Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 12, 14, 16, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites the limitations, the flow rate and the direction in the claim. However, these elements were not previously introduced. Further, it is unclear how flow rate is related to spooling, since flow is generally directed to a fluid, such as a liquid or gas. Additionally, it is unclear if the spooling mechanisms have fluid flow capabilities to account for having a flow rate. Furthermore, it is unclear if there is a specific or particular direction between the first and second process chambers. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Claim 3 also recites the limitations, the process chamber and the forming process; however, these elements were not clearly previously introduced.
For instance, claim 1 mentions two process chambers, the first and second. Therefore, it is unclear which one of those two claim 3 is referring to. Further, it is unclear what exactly the forming process is referring to, since it was not introduced and could be the forming process of the yarn, fiber or fabric itself and not necessarily that of the coating. Claims 8 and 9 recite the surface; however, it is unclear what particular surface it is referring to since it was not previously introduced. It also recites the electrically conductive material. However, it is unclear if this is the same or different as the polymer mentioned in claim 7. If it is the same, it should be consistently polymer throughout the dependent claims. Similarly, they also introduce another encapsulating material, and it is unclear if it is new/different or the same as the one mentioned in claim 7. Claims 12, 14, 17 also recite the electrically conductive material. However, it is unclear if this is the same or different as the polymer mentioned in claim 7. If it is the same, it should be consistently polymer throughout the dependent claims. Claim 16 recites the yarn, fiber or fabric. However, claim 7 does not introduce that limitation. Therefore, it is unclear how this yarn, fiber or fabric suddenly appeared. Claims 2-6 are also rejected by dependency to rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Fujinami (US 20110041765).
Regarding claim 1. Fujinami teaches in fig. 1 a system for continuously producing electrically conductive yarn, fiber or fabric, (film deposition device 10 [31-34] deposits on continuous/spooled flexible/webbed substrate) the system comprising: a first process chamber (first deposition room 18 [31]) for coating the yarn, fiber or fabric with an electrically conductive polymeric material ([57-68] deposits a film on the webbed substrate; the materials used in the process such as the substrate and coating material(s) are not apparatus structure and do not patentably differentiate from the prior art; these materials can be exchanged according to desired intended uses/processes, MPEP 2114, 2115), wherein the first process chamber introduces a precursor and an initiator that form the electrically conductive polymeric material (as discussed, the materials used in room 18 and the deposited film are intended uses which may be exchanged according to desired process requirements, including mixtures of materials such as those forming dual component films, eg aluminum oxide, silicon nitride [67 68]);
a second process chamber (second deposition room 24 [71]) for encapsulating the electrically conductive yarn, fiber or fabric with an encapsulating insulating material (deposits another film on the web substrate [98 99]; again, the deposited material is an intended use which may be exchanged according to desired requirements);
a first spooling mechanism (drum 30 [34-38]) that stores the yarn, fiber or fabric within the first process chamber (30 rotates the substrate into 18, temporarily holding/supplying it on its surface in 18 while being deposited with the film [34-37]) and flows the yarn, fiber or fabric through the first process chamber during the coating ([36]); and a second spooling mechanism (take up shaft 34 [34]) that accepts the yarn, fiber or fabric (fig. 1 [34] substrate Z is taken up on 34) such that the yarn, fiber or fabric continuously flows in the direction from the first process chamber to the second process chamber (figure 1, [26 34-38 77] Z flows counterclockwise from 18 to 24 continuously), wherein the flow rate of the first and second spooling mechanisms are selected (assuming flow rate is referring to rotation rate, it is noted 30 and 34 all rotate consistently/at a consistent rate, where the substrate Z does not bundle up due to inconsistent rate of rotation) to allow the yarn, fiber or fabric to be coated with the electrically conductive material and encapsulated with the encapsulating material (as discussed, the web is coated in the first and second chambers), wherein the yarn, fiber or fabric is subsequently spooled after the encapsulating to form a spool of yarn, fiber or fabric (fig. 1, Z is spooled up into a roll on 34 after the coating in 24).
Regarding claim 2. Fujinami teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first and second process chambers are combined as a single process chamber (fig. 1, 24 and 18 are contained within one larger chamber 12), wherein separation of the coating and the encapsulating is achieved through one or more of space or a physical barrier within the single process chamber (the 18 and 24 are separated by partitions 36c 36d 36b 36e in the single 12 fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3. Fujinami teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the process chamber comprises vapor phase introduction of the precursor and the initiator (as discussed, 58 supplies material gas/vapor, the material types/compositions are intended uses), wherein the precursor and initiator begin reacting in the vapor phase and the coating is formed conformally around the yarn, fiber or fabric as a molecular layer (this is entirely related to the details of the process and does not structurally limit the apparatus, MPEP 2114), wherein the forming process as a molecular layer retains flexibility of the yarn, fiber or fabric after the coating (again, this is entirely related to the details of the process, substrate and/or the product formed and does not structurally limit the apparatus, MPEP 2114, 2115).
Regarding claim 4. Fujinami teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the precursor is 3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene (as discussed, the material types/compositions used in the process are intended uses, MPEP 2114; various different materials/compositions may be used according to user requirements).
Regarding claim 5. Fujinami teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the electrically conductive material comprises p-doped poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) (as discussed, the material types/compositions used in the process are intended uses, MPEP 2114).
Regarding claim 6. Fujinami teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the electrically conductive material comprises p-doped poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) and the encapsulating material comprises an acrylate (as discussed, the material types/compositions used in the process are intended uses, MPEP 2114).
Claim(s) 7-14, 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Endo (US 20090068849).
Regarding claim 7. Endo teaches in fig. 1 a device for printing a pattern of encapsulating and/or electrically conductive polymer onto a substrate (reaction chamber [27] for deposition on a substrate 112), comprising: a control mechanism (controller 110 [28]); a stage (substrate support 102 [27]) for holding the substrate ([27] fig. 1); at least one print head (process head 104 [27]) controlled by the control mechanism to move relative to the substrate (fig. 1, [27 28]), the at least one print head comprising: one or more outlets (fig. 5a-6, [34] showerhead which have many holes, 175 emits the process gas [40 41]) for delivering a precursor and a monomer to a target zone (as discussed, the material types/compositions used in the process are intended uses, MPEP 2114; the process gases are delivered in a target area above the substrate, fig. 1, 4-6); one or more outlets (annular outlet 179 delivering inerts [41]) for delivering an encapsulating material to the target zone (179 delivers inert gas to above the substrate as part of 104; again, it is noted process related aspects, such as material types/compositions used in the process are intended uses, MPEP 2114);
an initiation mechanism (plasma power source 116 that powers/initiates the plasma [28 26]) for initiating a vapor phase reaction of the precursor and the monomer within the target zone so that the monomer polymerizes to form an electrically conductive polymer (it creates plasma above the wafer [26] to perform plasma enhanced CVD, ALD [33] which involve vapor reaction of the material gases above the substrate; again, details of the process are intended uses which may be modified to suit user requirements); wherein the control mechanism controls the print head to move relative to the substrate (as discussed, fig. 1, [27 28], 104 can move freely in the xyz directions relative to 112 as controlled by 110) such that the substrate is coated with a pattern of the electrically conductive polymer and protected with the encapsulating material when the substrate is within the target zone of the print head (fig. 8, the wafer is printed with several coating regions 202 during the process when it is exposed to the process region/zone above below 104, fig. 1; again, details and specifics of the process/coating, and make up of the substrate are intended uses, MPEP 2114, 2115).
Regarding claim 8. Endo teaches the device of claim 7, wherein the at least one print head comprises a first print head for coating the surface with the electrically conductive material, and a second print head for encapsulating the electrically conductive material with an encapsulating material ([5 25 31] multiple of the said print/deposition heads; again the details of the process/type of process performed is intended use; furthermore both of the heads can each perform the said deposition and inert gas injection).
Regarding claim 9. Endo teaches the device of claim 7, wherein the at least one print head comprises a single print head for coating the surface with the electrically conductive material, and for encapsulating the electrically conductive material with an encapsulating material (the single print head 104 as disc in claim 7 used w/ the deposition material and inert gas; again the details of the process/type of process performed is intended use).
Regarding claim 10. Endo teaches the device of claim 7, wherein the at least one print head uses heat-based initiation to coat with the encapsulating material (the plasma generated also emits heat since plasma is highly energized gaseous/ionized material; again the details of the process/type of process performed is intended use).
Regarding claim 11. Endo teaches the device of claim 7, wherein the at least one print head uses light-based initiation to coat with the encapsulating material (again the details of the process/type of process performed is intended use; further, the inert gas includes argon [34]; and argon plasma, if desired to be formed, is known to generate purple light).
Regarding claim 12. Endo teaches the device of claim 7, wherein the electrically conductive material comprises p-doped poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) (as discussed, the material types/compositions used in the process are intended uses, MPEP 2114; various different materials/compositions may be used according to user requirements).
Regarding claim 13. Endo teaches the device of claim 7, wherein the encapsulating material comprises a poly(acrylate) (as discussed, the material types/compositions used in the process are intended uses, MPEP 2114; various different materials/compositions may be used according to user requirements).
Regarding claim 14. Endo teaches the device of claim 7, wherein the electrically conductive material comprises p-doped poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) and the encapsulating material comprises a poly(acrylate) (as discussed, the material types/compositions used in the process are intended uses, MPEP 2114; various different materials/compositions may be used according to user requirements).
Regarding claim 16. Endo teaches the device of claim 7, wherein the device further comprises an outlet for delivering a cleaning solution to the yarn, fiber or fabric (the outlet on top of 108 or where its pipe connects to 100, fig. 1, which delivers the fluid supply materials/solution to the substrate; as previously discussed, the material/compositions/type of the process solution used, as well as substrate type and details are intended uses and do not patentably differentiate from the prior art, MPEP 2114 2115; furthermore, solutions can be gaseous in addition to liquid).
Regarding claim 17. Endo teaches the device of claim 7, wherein the electrically conductive material comprises p-doped poly(3 ,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) and the encapsulating material comprises an acrylate (as discussed, the material types/compositions used in the process are intended uses, MPEP 2114; various different materials/compositions may be used according to user requirements).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo (US 20090068849) in view of Amai (US 20030034056).
Regarding claim 15. Endo teaches the device of claim 7, but does not teach wherein the device comprises a portable unit, the device further comprising a battery and movable material tanks for storing. However, Amai teaches a portable unit (container/carrier C [63] which is a portable wafer carrier), the device further comprising a battery (battery unit 23 [69]) and movable material tanks for storing (tank 220 [102] which holds fluids that are movable, i.e. coming down from drain 137 and out 223, fig. 10, as well as traps 132 and remover 157 which form containers/tanks that at least temporarily hold the movable fluids from 45 while they are inside them, fig. 10). It would be obvious to those skilled in the art at invention time to modify Endo to be able to clean wafers [4] and prevent clogging and lengthen the life of filters [6].
Conclusion
/YUECHUAN YU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718