DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/28/2022, 05/01/2024 and 09/23/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hara et al. (US 2007/0013870).
Regarding claim 1, Hara discloses, an optometry system for subjectively measuring an optical characteristic of a subject eye by presenting an examination visual target to the subject eye (Figs. 1-5), the optometry system comprising:
a response input unit (6) by which an examinee reading the examination visual target (2) inputs an answer (Para. 0091); and
a controller (see 1, 2, 7, 11, 20, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26) configured to:
set a reference value (Para. 0081 and see 9; note, discloses standard time output means for outputting a standard time on the response time) based on a reaction time of the examinee with respect to the examination visual target (Para. 0081; note, discloses a time comparison means 10 for comparing result measured by the response time measuring means 8 with the standard time outputted by the standard time output means 9);
automatically proceeds with an examination, based on an input signal from the response input unit (Para. 0091 and see “S10” and “S20”); and
leading information (Para. 0015 and 0077; note, discloses standard time output means for outputting a standard time with respect to said response time), during the examination of the subject eye, for leading the examinee to input the answer, based on the set reference value (Para. 0077, 0101 and see 7, 9).
Regarding claim 2, Hara discloses, controller is further configured to repeatedly outputs the leading information, in a case where no signal from the response input unit is obtained after a predetermined time set for repeating the leading information has elapsed (see “S5” and “S20”; note, the Examiner interprets “S5” proceeds to step “S20” and repeats outputting leading information when the response input is not within standard time).
Regarding claim 4, Hara discloses, the examination includes a plurality of examination items (Para. 0079, 0091 and see 2 of Fig. 1; note, discloses optotypes E and landolt rings), and the controller is further configured to set the reference value according to the examination items (Para. 0045-0046 and see 3, 4, 20, 21).
Regarding claim 5, Hara discloses, the controller is further configured to: acquires the reaction time, based on a start timing at which measurement of the subject eye is started and a response timing at which the examinee responds with respect to the examination visual target (Para. 0077 and see 8, 10); and set the reference value, based on the acquired reaction time (Para. 0077 and see 9).
Regarding claim 6, Hara discloses, the controller is further configured to: acquires the reaction time in real time, during the examination (Para. 0077 and see 8, 10); changes the reference value from a first reference value to a second reference value different from the first reference value to set the reference value, based on the real-time acquired reaction time (Para. 0077 and see 8, 10); and output the leading information, based on the second reference value (Para. 0082 and see “A” of Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Hara discloses, a visual target presenting unit (2) that emits a target light flux toward the subject eye to present the examination visual target to the subject eye (Para. 0079 and 0091), wherein the controller is further configured to: control the visual target presenting unit to automatically proceed with the examination (Para. 0090 and see “S2”), acquires a timing at which the controller controls the visual target presenting unit, as the start timing (Para. 0091; note, discloses standard time); and acquires a timing at which the input signal from the response input unit is acquired, as the response timing (Para. 0091 and see “S5”).
Regarding claim 8, Hara discloses, a correction unit (3, 4) that changes an optical characteristic of the target light flux to change a correction power for correcting the subject eye (see “S10” and “S12”), wherein the controller is further configured to: controls the correction unit to automatically proceed with the examination (Para. 0091 and see “S10”); and acquires a timing at which the controller controls the correction unit, as the start timing (Para. 0091).
Regarding claim 9, Hara discloses, a visual target presenting unit (2) that emits a target light flux toward the subject eye; and a correction unit (3, 4, 20, 21) that changes an optical characteristic of the target light flux (Para. 0091); wherein the controller is further configured to: control an operation of the optometry system (3, 4, 20, 21); and output the reaction time (Para. 0098-0106 and see 8, 10), and wherein the reaction time is a time acquired based on a start timing at which measurement of the subject eye is started and a response timing after the start timing, the reaction time being a time required from a start of the measurement of the subject eye to a response with respect to the measurement of the subject eye (Para. 0098-0106 and see 8, 10), the start timing is a timing at which the visual target presenting unit or the correction unit is controlled by the controller (Para. 0098-0106 and see 8, 10), and the response timing is a timing at which a response signal with respect to the measurement is input by the response input unit (Para. 0080 and 0091).
Regarding claim 10, Hara discloses, an optometry system for subjectively measuring an optical characteristic of a subject eye (Figs. 1-5), the optometry system comprising:
a visual target presenting unit (2) that emits a target light flux toward the subject eye;
a correction unit (Para. 0079 and see 3, 4) that changes an optical characteristic (Para. 0079; note discloses a first optotype change means 3 for changing the optotype E to be shown by the optotype presentation means 2 into smaller one, a second optotype change means 4 for changing the optotype E to be shown by the optotype presentation means 2 into one having the same size and the other shape) of the target light flux; and
a controller (see 1, 2, 7, 11, 20, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26) configured to:
control an operation (Para. 0079; note, discloses the controller controls the device to perform a visual acuity test) of the optometry system (Para. 0077 and 0081);
acquisition means (8) that acquires a reaction time (Para. 0081); and
output the acquired reaction time (Para. 0081; note, discloses a time comparison means 10 for comparing result measured by the response time measuring means 8 with the standard time outputted by the standard time output means 9),
wherein the reaction time is a time acquired based on a start timing at which measurement of the subject eye is started and a response timing after the start timing (Para. 0020 and 0081; note, discloses a response time measuring means 8 for measuring a response time from the first presentation of optotype E by the optotype presentation means 2 to output of a signal by the operating means 6), the reaction time being a time required from a start of the measurement of the subject eye to a response with respect to the measurement of the subject eye (Para. 0020 and 0081; note, discloses a response time measuring means 8 for measuring a response time from the first presentation of optotype E by the optotype presentation means 2 to output of a signal by the operating means 6),
the start timing is a timing at which the visual target presenting unit or the correction unit is controlled by the controller (Para. 0081; note, discloses a time comparison means 10 for comparing result measured by the response time measuring means 8 with the standard time outputted by the standard time output means 9), and
the response timing is a timing at which a response signal with respect to the measurement is input by a response input unit (Para. 0020 and 0081; note, discloses a response time measuring means 8 for measuring a response time from the first presentation of optotype E by the optotype presentation means 2 to output of a signal by the operating means 6).
Regarding claim 11, Hara discloses, the controller is further configured to: acquire a first reaction time (“S5”) and a second reaction time (“S20”), that are acquired at different timings, as the reaction time (Para. 0091-0092 and see Fig. 3); and output the first reaction time and the second reaction time in a comparable manner, and at least one of the start timing or the response timing of the first reaction time and the second reaction time is different (Para. 0091-0092 and see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 12, Hara discloses, the controller is further configured to: wherein the control means is capable of control at least one of the visual target presenting unit or the correction unit (20, 21); and controls an operation of the optometry system based on the acquired reaction time (Para. 0077 and 0091).
Regarding claim 13, Hara discloses, the controller is further configured to: acquire a state of the optometry system in a case where the visual target presenting unit or the correction unit is controlled by the controller (Para. 0082-0083, 0097 and Fig. 2); and determine suitability of the acquired state of the optometry system, based on the acquired reaction time (Para. 0082-0083, 0097 and Fig. 2); and control an operation of the optometry system, based on a determined suitability (Para. 0082-0083, 0097 and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Hara discloses, the controller is further configured to output the acquired state of the optometry system acquired by the state acquisition means, together with the acquired reaction time (Para. 0082-0083, 0097 and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, Hara discloses, the controller is further configured to output data indicating a relationship between the reaction time and the state of the optometry system (Para. 0082-0083, 0097 and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, Hara discloses, the controller is further configured to output graph data indicating a relationship between the reaction time and the state of the optometry system (Para. 0082-0083, 0097 and Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 17, Hara discloses, the controller is further configured to output graph data indicating a relationship between the reaction time and a correction power set by the correction unit (Para. 0082-0083, 0097 and see 12 of Fig. 2; note, discloses the display means that prints or displays results on a monitor).
Regarding claim 18, Hara discloses, a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium (23 of Fig. 1) storing an optometry program used in an optometry system (1 of Fig. 1) for subjectively measuring an optical characteristic of a subject eye (Para. 0077, 0081 and Figs. 1-5) by presenting an examination visual target (2) to the subject eye, the optometry program being executed by a processor to cause the optometry system to perform:
a setting processing of setting a reference value (Para. 0081 and see 9; note, discloses standard time output means for outputting a standard time on the response time) based on a reaction time of an examinee with respect to the examination visual target (Para. 0081; note, discloses a time comparison means 10 for comparing result measured by the response time measuring means 8 with the standard time outputted by the standard time output means 9);
an answering processing (6) in which the examinee reading the examination visual target inputs an answer (Para. 0091);
a control processing of automatically proceeding with an examination, based on an input signal of the answering processing (Para. 0091 and see “S10” and “S20”); and
a leading information output processing (Para. 0015 and 0077; note, discloses standard time output means for outputting a standard time with respect to said response time) of outputting leading information, during the examination of the subject eye, for leading the examinee to input the answer, based on the reference value set by in the setting processing (Para. 0077, 0101 and see 7, 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara et al. (US 2007/0013870) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Sakurada et al. (US 2017/0215723).
Hara remains as applied to claim 1 above.
Hara does not the controller is further configured to changes the leading information from first leading information to second leading information that is at least partially different from the first leading information, to output the leading information, according to the number of times of output of the leading information.
Sakurada teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in an optometry system that it would have been desirable to make the controller is further configured to changes the leading information from first leading information (Para. 0014 and 0070 and see 231; note, discloses visual instructions as the first leading information) to second leading information (Para. 0014 and 0070 and see 233; note, discloses auditory instructions as the second leading information) that is at least partially different from the first leading information, to output the leading information, according to the number of times of output of the leading information (Para. 0067 and 0070; note, discloses auditory instructions are output after a patient notifies that they cannot perceive the visual instructions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the controller is further configured to changes the leading information from first leading information to second leading information that is at least partially different from the first leading information, to output the leading information, according to the number of times of output of the leading information as taught by the optometry system of Sakurada in the optometry system of Hara since Sakurada teaches it is known to include these features in an optometry system for the purpose of providing an efficient and effective leading information.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wu et al. (US 2013/0252215), Wo et al. (US 2018/0279934) and Cutler (US 2020/0356260) discloses an optometry system for subjectively measuring an optical characteristic of a subject eye by presenting an examination visual target to the subject eye that includes a response input unit and a controller that is configured to measure a reaction time of the examinee with respect to the examination visual target, automatically proceeds with an examination and output leading information, during the examination of the subject eye, for leading the examinee to input the answer.
/DAWAYNE PINKNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 11/20/2025