DETAILED ACTION
In response to an Office action mailed on 09/24/2025 (“09/24/2025 OA”), the Applicant amended 2, 7, 10-11, 13, 15, 17, 20 and 22-23 and submitted remarks regarding independent claim 1 in a reply filed on 12/23/2025 (“12/23/2025 Reply”).
Claims 25-28 are withdrawn.
Claims 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, 18-19 and 21 are cancelled.
Currently, claims 1-3, 5,7, 9-11, 13-15, 17, 20 and 22-24 are examined as below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the title of the invention have overcome the specification objections as set forth under line item number 1 in the 09/24/2025 OA.
Applicant’s amendments to claims 13 and 23 have overcome the claim objections as set forth under line item number 2 in the 09/24/2025 OA.
Applicant’s amendments to claims 2, 7, 10-11, 15, 17 and 20 have overcome the 112(b) rejections as set forth under line item number 3 in the 09/24/2025 OA.
Despite the Applicant’s remarks regarding independent claim 1, the previously-cited prior art Kim still reads on the claim.
On pages 31-37 of the 12/23/2025 Reply, the Applicant argues Kim does not teach “each sub-pixel includes a light-emitting element, a first light extraction layer disposed on a side of the light-emitting element where a light exit surface of the light-emitting element is located, a first material layer disposed on a side of the first light extraction layer where a first surface of the first light extraction layer is located, and a second material layer that is in contact with a surface of the first material layer opposite to a second surface of the first material layer; the light-emitting element is configured to emit light of a first color; the first light extraction layer is configured to deflect the light emitted from the light-emitting element into the first material layer at a preset angle; and the first material layer and the second material layer are configured to enable the light deflected at the preset angle to propagate in the first material layer and the second material layer; wherein the first surface is a surface of the first light extraction layer away from the light-emitting element” of independent claim 1, because: (1) the color filters 321, 323 and 325 (i.e., second material layer) are not in contact with any surface of the layers 330, 340 and 350 (i.e., first material layer); (2) the lower surface (i.e., first surface) of the second low refractive index layer LRL2 (i.e., first light extraction layer) is the surface of the second low refractive index layer LRL2 proximate to rather than away from the light emitting elements ED; (3) the second low refractive index layer LRL2 (i.e., first light extraction layer) enables the light that has been wavelength-converted by the first wavelength shifters 333 enter into, rather than deflect the light emitted from the light-emitting element ED into the layers 330, 340 and 350 (i.e., first material layer). The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding (1), the word “contact” means “connection1.” That is, the limitation “a second material layer that is in contact with a surface of the first material layer” is interpreted as a second material layer connects a surface of the first material layer. According to Fig. 5 of Kim, the second material layer 321, 323, 325 connects a surface (i.e., upper surface) of the first material layer 330, 340, 350 through layers LRL1 and LRL2, in which the second material layer 321, 323, 325 connects to an upper surface of the first material layer 330, 340, 350 by an indirect contact (i.e., through layers LRL1 and LRL2). Since claim 1 does not require the contact to be a physical/direct contact, Kim’s second material layer 321, 3232, 355 is in indirect contact with a surface of the first material layer 330, 340, 350, and therefore Kim’s Fig. 5 still read on the claim.
Regarding (2), the word “away” means “apart2.” According to Fig. 5 of Kim, the lower surface (i.e., first surface) of the second low refractive index layer LRL2 (i.e., first light extraction layer) is apart from the light-emitting element ED1, ED2, ED3. Since the claim does not define the first surface is a surface of the first light extraction layer facing away from the light-emitting element, the lower surface of the first extraction layer LRL2 in Fig. 5 of Kim is away (i.e., apart) from the light-emitting element ED1, ED2, ED3.
Regarding (3), according to Fig. 5 and paragraphs 231-232 of Kim, the second low refractive index layer (i.e., first extraction layer) LRL2 reflects light. That is, the second low refractive index layer LRL2 deviates/deflects light, and such light, though later being wavelength-converted or wavelength-shifted by the wavelength shifter 333, 343 (Fig. 5, ¶ 205, ¶ 218 & ¶ 231), or being scattered by the scattering particles SC (Fig. 5 & ¶ 224), is a light emitted from the light emitting element ED1, ED2, ED3 (Fig. 5 & ¶ 202, ¶ 215 & ¶ 221). In other words, the second refractive index layer (i.e., first extraction layer) LRL2 deflects light emitted from the light emitting element ED1, ED2, ED3 that is converted, shifted or scattered. Since the claim does not require the light that enters the first light extraction layer to be a light directly emitted from the light-emitting element and without being converted, shifted or scattered, Kim still teaches claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2024/0049552 A1 to Kim et al. (“Kim”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kim in Fig. 5 teaches a light-emitting substrate (Fig. 5), comprising:
a pixel layer 10/70/30 (Fig. 5 & ¶ 73, a collective of display substrate 10, filling layer 70 and color conversion substrate 30) including a plurality of sub-pixels LA1, LA2, LA3 (Fig. 5 & ¶ 108, first emission area LA1, second emission area LA2, and third emission area LA3, which are defined by pixel defining layer PDL. That is, the emission areas LA1, LA2 and LA3 are sub-pixels/pixels); wherein
each sub-pixel LA1, LA2, LA3 includes a light-emitting element ED1, ED2, ED3 (Fig. 5 & ¶115, first light emitting element ED1, second light emitting element ED2, third light emitting element ED3), a first light extraction layer LRL2 (Fig. 5 & ¶ 187, second low refractive index layer LRL2) disposed on a side of the light-emitting element ED1, ED2, ED3 where a light exit surface (Fig. 5, upper surface) of the light-emitting element ED1, ED2, ED3 is located, a first material layer 330, 340 ,350 (Fig. 5 & ¶ 181, wavelength conversion pattern 330, 340, light transmission pattern 350) disposed on a side (Fig. 5, lower side) of the first light extraction layer LRL2 where a first surface (Fig. 5, lower surface) of the first light extraction layer LRL2 is located, and a second material layer 321, 323, 325 (Fig. 5 & ¶ 160, color filter 321, 323, 325) that is in contact with (Fig. 5, in contact with layer 330, 340, 350 through layers LRL1 and LRL2, or in indirect (i.e., optical) contact with) a surface (Fig. 5, upper surface) of the first material layer 330, 340, 350 opposite to a second surface (Fig. 5, lower surface) of the first material layer 330, 340, 350; the light-emitting element ED1, ED2, ED3 is configured to emit light of a first color (¶ 82, ¶ 115, ¶ 205 & ¶ 215, blue light); the first light extraction layer LRL2 is configured to deflect the light emitted from the light-emitting element ED1, ED2, ED3 (¶ 187, the layer LRL2 is a refractive layer) into the first material layer 330, 340, 350 at a preset angle (Fig. 5 & ¶ 231-¶ 232, the converted light La from the light emitting element ED1 and the wavelength shifter 333 of the pattern 330 entering the layer LRL2 is reflected from the layer LRL2 back to the pattern 330, and such light entering the pattern 330 from the layer LRL2 must have an angle, and it would be the same for lights Lb and Lc, to be reflected from the layer LRL2 back to the patterns 340 and 350); and the first material layer 330, 340, 350 and the second material layer 321, 323, 325 are configured to enable the light deflected at the preset angle to propagate in the first material layer 330, 340, 350 and the second material layer 321, 323, 325 (Fig. 5, ¶ 160, ¶ 203, ¶ 216, ¶ 222 & ¶ 224 disclose the scattering particles SC in the layer 330, 340, 350 refract and scatter (i.e., deflect) lights and thus such lights would propagate in desired incident angle while passing through the layers 330, 340, 350 and 321, 323, 325); wherein
the first surface (Fig. 5, lower surface of LRL2) is a surface of the first light extraction layer LRL2 away from the light-emitting element ED1, ED2, ED3 (Fig. 5, the layer LRL2 is a few layers away from the element ED1, ED2, ED3); and
the second surface (Fig. 5, lower surface of layer 330) is a surface of the first material layer 330, 340, 350 proximate to or away from the light-emitting element ED1, ED2, ED3 (Fig. 5); and the plurality of sub-pixels LA1, LA2, LA3 include at least one first sub-pixel LA1 (Fig. 5 & ¶ 108); of a first material layer 330 (Fig. 5) and a second material layer 321 (Fig. 5 & ¶ 162, first color filter 321) included in a first reference sub-pixel LA1 (Fig. 5 & ¶ 108, first emission area LA1, which is defined by pixel defining layer PDL. That is, the emission area LA1 is a sub-pixel/pixel), at least the second material layer 321 includes a first light conversion material 321 (Fig. 5 & ¶ 162, red colorant of first color filter 321 selectively transmits red light); the first light conversion material 321 is configured to absorb light propagating in the first material layer 330 and the second material layer 321 included in the first reference sub-pixel LA1 (Fig. 5 & ¶ 162), and to convert the absorbed light into emergent light of a second color (¶ 162, red light); and the first reference sub-pixel LA1 is a first sub-pixel LA1 from the at least one first sub-pixel LA1.
Regarding claim 3, Kim in Fig. 5 further teaches a substrate 360 (Fig. 5 & ¶ 226, first capping layer 360); wherein in each sub-pixel LA1, LA2, LA3, the second surface is the surface of the first material layer 330 away from (Fig. 5, a few layers away from) the light-emitting element ED1, ED2, ED3; and the substrate 360 is disposed on a side of the first material layer 330 away from the light-emitting element ED1, ED2, ED3 (Fig. 5, the substrate 360 is on a lower side of the layer 330, which is a few layers away from the light emitting element ED1, ED2, ED3), and is in contact with the first material layer 330 (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 24, Kim in Figs. 1-5 further teaches a light-emitting apparatus 1 (Fig. 1 & ¶ 68, display device 1), comprising the light-emitting substrate (Figs. 1-5 & ¶ 34-¶ 38) according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of US 2008/0303044 A1 to Kohno et al. (“Kohno”).
Regarding claim 5, Kim in Figs. 1-5 further teaches the plurality of sub-pixels LA1, LA2, LA3 further include at least one second sub-pixel LA2 (Fig. 5 & ¶ 108); of a first material layer 340 (Fig. 5) and a second material layer 323 (Fig. 5 & ¶ 163, second color filter 323) included in a second reference sub-pixel LA2 (Fig. 5 & ¶ 108, second emission area LA2, which is defined by pixel defining layer PDL. That is, the emission area LA2 is a sub-pixel/pixel), at least the second material layer 323 includes a second light conversion material 323 (¶ 163, green colorant of second color filter 323 selectively transmits green light), and the second light conversion material 323 is configured to absorb light propagating in the first material layer 340 and the second material layer 323 included in the second reference sub-pixel LA2 (Fig. 5 & ¶ 163), and to convert the absorbed light into emergent light of a third color (¶ 163, green light), and the second reference sub-pixel LA2 is a second sub-pixel LA2 from the at least one second sub-pixel LA2; and
the light-emitting substrate (Fig. 5) has a plurality of pixel regions (Figs. 1-5 & ¶ 83, a collective of emission areas LA1/LA2/LA3 is treated as a pixel region, and there are a plurality of such pixel regions LA1/LA2/LA3); the plurality of sub-pixels (Figs. 1-5 & ¶ 83, the emissions areas LA1, LA2, LA3 are sequentially and repeatedly disposed in the display area DA along a first direction DR1) constitute at least one sub-pixel group LA1/LA2/LA3 (Figs. 3-5, a collective of emission areas of LA1, LA2, LA3), and a sub-pixel group LA1/LA2/LA3 in the at least one sub-pixel group LA1/LA2/LA3 is located in a pixel region LA1/LA2/LA3 in the plurality of pixel regions LA1/LA2/LA3; the sub-pixel group LA1/LA2/LA3 includes sub-pixels LA1, LA2, LA3 (Fig. 5 & ¶ 108, first emission area LA1, second emission area LA2, and third emission area LA3, which are defined by pixel defining layer PDL. That is, the emission areas LA1, LA2 and LA3 are pixels/sub-pixels), and the sub-pixels LA1, LA2, LA3 included in the sub-pixel group LA1/LA2/LA3 include at least one first sub-pixel LA1 and at least one second sub-pixel LA2 (Figs. 1-5); wherein
in the sub-pixel group LA1/LA2/LA3, light-emitting elements ED1, ED2, ED3 included in the sub-pixels LA1/LA2/LA3 are first light-emitting diodes ED1, ED2, ED3 (Figs. 1-5), and have a same light-emitting color (¶ 82, ¶ 115, ¶ 205 & ¶ 215, blue light); the first light-emitting diodes ED1, ED2, ED3 include a first electrode CE (Fig. 5 & ¶ 113, cathode electrode CE), second electrodes AE1, AE2, AE3 (Fig. 5 & ¶ 105, anode electrode AE1, AE2, AE3), and a light emitting layer OL (Fig 5 & ¶ 111) disposed between the first electrode and the second electrodes; and the light-emitting elements ED1, ED2, ED3 included in the sub-pixels LA1, LA2, LA3 share the same first electrode CE (Fig. 5).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the light emitting layer is a semiconductor layer.
Kohno recognizes a need for providing an LED that emits blue light (¶ 34). Kohno satisfies the need by using a semiconductor material (¶ 34, gallium nitride-based compound semiconductor) that is capable of emitting blue light (¶ 34).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the semiconductor material taught by Kohno for the light emitting layer taught by Kim, so as to provide an LED that emits blue light (Kohno: ¶ 34).
Regarding claim 9, Kim in Fig. 5 further teaches the sub-pixel group LA1, LA2, LA3 further includes at least one third sub-pixel LA3 (Fig. 5 & ¶ 108); of a first material layer 350 (Fig. 5) and a second material layer 325 (Fig. 5 & ¶ 164, third color filter 325) included in a third reference sub-pixel LA3 (Fig. 5 & ¶ 108, third emission area LA3, which is defined by pixel defining layer PDL. That is, the emission area LA3 is a sub-pixel/pixel), at least the second material layer 325 includes a third light conversion material 325 (¶ 164, blue colorant of third color filter 325 selectively transmits blue light), and the third light conversion material 325 is configured to absorb light propagating in the first material layer 350 and the second material layer 325 included in the third reference sub-pixel LA3 (Fig. 5 & ¶ 164), and to convert the absorbed light into emergent light of a fourth color (¶ 164, blue light), and the third reference sub-pixel LA3 is a third sub-pixel LA3 from the at least one third sub-pixel LA3; wherein
the second color (¶ 162, red light), the third color (¶ 163, green light) and the fourth color (¶ 164, blue light) are three primary colors, respectively.
Regarding claim 10, Kim in Fig. 5 further teaches in the sub-pixel group LA1/LA2/LA3,
the at least one first sub-pixel LA1 is a red sub-pixel LA1 (Fig. 5 & ¶ 162, red light), the at least one second sub-pixel LA2 is a green sub-pixel LA2 (Fig. 5 & ¶ 163, green light), and the at least one third sub-pixel LA3 is a blue sub-pixel LA3 (Fig. 5 & ¶ 164, blue light); and in the sub-pixel group LA1/LA2/LA3, and the area of the at least one first sub-pixel LA1 is equivalent to the area of the at least one third sub-pixel LA3 (Figs. 3-5).
The combination of Kim and Kohno does not explicitly disclose an area of the at least one first sub-pixel and an area of the at least one third sub-pixel are each less than an area of the at least one second sub-pixel
However, it would have been obvious to form the areas within the claimed range, since it has been held by the Federal circuit that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. (In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 2, 7, 11, 13-15, 17, 20 and 22-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if (i) rewritten in independent form to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims or (ii) the objected claim and any intervening claims are fully incorporated into the base claim.
Claim 2 would be allowable, because the prior art of record, singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other claimed elements in claim 2, wherein in each sub-pixel, in a case where the second surface is the surface of the first material layer away from the light-emitting element, an area of an orthographic projection of the first material layer on a plane where the pixel layer is located is greater than an area of an orthographic projection of the first light extraction layer on the plane where the pixel layer is located, and the second material layer is disposed on a portion, beyond a region where the first light extraction layer is located, of a surface of the first material layer facing the light-emitting element; or in a case where the second surface is the surface of the first material layer proximate to the light-emitting element, an area of an orthographic projection of the first material layer on a plane where the pixel layer is located is greater than or equal to an area of an orthographic projection of the first light extraction layer on the plane where the pixel layer is located, and the second material layer is disposed on the surface of the first material layer away from the light-emitting element.
Claim 7 would be allowable, because the prior art of record, singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other claimed elements in claim 7, wherein the first light-emitting diodes are vertical light-emitting diodes, and the first electrode is closer to the first material layer in each sub-pixel than the second electrodes; and/or in the sub-pixel group, an area of an orthographic projection of a first material layer included in each sub-pixel of the sub-pixels on a plane where the pixel layer is located is greater than an area of an orthographic projection of a first light extraction layer included in the sub-pixel on the plane where the pixel layer is located, and portions, beyond a region where first light extraction layers included in the sub-pixels are located, of orthographic projections of first material layers included in the sub-pixels on the plane where the pixel layer is located surround a region where the light-emitting elements included in the sub-pixels are located; and/or the first light-emitting diodes further include a reflective layer disposed on a side of the first light-emitting diodes away from light exit surfaces of the first light-emitting diodes and covering at least a region where the light exit surfaces are located.
Claim 11 would be allowable, because the prior art of record, singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other claimed elements in claim 11, wherein in the sub-pixel group, a single red sub-pixel and a single blue sub-pixel exist, and a number of green sub-pixels is two; and areas of the red sub-pixel, the blue sub-pixel and a green sub-pixel in the two green sub-pixels are equal, and the sub-pixels included in the sub-pixel group are arranged in an array; or in the sub-pixel group, the red sub-pixel and the blue sub-pixel exist, and a number of green sub-pixels is two; areas of the red sub-pixel, the blue sub-pixel and the green sub-pixel are equal, and the sub-pixels included in the sub-pixel group are arranged in an array; and the two green sub-pixels are located in different rows and columns.
Claim 13 would be allowable, because the prior art of record, singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other claimed elements in claim 13, black matrixes disposed between the plurality of sub-pixels; wherein in a case where the substrate serves as the first material layer in each sub-pixel, at least part of the black matrixes are arranged in a same layer as second material layers in the plurality of sub-pixels, and are each in contact with second material layers included in two adjacent sub-pixels; or in a case where the substrate is disposed on the side of the first material layer in each sub-pixel away from the light-emitting element, at least part of the black matrixes are arranged in a same layer as an entirety of first material layers and the second material layers in the plurality of sub-pixels, and are each in contact with second material layers and first material layers included in two adjacent sub-pixels.
Claim 14 would be allowable, because the prior art of record, singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other claimed elements in claim 14, wherein in the case where the substrate serves as the first material layer in each sub-pixel, the light-emitting substrate further comprises a second light extraction layer and a light absorption pattern; the second light extraction layer and the light absorption pattern are respectively disposed at positions corresponding to a reference pattern in reference patterns, and are located on a side of the first material layer in each sub-pixel away from the reference pattern; the second light extraction layer is configured to extract light propagating in the first material layers and the second material layers in the plurality of sub-pixels in a form of total reflection toward a side of the second light extraction layer away from the first material layer in each sub-pixel; and the light absorption pattern is disposed on a side of the second light extraction layer away from the first material layer in each sub-pixel, and is in contact with the second light extraction layer; wherein the reference patterns are the at least part of the black matrixes arranged in the same layer as the second material layers in the plurality of sub-pixels.
Claim 15 would be allowable, because the prior art of record, singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other claimed elements in claim 15, black matrixes disposed between the plurality of sub-pixels; wherein in a case where the second surface is the surface of the first material layer in each sub-pixel away from the light-emitting element, and in the sub-pixel group, portions, beyond a region where first light extraction layers included in the sub-pixels are located, of orthographic projections of first material layers included in the sub-pixels on a plane where the pixel layer is located surround a region where the light-emitting elements included in the sub-pixels are located, pixel driving circuits are further disposed on the substrate: part of the black matrixes located between two adjacent sub-pixel groups are arranged in a same layer as first material layers or second material layers in the plurality of sub-pixels, or are arranged in a same layer as an entirety of first material layers and second material layers; and a remaining part of the black matrixes include: a first portion located between first material layers or second material layers included in two adjacent sub-pixels in a same sub-pixel group, or located between an entirety of a first material layer and a second material layer included in a sub- pixel of two adjacent sub-pixels and an entirety of a first material layer and a second material layer included in another sub-pixel of the two adjacent sub-pixels; and a second portion located on circuit wirings between light-emitting elements and pixel driving circuits included in the two adjacent sub-pixels in the same sub-pixel group; or the second surface is the surface of the first material layer in each sub-pixel away from the light-emitting element, and in the sub-pixel group, portions, beyond a region where first light extraction layers included in the sub-pixels are located, of orthographic projections of first material layers included in the sub-pixels on a plane where the pixel layer is located surround a region where the light-emitting elements included in the sub-pixels are located; pixel driving circuits are further disposed on the substrate; part of the black matrixes located between two adjacent sub-pixel groups are arranged in a same layer as first material layers or second material layers in the plurality of sub-pixels, or are arranged in a same layer as an entirety of first material layers and second material layers; and a remaining part of the black matrixes include: a first portion located between first material layers second material layers included in two adjacent sub-pixels in a same sub-pixel group, or located between an entirety of a first material layer and a second material layer included in a sub-pixel and an entirety of a first material layer and a second material layer included in another sub-pixel; and a second portion located on circuit wirings between light-emitting elements and pixel driving circuits included in the two adjacent sub-pixels in the same sub-pixel group; and the second portion is disposed on a side of the light-emitting element away from the first material layer in each sub-pixel.
Claim 17 would be allowable, because the prior art of record, singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other claimed elements in claim 17, wherein the first light extraction layer includes a lens structure and a grating structure disposed on a side of the lens structure away from the light-emitting element, and a surface of the grating structure away from the light-emitting element is the first surface; wherein the lens structure is configured to collimate the light emitted from the light-emitting element; and the grating structure is configured to deflect light emitted from the lens structure, so as to deflect the light emitted from the light-emitting element into the first material layer in each sub-pixel at the preset angle; or the first light extraction layer includes a lens structure and a grating structure disposed on a side of the lens structure away from the light-emitting element, and a surface of the grating structure away from the light-emitting element is the first surface; wherein the lens structure is configured to collimate the light emitted from the light-emitting element; and the grating structure is configured to deflect light emitted from the lens structure, so as to deflect the light emitted from the light-emitting element into the first material layer in each sub-pixel at the preset angle; and a refractive index of the lens structure is in a range of 1.2 to 1.4, inclusive, and an arch height of the lens structure is 1/3 times an aperture of the lens structure; and a distance between the lens structure and the grating structure is greater than or equal to 0 nm and less than or equal to 200 nm.
Claim 20 would be allowable, because the prior art of record, singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other claimed elements in claim 20, wherein the grating structure is a zero-order eliminating grating, a tilted grating or a blazed grating; or the grating structure is a zero-order eliminating grating, and the grating structure has a grating constant of 410 nm and a thickness of 280 nm; or the grating structure is a tilted grating, and the grating structure has a grating constant of 410 nm, a thickness of 450 nm and a tilt angle of 20 degrees; or the grating structure is a blazed grating, and the grating structure has a grating constant of 480 nm and a blaze angle of 35 degrees.
Claim 22 would be allowable, because the prior art of record, singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other claimed elements in claim 22, wherein the first light extraction layer further includes a transparent material layer filled between the grating structure and the lens structure, and a refractive index of the transparent material layer is in a range of 1.2 to 1.3, inclusive; and/or a duty cycle of the grating structure is in a range of 0.4 to 0.6, inclusive.
Claim 23 would be allowable, because the prior art of record, singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other claimed elements in claim 23, wherein the light-emitting substrate further comprises a filter film disposed on a side of the second material layer in each sub-pixel facing the second surface, and/or an antireflection film disposed on the side of the second material layer in each sub-pixel facing the second surface; wherein the filter film includes filter units each disposed in a sub-pixel; a filter unit in the filter units is configured to allow light with a first wavelength to pass therethrough, and to absorb light with a second wavelength; and the light with the first wavelength is light emitted from a sub-pixel where the filter unit is located, and the light with the second wavelength is light with other bands except the first wavelength in visible light bands; and/or in each sub-pixel, the second surface and a third surface are configured to reflect a reference light, so that the light deflected into the first material layer at the preset angle propagates in the first material layer and the second material layer; wherein the third surface is a surface of the second material layer away from the first material layer; and the reference light is light deflected into the first material layer at the preset angle and entering the first material layer and the second material layer during propagation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/RATISHA MEHTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817
1 contact. (n.d.) Merriam-Webster Dictionary. Retrieved February 20 2026 from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/contact
2 away. (n.d.) Collins English Dictionary – Complete and Unabridged, 12th Edition 2014. (1991, 1994, 1998, 2000, 2003, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2011, 2014). Retrieved February 20 2026 from https://www.thefreedictionary.com/away