire- resistant material”, as recited in the instant claim; page 4). Ferrer teaches that “the second shell 20 is a single shell or a set of several shells” (which reads upon “producing a plurality of intermediate layers disposed between the shell and the covering layer, the plurality of intermediate layers being formed of a mixture of the titanium fire-resistant material and the titanium-based material”, as recited in the instant claim; page 6).
Ferrer is silent regarding after the additive manufacturing step, heat treating the metal component, the heat treatment comprising a first step carried out for a duration of between 45 minutes and 1 hour 30 minutes at a temperature of between 930°C and 950°C, and a second step carried out for a duration of between 7 hours 30 minutes and 8 hours 30 minutes at a temperature of between 690°C and 710°C.
Ferrer teaches that “some parts are made of titanium alloy because of the particular properties of these alloys, in particular mechanical strength” (page 3).
Gupta is concerned with the solution treatment and aging cycle of titanium alloy Ti6Al4V (title). Gupta teaches that “titanium alloy Ti6Al4V is the most promising work-horse aerospace alloy due to its high specific strength, weldability, and compatibility with propellants” (page 1492). Gupta teaches “two different heat-treated conditions, i.e., annealed or solution-treated and aged (STA)” (page 1492). Gupta teaches that “in STA condition, the mechanical properties of the alloy are reported to be almost 20% higher than that in annealed condition” (page 1492). Gupta teaches that “heat treatment process has been studied by employing different quench severities during solution treatment, different aging temperatures, and durations, and that this paper presents the details of the studies carried out to obtain maximum strength and optimum ductility in STA condition” (page 1493). Gupta teaches that “optimum heat treatment cycles capable of achieving mechanical properties specified for STA condition have been suggested based on this study” (page 1493). Gupta teaches that “similar cycles of solution treatment and aging (STA) were adopted over a wider range in this study” (page 1493 and Table 2). Gupta teaches that “mechanical properties viz. ultimate tensile strength (UTS), 0.2 proof stress/yield strength (YS), % El and hardness thus evaluated are presented in Table 3 and Fig. 1” (page 1494). Gupta teaches that “hardness and strength follow a similar trend unlike % elongation” (page 1494). Gupta Table 3 teaches that the maximum % El is achieved using heat cycle 2 (page 1494). Gupta Table 2, heat cycle 2 teaches that duration of the first step of the heat treatment is one hour at a temperature of 950°C followed by aging at 700°C for 8 hours (which reads upon “heat treating the metal component, the heat treatment comprising a first step carried out for a duration of between 45 minutes and 1 hour 30 minutes at a temperature of between 930°C and 950°C, and a second step carried out for a duration of between 7 hours 30 minutes and 8 hours 30 minutes at a temperature of between 690°C and 710°C”, as recited in the instant claim; page 1494, Table 2).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ferrer to add solution treatment and aging, as taught by Gupta to obtain the maximum elongation.
Modified Ferrer is silent regarding said mixture forming a composition gradient.
Zhang is similarly concerned with preventing ignition of titanium alloys (abstract). Zhang teaches producing multiple surface alloy layers (page 4885). Zhang teaches that “the surface alloy produced by this process is a gradient material” (which reads upon “gradient”, as recited in the instant claim; page 4886). Zhang teaches that “composition in the alloyed surface layer gradually changes in the depth direction of the substrate” (which reads upon “said mixture forming a composition gradient”, as recited in the instant claim; page 4886). Zhang teaches that “there exists no distinct boundary between the surface alloy and matrix and risk of delamination is greatly reduced” (page 4886).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the intermediate layers of Ferrer to form a composition gradient, as taught by Zhang to greatly reduce the risk of delamination.
Regarding claim 2, modified Ferrer teaches the method of claim 1 as stated above. Ferrer teaches that “the titanium is for example TA6V” (page 5; TA6V reads on Ti6Al4V).
Regarding claim 8, modified Ferrer teaches the method of claim 1 as stated above. Ferrer teaches that “Advantageously, the thickness of the shell deposited by cold-spray can be adjusted locally by insisting or minimizing the number of powder deposit passes (each pass of the nozzle 40 depositing a certain amount of powder)” (page 5). While the reference does not explicitly disclose the specific thickness of the layer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to change the thickness of the layer, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component. A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device, See MPEP § 2144.04 IV A.
Regarding claim 10-12, modified Ferrer teaches the method of claim 1 as stated above. Ferrer teaches that “the second shell 20 is a single shell or a set of several shells” (page 6; several reads on 3 to 7 layers, which overlaps the range in claim 11). Claim 1 claims a gradient, accordingly, the limitation “starting from the shell towards the covering layer, an increasing proportion of titanium fire-resistant material” in claim 12 fails to further limit the claim as this is the definition of gradient.
Regarding claim 13, modified Ferrer teaches the method of claim 1 as stated above. Ferrer teaches “parts of turbomachines such as high pressure compressor housings” (page 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/23/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that in Table 2, Gupta discloses solution treatment conditions at a temperature between 930°C and 950°C for a duration ranging from 45 minutes to 1 hour and 30 minutes (examples 1 and 5: 950°C for 1 hour) and aging conditions at a temperature between 690°C and 710°C for a duration of between 7 hours 30 minutes and 8 hours 30 minutes (examples 2 and 12) (remarks, page 7). Applicant argues that none of the cited references discussed above discloses or fairly suggests a heat treatment comprising the specific combination of a first step carried out at a temperature between 930°C and 950°C for a duration of between 45 minutes and 1 hour and 30 minutes, followed by a second step carried out at a temperature between 690°C and 710°C for a duration between 7 hours 30 minutes and 8 hours 30 minutes, as now recited in amended Claim 1 (remarks, page 7). This is not found convincing because Gupta Table 2, heat cycle 2 teaches that duration of the first step of the heat treatment is one hour at a temperature of 950°C followed by aging at 700°C for 8 hours (page 1494, Table 2).
Applicant’s arguments appear to take the position that only cycles 1 and 5 include solution treatment followed by aging. The Office takes the position that the solution treatment of 950°C for 1 hour followed by air cooling applies to cycles 1 through 4, while solution treatment of 950°C for 1 hour followed by water cooling applies to cycles 5-14. Gupta teaches that “the coupons were then subjected to solution treatment followed by employing different cooling rates to vary the quench severity and different aging treatments by changing the aging temperature and time” (page 1492). Gupta teaches that “these rings and domes are used in two different heat-treated conditions, i.e., annealed or solution-treated and aged (STA)” (page 1492; STA means solution-treated and aged). Gupta teaches that “heat treatment cycles ‘F5’ to ‘F12’ and ‘R5’ to ‘R12’ and ‘R13’/‘R14’ were selected to study the effect of aging temperature as well as aging time, and that solution treatment in these samples was followed by water quenching” (page 1495).
Contact Information
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. The Examiner requests that interviews not be scheduled during the last week of each fiscal quarter or the last half of September, which is the end of the fiscal year. Q4: 9/21-9/30/26; Q1: 1/4-1/8/27.
/REBECCA JANSSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733