DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is response to the Amendment filed on September 25, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the added limitation of the uneven portions having a plurality of height differences relative to one of the light sensitive regions. The limitation in question is confusing since it appears to be the same as previous limitations pertaining to the height differences. The amended limitation in question will be ignored until the applicant corrects or clarifies it.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US Pub. 2020/0301053 A1).
In re claim 1, Wang et al. shows (fig. 5a-5c) a solid-state imaging device comprising: a semiconductor substrate (not labeled, containing regions PD) having a main surface provided with a plurality of light sensitive regions (PD); and an insulating film (52-2, 52-3; [0038, 0053-0054]) provided on the main surface of the semiconductor substrate, wherein a plurality of gently continuous uneven portions (52-2, 52-3) are formed on a surface on the side opposite to the main surface of the semiconductor substrate in the insulating film, and wherein a plurality of height differences of the uneven portions exist in the light sensitive region (PD),
In re claim 5, Wang et al. shows (fig. 5a-5c) wherein the main surface of the semiconductor substrate is a flat surface (via film 51).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US Pub. 2020/0301053 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of the cited case law.
In re claims 2-4, Wang does not specifically disclose the height differences of the even portions. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the insulating layer uneven portions having any desired height, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. See the 356 USC 112 2nd Paragraph Rejection above.
The applicant further argues that the cited prior art reference does not disclose all of the elements of the claims, specifically that Wang does not disclose the “gently continuous” element as recited in the claims. The examiner believes that Wang discloses all of the elements of the claims and that the rejection is proper. The applicant’s own specification gives no specific further limiting definition of to the term “gently continuous.” Thus the regions of Wang would also be considered gently continuos.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Itabashi (US Pub. 2020/0052023 A1), Sato (US Pub. 2017/0141151 A1), Kurihara (US Pub. 2015/0303226 A1), Iwasaki (US Pub. 2013/0032914 A1), Adkisson (US Pub. 2009/0286346 A1), Nishikido (WO-2018012314 A1), Kasuya (WO-2017150616 A1), Bang (KR-20080060573 A), Aihara (JP-2019102623 A), Amada (JP-2014241351 A), and Shiraishi (JP-2006073885 A) disclose various elements of the claims including an insulating film formed on the substrate of an imaging device over the light receiving region of the device.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW E WARREN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815