DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 07/14/2026 does not place the application in condition for allowance.
The basis of the rejection of claims 1-2, 4, 8-13 and 15-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is maintained.
The cancelation of claim 3 is acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Zixiang achieves the claimed compacted and areal densities by mixing multiple particle sizes therefore Huang’s system would not form the required densities and that there is motivation to combine the references of Huang and Zixiang. However, as cited in the previous rejection of claim 1, Huang teaches optimization of the particle sizes and tap density(¶[0110]-[0111]) and this approach is completely compatible with the particle size optimization as taught by Zixiang to reach the claimed densities and achieve improved electrode material performance and energy density.
Applicant also argues the properties of electrolyte wettability, reduce cathode-sheet resistivity, and reduce electrochemical impedance are not shown, however these properties are not claimed and if they are the result of the limitations of claim 1 they are inherent to the material of modified Huang even if the reference does not specifically point to them as benefits. The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Applicant also argues the porosity of Hennige is not relevant to the material of Huang. Huang and Hennige both teach lithium iron phosphate as a positive electrode active material and Hennige further teaches the porosity leads to higher surface area which is desirable in the invention of Huang(see rejection of claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 8-9, 11-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US20130143114 as cited in IDS dated 11/20/24), in view of Hennige et. al. (US200500221192) and further in view of Zixiang et. al. (CN108172830 as cited in IDS dated 11/20/24, reference made to attached English translation).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Huang discloses a lithium iron phosphate cathode material (¶[0007) that is intended to be used in a cathode sheet within a battery (abstract). Huang also discloses the lithium iron phosphate has a particle size distribution D10 is about 50 nm, D50 is about 200 nm, D90 is about 700 nm, and D97 is about 900 nm (¶[0051]-[0058]), which one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize leaves 3% of the particles with particles sizes above 900 nm and the 80% of the particles with particles sizes between 50 and 700 nm and 7% of the particles with particles sizes between 700 and 900 nm.
Therefore, it would have been obvious the ranges of Huang meet the claimed ranges of claim 1 and any small variation would not result in different properties. [A] prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.”. MPEP §2144.05.I.
In the alternative, if it can be shown the above ranges are different than the claimed ranges Huang also teaches the optimization of the size distribution of the particles and thus surface area through variation of the sintering and milling steps (table ¶[0110] and ¶[0111]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized modifying the particle sizes results in improving conductivity and capacity characteristics of the material (¶[0023]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify a percentage of the lithium phosphate particles to the particle sizes in the range of 50 nm-500 nm is 75-87%, 500 nm-1000 nm is 8-17%, 1 μm-10 μm is 3-7% to provide improved conductivity and capacity.
“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Huang does not disclose and wherein the lithium iron phosphate cathode sheet has a porosity of 20%-30%, measured by mercury porosimeter test method.
Hennige, related to electrodes for lithium ion batteries, teaches a lithium iron phosphate material with a porosity of 20-40% determined by Hg porosimetry(¶[0038]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the porosity taught by Hennige would lead to a high surface area(¶[0038] of Hennige) and this is desirable as it improves the conductivity and characteristics of the cathode material as taught by Huang(¶[0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have set the porosity of Huang to the range taught by Hennige to improve the characteristics of the electrode material.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2144.05.
Modified Huang does not explicitly disclose wherein a compacted density of the lithium iron phosphate cathode sheet is 2.6 g/cm3-2.8 g/cm3, an areal density of the lithium iron phosphate cathode sheet is 380 g/m2-420 g/m2.
Zixiang, related to positive electrode material teaches a lithium iron phosphate active material with a compaction density of 2.4 g/cm3 -2.7 g/cm3 b(¶[0028]) and a surface density 184 g/m2 before removing the solvent which results in a final areal density of over 400 g/m2---.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized applying the density teaching of Zixiang to the cathode sheet of modified Huang would result in improved electrode material performance and energy density(¶[0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have applied the density teaching of Zixiang to the cathode sheet of modified Huang to improve electrode material performance and energy density.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding claim 4, modified Huang discloses a lithium phosphate cathode sheet according to claim 1, but does not disclose a binder or conductive agent.
Zixiang, related to positive electrode materials, teaches a lithium iron phosphate mixed with polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) as a biner and carbon nanotubes (CNT) as a conductive agent in a ratio of 95:2.5:1 (¶[0066]).
One or ordinary skill in the art would have recognized adding ratios of lithium iron phosphate, binder and conductive agent of Zixiang with the material of Huang would have created a cathode sheet with a high specific capacity and long life cycle (¶[0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the material ratios of Zixiang with the lithium iron phosphate of Huang to gain a high specific capacity and long life cycle.
Regarding modified claim 8, Huang discloses a lithium phosphate cathode sheet according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose a battery.
Zixiang, related to positive electrode material teaches a lithium iron phosphate active material used in a lithium ion battery (¶[0065]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized adding the cathode material of Huang into a lithium ion battery would have created a functioning battery as suggested by Huang (abstract of Huang).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have added the cathode material of Huang into a lithium ion battery to create a functioning battery.
Regarding claim 9, modified Huang discloses a lithium phosphate cathode sheet according to claim 8, but does not disclose wherein a volumetric energy density of the lithium iron phosphate battery is 260 KWh/m3-280 KWh/m3, and a weight energy density of the lithium iron phosphate battery is 190 Wh/kg-210 Wh/kg.
Zixiang, related to positive electrode material teaches a lithium iron phosphate active material with a compaction density of 2.4 g/cm3 -2.7 g/cm3 b(¶[0028]) and a surface density 184 g/m2 before removing the solvent which results in a final areal density of over 400 g/m2.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize a lithium iron phosphate battery with a cathode sheet of Huang having a compacted density and areal density according to Zixiang would lead to a volumetric energy density and weight energy density in the claimed ranges of 260 KWh/m3-280 KWh/m3 and 190 Wh/kg-210 Wh/kg respectively and applying the density teaching of Zixiang to the cathode sheet of modified Huang would result in electrode material performance and energy density(¶[0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have applied the density teaching of Zixiang to the cathode sheet of modified Huang to improve electrode material performance and energy density.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding claim 10, Huang discloses a lithium phosphate cathode sheet according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a compacted density of the lithium iron phosphate cathode sheet is 2.6 g/cm3-2.8 g/cm3, an areal density of the lithium iron phosphate cathode sheet is 380 g/m2-420 g/m2.
Zixiang, related to positive electrode material teaches a lithium iron phosphate active material with a compaction density of 2.4 g/cm3 -2.7 g/cm3 b(¶[0028]) and a surface density 184 g/m2 before removing the solvent which results in a final areal density of over 400 g/m2.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized applying the density teaching of Zixiang to the cathode sheet of modified Huang would result in electrode material performance and energy density(¶[0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have applied the density teaching of Zixiang to the cathode sheet of modified Huang to improve electrode material performance and energy density.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding claim 11, modified Huang discloses a lithium phosphate cathode sheet according to claim 2, but does not disclose a binder or conductive agent.
Zixiang, related to positive electrode materials, teaches a lithium iron phosphate mixed with polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) as a binder and carbon nanotubes (CNT) as a conductive agent in a ratio of 95:2.5:1 (¶[0066]).
One or ordinary skill in the art would have recognized adding ratios of lithium iron phosphate, binder and conductive agent of Zixiang with the material of Huang would have created a cathode sheet with a high specific capacity and long life cycle (¶[0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the material ratios of Zixiang with the lithium iron phosphate of Huang to gain a high specific capacity and long life cycle.
Regarding claim 12, modified Huang discloses a lithium phosphate cathode sheet according to claim 3, but does not explicitly disclose a binder or conductive agent.
Zixiang, related to positive electrode materials, teaches a lithium iron phosphate mixed with polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) as a biner and carbon nanotubes (CNT) as a conductive agent in a ratio of 95:2.5:1 (¶[0066]).
One or ordinary skill in the art would have recognized adding ratios of lithium iron phosphate, binder and conductive agent of Zixiang with the material of Huang would have created a cathode sheet with a high specific capacity and long life cycle (¶[0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the material ratios of Zixiang with the lithium iron phosphate sheet of modified Huang to gain a high specific capacity and long life cycle.
Regarding claim 13, modified Huang discloses a lithium phosphate cathode sheet according to claim 10, but does not disclose a binder or conductive agent.
Zixiang, related to positive electrode materials, teaches a lithium iron phosphate mixed with polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) as a biner and carbon nanotubes (CNT) as a conductive agent in a ratio of 95:2.5:1 (¶[0066]).
One or ordinary skill in the art would have recognized adding ratios of lithium iron phosphate, binder and conductive agent of Zixiang with the material of Huang would have created a cathode sheet with a high specific capacity and long life cycle (¶[0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the material ratios of Zixiang with the lithium iron phosphate of Huang to gain a high specific capacity and long life cycle.
Regarding claim 15, modified Huang discloses a lithium phosphate cathode sheet according to claim 2, Zixiang, related to positive electrode material teaches a lithium iron phosphate active material used in a lithium ion battery (¶[0065]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized adding the cathode material of Huang into a lithium ion battery would have created a functioning battery as suggested by Huang (abstract of Huang).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have added the cathode material of Huang into a lithium ion battery to create a functioning battery.
Regarding claim 16, modified Huang discloses a lithium phosphate cathode sheet according to claim 3, Zixiang, related to positive electrode material teaches a lithium iron phosphate active material made into a lithium ion battery (¶[0065]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized adding the cathode material of Huang into a lithium ion battery would have created a functioning battery as suggested by Huang (abstract of Huang).
Therefore it would have been obvious to have added the cathode material of Huang into a lithium ion battery to create a functioning battery.
Regarding claim 17, modified Huang discloses a lithium phosphate cathode sheet according to claim 4, Zixiang, related to positive electrode material teaches a lithium iron phosphate active material made into a lithium ion battery (¶[0065]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized adding the cathode material of Huang into a lithium ion battery would have created a functioning battery as suggested by Huang (abstract of Huang).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have added the cathode material of Huang into a lithium ion battery to create a functioning battery.
Regarding claim 18, modified Huang discloses a lithium phosphate cathode sheet according to claim 10, Zixiang, related to positive electrode material teaches a lithium iron phosphate active material made into a lithium ion battery (¶[0065]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized adding the cathode material of Huang into a lithium ion battery would have created a functioning battery as suggested by Huang (abstract of Huang).
Therefore it would have been obvious to have added the cathode material of Huang into a lithium ion battery to create a functioning battery.
Regarding claim 19, modified Huang discloses a lithium phosphate cathode sheet according to claim 11, Zixiang, related to positive electrode material teaches a lithium iron phosphate active material made into a lithium ion battery (¶[0065]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized adding the cathode material of Huang into a lithium ion battery would have created a functioning battery as suggested by Huang (abstract of Huang).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have added the cathode material of Huang into a lithium ion battery to create a functioning battery.
Regarding claim 20, modified Huang discloses a lithium phosphate cathode sheet according to claim 12, Zixiang, related to positive electrode material teaches a lithium iron phosphate active material made into a lithium ion battery (¶[0065]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized adding the cathode material of Huang into a lithium ion battery would have created a functioning battery as suggested by Huang (abstract of Huang).
Therefore it would have been obvious to have added the cathode material of Huang into a lithium ion battery to create a functioning battery.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.J.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1726 /RYAN S CANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726