DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is a non-final office action for application 17/914,597 filed on 26 September 2022. Claims 1-22 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the article entitled A quadruple-band metal-nitride nanowire artificial photosynthesis system for high efficiency photocatalytic overall solar water splitting by Wang et al. (hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding Claim 1, Wang discloses a photocatalytic device (multi-band semiconductor nanostructures for artificial photosynthesis and solar fuel conversion; see Abstract) comprising: a substrate (Si substrate; see Pg. 8 para 2) having a surface (Fig. 1b shows Si substrate surface); and an array of conductive projections supported by the substrate (InGaN nanowire arrays on a nonplanar silicon wafer; see Pg. 6 para 1) and extending outward from the surface of the substrate (see Fig. 1b), each conductive projection of the array of conductive projections having a semiconductor composition (InGaN nanowire arrays; see Pg. 6 para 1), the semiconductor composition establishing a photochemical diode (double-band In0.22Ga0.78N/GaN photochemical diode; see Pg. 11 para 1); wherein the surface is nonplanar (nonplanar Si substrate; see Pg. 8 para 2) such that subsets of the array of conductive projections are oriented at different angles (see Fig. 1b).
Regarding Claim 2, Wang discloses the photocatalytic device of claim 1, wherein the surface comprises a multi-faceted surface (the micro-textured surface with Si pyramids; see Pg. 13 para 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Wang discloses the photocatalytic device of claim 1, wherein the surface comprises a pyramidal textured surface (the micro-textured surface with Si pyramids; see Pg. 13 para 1).
Regarding Claim 4, Wang discloses the photocatalytic device of claim 1, wherein: each conductive projection of the array of conductive projections comprises a layered arrangement of semiconductor materials (see Fig. 1d); and the layered arrangement of semiconductor materials establishes a quadruple band structure (see Fig. 1d caption).
Regarding Claim 5, Wang discloses the photocatalytic device of claim 1, wherein: each conductive structure of the array of conductive structures comprises a first side (see Fig. 1d) and a second side opposite the first side (see Fig. 1d); the first side faces away from the substrate (see Fig. 1d); the second side faces toward the substrate (see Fig. 1d); and a dopant concentration of the semiconductor composition decreases from the first side to the second side to establish a lateral dopant gradient (see Fig. 1d). Specifically, Fig. 1d clearly shows layers, or separate conductive structures, with boundaries (analogous to the sides) in the vertical direction. The lower boundary of each layer clearly faces the Si substrate at the very bottom of the figure, and the upper boundary faces away.
Regarding Claim 6, Wang discloses the photocatalytic device of claim 1, wherein the semiconductor composition comprises indium gallium nitride doped with magnesium (see Fig. 1d caption – “Schematic of the quadruple-band InGaN nanowire. p-Type dopant originating from the tilted Mg effusion cell (relative to the nanowire orientation) leads to the Mg doping gradient profile in lateral direction of the nanowire”).
Regarding Claim 7, Wang discloses the photocatalytic device of claim 1, wherein each conductive projection of the array of conductive projections comprises a nanowire (InGaN nanowire arrays on a nonplanar silicon wafer; see Pg. 6 para 1).
Regarding Claim 8, Wang discloses the photocatalytic device of claim 1, wherein the substrate comprises silicon (Si substrate; see Pg. 8 para 2).
Regarding Claim 9, Wang discloses the photocatalytic device of claim 1, further comprising first and second pluralities of catalyst nanoparticles disposed over the array of conductive projections (metal nitride nanowires were decorated with hydrogen evolution reaction (HER) and oxygen evolution reaction (OER) cocatalyst nanoparticles; see Pg. 14 para 2), the catalyst nanoparticles of the first and second pluralities of catalyst nanoparticles being disposed on a water-oxidizing anode side and a proton-reducing cathode side of each conductive projection of the array of conductive projections, respectively (Due to the built-in electric field introduced by the Mg doping gradient profile, photo-generated electrons and holes are efficiently separated towards the cathodic surface driving water reduction reaction and anodic surface driving water oxidation reaction, respectively. Furthermore, Supplementary Figure S5 demonstrates the separate deposition of Rh and CoOx co-catalyst nanoparticles on the lightly and heavily Mg-doped InGaN surfaces, respectively; see Pg. 9 para 2 – Pg. 10 para 1).
Regarding Claim 10, Wang discloses the photocatalytic device of claim 9, wherein: each catalyst nanoparticle of the first plurality of catalyst nanoparticles on the water- oxidizing anode side comprises cobalt oxide; and each catalyst nanoparticle of the second plurality of catalyst nanoparticles on the proton-reducing cathode side comprises rhodium (Rh) (“Due to the built-in electric field introduced by the Mg Materials Horizons Page 10 of 29 10 doping gradient profile, photo-generated electrons and holes are efficiently separated towards the cathodic surface driving water reduction reaction and anodic surface driving water oxidation reaction, respectively.34, 57 Furthermore, Supplementary Figure S5 demonstrates the separate deposition of Rh and CoOx co-catalyst nanoparticles on the lightly and heavily Mg-doped InGaN surfaces, respectively”; see Pg. 9 para 2 – Pg. 10 para 1).
Regarding Claim 11, Wang discloses a photocatalytic system (photocatalytic water splitting system; see Pg. 6 para 1) comprising: a container in which water is disposed (The measurement chamber was partially filled with 70 mL pure water solution; see Pg. 14 para 3); and a semiconductor device immersed in the water (pure water solution (pH ~7), which covered the InGaN photocatalysts; see Pg. 14 para 3); wherein the semiconductor device comprises: a substrate (Si substrate; see Pg. 8 para 2) having a pyramidal textured surface (micro-textured surface with Si pyramids; see Pg. 13 para 1); and an array of nanostructures supported by the substrate (InGaN nanowire arrays on a nonplanar silicon wafer; see Pg. 6 para 1) and extending outward from the pyramidal textured surface of the substrate (see Fig. 1b), each nanostructure of the array of nanostructures having a semiconductor composition (InGaN nanowire arrays; see Pg. 6 para 1), the semiconductor composition establishing a photochemical diode (double-band In0.22Ga0.78N/GaN photochemical diode; see Pg. 11 para 1); wherein the pyramidal textured surface orients subsets of the array of nanostructures at different angles (see Fig. 1b).
Regarding Claim 12, Wang discloses the photocatalytic system of claim 11, wherein: each nanostructure of the array of nanostructures comprises a layered arrangement of semiconductor materials (see Fig. 1d); and the layered arrangement of semiconductor materials establishes a quadruple band structure (see Fig. 1d caption).
Regarding Claim 13, the limitations of this claim differ from that of claim 5 only in that the “conductive structure” of claim 5 is replaced with “nanostructure” in claim 13. The abstract of Wang establishes that the conductive structure of the prior art is a nanostructure. Therefore, the rejection of claim 13 follows the same logic as that of claim 5. Please refer to claim 5 for rationale of the claim 13 rejection.
Regarding Claim 14, the limitations of this claim differ from that of claim 9 only in that the “conductive structure” of claim 9 is replaced with “nanostructure” in claim 14. The abstract of Wang establishes that the conductive structure of the prior art is a nanostructure. Therefore, the rejection of claim 14 follows the same logic as that of claim 9. Please refer to claim 9 for rationale of the claim 14 rejection.
Regarding Claim 15, the limitations of this claim do not exceed that of the combination of claims 6, 8 and 10. Please refer to the rejections of claim 6, 8, and 10 as the rejection of claim 15 follows the same logic.
Regarding Claim 16, Wang discloses a method (Methods; see Pg. 13) of fabricating a photocatalytic semiconductor device (multi-band semiconductor nanostructures for artificial photosynthesis and solar fuel conversion; see Abstract), the method comprising: providing a substrate (Si substrate; see Pg. 8 para 2) having a surface (Fig. 1b shows Si substrate surface); and forming an array of nanostructures on the surface of the substrate (InGaN nanowire arrays on a nonplanar silicon wafer; see Pg. 6 para 1) such that each nanostructure of the array of nanostructures extends outward from the surface of the substrate (see Fig. 1b), each nanostructure of the array of nanostructures having a semiconductor composition (InGaN nanowire arrays; see Pg. 6 para 1), the semiconductor composition establishing a photochemical diode (double-band In0.22Ga0.78N/GaN photochemical diode; see Pg. 11 para 1); wherein the surface is nonplanar (nonplanar Si substrate; see Pg. 8 para 2) such that subsets of the array of nanostructures are oriented at different angles (see Fig. 1b).
Regarding Claim 17, Wang discloses the method of claim 16, wherein providing the substrate comprises implementing a crystallographic etch procedure to define the surface (Two-inch prime-grade polished silicon wafer was etched in 80 °C KOH solution (1.8% KOH in weight with 20% isopropanol in volume) for 30 minutes to form the micro-textured surface with Si pyramids; see Pg. 13 para 1).
Regarding Claim 18, Wang discloses the method of claim 17, wherein: the crystallographic etch procedure comprises a wet etch procedure; and the substrate comprises a silicon wafer of <100> orientation such that the wet etch procedure establishes that the surface comprises a pyramidal textured surface with faces oriented along <111> planes (Two-inch prime-grade polished silicon wafer was etched in 80 °C KOH solution (1.8% KOH in weight with 20% isopropanol in volume) for 30 minutes to form the micro-textured surface with Si pyramids; see Pg. 13 para 1). It is well established that in KOH anisotropic etching of silicon, Si pyramids form only when the Si wafer surface is aligned with the <100> plane since the <100> planes etch faster than <111> planes in KOH. This then exposes the <111> facets that etch slowly and therefore define the pyramid shape.
Regarding Claim 19, please refer to the rejections of claim 9 and claim 14 as the limitations of claim 19 do not exceed those of claims 9 and 14. Therefore, the rejection of claim 19 follows the same rationale as that of claims 9 and 14.
Regarding Claim 20, Wang discloses the method of claim 19, wherein depositing the first and second pluralities of catalyst nanoparticles comprises implementing first and second photo-deposition procedures (metal nitride nanowires were decorated with hydrogen evolution reaction (HER) and oxygen evolution reaction (OER) cocatalyst nanoparticles for efficient water redox reactions using photo-deposition method; see Pg. 14 para 2) to direct the first and second pluralities of catalyst nanoparticles to the water-oxidizing anode side and the proton-reducing cathode side of each nanostructure of the array of nanostructures, respectively (Due to the built-in electric field introduced by the Mg doping gradient profile, photo-generated electrons and holes are efficiently separated towards the cathodic surface driving water reduction reaction and anodic surface driving water oxidation reaction, respectively. Furthermore, Supplementary Figure S5 demonstrates the separate deposition of Rh and CoOx co-catalyst nanoparticles on the lightly and heavily Mg-doped InGaN surfaces, respectively; see Pg. 9 para 2 – Pg. 10 para 1).
Regarding Claim 21, Wang discloses a photocatalytic device (multi-band semiconductor nanostructures for artificial photosynthesis and solar fuel conversion; see Abstract) comprising: a substrate (Si substrate; see Pg. 8 para 2) having a surface (Fig. 1b shows Si substrate surface); and an array of conductive projections supported by the substrate (InGaN nanowire arrays on a nonplanar silicon wafer; see Pg. 6 para 1) and extending outward from the surface of the substrate (see Fig. 1b), each conductive projection of the array of conductive projections having a semiconductor composition (InGaN nanowire arrays; see Pg. 6 para 1), the semiconductor composition establishing a photochemical diode (double-band In0.22Ga0.78N/GaN photochemical diode; see Pg. 11 para 1); wherein: each conductive projection comprises a cylindrically shaped nanostructure (see Fig. 1d where the nanowire is a cylindrical shape), and the semiconductor composition comprises a lateral doping gradient (see Fig. 1d caption).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over A quadruple-band metal-nitride nanowire artificial photosynthesis system for high efficiency photocatalytic overall solar water splitting by Wang et al. (hereinafter “Wang”) in view of Debe et al. (US-5879827-A), hereinafter “Debe”.
Regarding Claim 22, Wang discloses a method (Methods; see Pg. 13) of fabricating a photocatalytic semiconductor device (multi-band semiconductor nanostructures for artificial photosynthesis and solar fuel conversion; see Abstract), the method comprising: providing a substrate (Si substrate; see Pg. 8 para 2) having a surface (Fig. 1b shows Si substrate surface); and forming an array of nanostructures on the surface of the substrate InGaN nanowire arrays on a nonplanar silicon wafer; see Pg. 6 para 1) such that each nanostructure of the array of nanostructures extends outward from the surface of the substrate (see Fig. 1b), each nanostructure of the array of nanostructures having a semiconductor composition (InGaN nanowire arrays; see Pg. 6 para 1), the semiconductor composition establishing a photochemical diode (double-band In0.22Ga0.78N/GaN photochemical diode; see Pg. 11 para 1); wherein forming the array of nanostructures comprises implementing a molecular beam epitaxy procedure (grown on nonplanar silicon wafers by plasma-assisted molecular beam epitaxy (MBE); see Pg. 5 para 2), and wherein the semiconductor composition comprises a lateral doping gradient (see Fig. 1d caption).
Wang does not explicitly teach rotating the substrate. However, Debe discloses physical vapor deposition methods for the formation of nanostructures, including epitaxy, wherein the substrate is rotated (see Col. 13 Lines 31-32).
Wang and Debe are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of nanostructure growth. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang by incorporating the teachings of Debe and rotating the substrate. Doing so allows control of individual layer thickness (see Debe Col. 13 Lines 36-38).
Conclusion
/A.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1774 /CLAIRE X WANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1774