DETAILED ACTION
The amendments was received on 6/1/2026. Claims 1-7, 9-16, and 18 are pending where claims 1-7, 9-16, and 18 were previously presented and claims 8 and 17 were cancelled.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph [0069] of the specification states “In me aspects of the present disclosure…” in the second to last sentence of the paragraph where “the word ‘me’ is incorrect and the Examiner believes should be the word ‘some’ or an equivalent term like ‘many’.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7, 9-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
With regard to claim 1:
Step 2A, Prong One:
The claim recites the following limitations which are drawn towards an abstract idea:
A processor-implemented method
As seen from above, the identified limitations recite concepts associated with an abstract idea and thus the respective claim recites a judicial exception (see 2106.04(a)) and thus requires further analysis as discussed below.
Step 2A, Prong Two:
The following limitations have been identified as being additional elements as discussed below.
“performed by one or more processors”; “at a client device”; and “executed at the client device” (recites generic computer hardware to implement the judicial exception which amounts to apply-it type limitations of using a computer to perform the abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f)),
receiving a neural network model from a server, the neural network model being collaboratively trainable across multiple clients via a set of specialized neural network models, each specialized neural network model being associated with a subset of a first dataset (recites insignificant extrasolution activity of receiving information over a network, see MPEP 2106.05(g));
generating, at a client device, a local dataset including one or more local examples (recites insignificant extrasolution activity of mere data gathering, see MPEP 2106.05(g));
and generating a personalized model by fine tuning the neural network model based on parameters of the selected one or more specialized neural network models and the local dataset (recites training/learning for a machine learning model which relates to merely using a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
As seen from the above discussion, the identified limitations did not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d)). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements merely recite receiving information/data gathering and merely configuring/training a machine learning model with respect to its usage to perform the abstract idea.
Step 2B:
Below is the analysis of the claims:
“performed by one or more processors”; “at a client device”; and “executed at the client device” (recites generic computer hardware to implement the judicial exception which amounts to apply-it type limitations of using a computer to perform the abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f)),
receiving a neural network model from a server, the neural network model being collaboratively trainable across multiple clients via a set of specialized neural network models, each specialized neural network model being associated with a subset of a first dataset (recites well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of receiving information over a network, see MPEP 2106.05(d));
generating, at a client device, a local dataset including one or more local examples (recites well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of mere data gathering, see MPEP 2106.05(d));
and generating a personalized model by fine tuning the neural network model based on parameters of the selected one or more specialized neural network models and the local dataset (recites training/learning for a machine learning model which relates to merely using a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
As seen from above, the respective claim elements taken individually do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. When taken as a whole (in combination), the claim also does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements merely recite receiving information/data gathering and merely configuring/training a machine learning model with respect to its usage to perform the abstract idea.
With regard to claim 2, this claim recites receiving an input; and generating an inference via the personalized model based on the input (which recites mental process step of evaluating/inferring information based on some stimulus, i.e. input).
With regard to claim 3, this claim recites in which the first dataset comprises non-independent and identically distributed (non-i.i.d.) data (which recites field of use/technological environment limitations describing the meaning or differences of the data that is being used in the dataset, see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
With regard to claim 4:
Step 2A, Prong One:
The claim recites the following limitations which are drawn towards an abstract idea:
A processor-implemented method
As seen from above, the identified limitations recite concepts associated with an abstract idea and thus the respective claim recites a judicial exception (see 2106.04(a)) and thus requires further analysis as discussed below.
Step 2A, Prong Two:
The following limitations have been identified as being additional elements as discussed below.
“performed by one or more processors” (recites generic computer hardware to implement the judicial exception which amounts to apply-it type limitations of using a computer to perform the abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f)),
receiving a local update of the neural network model from a subset of multiple users (recites insignificant extrasolution activity of receiving information over a network, see MPEP 2106.05(g)),
each of the local updates being related to one or more subsets of a dataset according to a gating function that indicates the one or more subsets of the dataset to which each local update relates (recite field of use limitations describing meaning of the data and what it represents, see MPEP 2106.05(h));
and transmitting the global update to the subset of the multiple users (recites insignificant extrasolution activity of transmitting information over a network, see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
As seen from the above discussion, the identified limitations did not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d)). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements merely recite receiving/transmitting information/data.
Step 2B:
Below is the analysis of the claims:
“performed by one or more processors” (recites generic computer hardware to implement the judicial exception which amounts to apply-it type limitations of using a computer to perform the abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f)),
receiving a local update of the neural network model from a subset of multiple users (recites well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of receiving information over a network, see MPEP 2106.05(d)),
each of the local updates being related to one or more subsets of a dataset according to a gating function that indicates the one or more subsets of the dataset to which each local update relates (recite field of use limitations describing meaning of the data and what it represents, see MPEP 2106.05(h));
and transmitting the global update to the subset of the multiple users (recites well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of transmitting information over a network, see MPEP 2106.05(d)).
As seen from above, the respective claim elements taken individually do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. When taken as a whole (in combination), the claim also does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because the additional elements merely recite receiving/transmitting information/data.
With regard to claim 5, this claim recites in which the global update is computed by aggregating the local updates (which recites mental process steps of aggregating or summing values together via mathematical calculations).
With regard to claim 6, this claim recites in which the neural network model comprises multiple independent neural network models (recites at a high-level of generality as merely using multiple machine learning models as a tool to implement the abstract idea similar to reciting using multiple processor cores, see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
With regard to claim 7, this claim recites in which each user of the multiple users has a different mixture of the multiple independent neural network models based on data characteristics for local data (recites field of use limitations describing at a high-level the intended sorting or partitioning of data and respective models to distributed sites, see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
With regard to claim 9, this claim recites in which the dataset includes non-independent and identically distributed (non-i.i.d.) data (recites field of use limitations describing the intended particular relationship of the underlying data to be used, see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
With regard to claims 10-12, these claims are substantially similar to claims 1-3 and are rejected and are rejected for the same reasons as discussed above. The main difference between claims 10-12 from claims 1-3 is that claims 10-12 recite a memory and a processor (recites usage of generic computer elements to implement the abstract idea in a computer environment, see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
With regard to claims 13-16 and 18, these claims are substantially similar to claims 4-7 and 9 and are rejected and are rejected for the same reasons as discussed above. The main difference between claims 13-16 and 18 from claims 4-7 and 9 is that claims 13-16 and 18 recite a memory and a processor (recites usage of generic computer elements to implement the abstract idea in a computer environment, see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al, Neural Data Server: A Large-Scale Search Engine for Transfer Learning Data (from IDS) in view of Fidler et al [US 2021/0125077 A1] and Chu et al [US 2021/0374617 A1].
With regard to claim 1, Yan teaches a processor-implemented method performed by one or more processors, the processor-implemented method comprising: receiving a neural network model from a server (see first paragraph of section 3.3; the client downloads/receives a model from the server),
each specialized neural network model being associated with a subset of a first dataset (see first five paragraphs of section 3.2.1; the respective experts are associated with a subset of the dataset);
generating, at a client device, a local dataset including one or more local examples (see second paragraph in section 3; the client has a target/local dataset with a small set of examples);
selecting one or more of the specialized neural network models based on a gating function executed at the client device, the gating function controlling selection of the one or more of the specialized neural network models for the one or more local examples according to a region of the first dataset determined from characteristics of the local dataset (see Figure 3 and second and third paragraphs in section 3; the system can determine the specialized model/expert that is most relevant or useful to the client’s local dataset based on a selection/evaluation method at the client device).
Yan teaches the concepts of transfer learning and federated learning but does not appear to explicitly teach:
the neural network model being collaboratively trainable across multiple clients via a set of specialized neural network models,
and generating a personalized model by fine tuning the neural network model based on parameters of the selected one or more specialized neural network models and the local dataset.
Fidler teaches generating a personalized model by fine tuning the neural network model based on parameters of the selected one or more specialized neural network models and the local dataset (see Figure 2, box 270 and Figure 4; and paragraph [0045]; the system can personalize the model by fine tuning the model for the respective target domain/local dataset).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the neural network training and learning system of Yan by allowing clients to update their model with the dataset of the most relevant expert as taught by Fidler in order to allow the clients to improve the accuracy of the client’s local model while ensuring that the most relevant data is utilized by the client for the training/fine-tuning of the model while minimizing the storage space and bandwidth needed by not sending large quantities of training data thus allowing budget-constrained devices to utilize the best datasets to train their models while not overwhelming or overtaxing their device(s).
Yan in view of Fidler teach the concept of federated learning but do not appear to explicitly teach the neural network model being collaboratively trainable across multiple clients via a set of specialized neural network models.
Chu teaches the neural network model being collaboratively trainable across multiple clients via a set of specialized neural network models (see paragraphs [0047] and [0050]; the system allows the clients to train a local model that can be utilized to collaboratively update an global model for a particular task).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the neural network training and learning system of Yan in view of Fidler by allowing distributed and collaborative training of the experts for particular tasks as taught by Chu in order to increase system performance by distributing the computational load of the various task/expert models so that a single system is not creating and training each expert thus leveraging numerous distributed processing systems to collaboratively train local models that can be used to update/train a global/expert model for that task.
With regard to claim 2, Yan in view of Fidler and Chu teach receiving an input; and generating an inference via the personalized model based on the input (see Chu, paragraphs [0082] and [0085]; once the local model is trained it can be used to receive new data and make an output/inference).
With regard to claim 3, Yan in view of Fidler and Chu teach in which the first dataset comprises non-independent and identically distributed (non-i.i.d.) data (see Chu, paragraph [0004]; the system can make use of non-IID datasets).
With regard to claims 10-12, these claims are substantially similar to claims 1-3 and are rejected for similar reasons as discussed above.
Claims 4-7, 9, 13-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al [US 2021/0374617 A1] in view of Fidler et al [US 2021/0125077 A1].
With regard to claim 4, Chu teaches a processor-implemented method performed by one or more processors, the processor-implemented method, comprising: receiving a local update of the neural network model from a subset of multiple users, each of the local updates being related to one or more subsets of a dataset and aggregate them together to compute a global update and be able to provide that global update back to the clients; the system can provide updates that are only the gradients from the local nodes/model).
Chu does not appear to explicitly teach according to a gating function that indicates the one or more subsets of the dataset to which local update relates.
Fidler teaches according to a gating function that indicates the one or more subsets of the dataset to which local update relates (see Fidler, paragraphs [0053] and [0043] and [0064]; the system can partition data and utilize a gating function to assign the data points to the various independent/expert models).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the multitask federated learning system of Chu by utilizing a gating function as taught by Fidler in order to allow the system to usage a function that partitions the datasets into mutually exclusive subsets so that the training of each distributed model can be parallelized and performed independently on its own subset of data (see Fidler, paragraph [0056]) which allows for less data to be distributed to the various clients thus saving client storage space and reducing network bandwidth usage while allowing for localized models to achieve good performance on an appropriate set of data associated with their respective clients (see Fidler, paragraph [0035]).
With regard to claim 5, Chu in view of Fidler teach in which the global update is computed by aggregating the local updates (see Chu, paragraph [0045]; the global update is based on aggregating the local updates).
With regard to claim 6, Chu in view of Fidler teach in which the neural network model comprises multiple independent neural network models (see Fidler, paragraph [0031] and [0041]; the server can incorporate multiple neural network models associated with various tasks).
With regard to claim 7, Chu in view of Fidler teach in which each user of the multiple users has a different mixture of the multiple independent neural network models based on data characteristics for local data (see Chu, paragraphs [0045] and [0050] and [0053]; see Fidler, paragraph [0064]; the system allows clients to have multiple local models that can be associated with different independent/expert models).
With regard to claim 9, Chu in view of Fidler teach in which the dataset includes non-independent and identically distributed (non-i.i.d.) data (see Chu, paragraph [0004]; the system can make use of non-IID datasets).
With regard to claims 13-16 and 18, these claims are substantially similar to claims 4-7 and 9 respectively and are rejected for similar reasons as discussed above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments (see the first paragraph on page 6 through the second paragraph on page 9) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues (a) the claims do not recite steps that can be practically performed in the human mind which includes a gating function executed at the client device to select experts based on local dataset characteristics, expert-parameter-based fine tuning using the client’s own local dataset and subset-partitioned gradient aggregation (arguments up to first paragraph on page 7); (b) that independent claims integrate into a practical application by reciting a distributed federated learning architecture with a gating function to control expert selection according to a region of the first dataset (see applicant’s paragraphs 74, 80 and 82) and impose meaningful constraints on how the distributed system operates and define a specific coordination mechanism between client and server (arguments up to second to last paragraph on page 8); and (c) the Office Action does not provide any evidentiary support that the ordered combination of the claim elements are well-understood, routine, and conventional (WURC) (see last paragraph on page 8).
With regards to argument (a) about the claim limitations cannot be practically performed in the human mind, the Examiner notes that for step 2A, prong one, the analysis is to determine if a limitation recites or sets forth a judicial exception. With respect to claim 1, there is a selection process which is mental process step associated with evaluating and making a determination/judgement. With regards to claim 4, this claim recites computing a global update based on aggregating local updates which amounts to mental process steps involving mathematical calculations. The Examiner notes that both steps are recited at a high-level of generality (e.g. claim 1 recites selecting based on a region of the dataset and characteristics of the local dataset and claim 4 mentions computing an update based on aggregating local updates). Therefore, as can be seen, the independent claims recite or set forth an abstract idea.
With regards to argument (b) about integrating into a practical application, the Examiner notes that arguments on page 7 through page 8 discuss various features from the specification. However, per MPEP 2106.05(a), an important consideration is the extent to which a claim covers a particular solution to a problem or a particular way to a achieve a desired outcome where applicant’s arguments about features which are not explicitly claimed are not persuasive. Additionally, applicant argues that different clients have different datasets with local finetuning at the client; however, the usage of different data appears to recite field of use limitations describing intended purpose of the data. With regards to the updating aspects, as noted above, the updating steps relate to abstract idea limitations involving mental mathematical calculations.
With regards to argument (c) about the WURC, the Examiner notes that the claim mappings did provide discussions as appropriate per the requirements of MPEP 2106.05(d) both individually as well as an analysis as a combination. Additionally, the arguments (See first paragraph on page 9) recite limitations for non-i.i.d. data across clients; however, a dependent claim recites the usage of the data thus implying that the independent claim is not constrained to such an embodiment and covers other types of data therefore, given the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim limitations, the claim does not require the data to be non-i.i.d. data. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments (see the second to last paragraph on page 9 with respect to the 35 USC 103 rejections through last paragraph on page 11) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that (a) the cited prior art references do not teach the amended claim limitations including selection using the gating function and generating a personalized model and (b) that the Chu reference does not teach only the local updates related to the subset. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
With regard to argument (a), in view of the updated amendments, the respective 35 USC 103 rejections have been updated where the combination of the references are used to teach the claim limitations. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). As shown in the 35 USC 103 rejections, the combination of the references illustrate the ability to control selection of the specialized neural network (expert) by performing local evaluations. With regard to the Fidler reference not teaching the generating a personalized model, applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. As illustrated in paragraph [0045] of Fidler, the server provides a final subset of its data that is relevant to the client so that that the “subset of data is used by client 110 to train or fine-tune its artificial intelligence or machine learning system” where this localized (or personalized) fine-tuning generates the personalized model.
With regard to argument (b), the Chu reference teaches in paragraph [0045] that the updates to the central node are based on local updates that include gradients (i.e. updates/differences). As such, as can be seen, the combination of references teach the claim limitations as recited.
Examiner Comments
During the updated search and consideration, the Examiner reviewed details from applicant’s specification at paragraphs [0072], [0075], and [0087] related to the local gating function instantiation and training via a local objective; including indicating that the local gating function is not communicated to the server.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Peterson et al, Private Federated Learning with Domain Adaptation, teaches at section 2 starting on page 2 the ability for a local gating function to help increase privacy for user’s data and be able to determine which regions of data the system will trust for particular models. First paragraph on page 3 also discusses different learned gating functions for different users.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARC S SOMERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2159 7/15/2026